HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Phuket

Hostel

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 77%

Location 80%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 18.16USD
  • Breakfast 2.12USD
  • Towel 0.91USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 77%

Location 80%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

Showing 81-49 of 49 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it was in the center of Phuket, staff was very helpful, nice garden and general public rooms.

Disliked: bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean and good location

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Wouldn't stay there again though.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Reception was nice. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Shower was good. Kitchen was well equipped. Free Internet. Free drink on arrival nice touch. Close to buses for beaches and towns. Close to market for food (great food and fresh fruit).

Disliked: As an English speaker I found it a bit difficult to understand reception and ask questions sometimes - but this is not really something one should complain about when traveling!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really good hostel to stay at, i'd recommend actually spending more than one night in this hostel! Although people say there isn't a lot to do around this area, I beg to differ - take a long walk around and you will discover lots of cool markets and interesting food to pick up on the cheap.It's not exactly party central but if you want to take it easy for a few days it's a great place to come and relax. The beach is only a bus ride away and the buses run very regularly...The hostel itself is awesome, it has everything you need, it's clean, friendly and safe. The private twin rooms are a lot more spacious than the dorms so if you can find someone else to share a room with it's definitely worth doing!Overall if I ever came back to Phuket for a few days I certainly wouldn't mind staying here again.

Disliked: The only thing I can honestly say was that my dorm was a bit tiny but since I had it to myself most of the time it wasn't an issue at all!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fairly close to bus terminal. Easy to catch transport to patong. Big room. Lots of movies in nice lounge.

Disliked: Staff bit unfriendly.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The dorms are a bazzilion times better than the private rooms. Don't let them upgrade you. It ain't no upgrade.

Disliked: If I really had to pick something...Sure the bus station is outside but it's 50 minutes by bus to anywhere like Beaches, Patong. Staff trying to scam you by upgrading you when it's not really and upgrade and then trying to double charge you.They have internet, but if you want a page to load it aint going to happen. Slow for even slow Thai internet standards.Yes they have a tv and dvd player with dvd's but be prepared to only get to watch the first half of the dvd's as the dvd player can't read the last half.Dirty.The owners who are rarely there speak English, the staff managing the hostel won't be able to explain anything basic like the buses etc. Can say Hello to them or a few basic things. Fair enough I can't speak Thai well either though.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The rooms were clean, large, and very nice. There was computer access, but internet was very slow (especially for Thailand standards). The location was also very convenient if you're looking to take the [inconvenient and ridiculously priced] songtaew buses to the beaches.

Disliked: The hostel was fine, and amenities were nice; however, if you're looking for a glimpse of the 'real' Thailand, especially in a place as commercialized as Phuket, do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from the backpacker scene; couch surf or something, I wish I had. The staff were friendly enough, but, like everyone else in Phuket, they are really just interested in your money. Go elsewhere in Thailand, away from the crowds, and you'll find this is NOT the case...part of why I love this country.Disclaimer: my review is biased, as I've been living in Thailand for the past few months... if you're just passing through and want to party, you'll have a swell time, I'm sure.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: this is a great little hostel. good atmosphere in the common room. really helpful staff with directions etc. clean rooms and good location for city walk and services.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi in room, helpful staff

Disliked: Very squeaky beds!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability