HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

81.4% Overall Rating

520 out of 570 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Mikhail Venkov thinks…

"Awesome pretty much in every way. It has a really cool bar/chill area with a pool table. It's great for relaxing and meeting new people."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.56
  • Breakfast USD 2.17
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
24.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
77.34 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 9 reviews
Rucksack hostel
9.28 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
8.35 USD

Hostel 91.7% 22 reviews
Sino Imperial Phuket Hotel
17.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Memory at On On Hotel
15.47 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

520 out of 570 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 430 of 445 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many tour offers, wifi inside the room, fun facilities, friendly staff, close to places where we can find local food, and we got an upgrade to private room!

Disliked: The bathroom door in our room couldn't be closed from the inside so we had to put a basket behind.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gaffar Rampage

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Gaffar would recommend this property

Liked: Service staff were excellent, they spoke very good english and were very helpful. Plenty of areas to chill out, their lounge has comfy sofas with a HUGE selection of DVDs. The garden was very nice to relax in as well. Clean rooms, generally no problems.

Disliked: Not much to complain about here :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Artur Grzymala

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, but a little expensive

Disliked: It was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Lumele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: its a cozy place and clean even we have sharing bathroom. the staff really helpfull cos we get a cheaper price for boat and tour rather than go on the spot. and they kindly give us early check in. amazing

Disliked: none

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Si Jia Yan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Si Jia would recommend this property

Liked: room is big i think.clean.locker

Disliked: the staff is not very friendy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice TV and computer room, has a bar where guest normally hang out at night.

Disliked: One other guest had a problem with bed bugs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upgraded to a private room - thank crunchie for broken dorm aircon.

Disliked: All good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Konstansa Mitzulova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Konstansa would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good, as well as the hostel itself. The atmosphere is very cozy

Disliked: i didn't like that there was one woman who staying with her shoes on the sofa all the time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Stroud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011

Liked: Free beer voucher on arrival, bus to the beach that costs only 30b right outside. Good cheap food and hundreds of DVDs available to use.

Disliked: There's not a lot to Phuket town but would make a great base to explore Phuket or as a stop over on the way through.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Stephenson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel offered more and more, we booked a great trip to the islands from here (great value). They have lots of free stuff on like a Thai cooking class and a trip to the night market. FANTASTIC! The place was clean and had a kitchen for guest use. There is so much they offer, its a great base to stay in Phuket.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

silvia tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2011 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are very helpful, they do provided cooking class for free, and they teach how to buy the ingredients... very pleasant stays with them.. and the most important thing is you can find a lot of new friends

Disliked: nothing I dun like about this property.. closed to everywhere and close to bus station.. so you can go everywhere :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the center of Bhuket Town. It's a short walk from the busstation (that's perfect). The staff is friendly and they have a lot dvd's to watch! Also a good place to meet people.

Disliked: The tour prices are expensive in the hostel! (just go outside to the nearest tour operator). The bed weren't clean and they don't have a free towel (first time in Thailand). And the air-con room was still warm (even it was running).

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tyler Findlay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: It was fine, an easy clean place to stay for one night

Disliked: Just sort of blag

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011

Liked: We stayed before and got a lovely room.

Disliked: We checked in late (1.30am) but had advised them in advance. We got a twin room (not double as booked). it was dark and the window opened onto the hall. We booked transfer to Phagnan for the next morning. The lady said she'd confirm departure time in the morning. We told her we were tired after travelling all day and could she let us know a half hour before. She knocked at 7.15 to tell us we would leave at 9.30. By that time we were awake anyway as the staff were shouting up and down the hall, right outside the room, and having breakfast from 6.30am. we later discovered the amount we paid for the transfer was far more than it should have been. The room definitely wasn't worth the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a massive double room with AC that came with 2 couches!

Disliked: Prices for tours, ferries etc are a bit cheaper at other travel agents.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location close to the sights in phuket town. Its easy to get to places around (phiphi isands/phang nga) there are lots of public buses that wait a long the street to get to karon/patong beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a nice restaurant just outside the hostel where they gave us a voucher for free beer :) the room was nice and clean although we only had a fan and it was very warm. The lounge area was always very busy which made it easy to meet people and they have a massive dvd selection!

Disliked: was all quite good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael O'Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of Phuket Town. Clean and safe. Great living room with TV, DVD player. Kitchen facilities. A 7-11 just along the street. Buses to the beach stop right outside too, 30 baht each way. Oh, and the hostel give you a token for a free beer at the bar each night!

Disliked: Mosquitos in the living room, especially around the computers.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 March 2011

Liked: Meeting other people

Disliked: Unfriendly staff or maybe they didn't understand English that well. Aircon-dorm was smelling and they let stay drunk people as well (who checked-in drunk). Internet was very very slow! Far away from the beach and night life. You can go to the beach by a local bus, but this one stops running at 04.45 pm!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert VanDenBerg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful stay Hospital clean. Friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Old, slow, tired computers and I never did get the WiFi to work on my laptop. The keyboards were so worn the letters on the keys were gone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had tons of movies you could check out/watch. Great location. All the local buses to the beaches and other parts of the island (ie. aquarium and Wat Chalong) were right outside. There is a good fruit market nearby and a new restaurant just opened two doors down is very reasonably priced and has good food.

Disliked: The staff was not always that friendly, but they did their job. The internet was a little slow, but it was free. There is an internet cafe 5-10 minutes walk down the road that is much better and faster. It only costs 40 baht an hour.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hernan Serlik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the staff very helpfull. They organize free tours everyday

Disliked: Everything was OK

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Unmukt Goel

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

26 February 2011 Unmukt would recommend this property

Liked: They must have run out of space in the 10 bed dorm room I'd booked, as I got a room with two single beds and attached bath, all brand new, and all to myself. For $10 (and that included a beer at the cafe), this was a great deal. The facilities were clean and well maintained, and the cafe with free wifi has a nice vibe to it.

Disliked: I stayed here so I could catch the bus to the airport the next morning, but otherwise the town is pretty dead at night and there isn't much to see around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff werre extremely friendly and helpful! they organised free trips both nights we stayed. The hostel itself is very clean has a really good atmosphere

Disliked: The location isnt great and due to the stylew of the dorms you can hear people walk past the rooms at night

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice street facing bar

Disliked: rude staff, v. Unhelpful and poor security

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were greeted by friendly staff after a very long, sweaty mini-bus ride. They immediately presented us with vouchers for free beer at the hostel pub, coupons for breakfast, and a cool, lemon-scented wet facecloth! Fabulous was to check in! The staff were helpful and gave good advice on places to go, making bookings, and being generally pleasant and keen to help. The rooms are spacious and clean. All in all, a good place to stay.

Disliked: Very little. It's an excellent hostel.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels