HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Darling View Point Bungalows

Guesthouse | 120 Moo1 T.Maehee A., Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand 58130

79.4% Overall Rating

92 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Louisa Crafter thinks…

"Darling View Point was ideal for the solo part of my travels. The perfect hideaway for some relaxing (great views in a rural setting), it was also great for meeting people. There's a real sociable…"

Read all Darling View Point Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
3.46 USD

Hostel 89.7% 26 reviews
Purple Monkey Guesthouse
4.46 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Spicypai Backpackers
4.71 USD

Hostel 83.7% 75 reviews
Villa de Pai
18.85 USD

Hotel 65.7% 4 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
10.99 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

92 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Darling View Point Bungalows'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 100 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIANA CITLALI AGUERO DIAZ DURAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 MARIANA CITLALI would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace is super big and gorgeous, a nice place to read a book, have your dinner (food is super good), have a beer and meet other guests. It has a great view over Pai as the Guesthouse is located in a hill. The facilities are big and well spread out. Many bungalows, but you dont have a sensation that the place is crowded or that there aren't enough toilets and shower. The place is huge! Had also a nice front restaurant in the lower ground with a nice place for bonefires!

Disliked: The Guesthouse is not in the center of the town, but actually, i dont think this is a dislke. Because then is gets very quite to sleep, without noise from the bars or people partying. I didn't like that the dorm it was suppose to be a 3 persons dorm, and at the end 5 persons were squeeze there. At the end it worked out fine, as we all get along together fine, but originally the bed was offered as 3 persons dorm. But the staff is super friendly and super helpfull, so this little detail did not spoil my staying here. I still have a great impression from them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David French

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay....very comfortable and being 5 minutes out of the town centre offers you the comfort of a little quiet time. Peter and "Darling" are fantastic hosts if not a little eccentric...but we really liked that. Peter bent over backwards with information and was so helpful. Even lent me a guitar of his. The staff are friendly and cook up a great Tom Yum Gai!

Disliked: nothing.....

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011

Liked: The view from the balcony was amazing. The owners seemed friendly. There were three beds in the bungalow, which would be handy if there was a group of friends travelling together.

Disliked: The bungalow we stayed in was vastly over-priced. The bed sheets were very old and the place was pretty shabby. The shower was cold and there was a persistent smell of raw sewage. There appeared to be no-one on duty at the property for significant chunks of the day. Overall, it was vastly over-priced. We moved after one night and found a lovely clean hostel, still in a great location with lovely views, for around half the cost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the hostel is by far the best in the north of Thailand and the bed is as soft as mine back home but by far the best thing about this hostel is Ann and Peter you will want to be adopted and just work there came for two days stayed for eight.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its up the hills away from the bars etc, view from our bungalow were amazing. The walk to the bars etc at night was a bit scary at first as pitch black but you get used to it. Peter and Darling who run the place are lovely, they picked us up from town on their scooters, back packs, bags and all, was an experience :-)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Not that I disliked it, but would be a great addition if it was easier to get food and drink there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were lucky enough to get upgraded as the hostel was pretty empty, so we were given our own en-suite room and our own private veranda, this was amazing, especially as it rained alot so the shelter was needed. Darling was really lovely!! The views are beautiful from this hostel.

Disliked: Bathrooms were very smelly due to the sewerage. At times the hostel was left with noone in charge. It didn't appear that there was much organisation between owners. Breakfast is 70 baht for toast and eggs, even if you just have toast it's 70 baht!! Then you're charged for tea and coffee on top. There was also building work going on when we were there which meant no lie in at all, also the dogs and chickens stop you sleeping throughout the night. This is the best hostel, but compared to others we viewed in Pai it's a lot better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, great view of the river and mountain, very nice staff

Disliked: The rooms can have alot of bugs in them

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 March 2010

Liked: Very nice view from the bungalows, quiet location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jack Gooding

27 February 2010 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views and good location just out of town but only 3 mins walk. And...we got a free upgrade do had a massive teak chill out area to ourself and a private bathroom.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice balcony

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Berweger

04 December 2009 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Darling and Peter are really helpful and friendly hosts. Thank you!A bit out of town (5-10 min walk) but therefore a fantastic view - very nice sunset.Bungalows are not to compare with a 5 star hotel room, but exactly what I looked for in this region.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Hunt

03 December 2009 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: lovely people and wonderful view from the hammock on the veranda. Booked for 2 nights and stayed for 7

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I want to have clear for direction of hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

hayley roberts

15 October 2009 hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely view from the bungalows, even better when ur in a hammock! i think there doing some renovations due to flooding, once this is done im sure it'll be back to its former glory. but it was fine to stay for a couple of nights.

Disliked: hayley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynwen James

11 October 2009 Lynwen would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, peacful location 10 minutes walk from the town with stunning views overlooking the mountains. Cean,comfortable rooms with nice verandha and hammocks. Felt very at home here and could have stayed for much longer. The owners, Darling and Peter were very welcoming and the place had a real family feel. Would recommend to others.

Disliked: Lynwen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The position looking over Pai is amazing, lovely to lay in the balcony hammock and appreciate the view. Very rustic and homely, it felt more like staying with a family than in a hostel as Darling and Peter are so welcoming.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was the couple that are running the hostel: Peter & Darling. I felt like I was staying in their home, and that they were looking after me. We had some wonderful meals cooked by either Peter or Darling, and at a very reasonable price. I will stay at this hostel again when I re-visit Pai.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Pai hostels