HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

81.8% Overall Rating

526 out of 576 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Natasha Elliott thinks…

"Really clean and welcoming. This is the first hostel I have stayedin and I wish we had more time here it's really nice the bar looks great and location seems good. We booked to stay the night after…"

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.74
  • Breakfast USD 2.19
  • Towel USD 0.94

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
24.99 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
78.09 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
9.37 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
7.03 USD

Hostel 88.7% 26 reviews
Sino Imperial Phuket Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Memory at On On Hotel
10.93 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

526 out of 576 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 435 of 451 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Elliott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and welcoming. This is the first hostel I have stayedin and I wish we had more time here it's really nice the bar looks great and location seems good. We booked to stay the night after arriving at 11:30 and we are leaving at 10am so we don't really get the time we wanted here but I would come back

Disliked: My bed sheets were dirty and had holes in but I have a sleep sheet. And the doors on the toliets didn't lock on all the doors plus the Taps didn't work. But it was clean and friendly and for the time we had here it wasn't a real issue.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Entecott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great value hostel, room was clean staff friendly and food good. If you stay here check out timber hut which is a short walk away they have great live music. Would certainly come back

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles Winter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in a good location. Friendly staff and the hostel offered us services to phi phi

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Melling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar, very friendly staff, clean bathroom, had A/C.

Disliked: Very small rooms with no storage space within the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keisha Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Keisha would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, rooms were clean , and the common areas and the bar were awesome!

Disliked: The four share rooms are tiny, not really a big deal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikhail Venkov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome pretty much in every way. It has a really cool bar/chill area with a pool table. It's great for relaxing and meeting new people.

Disliked: Location is a bit of double edge sword. It's great in a way because it's far away from overdeveloped beach areas. It's in the middle of historic phuket town. The downside it's far from the beach and nightlife. Although you can take bus/taxi to wherever you want to go.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 broderick would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and good facilities

Disliked: floor reverberated really loud when people walked around

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mia prosser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 mia would recommend this property

Liked: Unlike any hostel we have stayed in, really sociable area and super clean. Lots of action downstairs and music but you couldn't hear it upstairs in the sleeping area. Lots of movies to watch (some a bit overused) and staff helpful with tours and travel. Right in the centre of the old town, bus stop right outside.

Disliked: Staff very relaxed in their attitude which was fine until we were stranded at the big Buddha because he gave us incorrect information. This happened again when we weren't told the right time for pick up and almost missed our bus! 4 bed dorm was really cramped with the rucksacks and only one plug socket. No big lockers but there was a luggage cage for when you went out in the day if needed. Other than in the hostel, no places really to go partying.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014

Liked: Would not come back

Disliked: Staff are not too friendly. Toilets are too far from the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provide tours to nearby islands such as James Bond and Phi Phi which was convenient, since we didn't have to look for tours ourselves. Some of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had a private room for 4 nights and 5 days, and no one came to clean our room until we finally decided to ask them on the 4th day. Our sink faucet kept leaking water, which we told them about on the 1st day, but no one came to fix it so we had to keep asking. A few of the staff members didn't speak English very well and didn't even seem like they wanted to help us. One girl at the front was just on her phone most of the time and couldn't even answer a simple question of "Where are the good restaurants in town?" It was clear she didn't want to be there.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013

Liked: Not too far from old town phuket

Disliked: Some staff were unhelpful and sarcastic when we tried to get our money back after canceling our reservation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Moller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the second of AKWA's hostel buildings which was closer to chaweng and right next door to a great restaurant and motorbike hire. The room was huge, air conditioned and decorated amazingly. We had a great time and woulde definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Garza

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: location was great to be in Phuket town, rooms and beds were comfortable sharing only with 4

Disliked: most of the staff did not speak enlgish

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviana Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2013 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located within phuket town. Very clean. Good atmosphere. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful but this is probably because of the language problem. They do not speak very good english

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susan Munro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were big for a hostel, was clean and had a good bar area. Staff very helpful.

Disliked: NO power outlets in rooms, which is odd in this time of hyper-connectivity. Poor internet on second floor. No security on room doors. Walls in the rooms do not reach to the ceiling so it can be a bit loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JOHN SYKES

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super friendly & helpful, especially the cook. The food there is good & they have a bar special, 2 glasses of wine for 120thb. You can't beat that & the wine was good. Stayed in a private en suite room, which was a decent size. Relatively clean, though it smelled of mold/mildew a little. But no obvious signs of them. Wifi worked quite well throughout. I saw at least 3 computers that guests can use, if you don't have your own. My fiance really likes movies, so she appreciated that they have over a hundred movies to choose from, which you can take back to the room to watch. Common area is really big & even has a pool table. The location is great, because there are markets to be found on that street & the surrounding area, plus plenty of convenience stores including a 7-11 next door. 3 vegetarian restaurant on this street was super cool, since we're vegan. Also, many open air buses can be taken from this street. For the price we paid, it was a great deal.

Disliked: Tight bathroom. Small bed sheets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

laura cormier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 laura would recommend this property

Liked: The private double was the same price as the dorms so we opted for the private and had the luxury of a TV and our own bathroom which was a nice change from where we've been staying around South East Asia so far. The restaurant had anything you might want and the staff were always trying to make sure that everyone was having a good time, encouraging us to play the board games and meet new people.

Disliked: Our room had a fair amount of ants, when we mentioned it they cleaned it right away, but it was almost like they were aware of the problem and only dealt with it because we complained. Don't leave food around!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Velazquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, this is one of the BEST hostels I have ever stayed. Staff is amazing, food is delicius, prices are great, it is super clean, beds are new, location is perfect...the music is excellent, they have more movies then Blockbuster, computers for free, cooking clases for free, DJ clases, lockers and security....u name it. This is a real hostel, I really enjoyed staying here!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Geraint Lloyd

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 September 2013 Geraint would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar area and very safe.

Disliked: Location was difficult for taxi driver to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot of atmosphere in the common room: bar, pool table, tables and places to sit, but it was very quiet near the rooms so easy to rest! The staff were helpful and friendly. Wifi is working well in the rooms aswell.

Disliked: There was mold on the walls. But otherwise it was clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Veltman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: Pool table And open bar 24/7

Disliked: Hostel was good only phuket city is really boring

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Cunha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 July 2013 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hostel to stay in Phuket. Cheap price and so near to bus stop to get the beaches. very clean. They provide secure spot to keep your staff and good meals for your breakfast and lunch. I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: anything to tell

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eva Gould

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013

Liked: Good value. Great staff. Kitchen for guests. Nice tv room with lots and lots of dvds. On Friday nights there is a cooking class which is fun a great way to interact with staff and other guests and you get the free food!

Disliked: The dorm room is absolutely tiny and quite hot and smelly. I think the air conditioning just didn't reach our room very well and I think the air conditioning is better in other rooms/ cubicles! ;) the bathroom was a bit smelly all the time but not that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you shud definately stay in the private room if you can because it is a lot less noisy than the dorms. the facilties are excellent and the private room is hotel standard. the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: some people were very noisy outside our room from midnight to 2am - but this is totally not the fault of the hostel.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels