We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tropical Garden Lounge

Guesthouse | 19/9 Moo 1, Koh Samui, Thailand 84330

80.1% Overall Rating

22 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2013)

Kelly Wilson thinks…

"The staff are very friendly and always happy to help you out. The hotel itself is in a picturesque setting and looks especially pretty at night."

Read all Tropical Garden Lounge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.70
  • Breakfast USD 3.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samui?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Samui

The Fair House Beach Resort & Hotel Samui
49.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Boardroom Bungalows
11.56 USD

Apartment 95.2% 3 reviews
Let's Go Backpackers Hostel
7.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chaweng Place Samui
11.56 USD

Hostel 54.3% 3 reviews
Samui Buri Beach Resort
69.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chaweng Lakeview Condotel
29.27 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Grand Hill Residence
30.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Como Resort Samui
19.72 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

22 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tropical Garden Lounge'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
62.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James Holt

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 December 2013

Liked: Nice gardens. Big bungalow room. Pool was OK. Daily room service.

Disliked: The bungalow was not secure as the bathroom had no roof. It would have been easy for somebody to climb into the bathroom and then let themselves into the main room. Also the location was fairly dire - there was a very busy road in front of the hotel, there was a poor offering of local restaurants (just some expensive internationally owned places) and very few local shops. It was possible to walk to the beach in about 10-15 minutes but this involved crossing the busy road and then walking through the resort opposite. Once there the beach was OK but far from the nicest on the island. The hotel was totally useless for us as a family. It might be OK if you have your own transport but even then there are much nicer places to stay in the same price bracket.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun to have our own bungalow. Outside shower was great! AC was amazing!!!

Disliked: Had to pay for Internet.. Only one password per room and an extra is 5 dollars per day

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and always happy to help you out. The hotel itself is in a picturesque setting and looks especially pretty at night.

Disliked: The air con in the rooms could have been better but wasn't a huge problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved our stay at Tropical Garden Lounge. We were only there one night but our experience was really good. The place itself is really pretty, the bar area is really relaxed and comfortable and the staff are all really friendly and go out of their way to help you. The food is also really good and excellent value.

Disliked: The air conditioning was a bit dodgy but there was a fan in the room as well so it wasn't a problem. Couldn't find any other faults with the place.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen McMahon

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: The place was beautiful, secluded with a tropical mountain backdrop and pretty fairy lights around the area. The rooms were as cottages and were spacious, air conditioned, very clean and afforded a lot of privacy.The cottages were spacious and came with a fridge.

Disliked: I would have liked if there was a safe in the cottage, although the place was very safe etc, having a safe would have afforded me greater peace of mind. In addition, there was a weird incident where a member of staff lied to us saying that a tour that we had booked, independently of the hotel, had rang and was not coming to collect us. However, the tourguide then did arrive 5 minutes later. I think that this was done because they were annoyed that we hadn't booked the trip though them and thus, they weren't getting the commission. Otherwise, I would highly recommed this place

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hannah Gorman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great budget hotel/resort for a few days if your looking to relax by the pool etc! the location is abit out the way but you can hire a moped for a small price at the hotel and see the island easily, a great stay would recommend to most travellers!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Emmerson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The bar/restaurant is very cosy, do a range of international food, not just thai. Good range of trips to book, staff are very helpful, nice pool, good value for money.

Disliked: Not very close to the beach, unless you hire a moped or car theres nothing too close unless you hired a tour which would be expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Southwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: We thought the bungalow accommdation was lovely. The room was really nicely designed, with TV, AC and even a mini bar (with 2 free bottles of water a day). The pool was nice and the food served at the restaurant was delicious. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly during our stay.

Disliked: Nothing really. Only the location turned out not to be the best for us and this was really only because we were there for just one day and didn't bother hiring a bike due to bad weather... When the sun finally shone that afternoon we went to Maenam beach but sadly it wasn't as nice as we'd hoped. I would definitely recommend Tropical Garden Lounge but I would also definitely recommend hiring a bike to give you more flexibility getting round the island.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 February 2011

Liked: It was in a quiet area, further away from the busier Chewang area. Easy to cab to the party area.

Disliked: The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. We were trying to book ferry tickets from the front desk and the lady at reception was very unhelpful and rude. She yelled at me for not understanding her and in the end, told us to find our own way to book the tickets.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and welcoming staff, very clean rooms and facilities.

Disliked: Would have been nicer to have the beach right there, but the beach is a 5 minute walk away. The pool is great though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Chalk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and only a few minutes walk from the beach

Disliked: It was in a really bad location. We walked miles looking for somewhere to eat and in the end went back to the hotel restaurant where we'd ate the previous night.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 February 2010

Liked: nice clean room. good you can rent motorbike seeing as its half an hour away from chaweng (main area).staff- lovely people just very bad communication skills, and could speak english a lot better considering its a universal language with travelers/holiday makers from all over the world there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, relaxing place. The location is ideal if you want to be close to everything but in the middle of nothing (which is what I wanted). If, however, a good beach tops your list, it's not in front of this hotel so plan on driving just a bit.The facilities and services offered for the money are quite good but I did find the owner to be a bit rude at times. He seemed very concerned with maximizing profit (you will pay VAT and taxes separately) and did not mind being a bit of an inconvenience. He even made me leave my chair when a light rain started to fall so he could bring in his patio furniture (keep in mind that this was outdoor furniture).Overall, the place was great and I'd recommend staying as long as you're self sufficient once you arrive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Green

08 January 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: It was very busy when we got there and everybody I talked to was happy with the service, the staff were very helpful and friendly and it was only 15mins bus ride to Chewang for the night life. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice bungalows with high standard. Friendly staff. Nice environment around the bungalows.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Lockwood

17 August 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Hensley

30 June 2009 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here so much i am going back! the staff are absolutely amazing, so friendly and helpful. Claudio is super, and will help you with any problems and is willing to chat about everything and anything! the room was great, spacious and clean. very welcoming, quiet location and overall a perfect base to explore samui.

Disliked: Abigail left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yongjian Vun

23 April 2009 Yongjian would recommend this property

Liked: nice relaxing resort accommodation which isn't too expensive for those needing a break from the dodgy hostels you get in Chaweng beach. it is on mae nam beach which is away from the main buzz of the island so if you're looking for a quiet break from it all it's ideal. free wifi which is a bonus.

Disliked: Yongjian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money indeed! They will organise your transport to the Full Moon Party if you want to go to one. Lovely staff and pool, and the bungalows were lovely and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool. Clean comfortable rooms. Really nice, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.