HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Phuket

Hostel

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 77%

Location 80%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 18.16USD
  • Breakfast 2.12USD
  • Towel 0.91USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 77%

Location 80%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 49 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Not much

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large common areas to hang out and meet fellow travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Near the bus “station“ to the beaches, very clean, only 4 beds per room

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is in a strategic area to get bus connections with the beaches. The staff offer a nice attention, in particular the manager and Art. He is generous with information about Phuket and help us with everything, even with our heavy bags. Thank you so much Art and is very nice to find great people like you in a trip!!! Nice place, good value and excellent staff!! arrivederci

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: nice location

Disliked: noisy in the midnightno drink waterno self-catering facility

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Overall we really enjoyed this hostel. It was overall very nice despite being wonderfully inexpensive.

Disliked: There was a strange rule of no drinks in the common room. The signs didn't elaborate, but we decided it must mean alcoholic drinks as their is a bar in the main room/entry. We never found out exactly what it meant. Since there is no eating/drinking (water excluded) allowed in the rooms (this is to prevent insects from making their homes inside the building so it's completely understandable) and this rule made us a little uncomfortable eating in the common room.It could also be rather noisy in the building. The building is quite open, as in there aren't simply multiple floors but part of the floors are open to the ground floor. It looks very cool in my opinion, but noise escapes easily. Music is blasted from the common room at a volume higher than it needs to be. It was difficult to talk over so we often went to our room to talk, missing the opportunity to socialize with others. Our room was at the far end of the second level and completely shut off so it wasn't too loud for us (room with 10 beds and air conditioning). Walls of other rooms on the level did not reach the ceiling so I imagine they were quite loud.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms

Disliked: The AC is turned off at about 8 or 9 in the morning so it gets really hot after that time.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very friendly and the whole place was really clean. Good location. Ideal for someone trying to do Thailand as cheap as possible but still getting comfort. Great value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near Phi Phi

Disliked: Far from Patong

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really clean and welcoming. This is the first hostel I have stayedin and I wish we had more time here it's really nice the bar looks great and location seems good. We booked to stay the night after arriving at 11:30 and we are leaving at 10am so we don't really get the time we wanted here but I would come back

Disliked: My bed sheets were dirty and had holes in but I have a sleep sheet. And the doors on the toliets didn't lock on all the doors plus the Taps didn't work. But it was clean and friendly and for the time we had here it wasn't a real issue.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability