HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anzac House Youth Hostel

Hostel | Cumhuriyet Meydani, No:61, Canakkale, Turkey 17100

78.4% Overall Rating

146 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2014)

Ben Digregorio thinks…

"Friendly staff. There were few people staying so they upgraded me to a private room. Great location close to the ferry and there was a travel agency there who organised my gallipoli tour"

Read all Anzac House Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canakkale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Canakkale

Helen Hotel
25.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 5 reviews
Anzac Hotel
20.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.8% 77 reviews
GRAND ANZAC HOTEL
25.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOTEL TEMIZAY
21.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa Bagci Hotel
26.90 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

146 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anzac House Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 131 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elızabeth Hawksley

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Elızabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to locations. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Needs to fix their toilets and showers they were either leaking or broken.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Nice price!

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to meet people and close to the port/seaside. Being able to organise travel plans downstairs was helpful to.

Disliked: Having no water for a period each day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michael turk

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2010 michael would recommend this property

Liked: real good price, awesome location about 10 seconds from the ferry where all the bus's stop. the reception dude was friendly.

Disliked: we booked 2 tours through this hostel which is joined with hasselfree travel. the gallipoli one was great, the troy one was a waste of time and not worth the money at all. i wish i knew that before i blew 60 liras on it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big dorm for 16 people. good chance to meet other people

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, handy to everything. The guys from hassle Free tours are based there and make it easy to arrange Gallipoli and Troy. Definitely do the Gallipoli tour as Ezit the guide is fantastic.

Disliked: The bedrooms are very hot and some fans would make a big difference.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location: Can't get any better!Staff: So nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Brendan & Lauren Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Brendan & Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: As cheap as your going to get for a bed around these parts. They provide reasonably priced tours that are well conducted by an english speaking (and very knowledgable) guide. They show a Gallipoli doco and movie every night.

Disliked: Bathrooms get pretty gross and only one toilet for the entire floor. No aircon or flywire so when it is really hot (as it often is) open the window and mozzies come in. So your stuck with two crappy choices. On a very busy road next to the port which is very loud. The directions are totally wrong on this website but if you get off at the port it's 50m straight up the road on your right next to a money changer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanjay Sarkar

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Sanjay would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap, clean. No hassles

Disliked: Sanjay left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was the only person in the 16 bed dorm room. the gallipoli tour was really good, and i was given advise from the hostel worker on how to get to Troy by public bus, without paying for a tour (tours are really expensive in Turkey).

Disliked: i didnt like how the hostel was adjoined to a travel/tour agent, as i generally dont trust travel agents, however i experienced no serious problem with it while i was staying there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hana Jedlickova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

23 July 2010 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: Its located in city center, close to the sea and room was really clean.

Disliked: Hana left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joelene Silveri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010

Liked: Central location

Disliked: no atmosphere, night staff could not speak basic English

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lauren Macphail

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

20 July 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close to ferry and town centre. Staff are very helpful.

Disliked: The bathrooms and toilets were not as clean as I would have liked, but managable. I had a private room which was good, however there was no windows or venilation. Luckily there was enough around town to keep me occupied and out of my room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

anthony jenkins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2010 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: room had no windows

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rocio Fraga

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Rocio would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: no windows in bedroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and services

Disliked: meet people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Platon

14 June 2010 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: relative price

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Platon

14 June 2010 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: relative price

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were very friendly and helpful and always offering tea which was good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. The rooms are standard but the location was very good. It felt like a real hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Carter-Dunn

19 April 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff spoke fluent English and were very helpful. It is located very near to the ferry port and to the bus station. It is also very close to the restaurants.What I would say is that this hostel does not offer food and breakfast is 5 euros at a different hotel which is not convenient so we simply skipped breakfast.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

vesna rohacek

16 April 2010 vesna would recommend this property

Liked: near and cheap, clean and friendly

Disliked: vesna left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 January 2010

Liked: The dorm was unavailable and we weren't informed until we arrived.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Suzanne Nottage

26 September 2009

Liked: Excellent location and easy to find. However, twin room was internal (no window) and lack of ventilation made the air quite staid. Staff could have been more friendly and helpful - it was the only place in Turkey where I felt treated like a number and like "jobsworths" were serving me. If you're after a cheap bed and are passing through then it will do the job. However, I suspect other accommodation in Cannakale will do it better.

Disliked: Suzanne left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Hinchcliffe

12 September 2009

Liked: Extremely basic, unhomely, no facilities, just a bunk bed in a room. After we checked out and took our bags, I managed to walk into the hostel, up 4 flights of stairs and all the way back to my bed (where I'd left my book) without meeting any locked doors or people asking what I was doing there. On the flip side, the options in Cannakkale are low, and the location of this hostel couldn't be better.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.