HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Phuket

Hostel

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 77%

Location 80%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 18.11USD
  • Breakfast 2.11USD
  • Towel 0.91USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 77%

Location 80%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

Showing 21-30 of 49 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great value hostel, room was clean staff friendly and food good. If you stay here check out timber hut which is a short walk away they have great live music.Would certainly come back

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice hostel in a good location. Friendly staff and the hostel offered us services to phi phi

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice bar, very friendly staff, clean bathroom, had A/C.

Disliked: Very small rooms with no storage space within the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were great, rooms were clean , and the common areas and the bar were awesome!

Disliked: The four share rooms are tiny, not really a big deal

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice staff and good facilities

Disliked: floor reverberated really loud when people walked around

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome pretty much in every way. It has a really cool bar/chill area with a pool table. It's great for relaxing and meeting new people.

Disliked: Location is a bit of double edge sword. It's great in a way because it's far away from overdeveloped beach areas. It's in the middle of historic phuket town. The downside it's far from the beach and nightlife. Although you can take bus/taxi to wherever you want to go.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Unlike any hostel we have stayed in, really sociable area and super clean. Lots of action downstairs and music but you couldn't hear it upstairs in the sleeping area. Lots of movies to watch (some a bit overused) and staff helpful with tours and travel. Right in the centre of the old town, bus stop right outside.

Disliked: Staff very relaxed in their attitude which was fine until we were stranded at the big Buddha because he gave us incorrect information. This happened again when we weren't told the right time for pick up and almost missed our bus! 4 bed dorm was really cramped with the rucksacks and only one plug socket. No big lockers but there was a luggage cage for when you went out in the day if needed. Other than in the hostel, no places really to go partying.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Would not come back

Disliked: Staff are not too friendly. Toilets are too far from the rooms.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They provide tours to nearby islands such as James Bond and Phi Phi which was convenient, since we didn't have to look for tours ourselves. Some of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had a private room for 4 nights and 5 days, and no one came to clean our room until we finally decided to ask them on the 4th day. Our sink faucet kept leaking water, which we told them about on the 1st day, but no one came to fix it so we had to keep asking. A few of the staff members didn't speak English very well and didn't even seem like they wanted to help us. One girl at the front was just on her phone most of the time and couldn't even answer a simple question of "Where are the good restaurants in town?" It was clear she didn't want to be there.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not too far from old town phuket

Disliked: Some staff were unhelpful and sarcastic when we tried to get our money back after canceling our reservation.

Check Availability