We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anzac House Youth Hostel

Hostel | Cumhuriyet Meydani, No:61, Canakkale, Turkey 17100

74.9% Overall Rating

148 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

Mike Cleverley thinks…

"In centre of Canakkale, convenient for ferry, bars and restaurants Very good tour company operates from premises. They organised door to door service to my next hostel in Istanbul"

Read all Anzac House Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canakkale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Canakkale

Helen Hotel
24.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 5 reviews
Anzac Hotel
15.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 78 reviews
GRAND ANZAC HOTEL
17.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOTEL TEMIZAY
18.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa Bagci Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

148 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anzac House Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mike Cleverley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2014

Liked: In centre of Canakkale, convenient for ferry, bars and restaurants Very good tour company operates from premises. They organised door to door service to my next hostel in Istanbul

Disliked: Very hard beds. The bathroom for dorm also shared with other rooms on 3rd floor and one of the toilet doors has no lock. In the showers you undress & dress in shower tray. Your clothes get wet. Otherwise you undress in bathroom, men & women together. Very poor wifi. No signal on terrace or 3rd floor, very poor, intermittant signal on ground, 1st and 2nd floors. Only 1 plug socket in dorm.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Sarah Schmeer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014

Liked: Central location, easy to find

Disliked: Bathrooms are smelly, leaky and not very clean. Security in the dorm is nonexistent (no lock on the door, no lockers, nothing). I saw the cleaning lady "clean" a recently vacated bed by simply brushing off the sheets--didn't change the sheets or pillowcase. Doors don't shut, and they bang in the wind. No AC, which is excusable, but there's not even a fan, so the room is like a sauna.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Grace Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, right next to the ferry terminal and was pretty cheap. Staff were helpful and there's a travel agency downstairs.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty, especially the bathrooms. We had no windows in our room (because we booked a budget room).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KAO-MING LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2014 KAO-MING would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, they provide some tour set the price is fair. Most of the staff is nice and friendly.

Disliked: No

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Digregorio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. There were few people staying so they upgraded me to a private room. Great location close to the ferry and there was a travel agency there who organised my gallipoli tour

Disliked: No kitchen facilities to cook your own food. Reception wasn't always staffed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helen Keller

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. They even spoke german. Helpful with getting around and sightseeing.

Disliked: Maybe having a key for the dorm would make the stay a little more safe. I also missed some kind of room for hanging out.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luke Henkel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity of the hostel to the ferry and the center of town--it's on one of the main streets as well so it's easy to find.

Disliked: The room I'd booked was full and I had to switch to a 12-room bed. This turned out fine for the night but these rooms were very open and loud--not what I'd asked for.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: not a good place to stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tsutomu shinozaki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 tsutomu would recommend this property

Liked: very nice.

Disliked: Nothing to special.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: The double room we stayed in had no window, the room had no air flow, the sheets were dirty and had holes in them, the bathrooms were dirty, there was no atmosphere at all but probably because most of the rooms were empty!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: when we arrived at 7pm our room had not been cleaned. The young man said he'd clean it while we went out for a few hours. Came back and it wasn't cleaned so he moved us to a different room with no windows, and we got bed bugs. The next day we moved into the original room with a window, which was a lot nicer. The female cleaner was very nice although we couldn't understand each other. Wear flip flops in the shower!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cameron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on the Main Street of Canakkale. Two minute walk to the ferry and close to the bus. Have a trave agency inside which can help you book trips to Gallipoli and Troy as well as buses out of Canakkale.

Disliked: We were in a 14 bed dorm (which turned into a 16 bed dorm) and the doors dont lock and we dont have a key, so make sure to bring a llock as the door is always open! also no common area which is a shame!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gavin Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff , free shuttle bus into town

Disliked: Gavin left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: Some of the staff could speak English. Great location--right near Ferry/Trojan Horse/museums. Nice balcony at the end of the hallway. List of things to do in Canakkale/map by reception desk. Bedroom was warm (we went in Winter).

Disliked: Blood-stains on the sheets. Found a few hairs in the bed. Had to ask one time for the hot-water to be fixed (but it was later). "Hassle-Free" tours was anything but: we were waiting for our driver for a long time, so we wanted to cancel our trip to Troy. We called the head guy, who wouldn't give us our money back, and said the driver "forgot his keys" (who then miraculously showed up two minutes later--30 minutes late). When asking about just taking a bus to Troy, a staff member said we would want a tour because Troy has 9 different locations (total lie--VERY centrally located all in one spot). To top things off, second night was very noisy with people singing at the top of their lungs downstairs roughly around 1-3 AM (difficult to sleep with). As I don't think anybody else was staying in the hostel at the time (could be wrong), I'm guessing it was the staff (again, could be wrong). At any rate, it wasn't stopped by staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff speaks English, there's a travel agency inside that organize tours to Troia and Gallipoli.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't so clean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Patrick Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: its location and the tourism desk down stairs

Disliked: showers were really not the nicest although they were hot. all the bathrooms smelt a bit like sewrage all the time and rooms were small and stuffy with no windows

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and they organise excellent tours to Gallipoli

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the balconies and that it was very clean. Nothing special, but everything was good. The staff spoke English.

Disliked: During the night it was very loud, because there was some kind of pub or live music place at the back of the hostel. Don't know if it is like this every night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: No lockers in dorm rooms however there is a safe in reception, they don't offer the additional breakfast every morning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, clean showers, air con in rooms, cool location, great coffee!

Disliked: They overbooked and put an extra bed in our dorm, it was in the way and broken so it was super noisy. The staff could be more helpful with regards to information about busses/getting out of town etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mary Bowden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The locatıon-rıght off the pıer, so ıt was easy to fınd. The travel agency ınsıde-Englısh-speakıng and ready to help organıze anythıng you want to do ın Turkey. Free movıes every nıght Nıce terrace

Disliked: Confusıon over breakfast hour caused some ıssues wıth people leavıng on day trıps. No locks on the doors.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the center of Cannakale. It is very secure as there is a 24 hr manned front desk, sturdy doors with good locks, and many of the rooms do not have windows. There is very little chance of being burgled while staying here.

Disliked: Many of the rooms do not have windows, nor do they have air conditioning or fans. To say it can get mildly uncomfortable in the midst of summer in a closed unventilated room would be an understatement.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sam Roberton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable enough, good location, the Gallipoli tour from on-site tour guides Hassle Free Travel was good.

Disliked: Bathrooms could use some improvement.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Lange

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Location was unbeatable.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness of staff fantastic.

Disliked: Shower tray not very stable and took time to warm up - although my friends didnt have problems with the cubicle they used. One of the toilets got a bit smelly later in the day.