HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Koh Tao hostels

Reviews of Spicytao Bacpackers

Hostel | 35/23 M. 1, T. Koh Tao A. Koh Prangan, Surattani Koh Tao, Thailand 84360

72.3% Overall Rating

54 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"It was picturesque and quiet, yet only an 8 minute walk to Sairee Beach. Laid back atmosphere."

Read all Spicytao Bacpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Tao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Tao

Nomads Coral Grand, Koh Tao
20.37 USD

Hostel 71.4% 11 reviews
taco shack hostel
10.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dusit Buncha Resort
95.31 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Wind Beach Resort
18.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.3% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

54 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicytao Bacpackers'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was picturesque and quiet, yet only an 8 minute walk to Sairee Beach. Laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! Amazing backpackers!

Disliked: Nothin, just great hostel. You have to be comfortable with very basic facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere - perfect for meeting other back packers. You can either go out and party or chill and watch their 800 films in the hammock! Rooms are very cramped and the shower sometimes doesn't work (so you bucket shower instead). But had such a good time here and would 100% recommend if you're not expecting 5* hotel standards! I miss staying there already! Love you Spicy!

Disliked: The bucket showers...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great to make new friends :) (And you can fill up your water bottle for 5 baht and don't have to bye it for 20 baht from the supermarket.)

Disliked: its about a 15 min walk to the beach, but that's still oke

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, friendly people, great common area and fun nights of all you can eat and drink. Spicy tao is like all the Spicy's in Thailand, a perfect place to stay if you're backpacking (on your own) and meet great people.

Disliked: Unfortunally it didn't rain for a while, which means there's no water for showers. Instead you have to use buckets, which is fine, but a shower is a warm welcome after a sweaty day at the beach.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice and friendly stay, a lot of flies and ants around the beds, though which was a disappointment, the area in nice and there is lockers in the rooms to put your valuables inside because there is no lock for the doors when you leave the room to go out for the day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Nilsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Was going to stay five nights then find something with monthly rent - but I loved it so much I'm stayingmore than a month here! It's really really social.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lisa achatzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Irs really nice and chilled, awesome common area to hang out at

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how friendly the staff where and how easy it is to meet other travellers and have a good time.

Disliked: The rooms with a fan get very hot on an evening and there is limited water supply.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice way to meet people in koh tao because spicy tao has a good name (for some reason). Nice little social area. Probably one of the cheapest places in koh tao.

Disliked: The unfriendly staff which i already mentioned. Beds where uncomfortable, thin matrass and plastic cover, not too nice. U get sheets so you can make ur own bed which is fine but the matrass could def be improved. The bathroom was very dirty when i first came, but luckily the ladies did a very good job cleaning it the next morning. And last but not least the location is pretty 'far' in koh tao terms. Renting a bike is recommended.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014

Liked: It is cheap for Koh Tao.

Disliked: Some staff not the most friendly bunch of people, security is poor and cleanliness is not at all the best.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and staff! I ended up extending my stay because I didn't want to leave. Im planning on staying at the Spicy Mai in Chiang Mai!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Crothers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great BBQ. Very friendly staff. My A/C room and bed were nice. The walk to the beach was pleasant. Lots of cheap places to eat in town. A "warm"tub was added when I was there - like a hot tub, but without heating.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014

Liked: The location is very good! Short walk from main bars and beach and in an idillic jungle setting.

Disliked: The staff were way too laid back and often rude and unhelpfull! The bathroom area was poor with a cold shower. Mattresses were the worst ive experienced.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ben Duff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It's so social! The moon area is nice and big with movies playing most of the day off you want to chill and free breakfast (basic toast) which gets people together and chatting. The rooms are small enough and seem to be free mosquitos. The staff are super friendly and can help you book onward travel and there's a few trips organised through the hostel to try as well.

Disliked: The mattresses are pretty thin and the bathrooms could do with a referb pretty bad, but so long as you're not to fussy they do the job

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014

Liked: The location is good, walking distance to shops, beach and restaurants

Disliked: The bathroom is of a very low standard, no hot water There is no lock on the door Safety locks were all taken even though there were 12 lockers and only 10 beds? Staff adviced us to go look outside the other dorms - I found this a bit strange

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The location is terrible, in the middle of no where and the street is pitch black when trying to walk home at night. It has never been properly cleaned, there is flith and grime everywhere just looking at the dirt on the fans makes you feel sick. There are no locks on the dorm doors so nothing is secure. The room is too small for that many beds so there is no where to put bags. Beds touch the walls ands windows but there are no glass in the windows so anything crawl into the beds with you. People who weren't even staying our doem were sat outside it smoking weed till after 4:30am and with no windows could hear everything, random people asleep in hammocks so again not a very secure place. People were friendly (wasted) when we checked in and luckily we got there at night time as we found a sign with my name on saying they had gone to an all day booze cruise and wouldn't be back till 7pm ( and we were just expected to wait around?!) Can find much cheaper, much better location in koh tao.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2013

Liked: Not much. We booked for 3 nights and left after one. They had a decent BBQ the first night we were there and a common area to meet other people.

Disliked: Location is not ideal - about a ten minute walk from the beach when you can stay at way nicer places close to the beach for not much more money. Pillows were disgusting and had mould all over them and bathrooms were filthy. They ran out of water so couldn't have a proper shower!!! Brutal.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Olivia Butterworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Atmosphere was great, good communal area, lovely staff.

Disliked: there was no one around to check us in, we waited 3 hours. The bathroom in the dorm room was filthy and smelt very unclean. Mozzys everywhere and rooms not sealed. Leaking aircon, 3 inch thick matresses.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Samantha Aungle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet place to stay. Friendly staff, easy bookings by staff for snorkelling tour and departure transport to my next destination.

Disliked: Unclean in mornings around social dining area - mouldy underneath bathroom sink, general rubbish embedded in walking paths.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good hostel, cant say anything negative about it, apart from that the tv always seems to be on, so it can be hard to socialise some times. It is a good place to meet peopl though. It is located 5 minute walk from the main center, but it is surrounded by green banana trees and bush, so in a very quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean Butler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2013 sean would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel ran by some top people. The place is the cleanest hostel I have stayed in and everyone who works there are super friendly and make everyone feel so welcome from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. They are always trying to include people into games or activities and it really feels like youre part of a family for the time youre there. Cannot speak highly enough of the place and the location is only a 5 minute walk from the cool sairee beach. Perfect for everything you could want and need from koh tao. Its very reasonably priced too so its no surprise that it has the spot it does in thw tip 10 places to stay in koh tao. Top hostel

Disliked: There honestly isnt a bad thing I have to say about the place. Its perfect for what I wanted as a solo traveller in koh tao.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Forman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly. In quite area for sleep but still quite party like.

Disliked: All the Mosquitos

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and fun atmosphere with a great communal area. Staff are really helpful, they'll go out of their way to help, even if they're full! Rooms are clean and there's lockers to store your stuff. BBQ's are organised by the staff which are great for meeting new people at the hostel, no other hostel I've stayed in has offered this type of service! You'll have so much banter you won't want to leave!

Disliked: Not enough rooms for the high demand, book in advance!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Poore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, people, location and common area were all perfect. Best hostel I have ever stayed at by far. I was a solo traveler and showed up to Spicy... Immediately was welcomed with open arms. I was originally staying for three days and ended up staying for eight. Activities are planned throughout the week and people are always down to hang and venture out on the island. Koh Tao would have been a completely different experience if I was anywhere else. I had the time of my life here and will definitely come back. Klyde and Dave were awesome!

Disliked: Nothing. Bathrooms don't have hot water, but you are in Koh Tao, the showers are refreshing.


See all Koh Tao hostels