HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Phuket Hostel

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 17.38USD
  • Breakfast 2.03USD
  • Towel 0.87USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 87%

Showing 61-39 of 39 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: staff have very good english and are helpful with booking buses. also the rooms were very clean. the bar area had a nice atmosphere to it

Disliked: only thing i can think of is i had to get up early for 7:15 pickup and breakfast wasnt available until 8

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing, I have been travelling all over thailand for 4 weeks and this is the only hostel that have not given my key deposit back, I had to ask staff for it twice and still didn't want to give it to me for no per infix reason. When I booked a tour with the hostel te mini bus was 3 hours late, which I don't think was wen booked by the hostel so I had to take all my stuff on a taxi motorbike in te middle of a rain storm to the ferry port with no compensation or a sorry!

Disliked: The whole hostel had a bad sewage smell, there was rats trying to enter the communal lounge, and everywhere was dirty grubby old and dated!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: The washrooms

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i don't want to writte nothing here

Disliked: i will not recommand this hostel because i book my bus ticket with them to koh phangan and they charge me 150B more then all the other traveller so if you can't trust your hostel no use to stay there except this it was fine!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is awesomely helpful and the garden is a beautiful quiet little oasis.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: It was somewhere to rest our heads. You could watch movies in the common room and rent films. There was a DVD player in our room too which was good, though the DVD got stuck in it and took a lot of work getting it out.

Disliked: The room was gross. There was damp and dirt everywhere. We had a dirty extra mattress leaning against the wall in our room, after seeing that I looked at my own mattress and thought it looked even worse so I slept in my sleeping bag liner. Both my boyfriend and I woke up both days with a funny rash....maybe from bed bugs or from the detergent ey wash things in....not sure but odd. The bathroom had no ventilation and was mouldy on the ceiling too. Wifi didnt work in our room so had to use their computers which were slow. When we went to check out the man who was meant to be checking people out, manning the desk etc was asleep. We had to wake him up (it was like 6.15am but still he should be awake if he's doing a night shift)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The loung area was nice it had free use of the computers and games like chess, scrabble and cards. And a big tv with loads of DVDs. you could also take the DVDs into your room to watch for 20 baht. It's a good place to meet people too. The garden is nice but you can't sit out after 4-5 because of bugs. Rooms were clean and we had air con and a tv. As well as the main door lock you could also put your own padlock to the door for extra security. there's also a keypad lock gate at the front that they close after 5 which make you feel safe.

Disliked: The staff. I'm not on to really bother how friendly the staff at a hostel are as long as the place is clean im happy but here I felt like I was intruding even when I was just walking by. I was trying to buy water and the woman at the desk just ignored me for so long in became awkward. when you asked anything it felt like you were really putting them out. Air-con was busted, had a mind of it's own. The wifi only started working on the morning of us checking out, hadnt working for 2 days.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff is helpful. It´s a good place for one night. Nice DVD collection.

Disliked: The aircon didnt work properly.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: The room was clean and we were upgraded to air con with no extra charge. Our saving grace food wise was the 7/11 and the restaurant next door: Sea U. Lovely lady, great food, reasonable price. Other benefit - a twenty minute walk to the bus station which is convenient for getting out of the place.

Disliked: Phuket town is definitely not the best location - try eating out after 8pm and you have a problem. Wish we'd stayed in Patong longer. The washing machine advertised is not free and you have to pay for two separate washes if you have colours and whites - starting at 70B a load - a pain as this is one of the reasons I paid a little more for this hostel. Wifi was not always reliable whilst in the room and the bar food was either not available or served in part but charged in full.

Check Availability