HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Bang Namkem Guesthouse

88/2 Moo1, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 50%

Location 62%

Safety 66%

Staff 64%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Phangan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 50%

Location 62%

Safety 66%

Staff 64%

Value 64%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Close to the beach .�

Disliked: Secluded from any shops and restaurants

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location was central and a five minute walk to many shops and restaurants on the main road, it was also right on the beach as described. there was a nice communal area with mattresses and tables where all the guests hung out before and after jungle experience / full moon, this was nice for getting to know each other

Disliked: the toilet had no flush on it and you had to use a bucket, which I know is relatively normal on koh phangan but by the end of four nights the smell was horrific and even washing my hands in the bathroom became a horrible experience. the owner was alright at the beginning of our stay, and whilst I know we must have been noisy during the stay coming back from full moon etc, the man does run a hostel so it shouldn't offend him so much. by the time we left he was being actively hostile towards the group of us who had formed. I would still recommend it though as I had such a great time there and met so many people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: The bungalows are spacious and really comfortable. It's right on the beach lovely warm clean water.. The owner opa is a really lovely man. He dropped us to the boat, even woke us up! Then our friends forgot their boat tickets and he sorted it all out so they didn't have to pay again. Thank you opa for a great stay from the Louise and all the Irish gang.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely nothing apart from the beach outside

Disliked: Filthy!!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The proximity to the beach, nice clean bungalows, reasonable price

Disliked: Distance from main street. (15-20 minute walk) No flush on the toilets, No a/c

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bentai beach is quiet : perfect to relax after the full moon party. It is easy to go to Haad rin by taxy (100 THB) and you can find a really nice restaurant nearby.It was the cheapest accomodation during the full moon and you have to book only 3 nights whereas it was 4 to 5 nights in the others.

Disliked: The WiFi wasn't working during our stay (3 nights). The restaurant of the property is a little bit expensive and the food is average. There is a really nice restaurant and less expensive nearby.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: EVERYTHING

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing at all apart from it being near a beach.

Disliked: We checked into Bang Nam Kem, however we weren't shown the room first. To our absolute horror there was cockroach and lizard poo everywhere (even on the headboard) and the room was filthy. We decided to check out straight away, whether a room is 500bht or 5000 it shouldn't have poo on the bed, it wasn't acceptable at all. When requesting a refund the owner got very aggressive and refused. We tried to stay as calm as possible but he wouldn't give us a full refund, starting shouting and slamming his fists on the desk. We suggested we show him what we mean and at this point he physically grabbed onto my fiancé and yanked him towards to room! We left straight away without a full refund. Please do not stay here!

Check Availability