We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

82.7% Overall Rating

529 out of 579 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Matthew Mason thinks…

"Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.55
  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
23.19 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
77.31 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
7.73 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.96 USD

Hostel 85.5% 27 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sino Imperial Phuket Hotel
17.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

529 out of 579 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 437 of 454 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Kelley

26 August 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful but their English wasn't great. Good excursion offers. Okay dorms, fans.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Bird

25 August 2009 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Sunny courtyard, friendly staff, and it ws all very easy to organise further travel from here. A pleasant stay.

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good clean hostel at a decent price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Carla Ramos

10 August 2009

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Carla left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, the moped was nice to have.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Brennan

03 August 2009 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Can't recommend it enough. Affordable and charming, this hostel offers backpackers a sane amount of distance from Patong and the other beaches which still can be reached by paying a mere 85 baht to ride the bus that stops right out front. I got the best sleep of my trip here, met interesting people, and was able to make my plans to the Phi Phi Islands from the helpful staff at the front desk. Booking a room at this hostel was easily the best decision I made while preparing my trip.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyndsey Brown

02 August 2009 Lyndsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very rude and were very short with me all the time. They could not speak great English either which did not help! The location of phuket town, there is nothing there and the town is quite smelly! But the hostel is very homely so it was a great stop over before Phi Phi.

Disliked: Lyndsey left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rebecca Hogan

29 July 2009

Liked: this is a great place to meet other travellers, and the free internet and dvd room is really good for when the weathers bad or you just want to chill out. However, i found it really dirty there, our room was not nice and the bathroom stank even though it was a private one so we ended up changing rooms. we also saw 2 cockroaches, personally killing one of them which was not nice and there was a big rat in the dorms. Patrick is very helpful but the rest of the staff are very inconsiderate, making noise and playing music till late and then waking u up at 7,. so if all you want is a good place to meet people, its great, but if you want somewhere clean ( the water is also yellow, not nice!) then do not stay here.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly, full of equally friendly people, really sociable atmosphere & walking distance to shops etc. songthaews to beaches right outside :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 June 2009

Liked: Don't really know why I stayed in phuket town. It's way better in Patong beach. There is absolutly nothing to do in town. Around the hostel is just a lot of small restaurants and a few clothshops where I guess only the locals go.The hostel is alright. Got loads of dvs movies...but I mean, you're not in thailand to watch movies. Free internet..a bit slow sometimes but still :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, enjoyed our stay. Would recommend staying in Patong rather than Phuket town though as there are more activities and choices of bars etc, and you're at beach already so you don't need to get the bus which can take nearly an hour at busy times. Also we found the staff a bit inconsiderate in the mornings as they were very loud in the halls from as early as 7am(the 4 mornings we were there!) and that's early for some of us!! Overall i'd say stay here if you want to be in the town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Bennett

11 June 2009 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap - friendly, extrelemy helpful staff, good facilities and location. Great place to stop by before exploring the islands.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice to upgrade us to better room with the same price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many things

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rory mccarthy

02 June 2009 rory would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, clean, secure, friendly staff, and nice beds, what more could you want?

Disliked: rory left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was beautiful. The rooms were very clean, both dorm and private. The lounge area was great with millions of DVDs to choose from and the free inet is a bonus! Definately stay there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,....big selection of dvd's

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Ruther

09 May 2009 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: an absolutley brilliant place, it had everything you could need. Would have no problems in recommending this place to any type of traveller!

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanna Watts

28 April 2009 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how the dorms were laid out, and the tv and dvds in the living room were much appreciated!

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look like a hotel in that enviroment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how clean the hostel was. There was great facilites such as the dvd room, hammocks outside, free internet, scooter rental and the staff were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Coles

12 March 2009 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, Staff were brilliant, great location away from the tackiness of Patong!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hampson

12 March 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is extremely clean and tidy, they constantly clean through the day...the internet is free and is pretty fast too...there is a 7eleven next door, which is always good...cheap food down the street for as little as 35 baht...the busses to patong stop right outside the front door

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanless!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: DVD library, felt safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels