HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Balcony Hostel Patong Phuket Hostel

34/23 Prachanukroh rd.,, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 21.57USD
  • Breakfast 4.31USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The staff were brilliant. The room was less so, Crappy air con, really small rooms, a bad smell. a 10/15 minute walk to the beach and the same for the mall, orher than that pretty far from everything.

Disliked: See above

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, staff really are as good as everyone said, they will do anything in their power to make ur stay the best. Met some great people and had a real laugh, ideal for single travellers or groups, everyone mingles here unlike some places.

Disliked: Only bad point is that all electric is off between 12-2pm while they clean the rooms. Not really a problem as you'll be out and about anyway, but if you hungover and need to chill out in bed its a bit anoying (im very lazy and love a siesta but otherwise i cant fault a single thing and if im ever back on n Phuket i wont stay anywhere else.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My wife and I received a warm and hospitable welcome from Neong, Tongo (?) and Matt, and all three of them continued to be helpful throughout our stay. Matt particularly shined during our early morning checkout, with friendly conversation and a last minute change to our pre-booked and paid for travel plans from Patong. This change was above and beyond our expectations, and we are very grateful for his enthusiasm and initiative. Balcony, you have a winner in that young man. Though an easy walk to the madness of downtown Patong, Balcony is just far enough away to be peaceful. This was my first time staying in a private room of a hostel, so the accommodations were similar to a hotel. The service was prompt and flawless. OA (?) was very helpful when we hired their motorbikes for the day, and these almost-new, little 125cc scooters were perfect for our 100km exploration of the island. We would recommend this hostel to our friends and would gladly stay at Balcony again.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Clean, good shower, friendly staff, close to beach.

Disliked: Nowhere to socialise other than reception area. A bit of a walk to bars.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very easy to meet people, comfy beds, nice staff

Disliked: Perhaps a little expensive and overly strict. But it was mostly great

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay. Its about a 15 min walk to bangla road but that is fine. There Is a nice large street food market next to the hostel so you can eat cheap. Staff is friendly and they have good lockers and the aircon is nice. There is not really a common room you just meet people in your room and around the bar.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean and a good place to stay. I checked in really late after my flight- like 2am and the staff was still good and nice! (Well, at least to me- not to the guy trying to get a prostitute in his room-he failed). I also thought it was pretty secure with lockers provided and always someone at the front desk.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The manager is very friendly, if you have questions about your stay, ask him, not the rest of the staff. He's very knowledgeable and will help you out. The rest of the staff will do nothing for you. Th location is pretty good, just 10 minutes walk to Patong beach. The rooms are very comfortable.

Disliked: The bathroom is inside the rooms, but it was not of my liking. It's made up of an "open" shower, let's call it like this, the toilet and the sink. The trouble is that when you shower everything else becomes wet. Honestly I prefer it when the bathroom is outside and common to the various room. the first night a couple of British guys slept on the bunk bed above mine, after coming back late, drunk, and showing no respect for the rest of us. The next day the manager took care of them. As for my personal experience, Brits are the worst by far.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really friendly staff, pretty decent location, close to Patong beach. A fun and very clean room with an apartment feel. Lockers were provided as well, and the reception is always ready to help.

Disliked: It wasn't as social as I liked, but that's not the hostel owners' fault; there's a common area, but I barely met anyone outside of my room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability