We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Darling View Point Bungalows

Guesthouse | 120 Moo1 T.Maehee A., Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand 58130

79.7% Overall Rating

94 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Really cool common area/vibe with bonfire -though was needed for heat more than anything as gets very cold"

Read all Darling View Point Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
4.62 USD

Hostel 87.7% 29 reviews
Purple Monkey Pai
4.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Spicypai Backpackers
4.62 USD

Hostel 83.1% 79 reviews
Villa de Pai
18.49 USD

Hotel 65.7% 4 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
5.55 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

94 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Darling View Point Bungalows'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 102 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! I've seen it described as being like fawlty towers, and this is so true! It's not like anywhere I've stayed before. The atmosphere here is so good - it's really laid back and sociable. Peter and Darling are so friendly and helpful; yes breakfast was a little slow on one day but the next it was really quick (the Pai way of living isn't about quick anyway). There's a firepit to sit around in the evening which is great to have a beer round and meet people. Upstairs in the main building (where some/all of the dorms are) is a large open air communal area with hammocks to chill out in plus loads Of seating and the view over Pai is incredible. I always hear people asking to stay more nights. I read somewhere there aren't lockers, but there are and they're free to use. In the dorms (and I assume the other rooms) you get a huge mattress to yourself - at least double, often king size. Some aren't that comfy to be honest, but mine was fine. I love this place and Pai. Wish I could stay even longer.

Disliked: The wifi can be a bit temperamental. The walk from the bus station isn't great with luggage (but apparently Peter can sometimes pick you up if you let them know in advance). It's not the cleanest place I've stayed, but it's definitely not unclean. In the dorms, it can be quite noisy at night if people are still playing music over the speakers, but a pair of earplugs sort that out! None of these things should stop you staying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful setting and the buildings themselves are beautiful things

Disliked: A bit far to walk to town. Ok if you have a motorbike.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Elisabeth IJmker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013

Liked: Bed was fine and location was good too.

Disliked: Bathroom and the rest of the 'resort' very dirty and dusty. Staff wasn't present all the time. Then again, it is cheap and it was okay for two nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Byrne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing! The friendly people there were so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable it was hard to leave, would recommend this place to anyone

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Blake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly, welcoming and warm. There is a big common area (with both indoor and outdoor areas), complete with a nightly camp fire and reasonably priced beer to drink around it. The location for us was perfect, about a five minute stroll out of town, making it quiet at night and giving it a great view over Pai and the surrounding mountains, without being far from the bars, restaurants etc. There is even a tiny swimming pool for those feeling brave in the heat of the day :). Peter and Darling have looked after us, offering advice on everything from bike rental to when best to go to the hospital, and always accompanied by a crazy soundtrack!

Disliked: That we can't stay forever! People have mentioned that the place can be a little chaotic (which it can be), but it is part of the charm of the place and it was really no more chaotic than many hostels we have stayed in whilst in Thailand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Rousu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I've stayed at during my 3 month trip around Thailand.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of Pai at sunset, really easy to meet people in the outside common areas. Laid back atmosphere and Peter and Darling who run it are good fun and always willing to help with anything you need.

Disliked: A few spiders and bugs around the place (not in bedrooms), but it is an outdoor open plan kind of building.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gareth Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel set on a hillside overlooking Pai. There was a good crowd when I was there and it was easy to bump into new folks. Though there were a few cliquey groups about.

Disliked: Nothing really

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Old, dirty, musty. Really really slow service!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly-Anne Drinkwater

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Kelly-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The most crazy unorganised hostle ever, I loved it, think of fautly towers! Such a cool building all woodern with so much character. I would highly recomend this place. Dont come if you dont fancy being sociable! And expect to stay longer than you thought!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they offer free pick up and drop off at bus station, it takes 20 minutes on foot.

Disliked: a bit far away from the town centre, it's a bit dark and scary when walking at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margot cameron

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: Great quiet location with a beautiful view over pai. I had a single bungalow with a verander, a lovely way to relax away from the business of town, but only 5 minutes walk away. Other guests made a fire pit to sit around at night. Very hospitable and friendly -- very relaxed!

Disliked: It's quite a big property so when you want to find the staff you need to be patient sometimes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views.

Disliked: No lockers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

markus edin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 markus would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views from the Twin Rooms and incredebly nice owners.

Disliked: Nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tahnee Gul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Tahnee would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse by far has the most social space I have ever seen! Lots of areas to meet up with fellow travelers and the owners Darling and Peter are AMAZING, picked us up from the bus stop and dropped us off bless them. Had a nice little balcony with t.v. And table/chairs and a hammock. Very relaxing stay wish it could have been longer

Disliked: Slightly out of town but the walk is easy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was in a natural setting. They gad several activities and very big soft beds which are rare in Asia.

Disliked: They were a bit over priced for the area. For half as much money I could have had a private room in town, and there I only had a dorm. I also made a reservation through hostel bookers and paid a deposit. When I got there they didn't have it. I really wanted and asked for a girls dorm. They say on hostel bookers girls dorms, but dont follow this in real life and continually moved boys into my room even though they had empty dorms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything. Even an open fire place and a salt water pool. It's only 5 minutes short cut walk to the village. Not at all a distance or problem. Very big and spacious property. All made out of wood.

Disliked: some ants, but normal since everything is in the middle of a beautiful garden.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecilie Larsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Cecilie would recommend this property

Liked: Likes is so homey and cosy place. The owner Darling and Peter Are the best. The Are so happy people. It is never borring here, and they make sure you Are having a good stay!

Disliked: Well nothing really, only the fact that the pool isn't in the sun. So that is nothing !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MARCUS EVANS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 MARCUS would recommend this property

Liked: The villas had shared balconies with hammocks. The pool and great hostel oner Peter.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaana Micheli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jaana would recommend this property

Liked: Peter and Darling are amazing hosts. The atmosphere feels like home. The bungalows are big and clean and has nice porches with hammocks.

Disliked: Nothing!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Darling was awesome! She was so much fun when she was around. Great to get a pick-up at the bus station in Pai. Amazing views and relaxed getaway! Nice pool to relax in when it is too hot outside.

Disliked: Parts were very dusty and downstairs has a lot of junk lying around. Sometimes hard to speak to Peter or Darling. Rooms only have one key, and when its a dorm and more than one person in there its impossible to ensure that the room is locked and your valuables are safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurelie Ducloux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: the best place in Pai! Wonderfull view, quiet, clean.

Disliked: Aurelie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steven Bland

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful, charming, wonderful place, wonderful people. We come every year, it's a home away from home.

Disliked: Not a thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had an amazing view, very comfortable and big beds. The staff were extremely friendly, even picked us up from the bus stop free of charge.

Disliked: the only security was a pad lock, but it was a safe area so didnt feel very unsafe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a unique place to stay, our room was HUGE, the bathrooms are very clean, staff is friendly. They have a big campfire every night which was great to meet people. The location is perfect, not right in town but just a short walk away. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Nothing, great value for your money!


See all Pai hostels