We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pai hostels

Reviews of Darling View Point Bungalows

Guesthouse | 120 Moo1 T.Maehee A., Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand 58130

73.5% Overall Rating

99 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2015)

"It was really easy to find and it was about a five minute walk from the main town area. It was clean and the staff were really friendly, it was great value for money."

Read all Darling View Point Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pai

KK.HUT
4.19 USD

Hostel 87.3% 32 reviews
Famous Pai Circus Hostel
5.03 USD

Hostel 68.9% 10 reviews
Spicypai Backpackers
5.03 USD

Hostel 81.6% 95 reviews
Villa de Pai
16.76 USD

Hotel 72.6% 5 reviews
BaanPaiRiverside
5.03 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

99 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Darling View Point Bungalows'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 109 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kelsey Reinke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2013

Liked: It was just ok. I prefer the guesthouses in town I think or closer to the river.

Disliked: the owners were a bit hard to find when needed for locked luggage. The location required a 15 min walk into town. Gave us a fleece baby blanket for a towel. But the owners were so sweet and nice! Loved the bonfires.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El sitio no está precisamente en las calles principales, sino a unos 5 -10 minutos caminando.. aun así es genial, porque te permite evadirte aún más..

Disliked: La limpieza no era excelente...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Steffi Green

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2013 Steffi would recommend this property

Liked: Great social atmosphere and comfy bedrooms

Disliked: Nothing particuarly maybe the bathrooms could be cleaner

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jade Tremblay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot of fun, the beds are pretty comfortable and it is enough outside of town that it's nice and peaceful but not too far of a walk (10 minutes at the most). They set up a big camp fire every night and it's a great way to meet people. I've stayed here a couple of times when I came up to Pai and will probably stay here again in the future.

Disliked: The bathroom didn't get cleaned for a couple of days and there was a bit of infestation of ants that festered in this time and took a liking to our garbage. I am okay with a few ants, I've been in Asia for awhile and am accustomed to bugs being everywhere I go but believe me when i say I have never seen so many ants in my life. The floor was black with ants and when we tried to spray them down it was black with ant carcasses. Otherwise it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nataliia Giumiushliu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Nataliia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the town, but around nature with great view on mountains, wooden houses, small pool, flowers and trees, very calm and peaceful. I loved a manager of the place! She makes the atmospher really hippie, she is very positive, friendly, always helps and smiles :)

Disliked: Nataliia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! I've seen it described as being like fawlty towers, and this is so true! It's not like anywhere I've stayed before. The atmosphere here is so good - it's really laid back and sociable. Peter and Darling are so friendly and helpful; yes breakfast was a little slow on one day but the next it was really quick (the Pai way of living isn't about quick anyway). There's a firepit to sit around in the evening which is great to have a beer round and meet people. Upstairs in the main building (where some/all of the dorms are) is a large open air communal area with hammocks to chill out in plus loads Of seating and the view over Pai is incredible. I always hear people asking to stay more nights. I read somewhere there aren't lockers, but there are and they're free to use. In the dorms (and I assume the other rooms) you get a huge mattress to yourself - at least double, often king size. Some aren't that comfy to be honest, but mine was fine. I love this place and Pai. Wish I could stay even longer.

Disliked: The wifi can be a bit temperamental. The walk from the bus station isn't great with luggage (but apparently Peter can sometimes pick you up if you let them know in advance). It's not the cleanest place I've stayed, but it's definitely not unclean. In the dorms, it can be quite noisy at night if people are still playing music over the speakers, but a pair of earplugs sort that out! None of these things should stop you staying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful setting and the buildings themselves are beautiful things

Disliked: A bit far to walk to town. Ok if you have a motorbike.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Elisabeth IJmker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013

Liked: Bed was fine and location was good too.

Disliked: Bathroom and the rest of the 'resort' very dirty and dusty. Staff wasn't present all the time. Then again, it is cheap and it was okay for two nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Byrne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing! The friendly people there were so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable it was hard to leave, would recommend this place to anyone

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Blake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly, welcoming and warm. There is a big common area (with both indoor and outdoor areas), complete with a nightly camp fire and reasonably priced beer to drink around it. The location for us was perfect, about a five minute stroll out of town, making it quiet at night and giving it a great view over Pai and the surrounding mountains, without being far from the bars, restaurants etc. There is even a tiny swimming pool for those feeling brave in the heat of the day :). Peter and Darling have looked after us, offering advice on everything from bike rental to when best to go to the hospital, and always accompanied by a crazy soundtrack!

Disliked: That we can't stay forever! People have mentioned that the place can be a little chaotic (which it can be), but it is part of the charm of the place and it was really no more chaotic than many hostels we have stayed in whilst in Thailand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Rousu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I've stayed at during my 3 month trip around Thailand.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of Pai at sunset, really easy to meet people in the outside common areas. Laid back atmosphere and Peter and Darling who run it are good fun and always willing to help with anything you need.

Disliked: A few spiders and bugs around the place (not in bedrooms), but it is an outdoor open plan kind of building.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gareth Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel set on a hillside overlooking Pai. There was a good crowd when I was there and it was easy to bump into new folks. Though there were a few cliquey groups about.

Disliked: Nothing really

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Old, dirty, musty. Really really slow service!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly-Anne Drinkwater

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Kelly-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The most crazy unorganised hostle ever, I loved it, think of fautly towers! Such a cool building all woodern with so much character. I would highly recomend this place. Dont come if you dont fancy being sociable! And expect to stay longer than you thought!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they offer free pick up and drop off at bus station, it takes 20 minutes on foot.

Disliked: a bit far away from the town centre, it's a bit dark and scary when walking at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margot cameron

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: Great quiet location with a beautiful view over pai. I had a single bungalow with a verander, a lovely way to relax away from the business of town, but only 5 minutes walk away. Other guests made a fire pit to sit around at night. Very hospitable and friendly -- very relaxed!

Disliked: It's quite a big property so when you want to find the staff you need to be patient sometimes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views.

Disliked: No lockers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

markus edin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 markus would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views from the Twin Rooms and incredebly nice owners.

Disliked: Nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tahnee Gul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Tahnee would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse by far has the most social space I have ever seen! Lots of areas to meet up with fellow travelers and the owners Darling and Peter are AMAZING, picked us up from the bus stop and dropped us off bless them. Had a nice little balcony with t.v. And table/chairs and a hammock. Very relaxing stay wish it could have been longer

Disliked: Slightly out of town but the walk is easy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was in a natural setting. They gad several activities and very big soft beds which are rare in Asia.

Disliked: They were a bit over priced for the area. For half as much money I could have had a private room in town, and there I only had a dorm. I also made a reservation through hostel bookers and paid a deposit. When I got there they didn't have it. I really wanted and asked for a girls dorm. They say on hostel bookers girls dorms, but dont follow this in real life and continually moved boys into my room even though they had empty dorms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything. Even an open fire place and a salt water pool. It's only 5 minutes short cut walk to the village. Not at all a distance or problem. Very big and spacious property. All made out of wood.

Disliked: some ants, but normal since everything is in the middle of a beautiful garden.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecilie Larsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Cecilie would recommend this property

Liked: Likes is so homey and cosy place. The owner Darling and Peter Are the best. The Are so happy people. It is never borring here, and they make sure you Are having a good stay!

Disliked: Well nothing really, only the fact that the pool isn't in the sun. So that is nothing !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MARCUS EVANS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 MARCUS would recommend this property

Liked: The villas had shared balconies with hammocks. The pool and great hostel oner Peter.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaana Micheli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jaana would recommend this property

Liked: Peter and Darling are amazing hosts. The atmosphere feels like home. The bungalows are big and clean and has nice porches with hammocks.

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Pai hostels