HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Darling View Point Bungalows Guesthouse

120 Moo T. Maehee A. Pai, Pai, Thailand

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 67%

Location 78%

Safety 65%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 4.23USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 67%

Location 78%

Safety 65%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

Showing 31-15 of 15 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is great! I've seen it described as being like fawlty towers, and this is so true! It's not like anywhere I've stayed before. The atmosphere here is so good - it's really laid back and sociable. Peter and Darling are so friendly and helpful; yes breakfast was a little slow on one day but the next it was really quick (the Pai way of living isn't about quick anyway).There's a firepit to sit around in the evening which is great to have a beer round and meet people. Upstairs in the main building (where some/all of the dorms are) is a large open air communal area with hammocks to chill out in plus loads Of seating and the view over Pai is incredible. I always hear people asking to stay more nights. I read somewhere there aren't lockers, but there are and they're free to use.In the dorms (and I assume the other rooms) you get a huge mattress to yourself - at least double, often king size. Some aren't that comfy to be honest, but mine was fine. I love this place and Pai. Wish I could stay even longer.

Disliked: The wifi can be a bit temperamental. The walk from the bus station isn't great with luggage (but apparently Peter can sometimes pick you up if you let them know in advance). It's not the cleanest place I've stayed, but it's definitely not unclean. In the dorms, it can be quite noisy at night if people are still playing music over the speakers, but a pair of earplugs sort that out! None of these things should stop you staying.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very beautiful setting and the buildings themselves are beautiful things

Disliked: A bit far to walk to town. Ok if you have a motorbike.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bed was fine and location was good too.

Disliked: Bathroom and the rest of the 'resort' very dirty and dusty. Staff wasn't present all the time. Then again, it is cheap and it was okay for two nights.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place was amazing! The friendly people there were so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable it was hard to leave, would recommend this place to anyone

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly, welcoming and warm. There is a big common area (with both indoor and outdoor areas), complete with a nightly camp fire and reasonably priced beer to drink around it. The location for us was perfect, about a five minute stroll out of town, making it quiet at night and giving it a great view over Pai and the surrounding mountains, without being far from the bars, restaurants etc. There is even a tiny swimming pool for those feeling brave in the heat of the day :). Peter and Darling have looked after us, offering advice on everything from bike rental to when best to go to the hospital, and always accompanied by a crazy soundtrack!

Disliked: That we can't stay forever! People have mentioned that the place can be a little chaotic (which it can be), but it is part of the charm of the place and it was really no more chaotic than many hostels we have stayed in whilst in Thailand.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The View is AMAZING. Darling is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Bon fire every night and great conversation with great people. I am coming back this July hopefully!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One of the best places I've stayed at during my 3 month trip around Thailand.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great view of Pai at sunset, really easy to meet people in the outside common areas.Laid back atmosphere and Peter and Darling who run it are good fun and always willing to help with anything you need.

Disliked: A few spiders and bugs around the place (not in bedrooms), but it is an outdoor open plan kind of building.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The most crazy unorganised hostle ever, I loved it, think of fautly towers! Such a cool building all woodern with so much character. I would highly recomend this place. Dont come if you dont fancy being sociable! And expect to stay longer than you thought!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel set on a hillside overlooking Pai. There was a good crowd when I was there and it was easy to bump into new folks. Though there were a few cliquey groups about.

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability