HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo Point Hostel

26A# Buccoo Point, Buccoo Point, Trinidad And Tobago

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.00USD

Important Information

**Please contact us 3 days in advance to confirm your reservations. If you do not contact us your reservation may be cancelled**
**Cash payment on arrival. Sorry, no credit cards accepted. **
** We don't accept children under 7 years old. **

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buccoo Point?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Fishing trips with Brandon were great fun and by that the people in the hostel really got to know each other! Was a great experience and the regular BBQs were simply delicious!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Cosy atmosphere, cleanliness,

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: I loved how it was walking distance to a beach, just around the corner you could catch a car to Scarborough, and there was a little grocery store just a 3 minute walk away! Also, Brandon, he was GREAT! Very helpful, friendly and went beyond any expectations you'd have for an owner at a guest house. The place has the cutest 2 room places upstairs, with a/c, your own little bathroom and has a real Caribbean feel in the room!

Disliked: He charges for internet, which is reasonable if you are staying for a few days, but if you're just there for a night, its a little steep. There's a street lamp right outside the bedroom window, so it never really got too dark at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Great, peaceful and relaxing place to be, right by the 2 beaches and town. Rooms has it's own little kitchen and all things to prepare some food. Owner Brandon is there to help and assist you with everything you need. Great photographer as well if anyone is looking for wedding photography or any other. He was there to help us set up our wedding and took plenty of magic pictures ( and trust me I'm very fussy with my photography). Had a very pleasant stay would highly recommend it.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good kitchen. Air con.

Disliked: I ditto some other reviewers. The owner is the issue. I had emailed and asked for my booking to be moved. This was agreed. Get to site and owner says it is cancelled you now pay more money. 25% more. Plus pay for wifi. When trying to discuss this, I was told he would not argue about it. In other words go away if you do not like it. The problem is this is the only hostel. A friend arrived the next day, and when she tried to book online instead of paying the high rates, the owner also accessed the site and made the cheap rooms disappear. It is a money making exercise only. And ladies, there is a reason the FEMALE dorms are cheaper. Just saying!!! And if you want info, go and ask people on the street. They will be far more forth coming, as the owner wants you to buy $100 snorkeling trips, not just go down the road. Also, Millers guesthouse down by the water will negotiate his price. Give it a try.And ANYONE can have a best hostel award when they are pretty much the only one!!!!


The property's response is

Sorry Cynthia, we need to correct something. You asked us to change the dates, because you needed more time in POS. That was no problem and we arranged that. The deposit you made was not refundable, because you did that with hostelbookers. We can not refund that, because the money is the fee you pay to make bookings with hostelbookers. So please do not blame us for that circumstance. The Female Dorm has the same price like the other dorms and the snorkeling trips start from US 60.00 $.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is located in perfect place in heart of Buccoo in a short walk from beach. Everything is close to guesthouse. Fish Tobago has a garden where to chill and in the evening meet all guests. Its perfect place for travelers who want to discover this island!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The guesthouse is very well equipped, immaculately clean and has got a beautiful decor - I couldn't think of anything to make it better.One of my favourite points was the lovely garden and the supply of fresh mango and banana it provided.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed at the Fish Tobago and had a great experience. The owners were friendly and hospitable from the get go and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and at home. The hostel itself is in good condition, the rooms are clean and a good size and it had all the necessary amenities like hot running water, kitchen and lounge area, wifi, etc.It's located in a quiet fishing village but with the tours and the nearby beaches there's lots to do and keep you busy whilst you're there.Also given that their prices are so low, staying at Fish Tobago really is great value for money.For me, the thing that stood out about Fish Tobago is how friendly the owners and other guests were. I quickly felt comfortable hanging out with them and it felt like a home away from home.I loved every second and my only complaint is I wish I could have stayed a month longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quiet and very clean. The owner , brandon was absolutely amazing ! He took us on fishing boats trip, to Nilon pool, invited us to cooks out at his property, really made us feel like family ! Amazing hospitality, really! You should definitivly try fish Tobago !

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday

Liked: Very good cutomer service, the manager offered additional tours and kindly drove us to the airport as we were late. We really enjoyed our stay. The interior is basic but we spet most if our day at the beach.

Disliked: Cleanliness was not the greatest.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Happy to hear that you had a great time staying at Fish Tobago, glad to help with a lift to the airport, so you could catch your flight.

Check Availability