HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Darling View Point Bungalows

Guesthouse | 120 Moo1 T.Maehee A., Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand 58130

79.4% Overall Rating

92 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Louisa Crafter thinks…

"Darling View Point was ideal for the solo part of my travels. The perfect hideaway for some relaxing (great views in a rural setting), it was also great for meeting people. There's a real sociable…"

Read all Darling View Point Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
3.44 USD

Hostel 89.7% 26 reviews
Purple Monkey Guesthouse
4.44 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Spicypai Backpackers
4.69 USD

Hostel 83.1% 79 reviews
Villa de Pai
18.75 USD

Hotel 65.7% 4 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
5.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

92 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Darling View Point Bungalows'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louisa Crafter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: Darling View Point was ideal for the solo part of my travels. The perfect hideaway for some relaxing (great views in a rural setting), it was also great for meeting people. There's a real sociable feel to the place with nightly campfires and music. You'll also have a chance to meet the incomparable 'Darling', trust me, she's reason enough to stay here.

Disliked: A little out in the sticks at first glance. About 15 mins walk, across a rickety bridge, then directions such as 'turn left at the horse'. But to be honest a nice walk and well worth it for the views. I even managed it pretty drunk at 4am a couple of times. Put your valuables in the safety boxes, as the dorms don't get locked.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Ellis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Darling was very friendly and made everyone feel welcome. Really good atmosphere - bonfires and music on request!..

Disliked: No mosquito nets but they did have screens.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Kew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Location, big comfy beds, social atmosphere...and great views!

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

joanne egan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Darling is very accomodating and tries her best to make people happy.

Disliked: joanne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Brancato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: The View is AMAZING. Darling is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Bon fire every night and great conversation with great people. I am coming back this July hopefully!

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Layla Abdulaziz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2014 Layla would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid-back atmosphere. Located in a nice area with great views. Good place to socialise in the evenings.

Disliked: The dorm room was chaotic. It was a room with 14 mattresses on the floor and no space to put belongings. The room was VERY cold at night and poorly built in general which meant that mosquitos and other insects could get in. Staff were friendly but the service was slow.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: Nice location, looks quaint.

Disliked: unkempt. Rickety buildings, bungalo had slanting floor. Unsecure (tiny padlock on door only). Lousy hot water heater. No smoke detector in room or any obviius firefighting gear.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ben Duff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014

Liked: It's a really nice vibe, very mellow with lots of friendly backpackers. Good for a single traveler who wants some space to hang out and meet people. Darling was lovely, she was a great face to have around, fun and always chatty.

Disliked: Not a big fan of the mattresses on the floor, there's not really any space for your stuff and I had to clamber over bags and beds in order to get to mine. The showers never got really hot either, it was either a warm dribble or a cold blast. The room was cold at night, most people were sleeping in hoodies and long pants as the blankets weren't thick enough. Hard to find any particularly helpful staff as well

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Views, plunge pool, social bonfire every night

Disliked: The 'darling' comments - not genuine at all

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013

Liked: The owner was polite.

Disliked: The hostel had a terrible odor of methane gas. We could only stay 1 night because it was so bad. It didn't seem to effect others staying there. A mattress was "available" on the porch outside our room which gave us the "grand experience" of listening to a couple going at it all night long. Probably because they couldn't stand the smell in their room! The map was not clear, as the blue roof landmark was not visible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. Beautiful view.

Disliked: Usually doesn't quiet down until after midnight, which is great if you're going there to be social but not the ideal place to get a restful night's sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alaysia MacPherson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Alaysia would recommend this property

Liked: The view was amazing, the common areas were a great place to meet people, the pool was small but refreshing, they had bonfires every night which again were a great place to meet people and the owners (darling & Peter) had huge hearts and genuinely cared about everyone who stayed there! I'll definitely be going back.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Schlegel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: great view. nice staff

Disliked: no locking of doors, locker in the reception room bit tiresome

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing, the views, the staff, and the fireplace and pool. Anne the hostel owner gives everyone a bracelet when you leave, and she is the cutest person in thailand. She makes the hostel great. The views are amazing, expecially the sunset. Wow.

Disliked: Its about a 8 minute walk from town, and the path is quite scary at night, there is a lit road, but I never tried it at night so it might be okay for single girls. The rooms were quite dark. But I will be going back so it's nothing bad to be worried about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: the food

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ivie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Best hotsel i've stayed in in S.E Asia. Staff are amazing, people and atmosphere is brilliant. Good wifi connection. Staff will do anything for you. Really good 'community' type feel to the place.

Disliked: my Dorm room was too far to get a wifi connection which another 10ft back towards reception would work. There is a shortcut to the town from the hostel but this isnt shown on a map so had to walk to 'long way'... not the hostels fault by any means though...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julianne Vidug

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 June 2013 Julianne would recommend this property

Liked: view of the mountains

Disliked: teh cement steps between the bungalows

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: no lock on bedroom door, although there are lockers,

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: The location and views were outstanding with hammocks and comfy seats to watch the sunset. The owner 'darling' couldn't have been friendlier and made it feel like you were staying in her house rather than a hostel. Basic beds but were very comfy.

Disliked: although there were lockers down stairs there was no way of locking the dorm rooms and although friendly there was not always staff available to help you. Do not leave your shoes at the bottom of the stairs as many stray dogs are around and they may not be there in the morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kelsey Reinke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2013

Liked: It was just ok. I prefer the guesthouses in town I think or closer to the river.

Disliked: the owners were a bit hard to find when needed for locked luggage. The location required a 15 min walk into town. Gave us a fleece baby blanket for a towel. But the owners were so sweet and nice! Loved the bonfires.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El sitio no está precisamente en las calles principales, sino a unos 5 -10 minutos caminando.. aun así es genial, porque te permite evadirte aún más..

Disliked: La limpieza no era excelente...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Steffi Green

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2013 Steffi would recommend this property

Liked: Great social atmosphere and comfy bedrooms

Disliked: Nothing particuarly maybe the bathrooms could be cleaner

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jade Tremblay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot of fun, the beds are pretty comfortable and it is enough outside of town that it's nice and peaceful but not too far of a walk (10 minutes at the most). They set up a big camp fire every night and it's a great way to meet people. I've stayed here a couple of times when I came up to Pai and will probably stay here again in the future.

Disliked: The bathroom didn't get cleaned for a couple of days and there was a bit of infestation of ants that festered in this time and took a liking to our garbage. I am okay with a few ants, I've been in Asia for awhile and am accustomed to bugs being everywhere I go but believe me when i say I have never seen so many ants in my life. The floor was black with ants and when we tried to spray them down it was black with ant carcasses. Otherwise it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nataliia Giumiushliu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Nataliia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the town, but around nature with great view on mountains, wooden houses, small pool, flowers and trees, very calm and peaceful. I loved a manager of the place! She makes the atmospher really hippie, she is very positive, friendly, always helps and smiles :)

Disliked: Nataliia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! I've seen it described as being like fawlty towers, and this is so true! It's not like anywhere I've stayed before. The atmosphere here is so good - it's really laid back and sociable. Peter and Darling are so friendly and helpful; yes breakfast was a little slow on one day but the next it was really quick (the Pai way of living isn't about quick anyway). There's a firepit to sit around in the evening which is great to have a beer round and meet people. Upstairs in the main building (where some/all of the dorms are) is a large open air communal area with hammocks to chill out in plus loads Of seating and the view over Pai is incredible. I always hear people asking to stay more nights. I read somewhere there aren't lockers, but there are and they're free to use. In the dorms (and I assume the other rooms) you get a huge mattress to yourself - at least double, often king size. Some aren't that comfy to be honest, but mine was fine. I love this place and Pai. Wish I could stay even longer.

Disliked: The wifi can be a bit temperamental. The walk from the bus station isn't great with luggage (but apparently Peter can sometimes pick you up if you let them know in advance). It's not the cleanest place I've stayed, but it's definitely not unclean. In the dorms, it can be quite noisy at night if people are still playing music over the speakers, but a pair of earplugs sort that out! None of these things should stop you staying.


See all Pai hostels