HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheap Charlie's Backpacker Lodge

Hostel | 54 Nannai Road, Patong Beach, Thailand 0000

67.4% Overall Rating

14 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

nicola roe thinks…

"the owner and his staff were very accommodating. well worth a game of pool with the pro too!!"

Read all Cheap Charlie's Backpacker Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.34
  • Luggage Room USD 0.31
  • Breakfast USD 3.05
  • Towel USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Patong Beach?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Patong Beach

Royal Prince residence
308.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Stanley's Guesthouse
9.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dive Den
11.57 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 52 reviews
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort & Spa
23.14 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Sole
10.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MVC Patong House
13.73 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Patong Voyage Place
18.51 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
APSARA RESIDENCE
15.27 USD

Guesthouse 86.0% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.4%

Overall Rating

14 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheap Charlie's Backpacker Lodge'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
76.4%
Facilities
63.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
71.8%
Value
70.9%
Safety
62.7%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola roe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: the owner and his staff were very accommodating. well worth a game of pool with the pro too!!

Disliked: nicola left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Trevor Henry

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 December 2013

Liked: Friendly service and good food

Disliked: The mattresses in the dorms are way to thin. Got severe back pains from lying on them. Toilets are also disgusting down stairs. Very smelly and dirty.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Al terrat no hi havia cap bar, i no es feien cap de les activitats que es publicitaben. La internet wifi no funcionava.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bas van der Veen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. I have been traveling trough Thailand and this was, by far, the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Everywhere I go I book 'cheaper' hostels to save some money. But this wasn't even a 'dorm' I was sleeping in. The owner just put some bunkbeds in the Coridor and put some sheet on the walls. But they also have a bar for local people so they have to walk in and out of your 'room' just to get to the bathroom. Also there was nog ventilation at all except for 1 small fan for 10 people. Musquitos were everywhere, this was because we were in the corridor. Also, it was not even possible to close the doors so it was opened 24/7, everyone from the street could just walk right in, without even being noticed by reception. I red the negative comments before I booked, but I still chose to book it. Here is my advice: DON'T! Really, believe me it is worse then you can ever imagine!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok and value for money.

Disliked: Below bed no have fan or not enough so mosquito hunting.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012

Liked: Nothing, its a complete dump. The owner is horrible, unhelpful and seemed completely stoned off his face.

Disliked: Everything.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joanne Stannard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012

Liked: Not much... It's good if you just need somewhere to leave your stuff. It's only like a 10 min walk to bangla road

Disliked: The beds are hard, at night there's loads of Mosquitos, only a couple fans for a whole dorm. The staff are too busy socializing at the bar to have anything done quickly.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kirsty Rice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Near a seven 11

Disliked: When we got there, even though we'd booked, they gave our beds away. They put a matress on the floor of a room belonging to 4 guys. They thought it was there private room so had left belongings out .. not safe!! When we finally had real beds, they were in the hallway. The dorm is a corridor to the bathrooms and through the property. Dark, dingy, smells of pee and sweat. Do not stay here. Not worth the money, even though it is cheap. Saw other travellers who had booked also being turned away. They just give out beds when someone arrives, booking or not.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

27 January 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: There are not enough toilets and showers so you forever have to wait in line. There is no entertainment like promised.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kate Ginns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap and not too far from the main area.

Disliked: The dorm we stayed in was very insecure, it didnt have a door that shut, let alone lock so anyone could stroll in. We were provided with no lockers due to there being no keys? Also, dorm was very dirty and as we we're leaving a coupe of girls noticed rats in their bags!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is basic cheap accomodation at Patong.

Disliked: Patong. Probably my leas favourite place in Phuket.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place

Disliked: -

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011

Liked: Cheap, that's about it.

Disliked: The dorm isn't properly a dorm, but more like a corridor through which everyone comes and go. Basically, this backpacker's says in it's name that it's cheap so exepect nothing but everything cheap. The fans provided to cool you down are so noisy that you wouldn't turn them on since it would not allow you to sleep. There might be 4 showers/toilets in poor condition for the whole house. I'm skeptical about the grading this place had. For a 97% when I went there, I find that pretty poor compared to what you could get in other places with the same grade. It's more about price?quality. Here the price is low so the quality follows. I would advice anyone to pay 100 baht more and stay at a far better place.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special, but hey cost only 5 dollars a night. Go somewhere else instead!

Disliked: Very small dorm rooms. Uncomfy beds. Bathroom facilities were bad. Wifi didn't work most of the time. Unfriendly staff. Unclean hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mary Rutledge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Charlies is in a great location. All shops, street stalls and the beach are within easy walking distance. The staff are great, the girls that work in the bar are very helpful, the woman that cleans the rooms, and the woman who does all the cooking makes amazing great value meals.

Disliked: Nothing, apart from wifi not working in the room. Not a huge issue as it always worked in the cafe/bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were all amazing! The girls that worked the bar/restaurant are so friendly and nice and everyone just makes you feel like you're at home! Really clean, had air con, good value for the money. A short 10min walk from the main street where everything is located, far enough away you don't get disturbed by the loud music all night long! Would def stay here again!!!

Disliked: nothing at all!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Wyldbore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rooms, very clean, friendly staff, let us stay longer and wasn't a problem, easy to find and about 10-15 minutes walk to the beach. Definately worth the money!

Disliked: the bottom bathroom has a urinal next to the showers which is a bit offputting, but the top bathroom is fab.