HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Beach Village Backpackers Koh Phangan Hostel

100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 81%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Phangan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 81%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: The beds in the dorm were very large and comfortable for single bunk beds. The dorms were basic but clean. Whilst the beach it was on wasn't picture perfect it was perfectly acceptable, as was the hotel bar. An added bonus was the club within the resort, which seems fairly unassuming but hosts decent nights. The location is great too, with a 7/11 a 5 minute walk away as well as an array of western or cheap but great Thai food. A mention must go to the bike rental agency which are based there who seem extremely trust worthy. Overall, very nice and chilled out beach resort with extremely welcoming staff.

Disliked: The major issue with this hostel is its main toilet/shower area. The toilets have large holes in the roof, meaning that whenever it rains it floods the bathroom, rendering them unusable. The showers only run cold water at the weakest possible pressure. No towel racks either. Another problem is its lack of attempt to build an atmosphere on full moon nights. Whilst they did have UV paint, it was do it yourself, and there was no attempt whatsoever to build any bond between the people staying at the hotel by the hotel itself. The food is decent, but there was better round the corner.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: The pool was great, so thankful to have on those more humid days. It was fairly close to the ferry and Haad Rin beach. The restaurant was pretty good and fairly priced, and the burger joint by the beach was really good. The staff were fairly helpful and the bike rental was a reasonable price and they didn't charge us a crazy amount when we crashed it, like we had heard happen to other people who went to other bike rental places.

Disliked: It's definitely a party place. It got really noisy pretty much every night, especially during the nights the club beside our bungalow was open. We had also booked one of the bungalows on the beach (ocean view), so we could be further away from the club. But when we got there, they told us those rooms were all gone and they gave us one in the garden. I felt like Jerry Seinfeld, trying to understand what was the point of a reservation.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Pool, very close to the beach (seaview bungalows have a beautiful view!), friendly stuff, restaurant in de accomadation

Disliked: Cleaning of the rooms did not work as good as we hoped

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in air con dorm and it was good. There are lockers, WCs are ok, you can rent mopeds and tripes etc. Its a bit of a walk into Ban Tai or Thong Sala but not too bad. C-mart and some restaurants are close.Some friends were staying in the bunglaows which were also quite nice but only had a fan.The food was reasonably priced compared to town and was quite good. The social area with bean bags was a good place to meet and move. The bar and pool area was again good, although somewhat seperate from the main area it. It was quite quiet when went but this place looks fun in the high season!

Disliked: Showers - lights were not fully working and there were leaves on the floor. Needs some work.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I can't fault this place a bit. The owners and workers of this resort, you can clearly see have put their heart and soul into this place and it really shows. They work into making your stay here the best it could be. The resort is full of life and people and has a great atmosphere. I would come again for sure.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: This place has everything you need and looks exactly like the photos. It was a great experience staying here and I wouldn't hesitate to come again. It's safe, clean, great value for money, delicious food and a wicked nightlife!

Disliked: A few mossies lingering around but I suppose that not the hostel fault!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The propert held a balance between chilled and partying. This place has everything you want.

Disliked: I noticed my room wasn't being cleaned which annoyed me, but I didn't realise there was a sign in the rooms saying that they wold clean them if you tell them in the office, so it was partially my fault!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great nightlife, perfect place for backpackers! The place was clean, friendly and well priced. I really enjoyed my time here and would recommend to all. As a female traveler I felt really safe when staying here :)

Disliked: The tiki bar should be promoted more for its pre drinks before clubs! I had such a good time drinking there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway

Liked: This Hostel is absolute perfection. It honestly has everything you need and it gives you more. The staff are wonderful, the hostel and my room was spotless, the place had a great energy 24/7.

Disliked: I can't think of anything I disliked about this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway

Liked: What an experience. I loved the whole place. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food they served was delicious every time, the place has a great pool and pool side bar which has a great atmosphere and people there, day or night. The place is great value for money, I had a wonderful time here.

Disliked: I have very few negatives about this place, If i had to give any negatives I would say that the rooms next to the on beach night club can get quit loud till early in the morning, just as a heads up :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability