HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 26A buccoo ponit, Buccoo Point, Trinidad & Tobago -

91.4% Overall Rating

33 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Laura Aleksaite thinks…

"Great, peaceful and relaxing place to be, right by the 2 beaches and town. Rooms has it's own little kitchen and all things to prepare some food. Owner Brandon is there to help and assist you with…"

Read all Fish Tobago Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Please contact us 3 days in advance to confirm your reservations. If you do not contact us your reservation may be cancelled** **Cash payment on arrival. Sorry, no credit cards accepted. ** ** We don't accept children under 7 years old. **

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buccoo Point?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buccoo Point

Miller's Guesthouse
25.00 USD

Hostel 83.0% 29 reviews
Tobago Tranquil apt guest house
24.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bellissimo Boutique Hotel
25.48 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

33 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fish Tobago Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Aleksaite

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

26 July 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great, peaceful and relaxing place to be, right by the 2 beaches and town. Rooms has it's own little kitchen and all things to prepare some food. Owner Brandon is there to help and assist you with everything you need. Great photographer as well if anyone is looking for wedding photography or any other. He was there to help us set up our wedding and took plenty of magic pictures ( and trust me I'm very fussy with my photography). Had a very pleasant stay would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how it was walking distance to a beach, just around the corner you could catch a car to Scarborough, and there was a little grocery store just a 3 minute walk away! Also, Brandon, he was GREAT! Very helpful, friendly and went beyond any expectations you'd have for an owner at a guest house. The place has the cutest 2 room places upstairs, with a/c, your own little bathroom and has a real Caribbean feel in the room!

Disliked: He charges for internet, which is reasonable if you are staying for a few days, but if you're just there for a night, its a little steep. There's a street lamp right outside the bedroom window, so it never really got too dark at night.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Cynthia henderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014

Liked: Good kitchen. Air con.

Disliked: I ditto some other reviewers. The owner is the issue. I had emailed and asked for my booking to be moved. This was agreed. Get to site and owner says it is cancelled you now pay more money. 25% more. Plus pay for wifi. When trying to discuss this, I was told he would not argue about it. In other words go away if you do not like it. The problem is this is the only hostel. A friend arrived the next day, and when she tried to book online instead of paying the high rates, the owner also accessed the site and made the cheap rooms disappear. It is a money making exercise only. And ladies, there is a reason the FEMALE dorms are cheaper. Just saying!!! And if you want info, go and ask people on the street. They will be far more forth coming, as the owner wants you to buy $100 snorkeling trips, not just go down the road. Also, Millers guesthouse down by the water will negotiate his price. Give it a try. And ANYONE can have a best hostel award when they are pretty much the only one!!!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anete Ratniece

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2014 Anete would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in perfect place in heart of Buccoo in a short walk from beach. Everything is close to guesthouse. Fish Tobago has a garden where to chill and in the evening meet all guests. Its perfect place for travelers who want to discover this island!

Disliked: Anete left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is very well equipped, immaculately clean and has got a beautiful decor - I couldn't think of anything to make it better. One of my favourite points was the lovely garden and the supply of fresh mango and banana it provided.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Fish Tobago and had a great experience. The owners were friendly and hospitable from the get go and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and at home. The hostel itself is in good condition, the rooms are clean and a good size and it had all the necessary amenities like hot running water, kitchen and lounge area, wifi, etc. It's located in a quiet fishing village but with the tours and the nearby beaches there's lots to do and keep you busy whilst you're there. Also given that their prices are so low, staying at Fish Tobago really is great value for money. For me, the thing that stood out about Fish Tobago is how friendly the owners and other guests were. I quickly felt comfortable hanging out with them and it felt like a home away from home. I loved every second and my only complaint is I wish I could have stayed a month longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and very clean. The owner , brandon was absolutely amazing ! He took us on fishing boats trip, to Nilon pool, invited us to cooks out at his property, really made us feel like family ! Amazing hospitality, really! You should definitivly try fish Tobago !

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katja Niles

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

11 January 2013 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Very good cutomer service, the manager offered additional tours and kindly drove us to the airport as we were late. We really enjoyed our stay. The interior is basic but we spet most if our day at the beach.

Disliked: Cleanliness was not the greatest.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was really nice, the A/C and hot water worked well, and the room was very clean when I arrived.

Disliked: You have to walk to the beach but it is a short distance and the owner has a water-front lot where you can hang out or "lime" and snorkel if you like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: c est un endroit tres agreable, proche de la mer, il est possible de pecher,de plonger,c est vraiment super sympa

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also a good atmosphere in the hostel and it is a good place to meet other travellers. The hostel is located in a nice residential area but is also ideally located within walking distance to two great beaches.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Harriet Roderiques

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: the kitsch caribbean shabby chic interiors express the owner's sentimental take on tobago ... the owner's almanac like knowledge about everything to do with tobago ...

Disliked: there is a distinct lack of storage generally, however the owner claims the hostel is still a work in progress and more storage will be completed in the near future ... the weather was not good, i'm not an expert but on the first day it felt like a storm was brewing and on the second day it was definitely tropical storm like, however the owner's spiel suggested that it wasn't too bad and would get better in the afternoon ... it didn't it got worse whist a refund was granted for a trip booked for the second day ... because I had paid with a visa debit card the payment could not be credited but had to be refunded in cash ...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: Jenny, the helper/assistant was very nice and isn't included in the rating above.

Disliked: Flimsy door locks and no security lockers, even in the dorm rooms. No hanging space and very minimal furnishing. Doors missing, no cupboarding, no hangers - half finished feel Windowless private room - felt like a cell owner haunts the premesis and is watching guests seeking opportunities to sell trips and services, hence not restful or laid back as he's constantly on the scene inputting to conversations. Inconvenient location unless you want to pay for taxis or rent a car

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan crosson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome!

Disliked: Friendly people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really wonderful. The location was very safe and Brandon was great. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teres Larsson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 October 2010 Teres would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best vacation spots ever, friendly people, wonderful tours and the rooms are amazing, very beautiful with different themes. I love it.

Disliked: No dislikes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the room was reasonably priced for its size. And there was airconditioning which was also very nice.

Disliked: The landlord was maybe a little too helpful at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Balabon

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2010 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was in a very good location in Buccoo, Tobago. It was close to many beaches and restaurants. It was clean and private, and had facilites to use for cooking and such. The owner, Brandon, was more than welcoming and friendly. A variety of great tours were offered, as we went fishing on a private boat, snorkeling, and swimming for the day. The guesthouse was a great place to hang out, listen to music, relax, and make friends. Also, great nightlife was just around the corner!

Disliked: Larissa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timothy Newcomb

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: good guesthouse, especially for solo travelers. Not very glamorous but a safe, clean place to stay. A couple minute walk away to several great beaches.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guest house was clean. The property is located in a beautiful and tranquil area in Tobago

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Ussher

17 February 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and carring host.good location and family-like atmosphere.

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has good location, and is very good if you want to have fun and party - beside Sunday School party, my hosts carried my to the club, and to amazing casino (which is just 5 min walk) - and offered me a boat cruise with great party onboard (and in the Nylon Pool in the middle of the sea).Will definitely come back!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Dice

08 November 2009 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great as a backpacker accommodation! Not far from the airport, and close to the beach, reef and transportation - if you need to hop on the bus or catch a car! It's one of the safest houses I've ever been too - no need to lock the door, and people in the Buccoo are very friendly.Good value for money: room and bathroom very clean, they will also serve a yummy breakfast if you want.Look for that place when you're in tobago.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location, great host, everything there that you need, good beaches nearby, easy to get around the island from, gr8 food place down the road. Fantastic showers too ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.