We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

84.8% Overall Rating

538 out of 589 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

"Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.77
  • Breakfast USD 2.07
  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
20.23 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
74.05 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Chanalai Flora Resort
11.85 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
9.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
5.92 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
14.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.66 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

538 out of 589 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 446 of 464 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 December 2009

Liked: Was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a dbl room with a/c. It was huge! Only criticism was that we couldn't watch any normal channels, just DVDs which we rented from hostel for 20 bht. Also the door didn't feel that secure but the hostel front entrance had good security. Also not an overly fun hostel for those looking to meet people. Overall 4 out of 5.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Garry Weir

17 November 2009 Garry would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, great TV room... but not much to do in Phuket Town...

Disliked: Garry left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 November 2009

Liked: If you want to meet new people who are also traveling this is the place to be. The double rooms are definitely not value for money, you can get much better quality rooms in phuket town at cheaper price and more convenient as well, The location is a bit quiet at night, but good location during the day because right outside the bus stop to patong and beaches. As soon as we told the reception we want to cancel the rest of the stay, we had to pay for 2 nights(we stayed there 3 nights rather than 5 because we found cheaper and better quality place) the lady at reception was a bit rude to us after that for the remaining 2 nights! Will not go back for sure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven White

14 November 2009 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay as a stopver point in Phuket. I stayed in private room 1st night as just arrived from UK and wanted good nights sleep. Moved into the dorms next day.. very clean and met people who i am now travelling on with in thailand. The tv room is great and good place to meet other travellers especially as I was by myself. Overall big thumbs up!

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam David Layland

02 November 2009 Adam David would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed during the Vegetarian Festival 09, this hostel was perfect. Cheap, Parades of the festival passed the hostel, location was spot on. Staff were really helpful

Disliked: Adam David left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is big. The people are nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Fane Vernon

10 October 2009 John Fane would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel and very friendly staff, they also organised a bus for us to Ko Pha Ngan no problem. Well situated in Phuket town which has a great market nearby, but it is quite far to the beaches (don't get ripped off!). All over a great place, has a big common room to mingle.

Disliked: John Fane left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and they arranged a pick up from the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Kelley

26 August 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful but their English wasn't great. Good excursion offers. Okay dorms, fans.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Bird

25 August 2009 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Sunny courtyard, friendly staff, and it ws all very easy to organise further travel from here. A pleasant stay.

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good clean hostel at a decent price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Carla Ramos

10 August 2009

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Carla left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, the moped was nice to have.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Brennan

03 August 2009 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Can't recommend it enough. Affordable and charming, this hostel offers backpackers a sane amount of distance from Patong and the other beaches which still can be reached by paying a mere 85 baht to ride the bus that stops right out front. I got the best sleep of my trip here, met interesting people, and was able to make my plans to the Phi Phi Islands from the helpful staff at the front desk. Booking a room at this hostel was easily the best decision I made while preparing my trip.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyndsey Brown

02 August 2009 Lyndsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very rude and were very short with me all the time. They could not speak great English either which did not help! The location of phuket town, there is nothing there and the town is quite smelly! But the hostel is very homely so it was a great stop over before Phi Phi.

Disliked: Lyndsey left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rebecca Hogan

29 July 2009

Liked: this is a great place to meet other travellers, and the free internet and dvd room is really good for when the weathers bad or you just want to chill out. However, i found it really dirty there, our room was not nice and the bathroom stank even though it was a private one so we ended up changing rooms. we also saw 2 cockroaches, personally killing one of them which was not nice and there was a big rat in the dorms. Patrick is very helpful but the rest of the staff are very inconsiderate, making noise and playing music till late and then waking u up at 7,. so if all you want is a good place to meet people, its great, but if you want somewhere clean ( the water is also yellow, not nice!) then do not stay here.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly, full of equally friendly people, really sociable atmosphere & walking distance to shops etc. songthaews to beaches right outside :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 June 2009

Liked: Don't really know why I stayed in phuket town. It's way better in Patong beach. There is absolutly nothing to do in town. Around the hostel is just a lot of small restaurants and a few clothshops where I guess only the locals go.The hostel is alright. Got loads of dvs movies...but I mean, you're not in thailand to watch movies. Free internet..a bit slow sometimes but still :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, enjoyed our stay. Would recommend staying in Patong rather than Phuket town though as there are more activities and choices of bars etc, and you're at beach already so you don't need to get the bus which can take nearly an hour at busy times. Also we found the staff a bit inconsiderate in the mornings as they were very loud in the halls from as early as 7am(the 4 mornings we were there!) and that's early for some of us!! Overall i'd say stay here if you want to be in the town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Bennett

11 June 2009 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap - friendly, extrelemy helpful staff, good facilities and location. Great place to stop by before exploring the islands.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice to upgrade us to better room with the same price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many things

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rory mccarthy

02 June 2009 rory would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, clean, secure, friendly staff, and nice beds, what more could you want?

Disliked: rory left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was beautiful. The rooms were very clean, both dorm and private. The lounge area was great with millions of DVDs to choose from and the free inet is a bonus! Definately stay there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels