HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Phuket Hostel

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 16.87USD
  • Breakfast 1.97USD
  • Towel 0.84USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 35 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near Phi Phi

Disliked: Far from Patong

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really clean and welcoming. This is the first hostel I have stayedin and I wish we had more time here it's really nice the bar looks great and location seems good. We booked to stay the night after arriving at 11:30 and we are leaving at 10am so we don't really get the time we wanted here but I would come back

Disliked: My bed sheets were dirty and had holes in but I have a sleep sheet. And the doors on the toliets didn't lock on all the doors plus the Taps didn't work. But it was clean and friendly and for the time we had here it wasn't a real issue.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great value hostel, room was clean staff friendly and food good. If you stay here check out timber hut which is a short walk away they have great live music.Would certainly come back

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice hostel in a good location. Friendly staff and the hostel offered us services to phi phi

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice bar, very friendly staff, clean bathroom, had A/C.

Disliked: Very small rooms with no storage space within the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were great, rooms were clean , and the common areas and the bar were awesome!

Disliked: The four share rooms are tiny, not really a big deal

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice staff and good facilities

Disliked: floor reverberated really loud when people walked around

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome pretty much in every way. It has a really cool bar/chill area with a pool table. It's great for relaxing and meeting new people.

Disliked: Location is a bit of double edge sword. It's great in a way because it's far away from overdeveloped beach areas. It's in the middle of historic phuket town. The downside it's far from the beach and nightlife. Although you can take bus/taxi to wherever you want to go.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Unlike any hostel we have stayed in, really sociable area and super clean. Lots of action downstairs and music but you couldn't hear it upstairs in the sleeping area. Lots of movies to watch (some a bit overused) and staff helpful with tours and travel. Right in the centre of the old town, bus stop right outside.

Disliked: Staff very relaxed in their attitude which was fine until we were stranded at the big Buddha because he gave us incorrect information. This happened again when we weren't told the right time for pick up and almost missed our bus! 4 bed dorm was really cramped with the rucksacks and only one plug socket. No big lockers but there was a luggage cage for when you went out in the day if needed. Other than in the hostel, no places really to go partying.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability