We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Koh Tao hostels

Reviews of Spicytao Bacpackers

Hostel | 35/23 M. 1, T. Koh Tao A. Koh Prangan, Surattani Koh Tao, Thailand 84360

77.6% Overall Rating

69 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"The beds are very small, the rooms aren't clean and the bath room is a mess. But.. when you're in koh tao.. go to spicy tao! It's such a nice place to stay because you will meet a lot of people because of the nice 'hang…"

Read all Spicytao Bacpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Tao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Tao

Nomads Coral Grand, Koh Tao
19.50 USD

Hostel 72.4% 12 reviews
taco shack hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 79.3% 4 reviews
Triple B Budget Bungalows
6.96 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 22 reviews
Dusit Buncha Resort
38.31 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

69 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicytao Bacpackers'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are very small, the rooms aren't clean and the bath room is a mess. But.. when you're in koh tao.. go to spicy tao! It's such a nice place to stay because you will meet a lot of people because of the nice 'hang out' place. The atmosphere is amazing. :) Best place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Woolley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, the communal areas are awesome for relaxing in the day and socialising at night

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015

Liked: Breakfast included, free taxi to ferry, relaxed atmosphere for young people, cheap beer, hammocks, lots of tips for diving

Disliked: Guests often drunk and loud at night, very hot dorms, plastic waste was burned in the woods and dirty water of washing machine flew into the ground

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Baerthel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: People and Location.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

marc valu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 marc would recommend this property

Liked: loved the atmospherr and the people around. made the stay

Disliked: sometimes there was no water.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2015

Liked: The location is a bit out of the city but it's locates in the mountains and the surroundings are very nice. It's quiet, you only hear some animals and you have the feeling to be directly in the nature.

Disliked: We booked an 8 bed dorm with a/c, but got a 4 bed dorm with fan. The staff had a hangover from the day before and they were only talking about this. When we arrived there was nobody at the reception and nobody knew when they would be back. I think the rooms haven't been cleaned for weeks, the same for the bathrooms. It's a cheap hostel compared to other accommodation on the island but you could get a lot more for that money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadine van Heemstra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2015 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Spicy Tao was the highlight of my trip! Great atmosphere, great people! Planned to stay 2 nights, ended up staying there for 11 nights.... Says enough ;)

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sozial atmosphere

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rebecca sayers

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2015 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal area Easy to meet new people Good wifi

Disliked: Shower sometimes didn't have water Staff weren't always that helpful

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere created by fellow travellers was awesome. And the guys who run it are just lovely and helpful.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's got a great vibe. Friendly people, hammocks, outdoor movies and fun hostel organized activities including a groove cruise and BBQ. It's like being back in summer camp.

Disliked: Lots of Mosquitos come prepared with repellant or stay out on the beach and don't return until after dusk. Also it's a pretty long walk to most places, but that kind of makes it remote and special.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aleida Span

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2015 Aleida would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe at spicytao is amazing. When I first came there I got a friendly welcome, and I immediately knew that i was going to like it here. The people are friendly and everyone meets each other at The common area which is supernice with hammics and a tv screen where you can watch movies together (while having a hangover for example;)). The organization loves to gather the people to organize different activities like a BBQ or trips. If you are travelling alone it is perfect to meet friends, and you will notice that it is hard to spend time alone! A lot of people book 2 nights but end up staying langer, which I did. The most important thing I noticed that i felt really safe! After going out on the beach it felt safe to be back. Off course you have to watch your own belongings but if you lose something everyone is willing to help you find it or at least look after it.

Disliked: Because the vibe and accomodation was so nice, I dont like to say something negative. But I will be honest that the dorms are quite small but cosy! The beds are fine but dont expect it to be very comfortable, you get your own set which is nice and there is airconditioning. The shower does not always work but he, it doesnt really matter to wait a while or to only wash with water.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

06 September 2014

Liked: Nice Communal area and sociable

Disliked: No running water throughout the day when I stayed so couldn't shower, very basic dorms, a bit of a walk into town

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: It's different

Disliked: No AC, poor fans, no running water supply

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Once you get over being in the middle of nowhere it's actually really nice. There are palm trees and forest surrounding the place and it's relaxing being away from the busy beach strip. The girl at reception was really helpful booking my onward travel, which included a free taxi to the port. There's a nice chill out area with a TV and movies.

Disliked: Once it gets dark it's virtually impossible to see where you're going and the paths are really uneven and slippery after its rained. They need to invest in some lights to mark the pathways between reception and the dorms! Breakfast was so budget I gave up and found my own. Bread, butter and jam. Although I appreciate I was paying £4 a night so can't really expect more. I was originally put in a 4 bed dorm...which turned out to be a shack full of mosquitos. Luckily I changed to a bigger, nicer dorm for the rest of my stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice little houses

Disliked: the way to the beach and city is a bit to go through a lonly area

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: First, the staff at the reception welcomed us with a hangover from the night before and spoke so quiet that we couldn't really understand him. He did not explain a lot just wrote down some stuff for 10 min. The dorms are okay, we had a 10 bed dorm, but the "bathroom" was aweful. There was a big bucket full of water that you had to use for everything like flushing and taking a shower. The water was off nearly the whole day. In our last night we didn't had enough water left and 2 people, including me, had to throw up due to sickness. Of course the bathroom was not usable anymore. Also when I needed assistance in the morning because I felt totally not good, no one answered the emergency number. Sorry but it wasn't a pleasure to stay there and I would recommend everyone to pay a bit more for a better hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was picturesque and quiet, yet only an 8 minute walk to Sairee Beach. Laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! Amazing backpackers!

Disliked: Nothin, just great hostel. You have to be comfortable with very basic facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere - perfect for meeting other back packers. You can either go out and party or chill and watch their 800 films in the hammock! Rooms are very cramped and the shower sometimes doesn't work (so you bucket shower instead). But had such a good time here and would 100% recommend if you're not expecting 5* hotel standards! I miss staying there already! Love you Spicy!

Disliked: The bucket showers...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great to make new friends :) (And you can fill up your water bottle for 5 baht and don't have to bye it for 20 baht from the supermarket.)

Disliked: its about a 15 min walk to the beach, but that's still oke

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, friendly people, great common area and fun nights of all you can eat and drink. Spicy tao is like all the Spicy's in Thailand, a perfect place to stay if you're backpacking (on your own) and meet great people.

Disliked: Unfortunally it didn't rain for a while, which means there's no water for showers. Instead you have to use buckets, which is fine, but a shower is a warm welcome after a sweaty day at the beach.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice and friendly stay, a lot of flies and ants around the beds, though which was a disappointment, the area in nice and there is lockers in the rooms to put your valuables inside because there is no lock for the doors when you leave the room to go out for the day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Nilsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Was going to stay five nights then find something with monthly rent - but I loved it so much I'm stayingmore than a month here! It's really really social.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lisa achatzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Irs really nice and chilled, awesome common area to hang out at

Disliked: Nothing


See all Koh Tao hostels