We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

83.2% Overall Rating

530 out of 580 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Matthew Mason thinks…

"Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.49
  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Towel USD 0.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
24.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
77.04 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
7.67 USD

Hostel 85.5% 27 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
16.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
phuket blue hostel
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

530 out of 580 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 438 of 455 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eva Gould

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013

Liked: Good value. Great staff. Kitchen for guests. Nice tv room with lots and lots of dvds. On Friday nights there is a cooking class which is fun a great way to interact with staff and other guests and you get the free food!

Disliked: The dorm room is absolutely tiny and quite hot and smelly. I think the air conditioning just didn't reach our room very well and I think the air conditioning is better in other rooms/ cubicles! ;) the bathroom was a bit smelly all the time but not that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you shud definately stay in the private room if you can because it is a lot less noisy than the dorms. the facilties are excellent and the private room is hotel standard. the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: some people were very noisy outside our room from midnight to 2am - but this is totally not the fault of the hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice and quite hostle. I had a big 4 bed dorm. But there are smaller ones. It's verry clean and the have a nice bar with happy hour and good value food

Disliked: You can't lock the door, if you do in the night they'll open it again. So when you leave you can't lock it anyway. There are lockers but only for small valuals not for you wholl backpack. Besides that, you are in Phucket town. So you need 30-45 min to get to the bars and beach. But the hostel is in general verry nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent for the price and helpful staff, clean rooms

Disliked: Bathrooms could've been cleaner

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, unfortunately.

Disliked: See above.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and they have aircon in the dorms!!! YAY!!!

Disliked: The nature of the location means people are in and out at all hours of the night... not the hostels fault, just the nature of it being accessible to the airport.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very spacious.

Disliked: The paint on the door in the ensuite was peeling off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Schmitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Phuket Backpackers is a great place to stay. Good value for money but also nice character. Best place I stayed at in Phuket.

Disliked: Cant think of anything negative to be honest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Govoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Made you feel like you are home immediately. Everyone on staff catered to your every need and all the other customers were friendly as can be.

Disliked: It was too expensive to stay for a year.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Axel Sochaczewski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, many services offered. Good rooms.

Disliked: More staff necessary, especially english talking and early in the morning. The second building needs more work on it. It stinks in common areas (must have been a chicken stall before) and atmosphere is poor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendlly staff. Exactly what was expected great value for money

Disliked: Room very hot even with fan

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good for seeing the night market and getting cheap buses to the more touristy beaches. The town itself is charming but only caught our attention for a few days.

Disliked: The construction outside our hostel was very loud most mornings but that sort of thing is unavoidable I suppose. The night market is fun, as was touring Phuket town for a day, but if you're looking for a nice beach this isn't the best location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Bose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the buses, good value for money

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to start

Disliked: The rooms had little to block noise so drunk douchbags yelling at eachother sounded like it was in the same room almost

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013

Liked: Private rooms were relatively clean.

Disliked: FAR FAR from the beach (or anything) in the backstreets of phuket, nothing to do for miles around. Horrible location. The walk to my room felt like walking through a prison.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Nothing, I have been travelling all over thailand for 4 weeks and this is the only hostel that have not given my key deposit back, I had to ask staff for it twice and still didn't want to give it to me for no per infix reason. When I booked a tour with the hostel te mini bus was 3 hours late, which I don't think was wen booked by the hostel so I had to take all my stuff on a taxi motorbike in te middle of a rain storm to the ferry port with no compensation or a sorry!

Disliked: The whole hostel had a bad sewage smell, there was rats trying to enter the communal lounge, and everywhere was dirty grubby old and dated!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maddie Sate

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Maddie would recommend this property

Liked: staff have very good english and are helpful with booking buses. also the rooms were very clean. the bar area had a nice atmosphere to it

Disliked: only thing i can think of is i had to get up early for 7:15 pickup and breakfast wasnt available until 8

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: The washrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brouazin anais

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012

Liked: i don't want to writte nothing here

Disliked: i will not recommand this hostel because i book my bus ticket with them to koh phangan and they charge me 150B more then all the other traveller so if you can't trust your hostel no use to stay there except this it was fine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Radford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maybritt Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Maybritt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesomely helpful and the garden is a beautiful quiet little oasis.

Disliked: Maybritt left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elizabeth De Asha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 May 2012

Liked: It was somewhere to rest our heads. You could watch movies in the common room and rent films. There was a DVD player in our room too which was good, though the DVD got stuck in it and took a lot of work getting it out.

Disliked: The room was gross. There was damp and dirt everywhere. We had a dirty extra mattress leaning against the wall in our room, after seeing that I looked at my own mattress and thought it looked even worse so I slept in my sleeping bag liner. Both my boyfriend and I woke up both days with a funny rash....maybe from bed bugs or from the detergent ey wash things in....not sure but odd. The bathroom had no ventilation and was mouldy on the ceiling too. Wifi didnt work in our room so had to use their computers which were slow. When we went to check out the man who was meant to be checking people out, manning the desk etc was asleep. We had to wake him up (it was like 6.15am but still he should be awake if he's doing a night shift)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The loung area was nice it had free use of the computers and games like chess, scrabble and cards. And a big tv with loads of DVDs. you could also take the DVDs into your room to watch for 20 baht. It's a good place to meet people too. The garden is nice but you can't sit out after 4-5 because of bugs. Rooms were clean and we had air con and a tv. As well as the main door lock you could also put your own padlock to the door for extra security. there's also a keypad lock gate at the front that they close after 5 which make you feel safe.

Disliked: The staff. I'm not on to really bother how friendly the staff at a hostel are as long as the place is clean im happy but here I felt like I was intruding even when I was just walking by. I was trying to buy water and the woman at the desk just ignored me for so long in became awkward. when you asked anything it felt like you were really putting them out. Air-con was busted, had a mind of it's own. The wifi only started working on the morning of us checking out, hadnt working for 2 days.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful. It´s a good place for one night. Nice DVD collection.

Disliked: The aircon didnt work properly.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels