We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Krabi hostels
See all Krabi hotels

Reviews of Thaksin Grand Home

Guesthouse | 40/5 Krabi Rd, Paknum, Krabi, Thailand 81000

84.5% Overall Rating

44 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

Miranda Karban thinks…

"The ladies who work here are friendly and helpful. They provide free pick-up from the Krabi pier, and even helped us arrange an affordable ride to the airport at 5am. Our room was clean and…"

Read all Thaksin Grand Home reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.33

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Krabi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Krabi

JC Hostel
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Boon Siam Hotel
18.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 54.3% 3 reviews
BanPunmanus
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 9 reviews
JP Mansion
4.31 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 42 reviews
Thepparat Lodge Krabi
20.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 64.6% 8 reviews
Baan Nisarine
6.93 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 20 reviews
City Hotel
7.70 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.6% 99 reviews
B&B Guesthouse
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

44 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Thaksin Grand Home'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Karban

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2015 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies who work here are friendly and helpful. They provide free pick-up from the Krabi pier, and even helped us arrange an affordable ride to the airport at 5am. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was about a 10-minute walk to the downtown area, but there were some interesting sights to see along the way. If you want to stay in a friendly, non-touristy area, then this is a great choice.

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk to get downtown, but not too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul stevenson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 paul would recommend this property

Liked: location clean friendly

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adrienne Murawski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2015 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is so nice and friendly an always helpful! Loved this hostel and had the best sleep there even tho the dorm is just a few mattresses on the floor. They also have private rooms with a real bed and a private bathroom and location is good. About ten minutes to the city center and busses to ai nang drive right in front of the hostel that get you to the touristy beaches for 50 baht

Disliked: Adrienne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful, the beds were nice and it was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Henry Yamamoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: best place to stay outside ao nang ! the location is not that good but is half price of ao nang rooms are clean and nice ! i recommend

Disliked: tours a lil bit exp

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

vely sia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 vely would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, the staff was nice, a pleasant stay

Disliked: Location wasn't so okay for me

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethan Ford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Far out location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Their daughter was adorable! Not to say that she'll always be around, but it's worth saying nonetheless. The bathroom in our 3-person room was amazing.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Little

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The owner couldn't help us more, even picked us up from the ferry station! About 10 min walk from main town, clean massive room and comfy for a cheap price

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is very nice to stayed ,jik always happy to help, she helped me book everything, i will go back to Krabi would stay there again..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013

Liked: Cheap, I was lucky to have the twin shared room to myself.

Disliked: The room was not very clean, the bathroom mirror hasen't been cleaned for weeks, same for the floor, I found potato chips that were not mine. Also it was extremly hot in the room and it wasn't possible to open the window more than a two fingers wide, so there was no chance of fresh air and wind. The Wifi did not work pretty good. The staff was nice when I arrived, but after that there was noone to ask anything, always a sgn saying one should call a number or ask at a room if there were questions. The promised breakfast did not happen, again there was noone there to ask, open the diningroom or serve anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annalise Meder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Annalise would recommend this property

Liked: Small, clean and family run. It was very quiet within the hostel, which felt more like a hotel.

Disliked: If you are on the side facing the main road, you might get some of the traffic noise, but it's not THAT busy or loud.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rosemary Sharpe

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: THE WOMAN RUNNING THE PLACE BOOKED TOURS AND BUS TICKETS, AND IT WAS Great

Disliked: the location is bad. There is only one cafe to eat at. The 711 had abosolutely nothing on the shelves (never seen a store like tht) I sent an email telling her I wanted an AC room and when I got there, she turned on the fan and said if I wanted AC I would have to pay an additional 150 baht...when i said i told her that i emailed i wantd the QC room, it went down to 100 more a night. (I had already paid her) Then she went behind the curtain and turned on the AC. Thought this was sneaky. I stayed 5 nights, had no room service except for one day.....I did not get fresh towels the whole 5 days....thought they should have been changed mid way. I wanted to get some window cleaner and clean the mirrors and windows.....they hdnt been cleaned in awhile...I had to ALWAYS ASK FOR toilet paper....The rolls were so small...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andréane Lambert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Andréane would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room. Very friendly host.

Disliked: A bit far (10 min) from the center but you can easely walk.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, spacious room, good wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place. Nice people &cheap

Disliked: No secure locker in dorm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room

Disliked: location

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff soooo friendly good value for money

Disliked: toilet could have been a little bit cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Gilligan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious

Disliked: Wifi never works

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm place, very quiet

Disliked: not really an hostel with common room but more a cheap hotel

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Hannah Emmerson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Okay i suppose if you're using Krabi as a stop-off point.

Disliked: Looks nothing like it does on the pictures, yes its cheap but no reason for it to be dirty,rooms werent cleaned very well. The location is on a main road and around some bars but we totally disliked Krabi altogether.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly place, helpful staff, pick up service, very good travel desk and tour information - excellent starting point if you plan to do guided tours around krabi very good value for money

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

lucy campbell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011

Liked: The hostel itself was very clean and nice. The lady working there was lovely and helpful and told us where to go. the price is very good for what you get. A little hot with just a fan but bearable. i would say get air con though.

Disliked: The location was bad. tKrabi town is like ghost town with no westerners to be seen! The best part is by the beach. Huge strip with bars and restaurants, cheap food and drink deals, live bands etc. you can get a bus to here from the hostel for only 60 baht but coming back only a taxi for 50 baht which adds up! If you want a quiet stay then it is fine but if you want some atmosphere then stay by the beach and save yourself some money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good base for various trips and easy acces to the airport. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: The nearest area. Not much to do.


See all Krabi hostels
See all Krabi hotels