HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Phi Phi Baanthai Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 139 / 10, Moo 7, Phi Phi Island Koh Phi Phi, Thailand 81000

65.2% Overall Rating

14 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/12/2013)

"Location close to beach, far enough away from the noise of phi phi. Room was clean and liked balcony."

Read all Phi Phi Baanthai Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Latest check in at 15.00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Phi Phi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Phi Phi

Golden Hill Bungalows (Bungalow Dave's)
10.79 USD

Hotel 66.1% 188 reviews
Phuttachot Resort Phi Phi
10.79 USD

Hotel 61.7% 29 reviews
Phi Phi Sea Sky Resort
20.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
23.11 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Chunut House Resort
23.11 USD

Apartment 72.3% 10 reviews
Ivory Phi Phi Island
15.41 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 46 reviews
Flower Bungalow Phi Phi
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 50.9% 88 reviews
Coco's Guesthouse
7.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.2%

Overall Rating

14 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phi Phi Baanthai Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
61.9%
Location
91.4%
Facilities
58.1%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
63.8%
Value
58.1%
Safety
62.9%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Tatiana Enhorning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014

Liked: Location and AC

Disliked: NO SHEETS. YOU USE A TOWEL AS A BLANKET. no wifi, horrible value for $25 AUD per person per night!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people. Good budget accommodation.

Disliked: Hard beds

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013

Liked: Location close to beach, far enough away from the noise of phi phi. Room was clean and liked balcony.

Disliked: The lady who runs it needs a few lessons in customer service. We are budget travellers so the standard was not the issue. A little friendliness and helpfulness goes a long way.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shiloh Hodges

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 January 2013

Liked: Absolutly nothing!

Disliked: Miss Lee! She was horrible - the lady had no moral values and was incredibly rude and unhelpful. I booked 2 rooms in April, 2012 so that we could reserve them as I knew it would be peak season. I also booked early so that I could get a good price. When we arrived, she said she had 2 rooms and then once we showed her our booking, she suddenly had no rooms at all... unless we paid 4 times the price we booked at! She kept trying to avoid our questions, talking with other people and trying to book out her rooms so that we were left with no where to stay. As we waited, 2 men that were staying at the guesthouse walked out cursing about the lady and telling us we were crazy to be looking for a room there as she was a horrible woman to be around - we know what they were talking about! I would not recommend this property to anybody - even if there was no where else to stay on Koh Phi Phi. She made the start of our holiday very unplesant.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is far enough away from all the bars to be quiet at night. Clean sheets and towel. We had read the reviews of Miss Lee's rules, and were amused to receive very strict instructions about shoes, noise etc. All completely understandable, and easy to comply with, and Miss Lee was very helpful and knowledgeable about Phi Phi.

Disliked: Our room had an unpleasant damp smell, but we understand that to be due to the water supply on Phi Phi and even the air con couldn't get rid of the smell. For one night only, it was acceptable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, central yet not noisy!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are cleaned each day, you are greeted by name each time you come and go. Mrs. lee the owner is friendly and helpful. It is more of couples guest house, there are no dorms, but safe tidy and good location.

Disliked: The internet is slow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anke Luelfsmann

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Anke would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Banthai Guesthouse as it was the cheapest place we could find around this time. The guesthouse is very clean the room has an aircon and the beds are made daily.

Disliked: The internet is quite expensive which is probably just usual on Phi Phi as we couldnt find a cheaper place except all the bars and restaurants have free wifi. The woman working on reception is nice but extremly strict. Dont dare to walk around the house with shoes whether they are clean or not!! There are a lot of rules you have to stic to.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fabulous!! It's clean and inbetween ton sai and Loh dalum

Disliked: There is no enclosed shower

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean beds

Disliked: no WIFI, not many facilities

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: not clean, you have to pay for toilet paper (!!), disgusting smell in the room

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The description is to have a relaxing stay but the manageress is extremely rude and intimidating with a huge list of rules which includes no visitors so when we wanted to meet up with friends they weren't even allowed to knock on our door. We even had to buy our own toilet roll and was not allowed to use our hair dryer in our room but had to dry our hair in the reception are. Staying here was not relaxing at all but very stressfully. The sheets were torn on the bedding and the toilet was filthy. We paid a lot of money to stay here and chose it because e reviews here had a good percentage however this is a very poor indication of how bad this place is. The manager ms lee was extremely rude not only to us but other residents. Ms lee does everything she can to keep the deposit so don't hand the keys back until you have your money. Do not stay here, on trip advisor the ratings are better matched 29/29 with appropriate comments. I think that this place mainly relies on pacing trade. I would not recommend this place to anyone . Also we are mature travellers treated like kids.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent ubication in town, very near to nightlife, but. quiet enough for sleeping

Disliked: poor common places

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

lindsey higgins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011

Liked: The location: it was right in the middle of town but still quiet

Disliked: The room was extremly dirty, the smell almost unbearable. I was given a single flat, worn out pillow and what was a large towel to use as a blanket. The sheets had very visible stains on them, and smelled as if they had not been washed in a long time (only sprayed with a fabric cleaner). The owner was also extremely rude to me. When I dropped off my laundry the night before I was checking out, she failed to mention it would not be finished until the next night even though she knew I was checking out in the morning. She simply said I should have known and returned my laundry wet. the bed was also extremely uncomfortable, there really was no mattress. It was so worn out and old that it felt as if I was sleeping on the wood framing. The owner made me feel unwelcome and untrusted. She charges a 1,000bht key deposit (which I had not experienced in the other thailand hostels I had stayed at) and seems to be very untrusting of foreigners. I would not reccomend this hostel. There are far cheaper and better smelling hostels just next to Bang Thai. (about half the price).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tina Niemegeers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2011 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the city center, yet very quit at night. The staff was friendly and the room was big enough and clean.

Disliked: There was no option to eat in the guesthouse itself. The staff itself told me to "take my backpack to the beach on my last day, as it would probably get stolen if I left it in the reception area". So I did not feel really safe there. Also small thing: the tv broke down after 2 hours