We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Darling View Point Bungalows

Guesthouse | 120 Moo1 T.Maehee A., Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand 58130

80.0% Overall Rating

93 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Really cool common area/vibe with bonfire -though was needed for heat more than anything as gets very cold"

Read all Darling View Point Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
4.62 USD

Hostel 87.7% 29 reviews
Purple Monkey Pai
4.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pai circus school and hostel
5.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Spicypai Backpackers
4.62 USD

Hostel 83.1% 79 reviews
Villa de Pai
18.49 USD

Hotel 65.7% 4 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
5.55 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

93 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Darling View Point Bungalows'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 101 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Brooks

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say that the staff are just so friendly, they helped us whenever and however they could with friendly advice, free transfers, lovely personalities and even a little parting gift! We stayed in a twin share private room and we each had a king sized bed to ourselves! We had a gorgeous shared veranda with a beautiful view of Pai and although the map makes it look far away from town, there is a shortcut that takes less than 5 mins to walk. Seriously I can't rave about this place enough!

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect for us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nestled in a nice location across the river from Pai, Darling View point allows you quiet and privacy during your stay, and easy access to the town.

Disliked: The facilities are a little bit basic... on par with much in its price range throughout Thailand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

11 February 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and staff.

Disliked: The location is 1km or so away from town so it would be a bit annoying if you didn't have a bike (but when you're in Pai EVERYONE has a bike, so no big deal really!)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

levana zur

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2012 levana would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, not in the village but close 5-10 minute walk, with great views and a garden around, rural atmosphere. The owner is very nice and helpful advice. Option for breakfast (before going for a walk ...) We chose to stay another night and day.

Disliked: Rooms we've been very modest, without a cabinet or table - just beds and a hammock on the porch. Bedding and towels were very used.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Swisher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Darling View Point has a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and our stay was made especially nice thanks to the hospitality of Darling & her husband. The bungalows are all beautiful and have amazing views of Pai and the sunset over the valley and each set of bungalows has a private terrace with hammocks and seating where you can relax.

Disliked: nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jo McGee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy, lovey couple that run it but it has everything you need. Beds are double and MASSIVE.

Disliked: Bungalows can be kinda shakey when people "move" - if u get what I mean - on the floor above and I heard that the dorms can get worse (3 couples going at it at the same time with others in the same room). Not always a bad thing of course - just letting you know.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Wenninger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great View, Friendly Stuff, Clean and Big rooms and near to town

Disliked: Its often difficult to sleep because the other guest party on the campfire, sometimes until 4 am

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, it is near the city, but you have an amazing view The huts were nice and the owners were very friendly and always willing to help

Disliked: The sheets on the beds were very oldfashioned and looked a bit dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere of the house, it is fantastic to relax and chill out in such lovely surroundings and the view from the top terrace is amazing!! HUGE beds and lovely food. Both Darling and Peter made it an enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Its a little walk from the centre, although easy enough to get to its not a well lit path in the dark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Sturges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: It has one of the most relaxed atmospheres around, beautiful views, good to meet people and Darling and Peter are amaziing! They make you feel so at home. Bonfires, a bar and big double beds for each person! Loved it!

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Stapleton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was really relaxed.

Disliked: We had payed for a Private Double Ensuite but the room seemed more like a dorm room with two double beds in. It wasn't cleaned during our few days stay and the water ran yellow out of the tap.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Merivale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, helpful, lovely bungalows and beautiful view

Disliked: not alot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alistair Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Darling View was INCREDIBLE! Darling & Peter were the most friendly, amazing hosts, when we arrived we told them it was our honeymoon and we got upgraded to a bungalow with 2 double beds with en suite for the same price, the guest house has so much character, the swimming pool was a lovely place to relax whilst drinking a beer and the view from the hammock took our breaths away.. Peter served up an incredible BBQ for us while Darling gave myself and my wife a Thai cooking class! The BEST place we have stayed so far, i think the term "nice as Pai" was invented here!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Myers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great for the not-so-social backpacker. It is in a beautiful spot a little away from town. It is quiet and natural and relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful, dare I say too helpful. The laundry service is nice, a little more expensive than places in town but then again they do fold it and bring it to your room. They'll pick you up from the bus stop free id charge. The beds and rooms were big and spacious. Each bungalow has its own porch with hammocks which is lovely.

Disliked: The hostel being far away from town during the down season made everything feel a little eerie. We felt a little too alone and lonely. Also, the paint or stain or varnish on the walls was an unsettling sanguine color (like blood) but it's just paint. That really made us uncomfortable the first night but it really is a fine place. The hot water went in and out but the facilities were nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chris Griffin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room and was given a bungalow with 2 double beds as it was the quiet season! Great views and peaceful as out of the town, although Pai itself is relatively peaceful and quiet this time of year! Staff were very helpful and even did our washing for us. The bungalows can retain quite a bit of the heat but we were given an extra fan as soon as we asked.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matt Bower

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and will do anything for you. The views from the bungalows are incredible. Feels more like an expensive getaway place rather than a backpackers hostel.

Disliked: It is about 20mins walk from Pai. This isnt a problem if you hire a scooter (very cheap!) but if you want to be in the centre, its not for you. Saying that, its close enough without all the noise at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Walsh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Anne could do not do enough. The view is amazing.,, there is a brand new pool which is lovely. If you want a relaxing few days this is it!

Disliked: It is a 10 min walk out, but you can rent a scooter for 100baht in pai.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The chalets are beautiful and have incredible views from the balconies. Plus the elderly lady who runs it is a very special lady!! I like that it's outside the town, but still very close by scooter or even walking. Great if you're looking for somewhere quiet to chill out :)

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big room and good toilet facilities.

Disliked: A bit far out of town - a little bit of a walk uphill - not too much of a big problem, but carrying a bag made it tougher!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zaine Allen

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Zaine would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful bungalows, wonderful hospitality.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hernan Serlik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: it was very nice, and one of the few places in Pai with shared dorms

Disliked: I went with someone I met before and we were the only two guests in the whole hostel, so it was very boing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peter and Darling were extremely hospitable hosts. They will pick you up from the bus station, and drive you back to it when you leave. They are very knowledgable in terms of places to go, sights to see, and things to do in Pai and the sorrounding area. The property offers fantastic views of the Pai valley, for it sits on a ridge set only about 300 meters away from the downtown area...which I found very refreshing considering the the loud parties that happen quite frequently in the town. And their cook is outstanding! I highly recommed this property

Disliked: No complaints whatsoever

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - nice view over town and at sunset - double beds in dorms - huge balconies with hammocks, matraces and chairs - nice staff

Disliked: - little bit quiet in low season, but so is whole Pai

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Wegmueller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff, swimming pool, nice showers...

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Bell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: The peace and quiet and the superb views. The friendliness of the owners and their extremely helpful and willingness to oblige, nothing was a problem to Peter & Darling - first class hosts.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Pai hostels