We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Spicypai Backpackers

Hostel | 291 Baan Mae Hee, Pai, Thailand 58130

83.1% Overall Rating

72 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

john Cunningham thinks…

"Ahhh my long awaited return to spicy. It didn't disappoint. I met great people, had lots of fun and the BBQ was epic. I'll be back!"

Read all Spicypai Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

Pai circus school and hostel
5.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
KK.HUT
4.62 USD

Hostel 87.7% 29 reviews
Darling View Point Bungalows
4.62 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 105 reviews
Purple Monkey Pai
4.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
BaanPaiRiverside
5.55 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa de Pai
18.49 USD

Hotel 65.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

72 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicypai Backpackers'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 77 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

saba sedaghat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 saba would recommend this property

Liked: No fans so got very hot

Disliked: Heat

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christine Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty, uncomfortable beds, no fans, lots of spiders and bugs in the forms, too far out of town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john Cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Ahhh my long awaited return to spicy. It didn't disappoint. I met great people, had lots of fun and the BBQ was epic. I'll be back!

Disliked: The fact a didn't stay longer. I'll be back!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alice Giles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: This is a unique property and a great experience at staying here, it's somewhere different and your also out in the open and can hear all creatures near by, but are also protected by your own mosquito net. The property Is surrounded by rice fields which is also beautiful in season. The communal area is average, good to meet people, talk, share stories, chill or to pre drink. A 15 minute walk to main strip of bars and restaurants, which is a nice walk but on a busy road, but property hires out scooters which is recommended so that you can experience Pai the beautiful way.

Disliked: Me and my friend struggled with the heat, although it's quite cool at night, there are no fans or air con so waking up in the morning was a horrible shock. Also the communal area has only 4 hammocks and I feel more can be added to that as such a large group of people stay here and use the communal area. Also the beehive above your head in the communal area is not good and should be moved.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel if you're looking to meet people and party. I only stayed two nights because I had to sleep :) met some wonderful fellow travellers there.

Disliked: A little bit out of the city, but fine if you don't mind walking or if you rent a scooter.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Poppy Berry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Poppy would recommend this property

Liked: Great social aspects of the property, as well as the easy access to the main parts of town e.g bars and restaurants from its location. The style of the property allowed visitors to feel properly immersed in the rural pai country-side lifestyle. I would thoroughly recommend this property to other back packers who are looking for a comfortable and sociable place to stay on a budget.

Disliked: Only the quantity of Mosquitos about and the mosquito nets were quite old, however with a heavy application of deet based insect repellant these shouldn't be a problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a good atmosphere. The buildings were interesting and it was different than other hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: The walls aren't solid and there are no windows (just a gap between the top of the walls and the roof) so it was really loud at night. It was a bit of a walk if you wanted to go eat or get to the main part of the town.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful surroundings intertwined with a beautiful atmosphere. My second stay here and I never want to leave! The bamboo-constructed dorms are not only stunning but keep you at one with nature.

Disliked: Honestly, very few things. Maybe more regular hostel events? But logistically that may not work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and chilled out atmosphere. The location is great as it's away from the town so it's quiet but still close enough to walk, and we get a beautiful view of the mountains!

Disliked: There's no cafe or cigarette shop nearby!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing design, bamboo treehouse structures. Very sociable hostel. Overall the staff are really nice and can help you arrange day trips etc. BBQ was really good too would recommend.

Disliked: I was travelling alone and the hostel is about a 20 minute walk from town along an isolated road which I wouldn't walk along after dark on my own. Taxis etc stop around 11pm. The chill out area could be improved - not enough cousins to sit on etc. Only two plug sockets in a 20 bed dorm. Showers not working - it's cold at night and would be good to have a hot shower. Strict curfew of 12pm after this you either have to go to the bar down the road or go to bed!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, everyone instantly becomes a little family! We partied together, explored pai together etc! The staff are really friendly and helpful and are always willing to help you out. Definitely one the best hostels I have ever stayed in

Disliked: Lack of mirrors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Super cool set up! Very chilled!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Freid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Coolest hostel ever

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the set up of the hostel, its very open and the dorms are really unique. The common area is nice as well and good for socializing. It's quiet so if you want a peaceful place away from the centre of town it's great. We stayed in both a private bungalow with two single beds and in the dorm beds. The private room was reallllly nice with comfortable beds and our own bathroom, towels, warm blankets and it was quiet and clean. It didn't cost much more than the dorm room either. Although they don't have a lot of food/snacks to offer, you can order in pizza or burgers for delivery which is great. I highly recommend Burger Queen ;)

Disliked: You should probably rent a motor bike or bicycle if you're staying here. We decided to just walk back and forth from town for the first few days but it started getting time consuming. The dorm rooms are really neat but not the most comfortable beds ever, it gets quite cold at night, so bundle up! My bed was in a corner and since the wall and the roof don't quite meet up, the light from outside was shining in my face all night, and there was a hole in my mosquito net so a couple bugs got in. Not a huge deal but just not the most comfortable sleep ever. The staff were okay, but there was a girl with blonde hair working who wasn't that friendly and seemed like we were bothering her any time we had to ask something. We heard some other guests saying they didn't like her attitude either. When we first arrived, all of the staff were about to leave for dinner and the girl didn't want to have to check us in first so she asked us to just wait in the common area until they got back. Eventually they just give us the key to the room but the blonde girl seemed pretty annoyed about it. Not a great first impression and not very welcoming

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view is incredible and the rooms are awesome.

Disliked: Far from town for those who don't ride scooters and in reality a bit too 'lad-ish' for my liking. I love a good party but the vibe here was a little too intense. Still enjoyed my time here though!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Drummond-Clark

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very relaxed and easy to meet other travellers. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some people might find it a bit cold overnight as the dorms are not shut off from the night air. That said, you do get enough blankets to make it comfortable enough. Showers aren't 5 star but they're about as good as you'll get in any hostel in Thailand.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, trips, group dinners, so friendly!

Disliked: A bit chilly at night, wrap up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Co Lynch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Co would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great! It has a free breakfast in the morning, the views from there are awesome and the social atmosphere is also great.

Disliked: The only bad thing was that the showers were never hot and it was quite cold while i was there. Apparently the mens showers are warmer : )

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ursula Noonan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money & great to experience something different & unique. Not everyday you sleep in a hut. Basic but a nice change from typical backpacker hostels. Nice common area to meet other travellers etc. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Showers were freezing! A lot of old/mouldy towels, shoes, etc around the hostel that other guests had left behind - they could tidy it up a bit. Our friend had a scooter accident on the driveway/lane right next to reception (she had to get 10 stitches on her leg) but the staff were really unhelpful. Barely called a taxi to bring her to the hospital.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Butterworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous surroundings make this hostel

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This seems to be the famed hostel in Pai. It's a bit of a walk from town (20ish minutes), but the scenery is gorgeous. Nice place to chill out and everyone gathers in the common area to party at night. There is a cooler set out with ice so you can buy your own alcohol in town and bring it back. BBQ hosted by hostel was excellent! Tons of food and it was delicious.

Disliked: Bathrooms were kind of gnarly. There is a kitchen, but I didn't get the impression that it was available for use by the guests.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Lewington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The site is a little outside the main town and nice and quiet - the open plan huts to sleep in whilst not very secure remind people not to leave valuables about but otherwise a real authentic stay in a hut - the common room is set high with hammocks and great views - Highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tama Jarman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Tama would recommend this property

Liked: heaps

Disliked: mozzies

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing tree house style dorms, great atmosphere. Best hostel we've stayed by far.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Stuecheli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Common area is amazing, a view to die for and a great place to socialize. Everything is open air but still very comfortable, staff is awesome. Great hostel.

Disliked: Because everything is open it can be a little loud at times


See all Pai hostels