We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

84.5% Overall Rating

540 out of 591 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

"Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.69
  • Breakfast USD 2.06
  • Towel USD 0.88

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
20.14 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
73.72 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Chanalai Flora Resort
11.79 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
9.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
11.79 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
14.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.34 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.27 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

540 out of 591 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 447 of 466 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cleaner and cuter than expected.

Disliked: It is not on a beach.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William McNeilly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 November 2010 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms and great atmosphere. Great for meeting fellow travellers.

Disliked: Pretty far from Patong beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Kircher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for vegetarian fest, extremely clean, very nice place!

Disliked: Small dorms (4 person)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 October 2010

Liked: Staff was nice when approached. The common areas were nice.

Disliked: The hostel staff forgot to send someone to pick us up from the airport. Room was not really ready when we entered (main light wasn't working). The bed was pretty old and made noises on every movement....

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010

Liked: helpful staff which opened my defect suitcase lock.

Disliked: very small private rooms. the hostel is clean but still looks like a lumber-room outside if the private rooms. they don't have a luggage room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Ward

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

10 October 2010 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly / helpful staff, lovely rooms, common lounge, dvd collection, free wifi, close to ferry pier

Disliked: Not too much to dislike...i guess if you werent using it as a quick stop over for the islands the location wouldnt be so great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ben Coles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: This is the third time we've stayed here and the staff are still so friendly and remembered us. We were only in transit to the airport really so it was a convenient place to stay, near to shopping malls and places to eat and our room was really quiet.

Disliked: It could be even better with a small swimming pool to chill out in!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and very clean. Staff are always friendly and happy to help. Local bus stop is right outside the door so it is very easy to get to the beaches around Phuket. It actually worked out cheaper for us to stay here and get the bus to the beaches. 25 each way to Patong and 30 each way to Kata. The free beer voucher for the bar downstairs was also a bonus!!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: A convenient base to stop in Phuket town, with great links to Patong and Karon, as well as the port for boats to Phi Phi. Very clean and comfortable, with extremely helpful staff. Represents very good value for money.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, helpful staff, massive DVD library and lots of social areas

Disliked: poor location - beach front bewtter for tourists as nothing to do in town and difficult to find places to eat etc

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

elisa bruque

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2010

Liked: stolen

Disliked: elisa left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Guillaume Sourisce

12 May 2010 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Guillaume left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melvin taylor

06 May 2010 melvin would recommend this property

Liked: Good design, removing shoes at door, a/c in dorm, nice showers,

Disliked: melvin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Randall

24 April 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out atmosphere with nice rooms, Mint and the rest of the staff are really sweet and will help you out with whatever you need.:)

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Kuemmel

24 April 2010 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: I realy enjoyed the time I spend there. It was very clean and the rooms where a lot bigger than I thought.

Disliked: Tobias left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joseph lamb

22 April 2010 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and its super clean for thailand! defo would recomend

Disliked: joseph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea P Marcelino

11 April 2010 Andrea P would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value for money! Everything is new and clean. There's a lot of space to hang out and meet people, love it here!

Disliked: Andrea P left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to stay. It's away from the beaches but there are buses that go to all from right outside. There's free internet, a kitchen and a huuuuuuuuge selection of dvds for the those cheap evenings in. There a great garden and it's nice to sit there at night. One thing I will say is to not trust them with your colours and whites when it comes to getting your laundry done. Also, the 'Fully air conditioned dorm' has the air con off from 12 till 6pm. Not great for a hangover or a daytime nap.Don't let this deter you. It's amazing and really easy to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here twice and was very clean hostel but didnt find the staff that friendly.Rooms are either too hot or too cold so never really had a good sleep. I booked to stay here for 2 nights but plans changed so cancelled one night and they would not provide a full refund. location is ok if you just want to stay in Phuket for a couple nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 April 2010

Liked: There are plenty of other travelers there and lot's of room for lone travelers to be social.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lt was good if u just want to go to different beaches but there's not much to do at night, expensive to go to Patong or anywhere outside but I had a good time stil.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's all good. Clean like I was in a European hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

jeffrey van der weerd

03 March 2010 jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great. But the only big problem is the fans! You really need airco in Phuket town!

Disliked: jeffrey left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only thing I didn't like at this hostel was our room. It was so dark due to the very blue walls. Also, the bathroom was not completely clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels