HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Tropical Garden Lounge

Guesthouse

19/9 Moo 1, Maenam, Koh Samui, Thailand

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 93%

Location 69%

Safety 89%

Staff 93%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Café
  • Cots available
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini-bar
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 7.54USD
  • Breakfast 3.62USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samui?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 93%

Location 69%

Safety 89%

Staff 93%

Value 93%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nice gardens. Big bungalow room. Pool was OK. Daily room service.

Disliked: The bungalow was not secure as the bathroom had no roof. It would have been easy for somebody to climb into the bathroom and then let themselves into the main room. Also the location was fairly dire - there was a very busy road in front of the hotel, there was a poor offering of local restaurants (just some expensive internationally owned places) and very few local shops. It was possible to walk to the beach in about 10-15 minutes but this involved crossing the busy road and then walking through the resort opposite. Once there the beach was OK but far from the nicest on the island. The hotel was totally useless for us as a family. It might be OK if you have your own transport but even then there are much nicer places to stay in the same price bracket.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fun to have our own bungalow.Outside shower was great!AC was amazing!!!

Disliked: Had to pay for Internet.. Only one password per room and an extra is 5 dollars per day

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Traveler
Thank you for staying at Tropical Garden Lounge. We really enjoyed having you as a guest with us. We appreciate your input and have implemented a new internet policy. We will issue one account per guest commencing from 1st of May 2013. We hope that this change improves our guests experience.
As well as our new mobile app which is available in the app store (TGL Samui). Cheaper Tickets and services are available when using the app. Check it out.

kind regards
Claudio Schibli

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are very friendly and always happy to help you out. The hotel itself is in a picturesque setting and looks especially pretty at night.

Disliked: The air con in the rooms could have been better but wasn't a huge problem.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved our stay at Tropical Garden Lounge. We were only there one night but our experience was really good. The place itself is really pretty, the bar area is really relaxed and comfortable and the staff are all really friendly and go out of their way to help you. The food is also really good and excellent value.

Disliked: The air conditioning was a bit dodgy but there was a fan in the room as well so it wasn't a problem. Couldn't find any other faults with the place.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear traveler
Thank you for staying with Tropical Garden Lounge and your overall very positive review. We are in the process of replacing all Air Conditioner which takes a while but over 80% has been changed already. We really appreciate your opinion and thank you for taking your time to write some words. If I can be of any further help, please let me know by email to info@tropicalgardenlounge.com.
kind regards
Claudio Schibli

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The place was beautiful, secluded with a tropical mountain backdrop and pretty fairy lights around the area. The rooms were as cottages and were spacious, air conditioned, very clean and afforded a lot of privacy.The cottages were spacious and came with a fridge.

Disliked: I would have liked if there was a safe in the cottage, although the place was very safe etc, having a safe would have afforded me greater peace of mind. In addition, there was a weird incident where a member of staff lied to us saying that a tour that we had booked, independently of the hotel, had rang and was not coming to collect us. However, the tourguide then did arrive 5 minutes later. I think that this was done because they were annoyed that we hadn't booked the trip though them and thus, they weren't getting the commission. Otherwise, I would highly recommed this place

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Ellen
Thank you for your review.
While our upgraded Bungalows (Tropic Club and Poolside Bungalows) have already safes installed in the rooms, its planned to fit all the other bungalows as well with safes. They will be in place from September 2012.
I was not able to get to know what has happened with your tour (pick-up) problem, but i can only assume it was a misunderstanding which we have often with tours booked at travel agencies. Apologize for that!

Have a great day!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great budget hotel/resort for a few days if your looking to relax by the pool etc! the location is abit out the way but you can hire a moped for a small price at the hotel and see the island easily, a great stay would recommend to most travellers!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Hannah
Thank you for your review.
We are working on the location problem. If everything goes well we will have a Shuttle in service which runs all day and especially late night (until 2am) to Chaweng, Bophut and Maenam. We keep you posted!

Have a great day!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bar/restaurant is very cosy, do a range of international food, not just thai. Good range of trips to book, staff are very helpful, nice pool, good value for money.

Disliked: Not very close to the beach, unless you hire a moped or car theres nothing too close unless you hired a tour which would be expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We thought the bungalow accommdation was lovely. The room was really nicely designed, with TV, AC and even a mini bar (with 2 free bottles of water a day). The pool was nice and the food served at the restaurant was delicious. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly during our stay.

Disliked: Nothing really. Only the location turned out not to be the best for us and this was really only because we were there for just one day and didn't bother hiring a bike due to bad weather... When the sun finally shone that afternoon we went to Maenam beach but sadly it wasn't as nice as we'd hoped. I would definitely recommend Tropical Garden Lounge but I would also definitely recommend hiring a bike to give you more flexibility getting round the island.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability