We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

84.5% Overall Rating

540 out of 591 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

"Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.10
  • Breakfast USD 1.99
  • Towel USD 0.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
19.46 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
71.23 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Chanalai Flora Resort
11.40 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
9.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
11.40 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
13.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.41 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
12.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

540 out of 591 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 447 of 466 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Nothing, I have been travelling all over thailand for 4 weeks and this is the only hostel that have not given my key deposit back, I had to ask staff for it twice and still didn't want to give it to me for no per infix reason. When I booked a tour with the hostel te mini bus was 3 hours late, which I don't think was wen booked by the hostel so I had to take all my stuff on a taxi motorbike in te middle of a rain storm to the ferry port with no compensation or a sorry!

Disliked: The whole hostel had a bad sewage smell, there was rats trying to enter the communal lounge, and everywhere was dirty grubby old and dated!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maddie Sate

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Maddie would recommend this property

Liked: staff have very good english and are helpful with booking buses. also the rooms were very clean. the bar area had a nice atmosphere to it

Disliked: only thing i can think of is i had to get up early for 7:15 pickup and breakfast wasnt available until 8

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: The washrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brouazin anais

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012

Liked: i don't want to writte nothing here

Disliked: i will not recommand this hostel because i book my bus ticket with them to koh phangan and they charge me 150B more then all the other traveller so if you can't trust your hostel no use to stay there except this it was fine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Radford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maybritt Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Maybritt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesomely helpful and the garden is a beautiful quiet little oasis.

Disliked: Maybritt left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elizabeth De Asha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 May 2012

Liked: It was somewhere to rest our heads. You could watch movies in the common room and rent films. There was a DVD player in our room too which was good, though the DVD got stuck in it and took a lot of work getting it out.

Disliked: The room was gross. There was damp and dirt everywhere. We had a dirty extra mattress leaning against the wall in our room, after seeing that I looked at my own mattress and thought it looked even worse so I slept in my sleeping bag liner. Both my boyfriend and I woke up both days with a funny rash....maybe from bed bugs or from the detergent ey wash things in....not sure but odd. The bathroom had no ventilation and was mouldy on the ceiling too. Wifi didnt work in our room so had to use their computers which were slow. When we went to check out the man who was meant to be checking people out, manning the desk etc was asleep. We had to wake him up (it was like 6.15am but still he should be awake if he's doing a night shift)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The loung area was nice it had free use of the computers and games like chess, scrabble and cards. And a big tv with loads of DVDs. you could also take the DVDs into your room to watch for 20 baht. It's a good place to meet people too. The garden is nice but you can't sit out after 4-5 because of bugs. Rooms were clean and we had air con and a tv. As well as the main door lock you could also put your own padlock to the door for extra security. there's also a keypad lock gate at the front that they close after 5 which make you feel safe.

Disliked: The staff. I'm not on to really bother how friendly the staff at a hostel are as long as the place is clean im happy but here I felt like I was intruding even when I was just walking by. I was trying to buy water and the woman at the desk just ignored me for so long in became awkward. when you asked anything it felt like you were really putting them out. Air-con was busted, had a mind of it's own. The wifi only started working on the morning of us checking out, hadnt working for 2 days.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful. It´s a good place for one night. Nice DVD collection.

Disliked: The aircon didnt work properly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

22 April 2012

Liked: The room was clean and we were upgraded to air con with no extra charge. Our saving grace food wise was the 7/11 and the restaurant next door: Sea U. Lovely lady, great food, reasonable price. Other benefit - a twenty minute walk to the bus station which is convenient for getting out of the place.

Disliked: Phuket town is definitely not the best location - try eating out after 8pm and you have a problem. Wish we'd stayed in Patong longer. The washing machine advertised is not free and you have to pay for two separate washes if you have colours and whites - starting at 70B a load - a pain as this is one of the reasons I paid a little more for this hostel. Wifi was not always reliable whilst in the room and the bar food was either not available or served in part but charged in full.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gloria Leach

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: The garden

Disliked: No orientation The bathroom had an odour. There were no ventalation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big rooms, easy to find, great cheap restaurant next door. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much to dislike!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tracy Wallace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012

Liked: the cooking class was good, the rooms were clean!!

Disliked: not alot goes on in town, bus on the other hand is right outside the front door to the busy beachs and shopping!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fred Wong

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Facility is very good. A few steps from local bus to different parts of Phuket.

Disliked: A little bit far from airport bus station by walking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oliver Edgecombe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2012 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good facilities and private.

Disliked: Nothing apart from the staff behind the bar can't speak a word of English which can get frustrating haha!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AYTEKIN YUMLU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 AYTEKIN would recommend this property

Liked: The bar next door is really nice, but don t spend your money there for food. Just go to other restaurants next door.

Disliked: Aircon in dorm is turned off during day, which makes it unbearable to stay inside...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CRISTINA DALLE VEDOVE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 CRISTINA would recommend this property

Liked: It's probably one of the best place I've stayed in Thailand so far! Modern building, comfortable beds, nice & clean common areas, helpful staff and great location! I highly recommend the place!!

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very central location. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even upgraded my room reservations for free as I had a large group that I brought to stay there. The living space was very nice for a large group and the wifi internet supported all of us!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gina Leach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in old Phuket town.

Disliked: Our room was close to the outdoor common area so it was very noisy, and curtain was so thin with a light behind it 24/7 we struggled sleeping.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

todd springall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 todd would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great little hostel. good atmosphere in the common room. really helpful staff with directions etc. clean rooms and good location for city walk and services.

Disliked: todd left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Sanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012

Liked: This is really a nice place to stay. Great atmosphere, a lot of travellers to hang out with in the bar belonging to the hostel. The private room as really nice, in the garden of the hostel.

Disliked: The location is good if you want to stay in the old town of Phuket, but the town itself is really miserable... Please choose to stay at the beach on the west coast, much nicer! The town has nothing to offer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in the center of Phuket, staff was very helpful, nice garden and general public rooms.

Disliked: bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

ELENA KUDRYAVTSEVA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: very expensiv

Disliked: very expensiv


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels