We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

82.7% Overall Rating

529 out of 579 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Matthew Mason thinks…

"Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.58
  • Breakfast USD 2.17
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
23.22 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
77.41 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
7.74 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 88.7% 26 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sino Imperial Phuket Hotel
17.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

529 out of 579 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 437 of 454 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gloria Leach

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: The garden

Disliked: No orientation The bathroom had an odour. There were no ventalation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big rooms, easy to find, great cheap restaurant next door. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much to dislike!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tracy Wallace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012

Liked: the cooking class was good, the rooms were clean!!

Disliked: not alot goes on in town, bus on the other hand is right outside the front door to the busy beachs and shopping!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fred Wong

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Facility is very good. A few steps from local bus to different parts of Phuket.

Disliked: A little bit far from airport bus station by walking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oliver Edgecombe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2012 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good facilities and private.

Disliked: Nothing apart from the staff behind the bar can't speak a word of English which can get frustrating haha!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AYTEKIN YUMLU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 AYTEKIN would recommend this property

Liked: The bar next door is really nice, but don t spend your money there for food. Just go to other restaurants next door.

Disliked: Aircon in dorm is turned off during day, which makes it unbearable to stay inside...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CRISTINA DALLE VEDOVE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 CRISTINA would recommend this property

Liked: It's probably one of the best place I've stayed in Thailand so far! Modern building, comfortable beds, nice & clean common areas, helpful staff and great location! I highly recommend the place!!

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very central location. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even upgraded my room reservations for free as I had a large group that I brought to stay there. The living space was very nice for a large group and the wifi internet supported all of us!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gina Leach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in old Phuket town.

Disliked: Our room was close to the outdoor common area so it was very noisy, and curtain was so thin with a light behind it 24/7 we struggled sleeping.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

todd springall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 todd would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great little hostel. good atmosphere in the common room. really helpful staff with directions etc. clean rooms and good location for city walk and services.

Disliked: todd left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Sanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012

Liked: This is really a nice place to stay. Great atmosphere, a lot of travellers to hang out with in the bar belonging to the hostel. The private room as really nice, in the garden of the hostel.

Disliked: The location is good if you want to stay in the old town of Phuket, but the town itself is really miserable... Please choose to stay at the beach on the west coast, much nicer! The town has nothing to offer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in the center of Phuket, staff was very helpful, nice garden and general public rooms.

Disliked: bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

ELENA KUDRYAVTSEVA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: very expensiv

Disliked: very expensiv

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Reitenbach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: clean and good location

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a one night stop over this place is excellent

Disliked: Location is very poor nothing at all to do.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ben Webb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Wouldn't stay there again though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception was nice. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Shower was good. Kitchen was well equipped. Free Internet. Free drink on arrival nice touch. Close to buses for beaches and towns. Close to market for food (great food and fresh fruit).

Disliked: As an English speaker I found it a bit difficult to understand reception and ask questions sometimes - but this is not really something one should complain about when traveling!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel to stay at, i'd recommend actually spending more than one night in this hostel! Although people say there isn't a lot to do around this area, I beg to differ - take a long walk around and you will discover lots of cool markets and interesting food to pick up on the cheap. It's not exactly party central but if you want to take it easy for a few days it's a great place to come and relax. The beach is only a bus ride away and the buses run very regularly... The hostel itself is awesome, it has everything you need, it's clean, friendly and safe. The private twin rooms are a lot more spacious than the dorms so if you can find someone else to share a room with it's definitely worth doing! Overall if I ever came back to Phuket for a few days I certainly wouldn't mind staying here again.

Disliked: The only thing I can honestly say was that my dorm was a bit tiny but since I had it to myself most of the time it wasn't an issue at all!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

duncan mckinnon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 November 2011

Liked: The dorms are a bazzilion times better than the private rooms. Don't let them upgrade you. It ain't no upgrade.

Disliked: If I really had to pick something... Sure the bus station is outside but it's 50 minutes by bus to anywhere like Beaches, Patong. Staff trying to scam you by upgrading you when it's not really and upgrade and then trying to double charge you. They have internet, but if you want a page to load it aint going to happen. Slow for even slow Thai internet standards. Yes they have a tv and dvd player with dvd's but be prepared to only get to watch the first half of the dvd's as the dvd player can't read the last half. Dirty. The owners who are rarely there speak English, the staff managing the hostel won't be able to explain anything basic like the buses etc. Can say Hello to them or a few basic things. Fair enough I can't speak Thai well either though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly close to bus terminal. Easy to catch transport to patong. Big room. Lots of movies in nice lounge.

Disliked: Staff bit unfriendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2011

Liked: The rooms were clean, large, and very nice. There was computer access, but internet was very slow (especially for Thailand standards). The location was also very convenient if you're looking to take the [inconvenient and ridiculously priced] songtaew buses to the beaches.

Disliked: The hostel was fine, and amenities were nice; however, if you're looking for a glimpse of the 'real' Thailand, especially in a place as commercialized as Phuket, do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from the backpacker scene; couch surf or something, I wish I had. The staff were friendly enough, but, like everyone else in Phuket, they are really just interested in your money. Go elsewhere in Thailand, away from the crowds, and you'll find this is NOT the case...part of why I love this country. Disclaimer: my review is biased, as I've been living in Thailand for the past few months... if you're just passing through and want to party, you'll have a swell time, I'm sure.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: free internet and the free cooking show.

Disliked: Its expensive for a thai hostel. You can find cheaper

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan squire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in room, helpful staff

Disliked: Very squeaky beds!


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels