HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel

Hostel | 243, 245 Talang rd., (Behind Dtac Shop), Talad Yai, Muang Phuket, Thailand 83000

77.3% Overall Rating

27 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2014)

"The beds were fairly clean. So were the bathrooms. There was one girl at the desk that at the very least spoke English despite only seeing her for about 15 min at the desk. The hostel is right near old town that's full…"

Read all Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

Sunwest Guesthouse
6.25 USD

Guesthouse 79.8% 148 reviews
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Memory at On On Hotel
10.94 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Lub Sbuy House
16.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lub Sbuy Guest House
10.94 USD

Hostel 84.9% 33 reviews
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
29.38 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ananas Phuket Hostels
10.94 USD

Hostel 92.3% 89 reviews
2W hostel
7.03 USD

Hostel 88.7% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

27 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
65.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern, clean, quiet and close to the center

Disliked: the fans don't really cool the room, some of the hottest nights of my life (not in the positive way), the staff speaks hardly english.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were fairly clean. So were the bathrooms. There was one girl at the desk that at the very least spoke English despite only seeing her for about 15 min at the desk. The hostel is right near old town that's full of places to eat and drink.

Disliked: There were lots of things to dislike about Sleep Sheep. After first walking in, I had to repeatedly call out hello because there was no one at the front desk. I still had to wait 10 min before the girl at the front desk appeared from some back room. I promptly greeted her with a sawadee ka and received not even a smile in return. She sat at the desk and said "one night" as she handed me a paper to fill out. I said I booked online. Her response was "no English" as she gave me a very inquisitive look.. So it was quite interesting trying to check in. Fast forward a couple hours and I got locked out of the room when I went for a shower. Completely my own fault, I'm the dumbass that left without my key. Again I had to hunt her down to ask her for help. My rudimentary thai was not helping one bit. She told me in tinglish that the maid was upstairs with a key. Lemme tell you there was no one around cause I was just up to the top and back down but I went to check again anyway, just in case. The next time I had to hunt her down and tell her no one was there. She then pulled out a key ring from a not-so-secure-not-so-secret secret hiding place for the master keys and hands them over to me. Good thing I believe in karma because I could have walked out of there with the keys, made copies and then brought them back. She wouldn't have been any wiser and I'd have a hellova lot of fancy stuff to sell at the market. Don't get me wrong I'm in thailand I can't expect everyone to speak English; I'm not that rude. But if you're particularly working at an international youth hostel, it may be reasonable for one to speak even a small amount that would make one's job a little easier and a lot less frustrating. Finally, there really isn't much of a common area for people to hang out and socialize. And there were a lot of ants everywhere on the ground floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ruby Barber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, close to the centre.

Disliked: Not much happening.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013

Liked: Luggage could be easily secured in lockers. Basic facilities included. Decent location.

Disliked: Receptionist on front desk was not friendly or helpful. There were ants everywhere! Overall a bad experience.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and as described on the web page

Disliked: I have never seen such an unfriendly employee, blowing to the ground when we asked a question. I told her to smile a bit more, since it does not kill anyone!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina DaSilva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: i only stayed one night but it was a great stay. welcomed by a very lovely staff member. the hostel is very colourful which is nice. theres a kitchen with free breakfast 730-1030..tea coffee cereal toast. the beds were quite comfortable (i stayed in the dorm) everyone has their own locker with lock which is nice. bathrooms/showers were clean! great one night stay

Disliked: could be a little tricky to find if you don't have very specific directions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Irizarry

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 January 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location, cheap, very clean, really helpful staff and good security. I would definitely recommend to others staying in Phuket.

Disliked: the bed was hard but that is my only complaint

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms which are bright and clean with good ensuite. Wifi is excellent.

Disliked: Breakfast is 7:30am but on the day we needed to leave early for the airport, staff didnt arrive to get out the breakfast or be able to check out until 7:50am. They were very friendly and helpful though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patryk Gwardys

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

26 December 2012 Patryk would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean

Disliked: Many local kids in the hostel are quite loud not letting you sleep in till 8am

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Piper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Room and private bathroom were massive, clean, quiet and comfortable. Free breakfast was an unexpected bonus. Nice airy and bright atmosphere too!

Disliked: staff were helpful but VERY limited English

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Claire Ashdown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2012

Liked: Our friend had stayed previously and said the facilities and cleanliness were good.

Disliked: The hostel was difficult to find, we had only travelled from patong but the taxi driver had to call the hostel for directions.. Upon arrival we were told our room was not available as there had been a mistake with the booking and that we could have another room which would cost us an extra 200 bhat! We didnt want this nicer room... we wanted what we had booked and obviously didnt want to pay more so we found another backpackers near and lost our deposit, we felt the lady should have given us the other room for our original price seeing as it was her error with the booking!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything quite nice as described

Disliked: The staff could need an english course! Couldn't answer any single question...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

virgnie wax

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

17 November 2012 virgnie would recommend this property

Liked: staff not so nice

Disliked: room not cleaning every day

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dale Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012 Dale would recommend this property

Liked: Painted in fresh white with some quirky colour. Se security was really good. Night staff were friendly.

Disliked: Although was immaculate saw couple of rats outside. Had WiFi and internet but pc broke.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is so friendly! The rooms are all very clean and each bed has its own fan in the fan dorm. Really cute, nice place and good value for the money.

Disliked: It was hard to find and I got lost a few times trying to come back to the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bekryul shin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 bekryul would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is very awesome. hostel is super clean. Every floors are sparkling. I booked one night . I extended 4days more to stay several days to enjoy comfortable relaxation. but near here we have nothing to do. if you have relaxation and reading book, it is good. and take bus to go beach !!

Disliked: Bbekryul have no negative comment.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Hunt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: The bright colours and comfy pillows.

Disliked: The major language barrier between us and staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hiep Long Vong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Hiep Long would recommend this property

Liked: super clean!

Disliked: not at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philippe Levesque

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

14 April 2012 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Over all really gOod

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Pegg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, could do with air con though. Good location, cheap price

Disliked: No air con

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Mc Carthy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 March 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: really clean and good showers. They also have food on sale and drinks, if no one is there we just left a note and some money. Really safe and staff were really nice. It is fairly far away from everywhere though, not many restaurants or places to goout near by. Costs about 500 baht to get to patong beach, thats between however many are in the taxi/tuk tuk. So the the only annoying thing was the location. Also pay for an air conditioned room otherwise people will hog the fan, I know I did. If I didn't have the fan right beside my head I never would have got any sleep. Other then location and the fan (which was my own fault I could have got air conditioning) I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Just may be location but wasn't huge deal

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

SUJIN BOWMAN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 SUJIN would recommend this property

Liked: It is super cheap and close to everything you need in Phuket Town. It's down the street from the Tourist office and there are restaurants and shops along the road. Great open air restaurant down the street as well as a nice Internet room if you want to be air conditioned as you surf.

Disliked: You take your shoes off inside but the floors are grimey and lots of hair everywhere. The shower drain was clogged and the water pressure isn't great. This is really just a place to sleep and that's it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Spalek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2012 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: It is very new and everything is super clean - they even change your towel everyday and make your bed (I stayed in dorm by the way) - and for the price an excellent value - also wifi and computer to use and free breakfast. I will definitely stay again.

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet place to get based for few nights whilst checking around the island. Must see indie market on Thursday and Friday night just 5 min walking distance.

Disliked: Window facing the corridor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spent two nights here and everything was as described. Friendly staff, clean bathroom and a decent breakfast. The location is good as well as you're near to many quirky little cafes as well as the Indy night Market which is worth checking out.

Disliked: We stayed in the fan dorm and it was fine when we were there as we could manoeuvre the fan to blow on the 2 of us as there was only 2 of us in the room. But if all the 8 beds had been filled there would certainly be a fight for it. The room gets quite hot without the fan on.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels