We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

83.2% Overall Rating

530 out of 580 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Matthew Mason thinks…

"Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.49
  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Towel USD 0.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
30.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
77.04 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
14.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
8.47 USD

Hostel 85.5% 27 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
16.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
phuket blue hostel
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

530 out of 580 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 438 of 455 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan squire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in room, helpful staff

Disliked: Very squeaky beds!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay, very clean and good facilities

Disliked: nothing, I actually went twice

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place; the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms seemed fine. We had a double with AC and it was a massive room, with a sofa and fold down bed extra, i presume its the family room?

Disliked: There was a small garden, nothing special but really that's the only negative thing I can think of, defiantly a good hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has character, friendly staff, and a nice chill out room. They upgraded me to AC dorm from fan dorm for no apparent reason. Then when the World Snoring Champion kept me awake, they upgraded me to a private room for that night for no extra charge. It's right in the thick of town (although not on the historic Krabi Road), and literally right in the middle of the Veg Festival.

Disliked: The private room with fan was rather basic. The mattresses were both really springy, and the "sheets" are small and rough-ish. The bathroom is nothing special, and the TV hardly works. You can find much cheaper places around town with more to offer. But you'll miss the atmosphere and resources of this place, which make it worth the premium you pay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!! Would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: War erst bisschen abgeschreckt von den anderen Erfahrungsberichten, aber von dem was da geschrieben würde kann ich mich nur distanzieren! Die Mitarebeiter waren alle sehr nett. Frühstück war auch okey(Musli bisschen wenig aber sonst super!). Der Pool war richtig toll! Die Unterkunft ist nicht direkt in der Stadt aber man ist in einem kurzen Marsch dort. Affen könnte ich keine entdecken!!!!! Die billigen Zimmer haben nur kalte Duschen!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Devonport

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

08 August 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant all round. Great value for money, especially given the free drink every night. Helpful staff too

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs working there are really friendly and helpful, and they serve as a good guide to recommend the various attractions which we should visit in Phuket. Rooms are extremely clean, and made our stay feels like home.

Disliked: There are no furnitures in the room. Would have been better if furnitures like tables and chairs are added. Breakfast was the same for the three days when we were there. Could have a variety.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many tour offers, wifi inside the room, fun facilities, friendly staff, close to places where we can find local food, and we got an upgrade to private room!

Disliked: The bathroom door in our room couldn't be closed from the inside so we had to put a basket behind.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gaffar Rampage

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Gaffar would recommend this property

Liked: Service staff were excellent, they spoke very good english and were very helpful. Plenty of areas to chill out, their lounge has comfy sofas with a HUGE selection of DVDs. The garden was very nice to relax in as well. Clean rooms, generally no problems.

Disliked: Not much to complain about here :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Artur Grzymala

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, but a little expensive

Disliked: It was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Lumele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: its a cozy place and clean even we have sharing bathroom. the staff really helpfull cos we get a cheaper price for boat and tour rather than go on the spot. and they kindly give us early check in. amazing

Disliked: none

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Si Jia Yan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Si Jia would recommend this property

Liked: room is big i think.clean.locker

Disliked: the staff is not very friendy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice TV and computer room, has a bar where guest normally hang out at night.

Disliked: One other guest had a problem with bed bugs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upgraded to a private room - thank crunchie for broken dorm aircon.

Disliked: All good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Konstansa Mitzulova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Konstansa would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good, as well as the hostel itself. The atmosphere is very cozy

Disliked: i didn't like that there was one woman who staying with her shoes on the sofa all the time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Stroud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011

Liked: Free beer voucher on arrival, bus to the beach that costs only 30b right outside. Good cheap food and hundreds of DVDs available to use.

Disliked: There's not a lot to Phuket town but would make a great base to explore Phuket or as a stop over on the way through.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Stephenson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel offered more and more, we booked a great trip to the islands from here (great value). They have lots of free stuff on like a Thai cooking class and a trip to the night market. FANTASTIC! The place was clean and had a kitchen for guest use. There is so much they offer, its a great base to stay in Phuket.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

silvia tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2011 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are very helpful, they do provided cooking class for free, and they teach how to buy the ingredients... very pleasant stays with them.. and the most important thing is you can find a lot of new friends

Disliked: nothing I dun like about this property.. closed to everywhere and close to bus station.. so you can go everywhere :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the center of Bhuket Town. It's a short walk from the busstation (that's perfect). The staff is friendly and they have a lot dvd's to watch! Also a good place to meet people.

Disliked: The tour prices are expensive in the hostel! (just go outside to the nearest tour operator). The bed weren't clean and they don't have a free towel (first time in Thailand). And the air-con room was still warm (even it was running).

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tyler Findlay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: It was fine, an easy clean place to stay for one night

Disliked: Just sort of blag

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011

Liked: We stayed before and got a lovely room.

Disliked: We checked in late (1.30am) but had advised them in advance. We got a twin room (not double as booked). it was dark and the window opened onto the hall. We booked transfer to Phagnan for the next morning. The lady said she'd confirm departure time in the morning. We told her we were tired after travelling all day and could she let us know a half hour before. She knocked at 7.15 to tell us we would leave at 9.30. By that time we were awake anyway as the staff were shouting up and down the hall, right outside the room, and having breakfast from 6.30am. we later discovered the amount we paid for the transfer was far more than it should have been. The room definitely wasn't worth the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a massive double room with AC that came with 2 couches!

Disliked: Prices for tours, ferries etc are a bit cheaper at other travel agents.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location close to the sights in phuket town. Its easy to get to places around (phiphi isands/phang nga) there are lots of public buses that wait a long the street to get to karon/patong beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a nice restaurant just outside the hostel where they gave us a voucher for free beer :) the room was nice and clean although we only had a fan and it was very warm. The lounge area was always very busy which made it easy to meet people and they have a massive dvd selection!

Disliked: was all quite good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael O'Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of Phuket Town. Clean and safe. Great living room with TV, DVD player. Kitchen facilities. A 7-11 just along the street. Buses to the beach stop right outside too, 30 baht each way. Oh, and the hostel give you a token for a free beer at the bar each night!

Disliked: Mosquitos in the living room, especially around the computers.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels