We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Krabi hostels
See all Krabi hotels

Reviews of Thaksin Grand Home

Guesthouse | 40/5 Krabi Rd, Paknum, Krabi, Thailand 81000

84.9% Overall Rating

51 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2015)

Anna Lena Grossmann thinks…

"The Lady owning the Hotel is amazing! My friend lost his passport and she really went out of her way and tried to help us, even driving us to the Airport at 11pm! We felt very welcome in the cosy and…"

Read all Thaksin Grand Home reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.82

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Krabi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Krabi

JC Hostel
6.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Boon Siam Hotel
14.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 54.3% 3 reviews
BanPunmanus
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 9 reviews
JP Mansion
3.69 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 46 reviews
Thepparat Lodge Krabi
19.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 64.6% 8 reviews
Baan Nisarine
4.43 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 24 reviews
City Hotel
7.39 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.2% 100 reviews
B&B Guesthouse
8.87 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

51 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Thaksin Grand Home'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Lena Grossmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2015 Anna Lena would recommend this property

Liked: The Lady owning the Hotel is amazing! My friend lost his passport and she really went out of her way and tried to help us, even driving us to the Airport at 11pm! We felt very welcome in the cosy and clean Hotel. WIFI was working very good and the rooms are big and nice. Walk to the City centre is around 10min and the Hotel is very easy to reach coming from the Airport (the shuttle bus drives just past it). Very good value for Money!

Disliked: no common area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner a lovely lady gave us a free ride on her own car so that we wouldnt have to walk under the sun with our backpacks and dont waste,any,time of,our day. Very clean and safe !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean. Easy to organise island trips through staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good location for a tour around the pang gna bay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dezhou Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

01 February 2015 Dezhou would recommend this property

Liked: The lady is just amazing, she helped me doing laundary for free since i payed 40 thb more for the room, laundary cost 50. She also provided coil for repelling mosquitos away, She is a very optimistic person who gives u joiness all the time. Its a very good price hostel with a transportation of 50 thb to ao nang beach.

Disliked: No ac, hot at night. Many mosquitos so burn the coil before sleep

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Petersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I wish I could remember the name of the lady that runs the place because she was one of the most helpful people I have met along my travels. I miss booked dates and she changed them without a worry even though it was the day of my booking. She was extremely helpful and knowledgable in planning my daily excursions and drove me to the bus stop after I got stuck on Phranang beach and missed my hostel pickup. Short walk to the night market/river and short drive from The Tiger Cave Temple and Ao Nang boat transfer dock.

Disliked: I gave a 5 rating for location in consideration of it being located in Krabi City center, it's a good location for where it is but not the best area for a lengthy stay as there isn't a whole lot to do and it's more of a jumping point to the surrounding islands.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul stevenson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 paul would recommend this property

Liked: location clean friendly

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adrienne Murawski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2015 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is so nice and friendly an always helpful! Loved this hostel and had the best sleep there even tho the dorm is just a few mattresses on the floor. They also have private rooms with a real bed and a private bathroom and location is good. About ten minutes to the city center and busses to ai nang drive right in front of the hostel that get you to the touristy beaches for 50 baht

Disliked: Adrienne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful, the beds were nice and it was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Henry Yamamoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: best place to stay outside ao nang ! the location is not that good but is half price of ao nang rooms are clean and nice ! i recommend

Disliked: tours a lil bit exp

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

vely sia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 vely would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, the staff was nice, a pleasant stay

Disliked: Location wasn't so okay for me

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethan Ford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Far out location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Their daughter was adorable! Not to say that she'll always be around, but it's worth saying nonetheless. The bathroom in our 3-person room was amazing.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Little

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The owner couldn't help us more, even picked us up from the ferry station! About 10 min walk from main town, clean massive room and comfy for a cheap price

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is very nice to stayed ,jik always happy to help, she helped me book everything, i will go back to Krabi would stay there again..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013

Liked: Cheap, I was lucky to have the twin shared room to myself.

Disliked: The room was not very clean, the bathroom mirror hasen't been cleaned for weeks, same for the floor, I found potato chips that were not mine. Also it was extremly hot in the room and it wasn't possible to open the window more than a two fingers wide, so there was no chance of fresh air and wind. The Wifi did not work pretty good. The staff was nice when I arrived, but after that there was noone to ask anything, always a sgn saying one should call a number or ask at a room if there were questions. The promised breakfast did not happen, again there was noone there to ask, open the diningroom or serve anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annalise Meder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Annalise would recommend this property

Liked: Small, clean and family run. It was very quiet within the hostel, which felt more like a hotel.

Disliked: If you are on the side facing the main road, you might get some of the traffic noise, but it's not THAT busy or loud.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rosemary Sharpe

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: THE WOMAN RUNNING THE PLACE BOOKED TOURS AND BUS TICKETS, AND IT WAS Great

Disliked: the location is bad. There is only one cafe to eat at. The 711 had abosolutely nothing on the shelves (never seen a store like tht) I sent an email telling her I wanted an AC room and when I got there, she turned on the fan and said if I wanted AC I would have to pay an additional 150 baht...when i said i told her that i emailed i wantd the QC room, it went down to 100 more a night. (I had already paid her) Then she went behind the curtain and turned on the AC. Thought this was sneaky. I stayed 5 nights, had no room service except for one day.....I did not get fresh towels the whole 5 days....thought they should have been changed mid way. I wanted to get some window cleaner and clean the mirrors and windows.....they hdnt been cleaned in awhile...I had to ALWAYS ASK FOR toilet paper....The rolls were so small...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andréane Lambert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Andréane would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room. Very friendly host.

Disliked: A bit far (10 min) from the center but you can easely walk.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, spacious room, good wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place. Nice people &cheap

Disliked: No secure locker in dorm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room

Disliked: location

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff soooo friendly good value for money

Disliked: toilet could have been a little bit cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Gilligan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious

Disliked: Wifi never works


See all Krabi hostels
See all Krabi hotels