HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Spicypai Backpackers

Hostel | 291 Baan Mae Hee, Pai, Thailand 58130

85.7% Overall Rating

63 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

"Amazing design, bamboo treehouse structures. Very sociable hostel. Overall the staff are really nice and can help you arrange day trips etc. BBQ was really good too would recommend."

Read all Spicypai Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
3.41 USD

Hostel 91.3% 21 reviews
Darling View Point Bungalows
4.65 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 103 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
10.85 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa de Pai
18.59 USD

Hotel 65.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

63 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicypai Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing design, bamboo treehouse structures. Very sociable hostel. Overall the staff are really nice and can help you arrange day trips etc. BBQ was really good too would recommend.

Disliked: I was travelling alone and the hostel is about a 20 minute walk from town along an isolated road which I wouldn't walk along after dark on my own. Taxis etc stop around 11pm. The chill out area could be improved - not enough cousins to sit on etc. Only two plug sockets in a 20 bed dorm. Showers not working - it's cold at night and would be good to have a hot shower. Strict curfew of 12pm after this you either have to go to the bar down the road or go to bed!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, everyone instantly becomes a little family! We partied together, explored pai together etc! The staff are really friendly and helpful and are always willing to help you out. Definitely one the best hostels I have ever stayed in

Disliked: Lack of mirrors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Super cool set up! Very chilled!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Freid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Coolest hostel ever

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the set up of the hostel, its very open and the dorms are really unique. The common area is nice as well and good for socializing. It's quiet so if you want a peaceful place away from the centre of town it's great. We stayed in both a private bungalow with two single beds and in the dorm beds. The private room was reallllly nice with comfortable beds and our own bathroom, towels, warm blankets and it was quiet and clean. It didn't cost much more than the dorm room either. Although they don't have a lot of food/snacks to offer, you can order in pizza or burgers for delivery which is great. I highly recommend Burger Queen ;)

Disliked: You should probably rent a motor bike or bicycle if you're staying here. We decided to just walk back and forth from town for the first few days but it started getting time consuming. The dorm rooms are really neat but not the most comfortable beds ever, it gets quite cold at night, so bundle up! My bed was in a corner and since the wall and the roof don't quite meet up, the light from outside was shining in my face all night, and there was a hole in my mosquito net so a couple bugs got in. Not a huge deal but just not the most comfortable sleep ever. The staff were okay, but there was a girl with blonde hair working who wasn't that friendly and seemed like we were bothering her any time we had to ask something. We heard some other guests saying they didn't like her attitude either. When we first arrived, all of the staff were about to leave for dinner and the girl didn't want to have to check us in first so she asked us to just wait in the common area until they got back. Eventually they just give us the key to the room but the blonde girl seemed pretty annoyed about it. Not a great first impression and not very welcoming

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view is incredible and the rooms are awesome.

Disliked: Far from town for those who don't ride scooters and in reality a bit too 'lad-ish' for my liking. I love a good party but the vibe here was a little too intense. Still enjoyed my time here though!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Drummond-Clark

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very relaxed and easy to meet other travellers. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some people might find it a bit cold overnight as the dorms are not shut off from the night air. That said, you do get enough blankets to make it comfortable enough. Showers aren't 5 star but they're about as good as you'll get in any hostel in Thailand.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, trips, group dinners, so friendly!

Disliked: A bit chilly at night, wrap up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Co Lynch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Co would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great! It has a free breakfast in the morning, the views from there are awesome and the social atmosphere is also great.

Disliked: The only bad thing was that the showers were never hot and it was quite cold while i was there. Apparently the mens showers are warmer : )

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ursula Noonan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money & great to experience something different & unique. Not everyday you sleep in a hut. Basic but a nice change from typical backpacker hostels. Nice common area to meet other travellers etc. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Showers were freezing! A lot of old/mouldy towels, shoes, etc around the hostel that other guests had left behind - they could tidy it up a bit. Our friend had a scooter accident on the driveway/lane right next to reception (she had to get 10 stitches on her leg) but the staff were really unhelpful. Barely called a taxi to bring her to the hospital.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Butterworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous surroundings make this hostel

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This seems to be the famed hostel in Pai. It's a bit of a walk from town (20ish minutes), but the scenery is gorgeous. Nice place to chill out and everyone gathers in the common area to party at night. There is a cooler set out with ice so you can buy your own alcohol in town and bring it back. BBQ hosted by hostel was excellent! Tons of food and it was delicious.

Disliked: Bathrooms were kind of gnarly. There is a kitchen, but I didn't get the impression that it was available for use by the guests.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Lewington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The site is a little outside the main town and nice and quiet - the open plan huts to sleep in whilst not very secure remind people not to leave valuables about but otherwise a real authentic stay in a hut - the common room is set high with hammocks and great views - Highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tama Jarman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Tama would recommend this property

Liked: heaps

Disliked: mozzies

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing tree house style dorms, great atmosphere. Best hostel we've stayed by far.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Stuecheli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Common area is amazing, a view to die for and a great place to socialize. Everything is open air but still very comfortable, staff is awesome. Great hostel.

Disliked: Because everything is open it can be a little loud at times

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013

Liked: Nice looking hostel, nice view from common area. Cheap!

Disliked: The cliques hostel I've ever been too. Young kids paying drinking games every night screaming and shouting. A little far away from the town. Not enough plug sockets!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character of the buildings, good to have mosquito nets provided, bathrooms basic but clean, very social.

Disliked: A little far out from town

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Inta Vensberga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Inta would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodation

Disliked: WiFi could be improved in rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, it's like an institution in Pai, you have to go!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Shaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool vibe outside of the main town. You need a bike to do any of the attractions in Pai so if you have a bike the little commute to get to the hostel is nothing. Otherwise its a 5 minute bicycle ride or 10-15 minute walk. Definite value for money and the open air mosquito net mega dorms are really cool.

Disliked: Showers werent very hot and the toilets smelt a bit but besides that it was pretty good, especially for the price. If your cool with outside living and not going to complain about a few bugs then this place is awesome

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonie Buckley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Leonie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and whole experience at spicy pai and met some great people. Everyone just wants to have a good time.

Disliked: My only problem was I got dropped in town and it was a bit of a walk to get to spicy pai especially with a backpack.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013

Liked: Price was OK - for us I think the negatives outweighed the positives so we wouldn't recommend it.

Disliked: Not sure why this place has such a high rating. It was OK but nothing special. The beds are pretty uncomfortable (and semi-unsafe - see below), mossie nets are old/torn/smelly (disgusting pillows also) and the dorms are massive, so there is little chance of getting any sleep. We like partying but we found it weird that people would party til late but then be up at 7am making tons of noise. It was VERY clique-y when we were there (Christmas 2012) so the atmosphere was a little unfriendly. I guess that's not the fault of the hostel but the staff were involved in the clique so it didn't help. Some weird stuff happened when we were there too, not entirely the fault of the property, but some dude came from the common area totally wasted and then at around 2am fell out of his bunk (one of the high ones, about 15-20 feet high) and then started puking all over the floor. It was a seriously high fall, making a huge crash. Some while later some doctors arrived to check he wasn't bleeding out of his ears or massively concussed. We almost left but stayed the next day, mostly due to laziness! There are plenty of other places in town (SpicyPai is pretty far from the action) that are better and similarly priced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its full of spicy love. great people, very easy to meet other travellers. had a great christmas and new years there.

Disliked: nada


See all Pai hostels