We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Spicypai Backpackers

Hostel | 291 Baan Mae Hee, Pai, Thailand 58130

84.8% Overall Rating

82 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2015)

John Tran thinks…

"Very relaxed atmosphere, plenty of quiet spaces and hammocks to chill out and also a nice roof top bar to watch the sunset! Great social atmosphere and friendly staff make for a great stay at Spicy…"

Read all Spicypai Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

Famous Pai Circus Hostel
6.11 USD

Hostel 73.1% 7 reviews
KK.HUT
3.36 USD

Hostel 87.7% 29 reviews
Darling View Point Bungalows
4.58 USD

Guesthouse 76.3% 112 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
5.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa de Pai
18.34 USD

Hotel 72.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

82 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicypai Backpackers'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Eduardo Jardim Filho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2015 Carlos Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere very light in The middle of The nature and its bamboo architrcture.

Disliked: Carlos Eduardo left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed atmosphere, plenty of quiet spaces and hammocks to chill out and also a nice roof top bar to watch the sunset! Great social atmosphere and friendly staff make for a great stay at Spicy Pai

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lieke Dortant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2015 Lieke would recommend this property

Liked: You sleep in little huts, which is really cool. The hostel organizes a load of activities for each day. Everything is very simple, the beds, and other facilities, but toilets are Always clean. There is no lock on the dorm room, but you get your own locker. Wifi is oké.

Disliked: There is a living room, and it would be awesome if the put some more cushions down to sit on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is absolutely amazing. The environment is great with views of the mountains and the rice field next door. You're just outside of town (just a ten minute walk) from everything you need. Moreover, it's just filled with awesome people who make your time their incredible. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Nada!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly atmosphere, good for lone travelers wanting to meet other people.

Disliked: Cold showers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andreas Fertl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cheap and good to meet other travelers

Disliked: Toilets smell bad, only girls have warm shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is like a piece of paradise (like Pai itself). Staff was really friendly! One of them took his time to teach me how to ride a scooter :)

Disliked: It is far away from town, but still a walking distance. Some people were party until very late and it was impossible to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Craft

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, book early , will be hard to get in some day! great socil place, now expanding with new bar and chill areas. stay here!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniela swanepoel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2015 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Really intimate where everyone hang out together. Made it great for meeting people.

Disliked: Could have had more cushions or hammocks to sit on.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

saba sedaghat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 saba would recommend this property

Liked: No fans so got very hot

Disliked: Heat

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christine Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty, uncomfortable beds, no fans, lots of spiders and bugs in the forms, too far out of town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john Cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Ahhh my long awaited return to spicy. It didn't disappoint. I met great people, had lots of fun and the BBQ was epic. I'll be back!

Disliked: The fact a didn't stay longer. I'll be back!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alice Giles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: This is a unique property and a great experience at staying here, it's somewhere different and your also out in the open and can hear all creatures near by, but are also protected by your own mosquito net. The property Is surrounded by rice fields which is also beautiful in season. The communal area is average, good to meet people, talk, share stories, chill or to pre drink. A 15 minute walk to main strip of bars and restaurants, which is a nice walk but on a busy road, but property hires out scooters which is recommended so that you can experience Pai the beautiful way.

Disliked: Me and my friend struggled with the heat, although it's quite cool at night, there are no fans or air con so waking up in the morning was a horrible shock. Also the communal area has only 4 hammocks and I feel more can be added to that as such a large group of people stay here and use the communal area. Also the beehive above your head in the communal area is not good and should be moved.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel if you're looking to meet people and party. I only stayed two nights because I had to sleep :) met some wonderful fellow travellers there.

Disliked: A little bit out of the city, but fine if you don't mind walking or if you rent a scooter.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Poppy Berry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Poppy would recommend this property

Liked: Great social aspects of the property, as well as the easy access to the main parts of town e.g bars and restaurants from its location. The style of the property allowed visitors to feel properly immersed in the rural pai country-side lifestyle. I would thoroughly recommend this property to other back packers who are looking for a comfortable and sociable place to stay on a budget.

Disliked: Only the quantity of Mosquitos about and the mosquito nets were quite old, however with a heavy application of deet based insect repellant these shouldn't be a problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a good atmosphere. The buildings were interesting and it was different than other hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: The walls aren't solid and there are no windows (just a gap between the top of the walls and the roof) so it was really loud at night. It was a bit of a walk if you wanted to go eat or get to the main part of the town.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful surroundings intertwined with a beautiful atmosphere. My second stay here and I never want to leave! The bamboo-constructed dorms are not only stunning but keep you at one with nature.

Disliked: Honestly, very few things. Maybe more regular hostel events? But logistically that may not work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and chilled out atmosphere. The location is great as it's away from the town so it's quiet but still close enough to walk, and we get a beautiful view of the mountains!

Disliked: There's no cafe or cigarette shop nearby!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing design, bamboo treehouse structures. Very sociable hostel. Overall the staff are really nice and can help you arrange day trips etc. BBQ was really good too would recommend.

Disliked: I was travelling alone and the hostel is about a 20 minute walk from town along an isolated road which I wouldn't walk along after dark on my own. Taxis etc stop around 11pm. The chill out area could be improved - not enough cousins to sit on etc. Only two plug sockets in a 20 bed dorm. Showers not working - it's cold at night and would be good to have a hot shower. Strict curfew of 12pm after this you either have to go to the bar down the road or go to bed!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, everyone instantly becomes a little family! We partied together, explored pai together etc! The staff are really friendly and helpful and are always willing to help you out. Definitely one the best hostels I have ever stayed in

Disliked: Lack of mirrors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Super cool set up! Very chilled!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Freid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Coolest hostel ever

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the set up of the hostel, its very open and the dorms are really unique. The common area is nice as well and good for socializing. It's quiet so if you want a peaceful place away from the centre of town it's great. We stayed in both a private bungalow with two single beds and in the dorm beds. The private room was reallllly nice with comfortable beds and our own bathroom, towels, warm blankets and it was quiet and clean. It didn't cost much more than the dorm room either. Although they don't have a lot of food/snacks to offer, you can order in pizza or burgers for delivery which is great. I highly recommend Burger Queen ;)

Disliked: You should probably rent a motor bike or bicycle if you're staying here. We decided to just walk back and forth from town for the first few days but it started getting time consuming. The dorm rooms are really neat but not the most comfortable beds ever, it gets quite cold at night, so bundle up! My bed was in a corner and since the wall and the roof don't quite meet up, the light from outside was shining in my face all night, and there was a hole in my mosquito net so a couple bugs got in. Not a huge deal but just not the most comfortable sleep ever. The staff were okay, but there was a girl with blonde hair working who wasn't that friendly and seemed like we were bothering her any time we had to ask something. We heard some other guests saying they didn't like her attitude either. When we first arrived, all of the staff were about to leave for dinner and the girl didn't want to have to check us in first so she asked us to just wait in the common area until they got back. Eventually they just give us the key to the room but the blonde girl seemed pretty annoyed about it. Not a great first impression and not very welcoming

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view is incredible and the rooms are awesome.

Disliked: Far from town for those who don't ride scooters and in reality a bit too 'lad-ish' for my liking. I love a good party but the vibe here was a little too intense. Still enjoyed my time here though!


See all Pai hostels