We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

84.0% Overall Rating

539 out of 590 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

"Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.71
  • Breakfast USD 2.07
  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
20.16 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
73.80 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Chanalai Flora Resort
11.81 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
9.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
11.81 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
14.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.35 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

539 out of 590 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 447 of 465 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Reitenbach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: clean and good location

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a one night stop over this place is excellent

Disliked: Location is very poor nothing at all to do.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ben Webb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Wouldn't stay there again though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception was nice. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Shower was good. Kitchen was well equipped. Free Internet. Free drink on arrival nice touch. Close to buses for beaches and towns. Close to market for food (great food and fresh fruit).

Disliked: As an English speaker I found it a bit difficult to understand reception and ask questions sometimes - but this is not really something one should complain about when traveling!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel to stay at, i'd recommend actually spending more than one night in this hostel! Although people say there isn't a lot to do around this area, I beg to differ - take a long walk around and you will discover lots of cool markets and interesting food to pick up on the cheap. It's not exactly party central but if you want to take it easy for a few days it's a great place to come and relax. The beach is only a bus ride away and the buses run very regularly... The hostel itself is awesome, it has everything you need, it's clean, friendly and safe. The private twin rooms are a lot more spacious than the dorms so if you can find someone else to share a room with it's definitely worth doing! Overall if I ever came back to Phuket for a few days I certainly wouldn't mind staying here again.

Disliked: The only thing I can honestly say was that my dorm was a bit tiny but since I had it to myself most of the time it wasn't an issue at all!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

duncan mckinnon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 November 2011

Liked: The dorms are a bazzilion times better than the private rooms. Don't let them upgrade you. It ain't no upgrade.

Disliked: If I really had to pick something... Sure the bus station is outside but it's 50 minutes by bus to anywhere like Beaches, Patong. Staff trying to scam you by upgrading you when it's not really and upgrade and then trying to double charge you. They have internet, but if you want a page to load it aint going to happen. Slow for even slow Thai internet standards. Yes they have a tv and dvd player with dvd's but be prepared to only get to watch the first half of the dvd's as the dvd player can't read the last half. Dirty. The owners who are rarely there speak English, the staff managing the hostel won't be able to explain anything basic like the buses etc. Can say Hello to them or a few basic things. Fair enough I can't speak Thai well either though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly close to bus terminal. Easy to catch transport to patong. Big room. Lots of movies in nice lounge.

Disliked: Staff bit unfriendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2011

Liked: The rooms were clean, large, and very nice. There was computer access, but internet was very slow (especially for Thailand standards). The location was also very convenient if you're looking to take the [inconvenient and ridiculously priced] songtaew buses to the beaches.

Disliked: The hostel was fine, and amenities were nice; however, if you're looking for a glimpse of the 'real' Thailand, especially in a place as commercialized as Phuket, do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from the backpacker scene; couch surf or something, I wish I had. The staff were friendly enough, but, like everyone else in Phuket, they are really just interested in your money. Go elsewhere in Thailand, away from the crowds, and you'll find this is NOT the case...part of why I love this country. Disclaimer: my review is biased, as I've been living in Thailand for the past few months... if you're just passing through and want to party, you'll have a swell time, I'm sure.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: free internet and the free cooking show.

Disliked: Its expensive for a thai hostel. You can find cheaper

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan squire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in room, helpful staff

Disliked: Very squeaky beds!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay, very clean and good facilities

Disliked: nothing, I actually went twice

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place; the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms seemed fine. We had a double with AC and it was a massive room, with a sofa and fold down bed extra, i presume its the family room?

Disliked: There was a small garden, nothing special but really that's the only negative thing I can think of, defiantly a good hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has character, friendly staff, and a nice chill out room. They upgraded me to AC dorm from fan dorm for no apparent reason. Then when the World Snoring Champion kept me awake, they upgraded me to a private room for that night for no extra charge. It's right in the thick of town (although not on the historic Krabi Road), and literally right in the middle of the Veg Festival.

Disliked: The private room with fan was rather basic. The mattresses were both really springy, and the "sheets" are small and rough-ish. The bathroom is nothing special, and the TV hardly works. You can find much cheaper places around town with more to offer. But you'll miss the atmosphere and resources of this place, which make it worth the premium you pay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!! Would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: War erst bisschen abgeschreckt von den anderen Erfahrungsberichten, aber von dem was da geschrieben würde kann ich mich nur distanzieren! Die Mitarebeiter waren alle sehr nett. Frühstück war auch okey(Musli bisschen wenig aber sonst super!). Der Pool war richtig toll! Die Unterkunft ist nicht direkt in der Stadt aber man ist in einem kurzen Marsch dort. Affen könnte ich keine entdecken!!!!! Die billigen Zimmer haben nur kalte Duschen!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Devonport

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

08 August 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant all round. Great value for money, especially given the free drink every night. Helpful staff too

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs working there are really friendly and helpful, and they serve as a good guide to recommend the various attractions which we should visit in Phuket. Rooms are extremely clean, and made our stay feels like home.

Disliked: There are no furnitures in the room. Would have been better if furnitures like tables and chairs are added. Breakfast was the same for the three days when we were there. Could have a variety.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many tour offers, wifi inside the room, fun facilities, friendly staff, close to places where we can find local food, and we got an upgrade to private room!

Disliked: The bathroom door in our room couldn't be closed from the inside so we had to put a basket behind.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gaffar Rampage

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Gaffar would recommend this property

Liked: Service staff were excellent, they spoke very good english and were very helpful. Plenty of areas to chill out, their lounge has comfy sofas with a HUGE selection of DVDs. The garden was very nice to relax in as well. Clean rooms, generally no problems.

Disliked: Not much to complain about here :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Artur Grzymala

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, but a little expensive

Disliked: It was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Lumele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: its a cozy place and clean even we have sharing bathroom. the staff really helpfull cos we get a cheaper price for boat and tour rather than go on the spot. and they kindly give us early check in. amazing

Disliked: none

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Si Jia Yan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Si Jia would recommend this property

Liked: room is big i think.clean.locker

Disliked: the staff is not very friendy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice TV and computer room, has a bar where guest normally hang out at night.

Disliked: One other guest had a problem with bed bugs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upgraded to a private room - thank crunchie for broken dorm aircon.

Disliked: All good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Konstansa Mitzulova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Konstansa would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good, as well as the hostel itself. The atmosphere is very cozy

Disliked: i didn't like that there was one woman who staying with her shoes on the sofa all the time


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels