HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Koh Tao hostels

Reviews of Spicytao Bacpackers

Hostel | 35/23 M. 1, T. Koh Tao A. Koh Prangan, Surattani Koh Tao, Thailand 84360

72.1% Overall Rating

56 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

"Once you get over being in the middle of nowhere it's actually really nice. There are palm trees and forest surrounding the place and it's relaxing being away from the busy beach strip. The girl at reception was really…"

Read all Spicytao Bacpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Tao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Tao

Nomads Coral Grand, Koh Tao
20.32 USD

Hostel 72.4% 12 reviews
taco shack hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dusit Buncha Resort
106.99 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Wind Beach Resort
18.76 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.3% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

56 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicytao Bacpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: It's different

Disliked: No AC, poor fans, no running water supply

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Once you get over being in the middle of nowhere it's actually really nice. There are palm trees and forest surrounding the place and it's relaxing being away from the busy beach strip. The girl at reception was really helpful booking my onward travel, which included a free taxi to the port. There's a nice chill out area with a TV and movies.

Disliked: Once it gets dark it's virtually impossible to see where you're going and the paths are really uneven and slippery after its rained. They need to invest in some lights to mark the pathways between reception and the dorms! Breakfast was so budget I gave up and found my own. Bread, butter and jam. Although I appreciate I was paying £4 a night so can't really expect more. I was originally put in a 4 bed dorm...which turned out to be a shack full of mosquitos. Luckily I changed to a bigger, nicer dorm for the rest of my stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice little houses

Disliked: the way to the beach and city is a bit to go through a lonly area

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: First, the staff at the reception welcomed us with a hangover from the night before and spoke so quiet that we couldn't really understand him. He did not explain a lot just wrote down some stuff for 10 min. The dorms are okay, we had a 10 bed dorm, but the "bathroom" was aweful. There was a big bucket full of water that you had to use for everything like flushing and taking a shower. The water was off nearly the whole day. In our last night we didn't had enough water left and 2 people, including me, had to throw up due to sickness. Of course the bathroom was not usable anymore. Also when I needed assistance in the morning because I felt totally not good, no one answered the emergency number. Sorry but it wasn't a pleasure to stay there and I would recommend everyone to pay a bit more for a better hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was picturesque and quiet, yet only an 8 minute walk to Sairee Beach. Laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! Amazing backpackers!

Disliked: Nothin, just great hostel. You have to be comfortable with very basic facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere - perfect for meeting other back packers. You can either go out and party or chill and watch their 800 films in the hammock! Rooms are very cramped and the shower sometimes doesn't work (so you bucket shower instead). But had such a good time here and would 100% recommend if you're not expecting 5* hotel standards! I miss staying there already! Love you Spicy!

Disliked: The bucket showers...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great to make new friends :) (And you can fill up your water bottle for 5 baht and don't have to bye it for 20 baht from the supermarket.)

Disliked: its about a 15 min walk to the beach, but that's still oke

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, friendly people, great common area and fun nights of all you can eat and drink. Spicy tao is like all the Spicy's in Thailand, a perfect place to stay if you're backpacking (on your own) and meet great people.

Disliked: Unfortunally it didn't rain for a while, which means there's no water for showers. Instead you have to use buckets, which is fine, but a shower is a warm welcome after a sweaty day at the beach.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice and friendly stay, a lot of flies and ants around the beds, though which was a disappointment, the area in nice and there is lockers in the rooms to put your valuables inside because there is no lock for the doors when you leave the room to go out for the day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Nilsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Was going to stay five nights then find something with monthly rent - but I loved it so much I'm stayingmore than a month here! It's really really social.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lisa achatzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Irs really nice and chilled, awesome common area to hang out at

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how friendly the staff where and how easy it is to meet other travellers and have a good time.

Disliked: The rooms with a fan get very hot on an evening and there is limited water supply.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice way to meet people in koh tao because spicy tao has a good name (for some reason). Nice little social area. Probably one of the cheapest places in koh tao.

Disliked: The unfriendly staff which i already mentioned. Beds where uncomfortable, thin matrass and plastic cover, not too nice. U get sheets so you can make ur own bed which is fine but the matrass could def be improved. The bathroom was very dirty when i first came, but luckily the ladies did a very good job cleaning it the next morning. And last but not least the location is pretty 'far' in koh tao terms. Renting a bike is recommended.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014

Liked: It is cheap for Koh Tao.

Disliked: Some staff not the most friendly bunch of people, security is poor and cleanliness is not at all the best.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and staff! I ended up extending my stay because I didn't want to leave. Im planning on staying at the Spicy Mai in Chiang Mai!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Crothers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great BBQ. Very friendly staff. My A/C room and bed were nice. The walk to the beach was pleasant. Lots of cheap places to eat in town. A "warm"tub was added when I was there - like a hot tub, but without heating.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014

Liked: The location is very good! Short walk from main bars and beach and in an idillic jungle setting.

Disliked: The staff were way too laid back and often rude and unhelpfull! The bathroom area was poor with a cold shower. Mattresses were the worst ive experienced.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ben Duff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It's so social! The moon area is nice and big with movies playing most of the day off you want to chill and free breakfast (basic toast) which gets people together and chatting. The rooms are small enough and seem to be free mosquitos. The staff are super friendly and can help you book onward travel and there's a few trips organised through the hostel to try as well.

Disliked: The mattresses are pretty thin and the bathrooms could do with a referb pretty bad, but so long as you're not to fussy they do the job

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014

Liked: The location is good, walking distance to shops, beach and restaurants

Disliked: The bathroom is of a very low standard, no hot water There is no lock on the door Safety locks were all taken even though there were 12 lockers and only 10 beds? Staff adviced us to go look outside the other dorms - I found this a bit strange

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The location is terrible, in the middle of no where and the street is pitch black when trying to walk home at night. It has never been properly cleaned, there is flith and grime everywhere just looking at the dirt on the fans makes you feel sick. There are no locks on the dorm doors so nothing is secure. The room is too small for that many beds so there is no where to put bags. Beds touch the walls ands windows but there are no glass in the windows so anything crawl into the beds with you. People who weren't even staying our doem were sat outside it smoking weed till after 4:30am and with no windows could hear everything, random people asleep in hammocks so again not a very secure place. People were friendly (wasted) when we checked in and luckily we got there at night time as we found a sign with my name on saying they had gone to an all day booze cruise and wouldn't be back till 7pm ( and we were just expected to wait around?!) Can find much cheaper, much better location in koh tao.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2013

Liked: Not much. We booked for 3 nights and left after one. They had a decent BBQ the first night we were there and a common area to meet other people.

Disliked: Location is not ideal - about a ten minute walk from the beach when you can stay at way nicer places close to the beach for not much more money. Pillows were disgusting and had mould all over them and bathrooms were filthy. They ran out of water so couldn't have a proper shower!!! Brutal.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Olivia Butterworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Atmosphere was great, good communal area, lovely staff.

Disliked: there was no one around to check us in, we waited 3 hours. The bathroom in the dorm room was filthy and smelt very unclean. Mozzys everywhere and rooms not sealed. Leaking aircon, 3 inch thick matresses.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Samantha Aungle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet place to stay. Friendly staff, easy bookings by staff for snorkelling tour and departure transport to my next destination.

Disliked: Unclean in mornings around social dining area - mouldy underneath bathroom sink, general rubbish embedded in walking paths.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good hostel, cant say anything negative about it, apart from that the tv always seems to be on, so it can be hard to socialise some times. It is a good place to meet peopl though. It is located 5 minute walk from the main center, but it is surrounded by green banana trees and bush, so in a very quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Koh Tao hostels