HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ban Samet Hill

Guesthouse | 53 Moo 4 Koh Samet, Banphe Rayong 21160, Koh Samet, Thailand 21160

69.1% Overall Rating

9 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2014)

"only 10 minute walk from the beach. easy to find from main ferry port. manager was friendly (when you could find him)."

Read all Ban Samet Hill reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Remaining balance must be transfer to pay pal account before check in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samet?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

9 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ban Samet Hill'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
57.3%
Cleanliness
74.7%
Staff
84.0%
Value
69.3%
Safety
70.7%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 February 2014

Liked: only 10 minute walk from the beach. easy to find from main ferry port. manager was friendly (when you could find him).

Disliked: could do with a deep clean. could have stayed else where on the island for around the same price and got a much better accommodation. sounded like there was a locals party upstairs with all manner of instruments playing through the night (possible not well played either)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliy owner

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcela Nemcova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Marcela would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place! Clean, near the port, near to the beaches and veeeery nice owner, who were very helpful and nice to us :) I would recommend this place fot independent travellers

Disliked: Nothing. Maybe its not good location when you expect just partying holiday or luxury resort. Then choose sth different ;-) In this location there arent many bars...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011

Liked: Big queen and a twin bed. Spacious room. A/C.

Disliked: There wasn't a front desk. No one around to help. Had to wander around 4 floors to find someone for questions. TV didn't work. Could have found a better hostel on the water for maybe $10 more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie hansell

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is very friendly, woulddo anything to help. Alsofree unlimited internet access.

Disliked: stephanie left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to Pier and beach

Disliked: Decor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Haines

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2010 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little house, you really felt like you were staying with the family! It was quiet, far enough away from the beach that the karaoke didn't keep you up all night but close enough that it was an easy walk. Also very close to Nadan pier so no hassle with transport/walk when you get there, just straight up the hill and there you are. The area looks a little rough and ready but we found everyone incredibly friendly and weren't at all worried about safety. The people that run it live downstairs so you know that security is going to be a priority in the building! The walk to the beach goes straight past all the shops which is great if you want to pick up a snack on the way there and a cold drink on the way home. The rooms are very clean and there's a tv and fridge if you wanted to use them. Best of all - the air conditioning was fantastic, just what you need when the heat is reaching ridiculous, and the family were really lovely and helpful, going out of their way to make sure we had everything.

Disliked: At first glance we were quite disappointed with the location. It seemed much further from the beach then we'd hoped, however, having done the walk a few times, it was about 10 minutes to Hat Sai Kaew which was perfectly doable, even in the heat of the day. Even better, if you wanted to take the local transport (which seems to vary between motorbike, scooter and truck), it all gathers at Nadan pier, which is about 2 minutes walk.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010

Liked: Close to the main pier.

Disliked: We were a bit disappointed about what we have booked. We regret that we booked in advance, because there were plenty of other guesthouses with much better price, and location. The shower smelled like rotten eggs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mark Daykin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendlily & helpful. Able to rent a scooter at the going rate of B300. Well sign posted, once you turn left from the pier. Quiet location and good proximity to the pier.

Disliked: Wi-Fi barely works in the room, although perfectly well downstairs. A better modem would solve the problem.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

28 July 2010

Liked: Nice guy, runs the place with wife and baby

Disliked: no hot water no water pressure groggy neighborhood owner in fact complained about HB doing nothing to get 10% signs offered rooms starting at 300THB so my price seemed ripoff

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was a real help! He never bothered to help or answer questions! recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A 10/15 walk from the main beach. Basically a budget hotel/hostel my girlfriend and I had a room (with private batroom ) that was clean and had aircon and fridge. The price reflects the basic facilities and location, but if you consider it costs 4 times more to stay at the beach hotels its pretty good. I stayed at 1 of the beach hotels before (Saekiew Villa) and found the same standard of room massively overpriced. No food or drink on offer at the Ban Samet Hill but plenty of that around anyway. The boss (Youn) was helpful with local info and advice on boat trips etc. I would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely stay thank you!not the best location but it is only 10 minute walk from the first beach! and right next to the pier so you probably save money not paying for the cab to your hotel near the beach!the hostel is quiet and clean!lovely staff, shame i could not stay longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.