We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A1 Island Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 240 Soi Sai Nam Yen, Patong Beach, Thailand 83150

92.1% Overall Rating

82 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2013)

"Very helpful staff cheap, and has everything you need. Great transfer services to phi phi and the airport and very resnobly priced."

Read all A1 Island Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Patong Beach?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Patong Beach

Lamai Apartment
13.10 USD

Apartment 75.8% 41 reviews
Patong Voyage Place
12.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Sole
9.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Gay Hostel Puerta Del Sol Phuket
13.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
MVC Patong House
8.47 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Silver Resortel
8.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.6% 4 reviews
APSARA RESIDENCE
9.40 USD

Guesthouse 86.0% 9 reviews
Absolute Bangla Suites
69.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

82 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A1 Island Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Veltman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Pool table

Disliked: A little far from the main street

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff cheap, and has everything you need. Great transfer services to phi phi and the airport and very resnobly priced.

Disliked: 10 minute walk from the beach

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a little over 10min walk to bangla road and beach, so close enough to the action but you get a quiet night sleep. Clean spacious room at a good price. The restaurant and bar below the guesthouse were lovely, great cocktails for 99 bhat and good cheap breakfast.

Disliked: The bedroom doors were a bit flimsy and hard to lock, but it was still secure. The place in general was great. I'd recommend it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas bell

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2013 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: lovely. short walk to all amenities. staff were very nice.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was fantastic value

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Ross

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 November 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights. The staff are awesome. Always greeting us with smiles. The restaurant is delicious and fast and not bad of a price at all. We are right off a main road that goes directly to the beach - about a 10 min walk. Along many shops and food stalls all over. Thy cleaned our room everyday( we stayed in a private ) I must say it was more like a hotel and we expected a hostel. They even delivered food to our room. There's is laundry jut steps away. And Te boxing stadium is just down the road too. We loved it here and it def made our stay better than it could have been in a crappy hostel. Also the AC in the room was fantastic and No bugs!!

Disliked: The only thing is if you want to meet people it might be a lil more difficult because there open room with the pool table is the restaurant so you can't make your own food or just sit here- we did brig our oatmeal in 2 days in a row but hen we saw a sign that said no outside food and felt bad. And for some maybe it's too loud? But it never bothered us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Mayers

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

27 August 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Best bed ever!! All staff were great, always helping with BIG SMILE :-) I felt like home staying at A1. Thank you A1 for making my first stay at Phuket a great experience!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Sirajuddin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, I felt really welcomed (a rareity in my travels thus far) and they actually seemed like they appreciated my business. The rooms are nice and clean, and the location is just far enough away from Bangla and Patong Beach that you really do get (enough) peace and quiet. Close enough though that you can get to those places (as well as the shopping center Jungceylon easily). Maybe it was because of how hot it really was and that I had multiple blisters on my toes (had to take walking easy), but it took a non-negligible amount of time longer to get to the places than I remember reading the time estimates for walking being on this website.

Disliked: Kind of felt like my belongings were not safe. The rooms have doors that are huge sliding doors that seem like most anyone could rip them open if they wanted to even when locked. They provide a safe, but how can I put my 45 L bag inside a tiny electronic safe? Obviously, I chose smaller things to store in there, I am just saying, and I am reaching a little bit because there is not anything else negative I can think of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elnaz Derakshandeh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Elnaz would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. The owners and staff are so helpful, they helped us with everything from arriving at 3 am without notice and letting us in to helping us with our border run and arranging everything! The rooms are really clean and cozy. After a few days our room looked like a tornado went through there because of our messiness and we asked if we could get it cleaned and the place was sparkling! It was unbelievable. This place has been my favourite so far and I can't say enough good things about the place and it's owners!

Disliked: Elnaz left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a rally god time at A1. Det manager was Danish like us and even it was our second time at phuket he showed us the Island, and gave us some god advises for our futher trip. At the restaurant they had a lot of tasty and good Danish food, propebly the best in town! We had travelled for 6 month, it was so nice to eat Danish food again. The bar, which was in the restaurant, was excellent as well. The cocktails was mixed well and beautyful - really delicius. 10 min from Beach and Bangla Road - Nice ! Fast wifi which worked every day both in room and restaurant - perfect for us .

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful and very helpful, the rooms were clean and very nice. A great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Randbøll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 March 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: This Guesthouse is highly recommendable! We started our 2 months Thailand travel there, and it was a really good start. The staff is so friendly, and we got so many good travel-advices to take with us. They also arranged trips for us to take on (cheaper than the street prices). The restaurant serves the best food, at fine prices, and the manager is from Denmark, so for the Danish travellers (as ourselves) they also have danish courses on the menu, which could be nice after a long time of travelling. The room was super. Cleaning every day. Aircondition worked, and the bathroom was absolutely fine. The big kingsize bed didn't make it worse :) I would definetly stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Mangotic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice rooms that were cleaned daily. Owners also helped us book transport to our next stop for a reasonable price. Definatly recommend.

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly staff, great location about 10 minutes walk from everything you would want to see in Patong. Great airconditioning and we had a massive king-size comfortable bed in our room. Rooms were cleaned daily.

Disliked: There were some issues with water pressure but nothing that bothered us too much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here over new year 2011 / 2012 and had a fantastic time. The staff are super-friendly and the location is very good for the price - 10 minutes walk to the beach, the shopping centre and Bangla Road. The airconditioning worked really well. The room wasn't in use on our final day so they let us use the room until we departed for our flight in the afternoon!

Disliked: Water stopped working briefly but this was fixed very quickly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Richard

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful in any way we needed

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk from the beach and the main strip, but it was quiet so it was alright

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pim van den Toorn

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 December 2011 Pim would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very, very friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is probably the best part! They are so kind, welcoming, and very helpful. The room and bathroom are very large and well kept, you can have your room cleaned daily, with fresh towels! The breakfast could be served hatter, but the food is good and reason able. It's close to the beach, shopping and lots of food!

Disliked: The dead bolt on the door didn't work.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly. It was clean and secure.

Disliked: We went 24 hours without any water in the hotel. Initially it was a burst pipe in the road which is not their fault but then nothing seem to happen about alternate arrangements. It is not far out of the town but the taxi driver had trouble finding it and there are many more hotels much nearer. There is no lift so if steps are a problem you won't like it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Feindler

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 December 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: most friendly, amusing and funny staff in patong, thanks for all...

Disliked: Florian left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Nice bar/restaurant on the lower floor.

Disliked: Location is a bit far from the beach and nightlife

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the A1 guesthouse is the friendly and helpful staff. It was also nice that there was a good common area/bar downstairs.

Disliked: The only disadvantage to the A1 guesthouse is its location. It is a way from the beach and main nightlife area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Other

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Stasko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large and clean rooms with TV (102 channels), fridge and air con. They rent scooter for just 150 bath. Close to the beach and to the shops.

Disliked: We met no other backpackers.