We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

84.8% Overall Rating

538 out of 589 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

"Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.78
  • Breakfast USD 2.07
  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
20.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
74.10 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Chanalai Flora Resort
11.86 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
9.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
5.93 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
14.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.67 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

538 out of 589 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 446 of 464 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015

Liked: Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds.

Disliked: No air conditioning for the room. So hot couldn't breathe. They turn the one ac on for the whole floor at 10pm and turn it off at 7am. No real privacy in the rooms. Very tiny rooms. No where to put your stuff. It's not entirely closed off, so you can hear noise from other rooms and from people in the hall. No soap for the washroom sink. One of the two showers didn't work. Shoes not allowed inside the hostel but the floor of the toilets were dirty. No towels. Not many restaurants around. Wouldn't stay again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sandra Drechsel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2015 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and center of the town...short distances to shops and markets.

Disliked: The english of the staff was ok but sometimes was the communication bit hard.. on my last day the a/c didnt work but i always would choose the same hostel again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the bus “station“ to the beaches, very clean, only 4 beds per room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large common areas to hang out and meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is in a strategic area to get bus connections with the beaches. The staff offer a nice attention, in particular the manager and Art. He is generous with information about Phuket and help us with everything, even with our heavy bags. Thank you so much Art and is very nice to find great people like you in a trip!!! Nice place, good value and excellent staff!! arrivederci

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TETSURO MICHINAGA

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 January 2015 TETSURO would recommend this property

Liked: nice location

Disliked: noisy in the midnight no drink water no self-catering facility

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall we really enjoyed this hostel. It was overall very nice despite being wonderfully inexpensive.

Disliked: There was a strange rule of no drinks in the common room. The signs didn't elaborate, but we decided it must mean alcoholic drinks as their is a bar in the main room/entry. We never found out exactly what it meant. Since there is no eating/drinking (water excluded) allowed in the rooms (this is to prevent insects from making their homes inside the building so it's completely understandable) and this rule made us a little uncomfortable eating in the common room. It could also be rather noisy in the building. The building is quite open, as in there aren't simply multiple floors but part of the floors are open to the ground floor. It looks very cool in my opinion, but noise escapes easily. Music is blasted from the common room at a volume higher than it needs to be. It was difficult to talk over so we often went to our room to talk, missing the opportunity to socialize with others. Our room was at the far end of the second level and completely shut off so it wasn't too loud for us (room with 10 beds and air conditioning). Walls of other rooms on the level did not reach the ceiling so I imagine they were quite loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms

Disliked: The AC is turned off at about 8 or 9 in the morning so it gets really hot after that time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Phi Phi

Disliked: Far from Patong

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Elliott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and welcoming. This is the first hostel I have stayedin and I wish we had more time here it's really nice the bar looks great and location seems good. We booked to stay the night after arriving at 11:30 and we are leaving at 10am so we don't really get the time we wanted here but I would come back

Disliked: My bed sheets were dirty and had holes in but I have a sleep sheet. And the doors on the toliets didn't lock on all the doors plus the Taps didn't work. But it was clean and friendly and for the time we had here it wasn't a real issue.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Entecott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great value hostel, room was clean staff friendly and food good. If you stay here check out timber hut which is a short walk away they have great live music. Would certainly come back

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles Winter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in a good location. Friendly staff and the hostel offered us services to phi phi

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Melling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar, very friendly staff, clean bathroom, had A/C.

Disliked: Very small rooms with no storage space within the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keisha Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Keisha would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, rooms were clean , and the common areas and the bar were awesome!

Disliked: The four share rooms are tiny, not really a big deal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikhail Venkov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome pretty much in every way. It has a really cool bar/chill area with a pool table. It's great for relaxing and meeting new people.

Disliked: Location is a bit of double edge sword. It's great in a way because it's far away from overdeveloped beach areas. It's in the middle of historic phuket town. The downside it's far from the beach and nightlife. Although you can take bus/taxi to wherever you want to go.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 broderick would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and good facilities

Disliked: floor reverberated really loud when people walked around

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mia prosser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 mia would recommend this property

Liked: Unlike any hostel we have stayed in, really sociable area and super clean. Lots of action downstairs and music but you couldn't hear it upstairs in the sleeping area. Lots of movies to watch (some a bit overused) and staff helpful with tours and travel. Right in the centre of the old town, bus stop right outside.

Disliked: Staff very relaxed in their attitude which was fine until we were stranded at the big Buddha because he gave us incorrect information. This happened again when we weren't told the right time for pick up and almost missed our bus! 4 bed dorm was really cramped with the rucksacks and only one plug socket. No big lockers but there was a luggage cage for when you went out in the day if needed. Other than in the hostel, no places really to go partying.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014

Liked: Would not come back

Disliked: Staff are not too friendly. Toilets are too far from the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provide tours to nearby islands such as James Bond and Phi Phi which was convenient, since we didn't have to look for tours ourselves. Some of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had a private room for 4 nights and 5 days, and no one came to clean our room until we finally decided to ask them on the 4th day. Our sink faucet kept leaking water, which we told them about on the 1st day, but no one came to fix it so we had to keep asking. A few of the staff members didn't speak English very well and didn't even seem like they wanted to help us. One girl at the front was just on her phone most of the time and couldn't even answer a simple question of "Where are the good restaurants in town?" It was clear she didn't want to be there.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013

Liked: Not too far from old town phuket

Disliked: Some staff were unhelpful and sarcastic when we tried to get our money back after canceling our reservation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Moller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the second of AKWA's hostel buildings which was closer to chaweng and right next door to a great restaurant and motorbike hire. The room was huge, air conditioned and decorated amazingly. We had a great time and woulde definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Garza

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: location was great to be in Phuket town, rooms and beds were comfortable sharing only with 4

Disliked: most of the staff did not speak enlgish

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviana Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2013 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located within phuket town. Very clean. Good atmosphere. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful but this is probably because of the language problem. They do not speak very good english


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels