HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Phuket Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 165 Ranong Rd. Maung , T. Taladyai A. Maung, Phuket, Thailand 83000

81.4% Overall Rating

520 out of 570 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Mikhail Venkov thinks…

"Awesome pretty much in every way. It has a really cool bar/chill area with a pool table. It's great for relaxing and meeting new people."

Read all Phuket Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.60
  • Breakfast USD 2.17
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
24.80 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant
77.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.7% 9 reviews
Sunwest Apartment
10.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 9 reviews
Rucksack hostel
9.30 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
2W hostel
8.37 USD

Hostel 91.7% 22 reviews
Sino Imperial Phuket Hotel
17.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Memory at On On Hotel
15.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

520 out of 570 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phuket Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 430 of 445 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Schmitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Phuket Backpackers is a great place to stay. Good value for money but also nice character. Best place I stayed at in Phuket.

Disliked: Cant think of anything negative to be honest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Govoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Made you feel like you are home immediately. Everyone on staff catered to your every need and all the other customers were friendly as can be.

Disliked: It was too expensive to stay for a year.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Axel Sochaczewski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, many services offered. Good rooms.

Disliked: More staff necessary, especially english talking and early in the morning. The second building needs more work on it. It stinks in common areas (must have been a chicken stall before) and atmosphere is poor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendlly staff. Exactly what was expected great value for money

Disliked: Room very hot even with fan

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good for seeing the night market and getting cheap buses to the more touristy beaches. The town itself is charming but only caught our attention for a few days.

Disliked: The construction outside our hostel was very loud most mornings but that sort of thing is unavoidable I suppose. The night market is fun, as was touring Phuket town for a day, but if you're looking for a nice beach this isn't the best location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Bose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the buses, good value for money

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to start

Disliked: The rooms had little to block noise so drunk douchbags yelling at eachother sounded like it was in the same room almost

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013

Liked: Private rooms were relatively clean.

Disliked: FAR FAR from the beach (or anything) in the backstreets of phuket, nothing to do for miles around. Horrible location. The walk to my room felt like walking through a prison.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Nothing, I have been travelling all over thailand for 4 weeks and this is the only hostel that have not given my key deposit back, I had to ask staff for it twice and still didn't want to give it to me for no per infix reason. When I booked a tour with the hostel te mini bus was 3 hours late, which I don't think was wen booked by the hostel so I had to take all my stuff on a taxi motorbike in te middle of a rain storm to the ferry port with no compensation or a sorry!

Disliked: The whole hostel had a bad sewage smell, there was rats trying to enter the communal lounge, and everywhere was dirty grubby old and dated!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maddie Sate

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Maddie would recommend this property

Liked: staff have very good english and are helpful with booking buses. also the rooms were very clean. the bar area had a nice atmosphere to it

Disliked: only thing i can think of is i had to get up early for 7:15 pickup and breakfast wasnt available until 8

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: The washrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brouazin anais

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012

Liked: i don't want to writte nothing here

Disliked: i will not recommand this hostel because i book my bus ticket with them to koh phangan and they charge me 150B more then all the other traveller so if you can't trust your hostel no use to stay there except this it was fine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Radford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maybritt Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Maybritt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesomely helpful and the garden is a beautiful quiet little oasis.

Disliked: Maybritt left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elizabeth De Asha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 May 2012

Liked: It was somewhere to rest our heads. You could watch movies in the common room and rent films. There was a DVD player in our room too which was good, though the DVD got stuck in it and took a lot of work getting it out.

Disliked: The room was gross. There was damp and dirt everywhere. We had a dirty extra mattress leaning against the wall in our room, after seeing that I looked at my own mattress and thought it looked even worse so I slept in my sleeping bag liner. Both my boyfriend and I woke up both days with a funny rash....maybe from bed bugs or from the detergent ey wash things in....not sure but odd. The bathroom had no ventilation and was mouldy on the ceiling too. Wifi didnt work in our room so had to use their computers which were slow. When we went to check out the man who was meant to be checking people out, manning the desk etc was asleep. We had to wake him up (it was like 6.15am but still he should be awake if he's doing a night shift)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The loung area was nice it had free use of the computers and games like chess, scrabble and cards. And a big tv with loads of DVDs. you could also take the DVDs into your room to watch for 20 baht. It's a good place to meet people too. The garden is nice but you can't sit out after 4-5 because of bugs. Rooms were clean and we had air con and a tv. As well as the main door lock you could also put your own padlock to the door for extra security. there's also a keypad lock gate at the front that they close after 5 which make you feel safe.

Disliked: The staff. I'm not on to really bother how friendly the staff at a hostel are as long as the place is clean im happy but here I felt like I was intruding even when I was just walking by. I was trying to buy water and the woman at the desk just ignored me for so long in became awkward. when you asked anything it felt like you were really putting them out. Air-con was busted, had a mind of it's own. The wifi only started working on the morning of us checking out, hadnt working for 2 days.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful. It´s a good place for one night. Nice DVD collection.

Disliked: The aircon didnt work properly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

22 April 2012

Liked: The room was clean and we were upgraded to air con with no extra charge. Our saving grace food wise was the 7/11 and the restaurant next door: Sea U. Lovely lady, great food, reasonable price. Other benefit - a twenty minute walk to the bus station which is convenient for getting out of the place.

Disliked: Phuket town is definitely not the best location - try eating out after 8pm and you have a problem. Wish we'd stayed in Patong longer. The washing machine advertised is not free and you have to pay for two separate washes if you have colours and whites - starting at 70B a load - a pain as this is one of the reasons I paid a little more for this hostel. Wifi was not always reliable whilst in the room and the bar food was either not available or served in part but charged in full.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gloria Leach

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: The garden

Disliked: No orientation The bathroom had an odour. There were no ventalation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big rooms, easy to find, great cheap restaurant next door. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much to dislike!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tracy Wallace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012

Liked: the cooking class was good, the rooms were clean!!

Disliked: not alot goes on in town, bus on the other hand is right outside the front door to the busy beachs and shopping!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fred Wong

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Facility is very good. A few steps from local bus to different parts of Phuket.

Disliked: A little bit far from airport bus station by walking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oliver Edgecombe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2012 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good facilities and private.

Disliked: Nothing apart from the staff behind the bar can't speak a word of English which can get frustrating haha!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AYTEKIN YUMLU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 AYTEKIN would recommend this property

Liked: The bar next door is really nice, but don t spend your money there for food. Just go to other restaurants next door.

Disliked: Aircon in dorm is turned off during day, which makes it unbearable to stay inside...


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels