HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Koh Samui, Thailand

The Boardroom Beach Bungalows 93%

1. The Boardroom Beach Bungalows

Hotel
21/1 Moo 4,, Banrak,(Big Buddha)Bophut

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 96%

Staff 100%

Value 96%

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Boardroom Beach Bungalows

02 Oct 2015 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Extremely friendly owner; place in ideal location for stop over.

would recommend this property

02 Oct 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Very good atmosphere. Quiet even tho ita close to the airport. Nice bungalows, bars across the road. Good.

would recommend this property

Read all The Boardroom Beach Bungalows reviews
Fullmoon House Samui 93%

2. Fullmoon House Samui

Hotel
124/301 Moo3, Lamai Beach Rd., Maret, Suratthani

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 93%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 93%

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fullmoon House Samui

24 Mar 2012 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Sightseeing & culture

The bungalows are huge, spacious everything, even an extra room which acts as kitchen/utility room. We were pleasantly surprised, and so impressed we booked an extra 2 nights using the accommodation as a base for our travelling adventures around near by islands.

would recommend this property

19 Mar 2012 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing

Very nice and cosy area, with a circle of bungalows. Large rooms with aircon, large bathroom, internet and a comfortable bed.

would recommend this property

Read all Fullmoon House Samui reviews
Backpacker Samui Hostel 90%

3. Backpacker Samui Hostel

Hostel
191/13 Moo 2, Chaweng

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

59 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpacker Samui Hostel

17 Jul 2016 37%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Nothing

28 Jul 2015 63%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Free water refills if you have your own bottle and reliable wifi

would recommend this property

Read all Backpacker Samui Hostel reviews
Hutcha Resort 89%

4. Hutcha Resort

Hotel
82/11 Moo1, Maenam, Suratthani

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 89%

Location 77%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 89%

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hutcha Resort

05 Aug 2012 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The staff were extremely helpful and nice. The room we stayed in was perfect and we had a lovely balcony.

would recommend this property

20 Apr 2012 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing

Romm ist okay, a bit small, balkony has no comfortable chairs and the bathroom is not very good in terms of mosquitos - it roof is open sothat all kind of isects, specially mosquitos becuase there are plenty of them can come in. The bed is large and comfortable. I ould not suggest a room with fan - it is definately too hot, no matter how fast the fan s turning.

would recommend this property

Read all Hutcha Resort reviews
Ananas Samui Hostel 88%

5. Ananas Samui Hostel

Hostel
103/13 M.2, T.Maret

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 94%

Location 62%

Safety 96%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

27 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ananas Samui Hostel

08 Aug 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

This hostel was great, friendly staff and good facilities. Having a pool was a great addition after a long day out.

would recommend this property

08 Dec 2015 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Perhaps the cleanest hostel I've been to. The manager speaks good English, which it helps. The Internet connection is excellent. Beds are very comfortable, there is a nice swimming pool and a big area where to meet other travelers.

would recommend this property

Read all Ananas Samui Hostel reviews
The Avenue Samui 85%

6. The Avenue Samui

Hotel
3/55 Moo-2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng Beach, Surat thani

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 75%

Safety 95%

Staff 80%

Value 95%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Avenue Samui

28 Feb 2015 66%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

Location

would recommend this property

29 Dec 2011 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Shopping

The FX Resort is just a short 10 minute walk to the beach and just out of all noise of the main drag. But Pubs and restaurants are only a short walk away.

would recommend this property

Read all The Avenue Samui reviews
Behind The Scene Hostel Club @ Samui 86%

7. Behind The Scene Hostel Club @ Samui

Hostel
166/75 Chaweng Beach Rd., Moo 2, Bophut

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Behind The Scene Hostel Club @ Samui

26 Mar 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Really nice hostel, very clean and the best location for bars and restaurants in Chaweng.

would recommend this property

28 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

The pictures online show exactly how the place looks in real life, staff are very friendly, great location in the heart of chaweng beach.

would recommend this property

Read all Behind The Scene Hostel Club @ Samui reviews
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa 85%

8. Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa

Hotel
5/5 Moo 3, Bophud

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 70%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa

30 Mar 2014 83%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Its nice and calm. And decoration is ok

would recommend this property

10 Dec 2013 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Partying / nightlife Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Lovely large room with big comfortable bedsThe breakfast is OK but could improveHelpful staff!

would recommend this property

Read all Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa reviews
Backpacker Hostel Koh Samui 84%

9. Backpacker Hostel Koh Samui

Hostel
81/70 Moo 3 Tambon Bophut, Amphoe Chaweng

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 85%

Safety 82%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

20 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpacker Hostel Koh Samui

18 Nov 2015 46%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Nothing

24 Aug 2015 66%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

If you want a cheap place nearby chaweng beach but far away enough bit to be listening to music while you are sleeping then go here! Make sure you have a padlock as hostel and rooms are all unlocked but wooden padlock lockers are available!! I didn't get the vibe as advertised but it is low season but staff did ask us to go to an event ! This place is a bed only! You need to make your own effort to meet people!! I was lucky as people there were awesome during my stay!

would recommend this property

Read all Backpacker Hostel Koh Samui reviews
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel 83%

10. Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Hotel
109/12 M3, Maret Lamai Beach

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 75%

Value 87%

35 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

05 Dec 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Close to the beach. Free WiFi and day beds and pool for guests on the beach. Restaurant across the road. Good place to meet people, play pool, eat and drink.Can rent motorbike straight from property.

would recommend this property

07 Oct 2015 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Partying / nightlife

Refrigerator and safe in hotel room, 20seconds to the Beach.

would recommend this property

Read all Rich Resort Beachside Hotel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samui?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Koh Samui hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Koh Samui. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Koh Samui

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Koh Samui. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!