We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anzac House Youth Hostel

Hostel | Cumhuriyet Meydani, No:61, Canakkale, Turkey 17100

74.9% Overall Rating

148 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

Mike Cleverley thinks…

"In centre of Canakkale, convenient for ferry, bars and restaurants Very good tour company operates from premises. They organised door to door service to my next hostel in Istanbul"

Read all Anzac House Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canakkale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Canakkale

Helen Hotel
24.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 5 reviews
Anzac Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 78 reviews
GRAND ANZAC HOTEL
15.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOTEL TEMIZAY
18.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa Bagci Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

148 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anzac House Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 135 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012

Liked: Good location, staff friendly but some didn't have great English. The Gallipoli tour was good.

Disliked: Rooms don't lock, showers are small cubicles, an old fat guy was smoking in his room with the door open and no on seemed to care.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard malinowski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: location right by the ferry. i took the bus from Istanbul and the bus goes on the ferry from Eceabat to Canakkale . only about 50 meters from docks. i stayed in 16 bed dorm.. only 2 of us there . very clean bathrooms also. my wi-fi did not work so good there. the staff is also nice and helpful ..u can book your tours with them also. nice talking to the man at front desk also.

Disliked: maybe only the wi-fi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff friendly. Also travel agency

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable, the staff are kind and friendly. There is also a travel agency attached which makes booking tours to Gallipoli and Troy very easy - I took both tours and they were both great. Would recommend them to others!

Disliked: The door to the room as always open - I would have preferred my own key and the door was kept locked. In the past, at other hostels, I have had things stolen because of this reason!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

Disliked: Rooms are a tad small, but for the price you pay it is worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Crosby

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great location and nıce place to meet people

Disliked: no internet/computer acccess, only wıfı. no key for dorm rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. It takes less than 5 mins from the ferry port where most of the buses from Istanbul come from. Right at the heart of the centre. Staff are really friendly and helpful providing good suggestion for me to go outside canakkale. Tour to Gallipoli Peninsula is unforgettable.

Disliked: Better put more lights in the public bathroom and definitely they have to fix the doors coz they sound so noisy!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanne stannard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are really helpful, I arrived early at 5 am from an overnight bus they let me check in early and sleep at no extra charge. Were also able to put me into a gallipoli tour that day of arrival.

Disliked: There's no kitchen available. The showers are a bit small but other than that it's a sufficient hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ın a convıenıent locatıon and ıt was clean. We dıd the Galıppolı tour through the hostel and Hassle Free Tours, The tour was good and very ınformatıve but also expensıve when compared wıth other tour we have taken ın Turkey.

Disliked: The place felt a bıt lıke a hospıtal ward, sterıle and wıthout character. Havıng saıd that you are only there to sleep so not really ımportantç

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There ıs no where else to stay and ıt does the jobç It sı good that the tour rom Gallıpolı ıs ın the same buıldıng, but thıs place ıs nothıng to wrıte home about. It does the job though and almost everyone stayıng there ıs an Aus there to see Gallıpolı so ıt ıs nıce to meet other travellers

Disliked: as above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby Pattison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived at 5:30AM and as soon as I had strapped on my backpack the owner came up and asked if I was staying at Anzac House and funnily enough I was. He then let myself and two friends into our room (6HOURS BEFORE THE CHECK IN TIME) so we could have a nap. He then also set us up with a Gallipoli tour which was amazing.

Disliked: Nothing. Well the bathrooms weren't amazing, but not horrendous either.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Peter Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: Tiny rooms, cramped showers, noisy. Oil the door hinges! Bring ear plugs and sleeping pills.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlyhelpfullstaff

Disliked: Bleak characterless corridors with constantlyslamming,heavynoisydoors echoing in them. Common room- on the terrace- seemed virtually unused at the time I was there so little contact with anyone else. Also would only accept Euro which made the price once converted one of the dearest rooms I used on my trip.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central and cheap. Close to bars and restaurants. Really the only place with a dorm in Canakkale so if thats what your after you don´t have another choice. Highly recommend the Gallipoli Tour.

Disliked: No air con so rooms are really hot. Showers are a bit cramped. No Lockers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: The dorm room was nıce and big - some single beds were available.

Disliked: Advertised internet but there was no internet available. also no kitchen for guests to use. Hotel would benefit from having doors built in around the showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Clean room and showers. Very nice view from roof terrace. Watched very good documentary about Gallipoli.

Disliked: Room was a bit stuffy, no outside windows.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of the stuff

Disliked: the room..too smoll

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: shower had brown water and showers were poorly lit and stank. building was under contruction when i arrived so i only just foun d the place

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011

Liked: Location is great and beds were clean.

Disliked: Customers should be warned of the work and inconvenience it causes, so that they can decide to book elsewhere. At the least, a significant rebate should be offered if the hostel choose to continue to operate during the renovation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ines Pontes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff so kind and helpful

Disliked: Nothing to add.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: un friendly staff, no common area, bad internet connection, no communal kitchen

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

21 January 2011

Liked: good location,comfortable beds

Disliked: I am not a novice traveller but this is the first time I have used hostel bookers. The guy at the front desk tried to tell us that we had to pay more money because the exchange rate changed. I won't use hostel bookers again unless they get the proper rates in the proper currencies. Rooms are very stuffy the only window opens into the hallway.The window doesn't lock and the door wouldn't stay closed unless it was locked.there is onlt one key for a five person dorm so whoever goes to bed first has to leave the door open.the bathrooms are not very clean and there is never any toilet paper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location

Disliked: no free breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lorraine Dawes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice and helpful and i met some really cool people here. There is a kitchen and the tours leave from out the front.

Disliked: Not really a common area to chill out with other people

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dan Platon

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

18 October 2010 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively cheap, clean

Disliked: Wi-Fi doesn't work properly, unexpected change in price policy