HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Patongbackpacker Hostel

Hostel | 140 Taweeeong Rd., Patong beach Kathu, Patong Beach, Thailand 83000

84.0% Overall Rating

58 out of 65 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"4 bed dorm. Comfy beds. Air conditioning great. Wifi great. Location to beach 30seconds. Not helpful with outside tourism, only want to sell you their trips etc. Bathroom clean, door on bathroom broken. Only go to…"

Read all Patongbackpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.68
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

FULL BALANCE of payment payable as stated in your booking contract WILL BE COLLECTED UPON CHECK -IN even if duration of stay is shortened. Please do not make an online booking with us if your are not sure of your arrival time & duration of stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Patong Beach?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Patong Beach

Presley Guesthouse
8.56 USD

Guesthouse 80.9% 39 reviews
Ramaz Hotel
9.34 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lamai Hotel
16.34 USD

Hostel 83.2% 52 reviews
Lamai Inn
13.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
2C Phuket Residence
45.14 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Patong Terrace Boutique Hotel
15.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
APSARA RESIDENCE
9.49 USD

Guesthouse 86.0% 9 reviews
Absolute Bangla Suites
70.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

58 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Patongbackpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Grayson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 April 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all the action and exactly what we wanted

Disliked: A little hard to find initially but once we found the big green sign it was no problem!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 4 bed dorm. Comfy beds. Air conditioning great. Wifi great. Location to beach 30seconds. Not helpful with outside tourism, only want to sell you their trips etc. Bathroom clean, door on bathroom broken. Only go to Patong if you want a party atmosphere! Beach/sea not clean water. Recommend 2-3nights max at this destination.

Disliked: Lockers are too small!! Can only fit small valuables. Would prefer lockers to be in the rooms. Main manager a bit temperamental (many people on my stay spoke about this)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: The woman (Mumma) behind the counter was very friendly and put everyone at ease, considering it was, for many including myself, our first night in Thailand. The chill out area was a great place to sit and have a read, or meet your fellow backpackers (or even sleep, as I found myself doing after a particularly interesting night out).

Disliked: I couldn't figure out how to open the window... but the fans took care of the heat so it wasn't too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall cleanliness, location, great atmosphere, staff, great way to meet other travelers and party

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Fenlon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel. It's location was perfect, being a one minute walk from the beach and the nightlife district on Bangla road. The hostel staff were very kind and helpful, the rooms were kept clean, and the layout allowed guests to hangout and have a few beers or more.

Disliked: It was hard to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEVEN DAVIS

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 January 2014 STEVEN would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here 4 times now, always clean and the staff are great, especially Pia and Mom! Nice communal area, cheap drinks, great for meeting people. Free wifi too :-)

Disliked: STEVEN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Please disregard the comment about the luggage being broken into, I was in the hostel at the time and the friendly staff showed her on the CCTV that nobody went into her private room. I have stayed here for a total of 10 nights now. It's a great hostel in the best location in the whole of Phuket. You can throw a stone to the beach and the famous Bangla road. Thanks to Mama and all the staff at the hostel for making my Pa tong experience a great one.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Floris Hage

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 December 2013 Floris would recommend this property

Liked: Awsome place to stay if you are visiting Patong Beach! Perfect location, good value for money and the staff is extremly friendly and helpful

Disliked: Non

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel all in all is relatively clean. the cosy environment provides an awesome place to chill and chat with the other residents. the provision of personal lockers on the ground floor is lifesaver. literally a minute away from bangla street and the patong beach, the location is as good as it gets. showers are clean, but sometimes have rather sloppy flows of water.

Disliked: water heater not quite working on some floors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were decent. A/C and fan kept the room nice and cool. Rooms kept fairly clean. Common area was small but comfortable with places to lie down and chill out. They provide helpful information around the patong area. The staff made my stay one of the best. I didn't have enough money to pay at first so they gave me a key to my room and let me leave bags and pay later. The older lady at the front desk was always warm and welcoming, calling me by my first name. As I was about to leave the lady presented me with a gift for my stay. Definetly would recommend stay for the atmosphere.

Disliked: Shower and toilet in same space was a bit different. A little akwrad to use at first

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

QUANG VINH NGUYEN

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 QUANG VINH would recommend this property

Liked: Locate is center of Patong beach

Disliked: The bath room is not good because a shower did not work ( ground floor)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013

Liked: Location was decent.

Disliked: First off, they didn't even have a record of my hostelbookers reservation when I arrived even though I had a copy of the confirmation to show them. They then gave me a bed that someone else occupied, which caused some issues when we both tried to go to bed at the same time. When we brought this little issue to the front desk the man was NOT helpful and in fact seemed angry that we had disturbed his nail-picking activities at the front desk. He huffed and puffed and stomped around and made it seem as though it was OUR fault the issue had occured. There were cockroaches in the rooms and very little room in the dorms for baggage. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013

Liked: If you just want to party in Patong, then you are set.

Disliked: If you are looking for a quiet, nice, and relaxing beach holiday, STAY AWAY. The bathrooms are disgusting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarina Weber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Sarina would recommend this property

Liked: A/c rooms, very cosy, good location

Disliked: Meeting ohter backpackers and exchange experiences. Very close to everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. I very much enjoyed chatting with them and they were always helpful.

Disliked: It's a hostel and it's noisy being on the main drag in front of the beach. I suppose it's fine for backpackers and I only stayed there because a friend would not be diving with me and wanted to meet some people she could hang with during the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evi Anastasia

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2012 Evi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012

Liked: Location Helpful staff to book tours and transport

Disliked: Too many mosquitos. No atmosphere Charge for WiFi and Internet Not enough security

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Insa Schepker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 August 2012 Insa would recommend this property

Liked: Common area was nice, lots of dvd's and books and it was good to relax and chill out.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

weihong huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 weihong would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: you need to pay for wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

weihong huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 weihong would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good! the sttaf very nice and helpful!

Disliked: you need to pay for the wifi here,and the price is also expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location really great within 5 minutes we can reach beach and bangla road

Disliked: the air smells bad, not clean at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Bruni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to every thing, the beach the shopping centres and of course the party scene down Bangla road and yet it's far enough away to get a good nights sleep if you're not up for a party :)

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Justin Boyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the thick of it, excellent location but still able to get a good nights sleep. Clean, had a common area, friendly staff, cold AC. Good place, stay here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Hunter

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

24 May 2012 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was really helpful as soon as we got there. They remembered our names the whole stay which was a really nice point. It was great that they had a giant tv and millions of DVDs that we could watch for free. Also they had free tea and coffee and a toaster you could use.

Disliked: Nothing at all, it was one of the best hostels i have stsyed in.