HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpacker Samui Hostel

Hostel | 191/13 Moo.2 Bophu, Koh Samui, Thailand 84320

92.9% Overall Rating

55 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Rachel Anne Vassallo thinks…

"Ricky the owner is an absolute babe. He's the most helpful hostel owner. He'll happily sort out ferry tickets for guests and organise taxis to go places. He drove 10 miles to check if the Muay Thai…"

Read all Backpacker Samui Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samui?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Samui

Chaweng Grand View Resort
616.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Joy Residence
22.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
AKWA Guesthouse
7.30 USD

Guesthouse 71.2% 13 reviews
Moonlight-Samui
8.32 USD

Apartment 77.6% 18 reviews
Moby Dick Guesthouse
8.47 USD

Guesthouse 65.1% 10 reviews
Samui Island Beach Resort & Hotel
30.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kala Resort
77.04 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Seascape Beach Resort
21.57 USD

Hostel 80.7% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

55 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpacker Samui Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Anne Vassallo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Rachel Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Ricky the owner is an absolute babe. He's the most helpful hostel owner. He'll happily sort out ferry tickets for guests and organise taxis to go places. He drove 10 miles to check if the Muay Thai fights were on one night and when it was pouring with rain outside one day he gave us his hard drive to watch a movie on and even brought us popcorn. The hostel's a lovely place to stay at. Everyone's really sound and friendly and most nights the hostel all goes out together. We were booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4!

Disliked: Nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff are super friendly and helpful. The atomosohere and location are great

Disliked: Bathrooms and showers and slightly dirty, not too bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner really friendly and helpful. Loved the food there aswell! Clean place, good location near beach. Cant really ask for more. Would come again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pablo ender

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the familiar atmosphere.

Disliked: Shower and toilet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Saffron McMahon

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 May 2014 Saffron would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and helpful, especially Ricky the owner. Great location, only 5 minutes walk to the beach. Comfortable, airconditioned, reasonably priced. Ricky even organized a trip for a group of us to see Muay Thai boxing for free!

Disliked: Only one bathroom between 12 people (although there was a separate bathroom downstairs). Ants in the bathroom (although there were ants everywhere I stayed in Thailand).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stewart Ryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Stewart would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff. Aircon keeps the rooms cool Ricky helped haggle a cheaper taxi for us. Much Appreciated Everyone was great. Recommended

Disliked: Nothing. All good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014

Liked: Location and very friendly as well as helpful owner. Recommended for short stay and when you want to be in the middle of live on Samui

Disliked: 12 person dorms only had one combined ensuite toilet/shower each. Lockers were extremely small. Although only two years old, condition of interior not too good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The french owner is one of the most helpful guys I met on my trip in Thailand so far!

Disliked: The bathrooms seemed a bit dodgy at first for Western Standards, but they are clean. You cannot lock the Form rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Dempsey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great little hostel really well located. It's very sociable, so if you are traveling on your own I would really recommend it. Ricky the owner is really nice and helpful and you can tell he genuinely wants people to have a nice stay. The atmosphere in general is really great, just make sure you don't confuse it with the other "Samui backpackers" places as this is the original, perfectly located of Chaweng beach, Close to all the main bars and festivities.

Disliked: Rosie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the beach and the markets. The owner was extremely helpful.

Disliked: The electricity went out three times when. Only for a few minutes though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is awesome. Our scooter broke down at 1am and he came and got us. Has a hard drive full of movies to watch. Cheap food for sale, and the hostel is always clean. Beds turned down daily, and free soap and shampoo. Also the only hostel I've seen in Thailand with free filtered water to refuel your water bottle. Great wifi with good speeds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was awesome. Super helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great location great food cheep beers and friendly vibe what more can you ask for .

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giorgio Patrini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 January 2014 Giorgio would recommend this property

Liked: If you like backpacking, this is the place to be on Samui. Directly inside Chaweng, the party area of the island, this hostel has great atmosphere, clean and cool bedrooms, safe environment, and amazing thai food! The guy who manages the hostel will be your best friend during your permanence. He helped me out finding another place to stay in a fully booked night. Strongly recommended!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxwell Shellabarger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Maxwell would recommend this property

Liked: The manager of the hostel was hands down the most helpful and attentive I have ever encountered. Furthermore, the facilities provided were excellent. Everything was always clean and the wifi was vastly superior to similar hostels that I stayed at. To top it all off, guests are able to order delicious, home-made Thai food in the restaurant in the basement for cheaper than the surrounding restaurants. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I find myself back in Koh Samui.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: What more can i say about this hostel that it is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. I originally planned to stay for 4 days but extended my stay to a total of 9 days because of how welcoming and great this hostel was. Ricky B the hostel owner is an amazing person takes care of whatever you need during my stay he arranged nights out for us arranged a muay thai fight and came to full moon party with us and lets guest use his hard drive of over 1000 movies. For the price and location there is nothing better in all of Samui. Gail the cook makes some of the best food i have ever had for a great price try the massaman curry. This is the only place i will ever stay in samui from now on. Thank you so much for your hospitality and making my stay in samui so awesome. I will definitely be back anyone considering anywhere in Samui this is the place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing everything was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Miles Baker Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed in so far. Owner and cook are really friendly, owner helped us out constantly and arranged various transport for us. Hostel has movies, a great restaurant on site with cheap prices and perfectly comfortable dorms with air con and fans and a laundry service. Genuinely nothing more I could of needed for a stay. Location is great 5 mins to beach and shops and perhaps this is reflected in the price

Disliked: Only one bathroom for a 12 bed dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake kilpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 jake would recommend this property

Liked: 4 months ago when we booked this hostel we had no idea what to expect and were completely blown away. Ignore all of the negative reviews about this hostel it rates 5 stars. Of all the hostels I've stayed in around Europe and Asia, Backpackers Samui Hostel is one of the best. Ricky (the owner) gave us priceless information on just about anything we wanted to know. From nightlife, beaches or how to get around, Ricky has you covered. Ontop of this, in house cook makes delicous and cheap Thai food, we didn't eat anywhere else! To put it simply, don't stay anywhere else in Koh Samui. Thanks for an unforgetable week Ricky! ;) <3 P.s: The only difference between Ricky and Jesus, is that Ricky actually exists.

Disliked: The one dislike about this place is the fact that it is nearly always booked out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Fishman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 January 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: I originally booked this hostel for 3 nights. When I got in, I felt so welcome and safe I decided to extend for over a week! Ricky has been a fantastic host. He works tirelessly to make sure all of his guests have their needs met. During my stay, he attempted to help me retrieve my lost debit card (travel fail), recommended a great massage place, joined us all for a cocktail, and lent me his external hard drive to watch a movie. The food there is fantastic, leaving all my roommates raving about the Panang curry. The hostel is in a great location, near many places to eat, drink or sit on the internet. We are also quite close to the beach! There is not much noise, so I was able to sleep quite well during my stay. Lockers are secure, and I never worried about my belongings once while staying at this hostel. I would recommend this hostel to a friend for sure, especially those travelling solo looking for a great place to make friends.

Disliked: No complaints! :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Chessell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Gail was amazing and Ricky was also very helpful. Great location, easy to make friends for solo travellers

Disliked: The Christmas prices, but this cannot be helped,

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location! Its really close to all the nightlife and the beach. Gail is also the best cook in that area of Koh Samui. If u stay here def try her food, all of it is delicious!

Disliked: The showers stopped working sometimes and the water didnt always work. Its hard to talk to the owner if u need him cause he's usually preoccupied with something else

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maria Meerwald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, staff very friendly and helpful. while you are there you can get the feeling of a big family. what i liked most was the little kitchen they have with a woman who cooks like a dream. It is very cheap too! Its close to the beach and party area, but still not in the middle of everything.

Disliked: Once or twice a week they run out of water and if you are unlucky you might be in the middle of shampooing your hair. They only have two dorms, which are quite big. One has 14 beds and the other one 12. I think 13 euros are little bit to much for that size of a dorm.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, cleaned everyday, secure, lockers provided - everything you need! Ricky is really helpful too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Place, near the Beach, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Joseph Fasullo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 Adam Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Property was very central, short walk to the beach, green mango, ark bar and food. Close to Samui hospital (just in case you need it). Owner was really nice and was always ready to have a chat or share his experiences. Dorm is comfortable and clean, don't hesitate to book here.

Disliked: Adam Joseph left no negative feedback.