HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Phuket Hostel

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 18.45USD
  • Breakfast 2.15USD
  • Towel 0.92USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 87%

Showing 31-40 of 43 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Would not come back

Disliked: Staff are not too friendly. Toilets are too far from the rooms.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They provide tours to nearby islands such as James Bond and Phi Phi which was convenient, since we didn't have to look for tours ourselves. Some of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had a private room for 4 nights and 5 days, and no one came to clean our room until we finally decided to ask them on the 4th day. Our sink faucet kept leaking water, which we told them about on the 1st day, but no one came to fix it so we had to keep asking. A few of the staff members didn't speak English very well and didn't even seem like they wanted to help us. One girl at the front was just on her phone most of the time and couldn't even answer a simple question of "Where are the good restaurants in town?" It was clear she didn't want to be there.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not too far from old town phuket

Disliked: Some staff were unhelpful and sarcastic when we tried to get our money back after canceling our reservation.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in the second of AKWA's hostel buildings which was closer to chaweng and right next door to a great restaurant and motorbike hire. The room was huge, air conditioned and decorated amazingly. We had a great time and woulde definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very well located within phuket town. Very clean. Good atmosphere. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful but this is probably because of the language problem. They do not speak very good english

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location was great to be in Phuket town, rooms and beds were comfortable sharing only with 4

Disliked: most of the staff did not speak enlgish

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds were big for a hostel, was clean and had a good bar area. Staff very helpful.

Disliked: NO power outlets in rooms, which is odd in this time of hyper-connectivity. Poor internet on second floor. No security on room doors. Walls in the rooms do not reach to the ceiling so it can be a bit loud.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is super friendly & helpful, especially the cook. The food there is good & they have a bar special, 2 glasses of wine for 120thb. You can't beat that & the wine was good. Stayed in a private en suite room, which was a decent size. Relatively clean, though it smelled of mold/mildew a little. But no obvious signs of them. Wifi worked quite well throughout. I saw at least 3 computers that guests can use, if you don't have your own. My fiance really likes movies, so she appreciated that they have over a hundred movies to choose from, which you can take back to the room to watch. Common area is really big & even has a pool table. The location is great, because there are markets to be found on that street & the surrounding area, plus plenty of convenience stores including a 7-11 next door. 3 vegetarian restaurant on this street was super cool, since we're vegan. Also, many open air buses can be taken from this street. For the price we paid, it was a great deal.

Disliked: Tight bathroom. Small bed sheets.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The private double was the same price as the dorms so we opted for the private and had the luxury of a TV and our own bathroom which was a nice change from where we've been staying around South East Asia so far. The restaurant had anything you might want and the staff were always trying to make sure that everyone was having a good time, encouraging us to play the board games and meet new people.

Disliked: Our room had a fair amount of ants, when we mentioned it they cleaned it right away, but it was almost like they were aware of the problem and only dealt with it because we complained. Don't leave food around!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Honestly, this is one of the BEST hostels I have ever stayed. Staff is amazing, food is delicius, prices are great, it is super clean, beds are new, location is perfect...the music is excellent, they have more movies then Blockbuster, computers for free, cooking clases for free, DJ clases, lockers and security....u name it. This is a real hostel, I really enjoyed staying here!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability