We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nids Bungalows

Hostel | Soi Poolsawad, Chaweng, Koh Samui Koh Samui, Thailand 84320

78.4% Overall Rating

99 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

"They rent motorbikes. The husband of the owner is a really helpful and nice person."

Read all Nids Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Nid's Bungalows has a 24hr cancellation policy, and all cancellations must be notified by email directly to Nid's Bungalows. The full cost of up to 2 night's accommodation, in the case of a no-show, or where cancellations are made within 24 hours of the date for which the accommodation is reserved, may be charged. Accommodation is payable in full upon check-in, by either cash or credit card, and is non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samui?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Samui

ART Hotel
8.83 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 79.2% 32 reviews
Samui Kangaroo Homestay
6.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker Hostel
6.13 USD

Hostel 83.9% 23 reviews
Seascape Beach Resort
19.50 USD

Hostel 79.5% 35 reviews
Samui Verticolor
27.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Moby Dick Guesthouse
7.66 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 12 reviews
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
36.40 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Chaweng Budget Hotel
20.89 USD

Hotel 4 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

99 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nids Bungalows'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2015

Liked: They rent motorbikes. The husband of the owner is a really helpful and nice person.

Disliked: The rooms are very dirty and in an overall bad condition. There is only a field path of app. 100 m between the street and the hostel. On this path no taxi is able to drive because of many deep holes on the path and several wild dogs are living there. Another guest was bitten by one of these dogs. It's not comfortable to use this way during the nights...

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cristian gil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Muy cerca del centro y a solo 10 minutos de la playa. Ademas tiene una excelente piscina.

Disliked: Nada

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015

Liked: Has a cool big fish in the pond.

Disliked: When checking in the front desk staff just ignored us completely. There was a bunch of people hangout , which I don't think were other guest. The hostel is in the sketches part of town. Have to walk down a dark, dirt road to get to the main part of the city. We did not sleep at all due to the rats running around in the walls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Pierre Delaunay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Jean Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: A nice stay, Just beside night place and famous discos but we didn't suffer noises,

Disliked: We likes also cats, dogs, chickens, animals over there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jade moffat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2015 jade would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Nid's and we will be going back in the very near future. my boyfriend and I enjoyed the bungalows and we could rent out scooters/transport for cheap price. There was a lot of animals, and for us it was nice as we love animals, dogs especially and we enjoyed playing around with them. Lovely clean place, and the pool was nice and clean and relaxing. Excellent value for money :-D

Disliked: we had to leave earlier today as we did not book extra days in time!! Typical last minute stuff from us!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chelsey Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2014 Chelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Slightly away from the hustle and bustle but all near enough to walk to. Very clean and good air con.

Disliked: Bugs, the tonnes of cats and dogs, the smell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we're incredibly attentive, we received clean towels and cold bottles of water twice in one day! It's got a relaxing atmosphere. The gardens are beautiful, the pool is immaculately clean and the breakfast was lovely. It's been a real highlight in our Asia trip so far and I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Beds were not the most comfortable we've had but it really didn't make a difference to our stay here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfi beds, good breakfast

Disliked: Location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Neale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very quiet little location away from the hustle and bustle but still within walking distance, friendly staff and very very clean

Disliked: We only had a fan which did not work so during the hot periods it was a bit uncomfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederico Silva

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2014 Frederico would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a good stay.

Disliked: The service hired to take us to koh phan gan didn´t work out as it should have.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carrie Hill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, warm atmosphere, grounds very well maintained, clean pool and bathroom areas in room. Looks a little daunting when you arrive after dark, but don't let it fool/intimidate you into looking for other places to stay. Close enough to main drag that it's walking distance to tourist and local districts in Chaweng.

Disliked: Not enough signage to find the place. Cabs and minibuses have a very hard time finding the place. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep -- the clubs have a habit of playing it LOUD until well around 4am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher player

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the chilled out vibe from this hostel, the owners/staff couldnt do enough for us whielst we were there and the food was second to none!! the secluded little beach this hostel is located on is gorgeous and is the perfect angle to catch the sun setting at night, we had some amazing photos there

Disliked: the food was amazing but with only one chef you have to be prepared to wait a while to receive your order....on a busy night when the whole hostel seemed to order at once we waited an hour an 15 minutes before our starters arrived but it was worth the wait!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Lupulescu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Nids Bungalow are located next to a quiet lake and have a lot of plants and flowers and animals, you feel very nice there and it is relaxing with the pool, the friendly staff. We very much liked that they cleaned the bungalow everyday and provided a bottle of water every day.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, free breakfast, friendly staff good pool

Disliked: Slightly out of the main town, but not too far

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rob van Schadewijk

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice accomodation! Frindly employees! en very good breakfast!! A lot of fruit. And nice pool!!

Disliked: A lot of dogs/cats walking around bunglows.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is nice and clean, they clean it every day. There is a safe in the room. The breakfast is included and is good, the swimming pool is not that big but is ok. The staff is friendly.

Disliked: The road to the hostel is not the best, not really lightly at night and close to some "girls bars".

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013

Liked: We enjoyed the many animals meandering about the property, and the gardens were beautiful.

Disliked: The location is a little elusive. And as we were unfamiliar with the area, walking down a dark dirt road late at night did not seem to the greatest idea.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jonas Jäger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: The room was OK for the price.

Disliked: We were rudely awakened by the animals at 5 in the morning. Staff wasn't nice at all times.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice swimmingpool and bungalows. Room get cleaned every day !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Hancock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and clean and the garden was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful and the free breakfast was nice.

Disliked: A bit far from town but only 5 mins if you hire a motorbike, which you can rent there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Duma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful bungalows, beautiful garden, great pool open at night too. Facilities-wise, can't beat it: very clean rooms, good beds with individual fans and safes, great shower and toilet. Also, free breakfast is good and straightforward scooter rental for 200 baht a day. Very well run by very nice people (Alan and Nid).

Disliked: Not necessarily a place to meet other travelers, much less in low season. Wifi is quite bad and doesn't reach everywhere. No privacy in the dorm, the door is transparent and the cleaners are so obsessed with cleanliness that they will be in the room all the time, be it to make beds or clean the floor, chattering constantly. I just wanted them to go away and let me sleep!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cameron McGregor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, not too far from the main town, but a decent walk (~30min) to the bars. Very clean and tidy, the hosts are super helpful as well. Recommended.

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Nice pool area. Lots of animals.

Disliked: Far walk to town. Dogs barking. Can hear loud music from bars, but I think you find that almost anywhere you stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Turk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: nid and her husband are really nice and friendly. i liked the pool and its pretty relaxed. there are lots of dogs and cats so if you dont like animals you might want to think about that. nid also has giant fish, rabbits and a huge pig (all in cages), i never went to a hotel with a pig before so thats new

Disliked: its kinda far from the town down a little dirt/mud road. this is kinda a pain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place had the cleanest dorms I've stayed in my entire travels. The grounds are lovely and relaxed, and you're within walking distance of bars and restaurants. This place is amazing, if I go back to Samui I will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing!! I loved this place.