We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

84.8% Overall Rating

538 out of 589 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

"Close to old pukhet town. Some of the staff were friendly. Others didn't care. Accidentally booked for a night later, and they accommodated since they had many empty beds."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.86
  • Breakfast USD 2.08
  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
20.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
74.40 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Chanalai Flora Resort
11.90 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
9.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 10 reviews
Rucksack hostel
5.95 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
14.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.70 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.39 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

538 out of 589 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 446 of 464 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susan Munro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were big for a hostel, was clean and had a good bar area. Staff very helpful.

Disliked: NO power outlets in rooms, which is odd in this time of hyper-connectivity. Poor internet on second floor. No security on room doors. Walls in the rooms do not reach to the ceiling so it can be a bit loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JOHN SYKES

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super friendly & helpful, especially the cook. The food there is good & they have a bar special, 2 glasses of wine for 120thb. You can't beat that & the wine was good. Stayed in a private en suite room, which was a decent size. Relatively clean, though it smelled of mold/mildew a little. But no obvious signs of them. Wifi worked quite well throughout. I saw at least 3 computers that guests can use, if you don't have your own. My fiance really likes movies, so she appreciated that they have over a hundred movies to choose from, which you can take back to the room to watch. Common area is really big & even has a pool table. The location is great, because there are markets to be found on that street & the surrounding area, plus plenty of convenience stores including a 7-11 next door. 3 vegetarian restaurant on this street was super cool, since we're vegan. Also, many open air buses can be taken from this street. For the price we paid, it was a great deal.

Disliked: Tight bathroom. Small bed sheets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

laura cormier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 laura would recommend this property

Liked: The private double was the same price as the dorms so we opted for the private and had the luxury of a TV and our own bathroom which was a nice change from where we've been staying around South East Asia so far. The restaurant had anything you might want and the staff were always trying to make sure that everyone was having a good time, encouraging us to play the board games and meet new people.

Disliked: Our room had a fair amount of ants, when we mentioned it they cleaned it right away, but it was almost like they were aware of the problem and only dealt with it because we complained. Don't leave food around!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Velazquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, this is one of the BEST hostels I have ever stayed. Staff is amazing, food is delicius, prices are great, it is super clean, beds are new, location is perfect...the music is excellent, they have more movies then Blockbuster, computers for free, cooking clases for free, DJ clases, lockers and security....u name it. This is a real hostel, I really enjoyed staying here!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Geraint Lloyd

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 September 2013 Geraint would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar area and very safe.

Disliked: Location was difficult for taxi driver to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot of atmosphere in the common room: bar, pool table, tables and places to sit, but it was very quiet near the rooms so easy to rest! The staff were helpful and friendly. Wifi is working well in the rooms aswell.

Disliked: There was mold on the walls. But otherwise it was clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Veltman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: Pool table And open bar 24/7

Disliked: Hostel was good only phuket city is really boring

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Cunha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 July 2013 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hostel to stay in Phuket. Cheap price and so near to bus stop to get the beaches. very clean. They provide secure spot to keep your staff and good meals for your breakfast and lunch. I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: anything to tell

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eva Gould

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013

Liked: Good value. Great staff. Kitchen for guests. Nice tv room with lots and lots of dvds. On Friday nights there is a cooking class which is fun a great way to interact with staff and other guests and you get the free food!

Disliked: The dorm room is absolutely tiny and quite hot and smelly. I think the air conditioning just didn't reach our room very well and I think the air conditioning is better in other rooms/ cubicles! ;) the bathroom was a bit smelly all the time but not that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you shud definately stay in the private room if you can because it is a lot less noisy than the dorms. the facilties are excellent and the private room is hotel standard. the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: some people were very noisy outside our room from midnight to 2am - but this is totally not the fault of the hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice and quite hostle. I had a big 4 bed dorm. But there are smaller ones. It's verry clean and the have a nice bar with happy hour and good value food

Disliked: You can't lock the door, if you do in the night they'll open it again. So when you leave you can't lock it anyway. There are lockers but only for small valuals not for you wholl backpack. Besides that, you are in Phucket town. So you need 30-45 min to get to the bars and beach. But the hostel is in general verry nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent for the price and helpful staff, clean rooms

Disliked: Bathrooms could've been cleaner

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, unfortunately.

Disliked: See above.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and they have aircon in the dorms!!! YAY!!!

Disliked: The nature of the location means people are in and out at all hours of the night... not the hostels fault, just the nature of it being accessible to the airport.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very spacious.

Disliked: The paint on the door in the ensuite was peeling off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Schmitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Phuket Backpackers is a great place to stay. Good value for money but also nice character. Best place I stayed at in Phuket.

Disliked: Cant think of anything negative to be honest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Govoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Made you feel like you are home immediately. Everyone on staff catered to your every need and all the other customers were friendly as can be.

Disliked: It was too expensive to stay for a year.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Axel Sochaczewski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, many services offered. Good rooms.

Disliked: More staff necessary, especially english talking and early in the morning. The second building needs more work on it. It stinks in common areas (must have been a chicken stall before) and atmosphere is poor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendlly staff. Exactly what was expected great value for money

Disliked: Room very hot even with fan

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good for seeing the night market and getting cheap buses to the more touristy beaches. The town itself is charming but only caught our attention for a few days.

Disliked: The construction outside our hostel was very loud most mornings but that sort of thing is unavoidable I suppose. The night market is fun, as was touring Phuket town for a day, but if you're looking for a nice beach this isn't the best location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Bose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the buses, good value for money

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to start

Disliked: The rooms had little to block noise so drunk douchbags yelling at eachother sounded like it was in the same room almost

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013

Liked: Private rooms were relatively clean.

Disliked: FAR FAR from the beach (or anything) in the backstreets of phuket, nothing to do for miles around. Horrible location. The walk to my room felt like walking through a prison.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Nothing, I have been travelling all over thailand for 4 weeks and this is the only hostel that have not given my key deposit back, I had to ask staff for it twice and still didn't want to give it to me for no per infix reason. When I booked a tour with the hostel te mini bus was 3 hours late, which I don't think was wen booked by the hostel so I had to take all my stuff on a taxi motorbike in te middle of a rain storm to the ferry port with no compensation or a sorry!

Disliked: The whole hostel had a bad sewage smell, there was rats trying to enter the communal lounge, and everywhere was dirty grubby old and dated!


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels