We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Darling View Point Bungalows

Guesthouse | 120 Moo1 T.Maehee A., Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand 58130

73.5% Overall Rating

99 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2015)

"It was really easy to find and it was about a five minute walk from the main town area. It was clean and the staff were really friendly, it was great value for money."

Read all Darling View Point Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
3.28 USD

Hostel 87.8% 30 reviews
Famous Pai Circus Hostel
3.73 USD

Hostel 70.2% 9 reviews
Spicypai Backpackers
5.37 USD

Hostel 84.1% 90 reviews
Villa de Pai
17.90 USD

Hotel 72.6% 5 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
5.37 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

99 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Darling View Point Bungalows'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 109 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2015

Liked: The mountain view only.

Disliked: When I arrived I had to wait an hour to be shown to the wrong room, when I explained it was not the room I reserved online the woman told me I was clever and took me to another room, still a much cheaper room than the room I reserved. After again asking for the room I reserved, the owner started to get irate, I simply asked for a discount as the room was not as stated or my money back (their policy states payment on arrival before being shown to the room). The owner refused saying no cancel, no money back. After this she began screaming in my face and became very threatening to the extent that the other guests had to intervene, as the other owner refused to calm her down. She continued to aggressively shove people away whilst they were trying to diffuse the situation then exclaiming that I was not allowed to stay and that I would not get any money back. I was made to feel highly unwelcome from the beginning, leaving me feeling extremely intimidated and unsafe. Easily the worst place I have ever stayed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Georgia McCallum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: The 2 storey dorms made of wood felt like cabins.

Disliked: Completely unorganized and cluttered reception. Doors did not lock and we were not given a key. Gypsies who are known to steal were allowed to sit outside our dorm and drink.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Bart Mentink

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015

Liked: The view from our balcony

Disliked: The cleanliness of the room, the thin paper walls which ensured you will wake up from anything. It seems like your neighbors are sharing a room with you sometimes, every whisper will be heard.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really easy to find and it was about a five minute walk from the main town area. It was clean and the staff were really friendly, it was great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good location

Disliked: Dirty toilets and showers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool common area/vibe with bonfire -though was needed for heat more than anything as gets very cold

Disliked: Bungalow is a basic shack but with a great view

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louisa Crafter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: Darling View Point was ideal for the solo part of my travels. The perfect hideaway for some relaxing (great views in a rural setting), it was also great for meeting people. There's a real sociable feel to the place with nightly campfires and music. You'll also have a chance to meet the incomparable 'Darling', trust me, she's reason enough to stay here.

Disliked: A little out in the sticks at first glance. About 15 mins walk, across a rickety bridge, then directions such as 'turn left at the horse'. But to be honest a nice walk and well worth it for the views. I even managed it pretty drunk at 4am a couple of times. Put your valuables in the safety boxes, as the dorms don't get locked.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Ellis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Darling was very friendly and made everyone feel welcome. Really good atmosphere - bonfires and music on request!..

Disliked: No mosquito nets but they did have screens.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Kew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Location, big comfy beds, social atmosphere...and great views!

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

joanne egan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Darling is very accomodating and tries her best to make people happy.

Disliked: joanne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Brancato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: The View is AMAZING. Darling is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Bon fire every night and great conversation with great people. I am coming back this July hopefully!

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Layla Abdulaziz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2014 Layla would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid-back atmosphere. Located in a nice area with great views. Good place to socialise in the evenings.

Disliked: The dorm room was chaotic. It was a room with 14 mattresses on the floor and no space to put belongings. The room was VERY cold at night and poorly built in general which meant that mosquitos and other insects could get in. Staff were friendly but the service was slow.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: Nice location, looks quaint.

Disliked: unkempt. Rickety buildings, bungalo had slanting floor. Unsecure (tiny padlock on door only). Lousy hot water heater. No smoke detector in room or any obviius firefighting gear.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ben Duff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014

Liked: It's a really nice vibe, very mellow with lots of friendly backpackers. Good for a single traveler who wants some space to hang out and meet people. Darling was lovely, she was a great face to have around, fun and always chatty.

Disliked: Not a big fan of the mattresses on the floor, there's not really any space for your stuff and I had to clamber over bags and beds in order to get to mine. The showers never got really hot either, it was either a warm dribble or a cold blast. The room was cold at night, most people were sleeping in hoodies and long pants as the blankets weren't thick enough. Hard to find any particularly helpful staff as well

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Views, plunge pool, social bonfire every night

Disliked: The 'darling' comments - not genuine at all

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013

Liked: The owner was polite.

Disliked: The hostel had a terrible odor of methane gas. We could only stay 1 night because it was so bad. It didn't seem to effect others staying there. A mattress was "available" on the porch outside our room which gave us the "grand experience" of listening to a couple going at it all night long. Probably because they couldn't stand the smell in their room! The map was not clear, as the blue roof landmark was not visible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. Beautiful view.

Disliked: Usually doesn't quiet down until after midnight, which is great if you're going there to be social but not the ideal place to get a restful night's sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alaysia MacPherson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Alaysia would recommend this property

Liked: The view was amazing, the common areas were a great place to meet people, the pool was small but refreshing, they had bonfires every night which again were a great place to meet people and the owners (darling & Peter) had huge hearts and genuinely cared about everyone who stayed there! I'll definitely be going back.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Schlegel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: great view. nice staff

Disliked: no locking of doors, locker in the reception room bit tiresome

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing, the views, the staff, and the fireplace and pool. Anne the hostel owner gives everyone a bracelet when you leave, and she is the cutest person in thailand. She makes the hostel great. The views are amazing, expecially the sunset. Wow.

Disliked: Its about a 8 minute walk from town, and the path is quite scary at night, there is a lit road, but I never tried it at night so it might be okay for single girls. The rooms were quite dark. But I will be going back so it's nothing bad to be worried about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: the food

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ivie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Best hotsel i've stayed in in S.E Asia. Staff are amazing, people and atmosphere is brilliant. Good wifi connection. Staff will do anything for you. Really good 'community' type feel to the place.

Disliked: my Dorm room was too far to get a wifi connection which another 10ft back towards reception would work. There is a shortcut to the town from the hostel but this isnt shown on a map so had to walk to 'long way'... not the hostels fault by any means though...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julianne Vidug

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 June 2013 Julianne would recommend this property

Liked: view of the mountains

Disliked: teh cement steps between the bungalows

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: no lock on bedroom door, although there are lockers,

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: The location and views were outstanding with hammocks and comfy seats to watch the sunset. The owner 'darling' couldn't have been friendlier and made it feel like you were staying in her house rather than a hostel. Basic beds but were very comfy.

Disliked: although there were lockers down stairs there was no way of locking the dorm rooms and although friendly there was not always staff available to help you. Do not leave your shoes at the bottom of the stairs as many stray dogs are around and they may not be there in the morning.


See all Pai hostels