HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Anzac House Canakkale Hostel

Cumhuriyet Meydani No:59, Canakkale, Turkey

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 69%

Location 98%

Safety 74%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 1.02USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canakkale?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 69%

Location 98%

Safety 74%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

Showing 11-7 of 7 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location on the Main Street of Canakkale. Two minute walk to the ferry and close to the bus. Have a trave agency inside which can help you book trips to Gallipoli and Troy as well as buses out of Canakkale.

Disliked: We were in a 14 bed dorm (which turned into a 16 bed dorm) and the doors dont lock and we dont have a key, so make sure to bring a llock as the door is always open! also no common area which is a shame!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff , free shuttle bus into town

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Some of the staff could speak English. Great location--right near Ferry/Trojan Horse/museums. Nice balcony at the end of the hallway. List of things to do in Canakkale/map by reception desk. Bedroom was warm (we went in Winter).

Disliked: Blood-stains on the sheets. Found a few hairs in the bed. Had to ask one time for the hot-water to be fixed (but it was later). "Hassle-Free" tours was anything but: we were waiting for our driver for a long time, so we wanted to cancel our trip to Troy. We called the head guy, who wouldn't give us our money back, and said the driver "forgot his keys" (who then miraculously showed up two minutes later--30 minutes late). When asking about just taking a bus to Troy, a staff member said we would want a tour because Troy has 9 different locations (total lie--VERY centrally located all in one spot). To top things off, second night was very noisy with people singing at the top of their lungs downstairs roughly around 1-3 AM (difficult to sleep with). As I don't think anybody else was staying in the hostel at the time (could be wrong), I'm guessing it was the staff (again, could be wrong). At any rate, it wasn't stopped by staff.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, staff speaks English, there's a travel agency inside that organize tours to Troia and Gallipoli.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't so clean.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its location and the tourism desk down stairs

Disliked: showers were really not the nicest although they were hot. all the bathrooms smelt a bit like sewrage all the time and rooms were small and stuffy with no windows

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The proximity of the hostel to the ferry and the center of town--it's on one of the main streets as well so it's easy to find.

Disliked: The room I'd booked was full and I had to switch to a 12-room bed. This turned out fine for the night but these rooms were very open and loud--not what I'd asked for.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location and they organise excellent tours to Gallipoli

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the balconies and that it was very clean. Nothing special, but everything was good. The staff spoke English.

Disliked: During the night it was very loud, because there was some kind of pub or live music place at the back of the hostel. Don't know if it is like this every night.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: No lockers in dorm rooms however there is a safe in reception, they don't offer the additional breakfast every morning

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great breakfast, clean showers, air con in rooms, cool location, great coffee!

Disliked: They overbooked and put an extra bed in our dorm, it was in the way and broken so it was super noisy. The staff could be more helpful with regards to information about busses/getting out of town etc.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability