We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels

Reviews of Sunwest Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 37 Phang-nga soi 2, Phuket, Thailand 83000

79.8% Overall Rating

139 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/12/2013)

"Very convenient for a one night stay before getting the bus to the airport (10% the cost of a taxi). Also conveniently close to the night food market."

Read all Sunwest Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.58
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only. 2. Reception Hours: 8.00 AM - 09.00 PM on Monday - Thursday. 08.00 AM – 05.00 PM on Friday - Sunday 3. NO Check in after 09.00 PM on Monday – Thursday NO Check in after 05.00 pm on Friday - Sunday.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phuket?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phuket

The Memory at On On Hotel
10.84 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
18.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel
7.74 USD

Hostel 77.3% 30 reviews
Lub Sbuy Guest House
10.84 USD

Hostel 84.9% 33 reviews
Lub Sbuy House
16.72 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
2W hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 88.7% 26 reviews
Ananas Phuket Hostels
10.84 USD

Hostel 92.3% 89 reviews
NA SIAM Guest House & Cafe
13.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

139 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunwest Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the busstation

Disliked: Not a lot of people

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajay Nandoriya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Ajay would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and room service was fast

Disliked: Lift is only for 3 person

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

daniel cunha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good place

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for a one night stay before getting the bus to the airport (10% the cost of a taxi). Also conveniently close to the night food market.

Disliked: Not kept clean, no toilet paper in the room and no sheets on the beds

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JOSE CARLOS MEDRANO MARTINE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 JOSE CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent quality priced.

Disliked: Atmosphere anodin

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Nathan Foster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013

Liked: Not a lot... Comfy bed

Disliked: Didn't feel safe at all. My girlfriend didn't sleep all night! Was dirty, terrible location, rude staff!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, lady on reception extremely helpful, room was fine, comfy bed

Disliked: No hot water, location was a bit grotty but not far to nice shopping centre etc

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Auke Boersma

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Auke would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and simple and all necessaire comfort

Disliked: Staff could be more helpfull

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the airport bus and very clean. It was actually a great value for Phuket.

Disliked: I guess it's a little lonely.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raimonda Vaskiene

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Raimonda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice room, has WIFI, near city centre, staff speak in english and also helpfull.

Disliked: Bathroom not perfect.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, had fridge and microwave with dishes for guests, had WiFi in rooms and free computer downstairs, very clean, super comfortable beds, really fantastic value for the price, would stay here again!!!

Disliked: A few km from the beaches which will cost 50b to get there per person, but in the heart of Saladin so close to tons of food and shops

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EMIL MAZAN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 EMIL would recommend this property

Liked: Generally, everything was good. Staff was really helpfull. Guesthouse is really clean and it is a best place to stay if you are planning to book some trip arround Phuket. However it is not close to the beaches but you can take public bus for 30 THB and in a 30 minutes you will be at a beach. (Nice exepirience)

Disliked: EMIL left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean on a quiet street, almost like a mini hotel, staff very nice and helpful even waited for me at the front desk long after closing to check me in. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayse Doguelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2013 Ayse would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms. Receptionist was really helpful. Comfortable bed. We liked it so much we decided to stay another night!

Disliked: Located in a bit of a dodgy side street, but security seemed good enough nonetheless, just don't walk around there on your own at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice & clean kitchen, nice room, very quiet. Location is great, just a few minutes walk from the center. Staff was very helpful, too, we booked a ticket to Phi Phi that included transfer from the hostel. When they didn't come to pick us up, the girl at the reception called them 2 or 3 times for us and waited with us in front of the property.

Disliked: TV was not working.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy communication. Value for price. Even organized staff for late check in. Has a elevator and fridge.

Disliked: Airconditioner sound was veeeeeery loud so we had to turn it off and than again it got very hot. The street of the hostel is not particularly nice and at night a bit scary.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and near the touristy part of town and rig near the main bus station. The staff was super helpful and told us where markets were and how to navigate to various parts of the city on public transport. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Disliked: The dorm was really hot, the fans didn't do too much, but you can leave the balcony door open, but that still just made it bearable. Everything else was perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Border

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good wifi, safe, good location.

Disliked: it was odd that in the dorm there were 6 beds without mattresses? It's also a very hot dorm room, so be prepared to sweat!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free-WIFI, friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: The little fan directly on my face the whole night that gave me a cold but it was so extremely hot that it was imposible to switch it off! Not enough air in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good wifi, close to bus station, decent price. Works well for one night if you are just getting into or departing from the bus station in Phuket town.

Disliked: No common area / atmosphere

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcos Gabriel Linares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2012 Marcos Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlines, location

Disliked: Marcos Gabriel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice spacious dorm, friendly staff

Disliked: location as it was close to the bus station but very far from a beach

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Mangotic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly and helped book transport to our next stay at a reasonable price. Would definatly recommend sun west as a clean and friendly environment. The attached restaurant is a bonus as well.

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Emily Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012

Liked: Free internet - but not always consistent. Bathroom was one of the better i have exoperienced in thailand - it had hot water to!

Disliked: Not a good location, the staff didnt understand us when we tried to get some info and advice. Thai answer seems to laugh at everything. Wifi would be working and then would stop in the middle of doing anything. few doors away from what looks like a hookers bar to!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Kaelin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: For me the location was good because I just wanted a place to stay for one night so I could easily get to to the pier in the morning. You can book a ticket for the ferry at the front desk, which was really convenient.

Disliked: No toilet paper.


See all Phuket hostels
See all Phuket hotels