We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SandeeBackpackers

Hostel | 99/102 Thong Sala, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

87.0% Overall Rating

12 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2015)

Mark Vuurberg thinks…

"The accomodation is at a decent location, outside of the full moon beach making it more quiet and it is relatively close to a nice beach and the pier. So it is not too much effort getting there after…"

Read all SandeeBackpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full moon party period : Min. stay 4 nights Cancellation charges : 4 nights Christmas Season : Min. stay 4 nights Cancellation charges : 4 nights New Year Season : Min. stay 7 nights Cancellation charges : 7 nights

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Su Casa Guesthouse
16.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Tai - Backpackers
8.59 USD

Hostel 90.5% 25 reviews
Srithongkul Village
7.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nap Inn
45.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lime n Soda Beachfront Resort
8.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 28 reviews
Mangrove Villa
17.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beach Resort Hacienda
7.16 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Copacabana Bungalows
8.59 USD

Apartment 72.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

12 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SandeeBackpackers'

Atmosphere
81.5%
Location
81.5%
Facilities
83.1%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
98.5%
Value
90.8%
Safety
93.9%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Vuurberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2015

Liked: The accomodation is at a decent location, outside of the full moon beach making it more quiet and it is relatively close to a nice beach and the pier. So it is not too much effort getting there after arriving at Koh Phangan. Also the people are very accomodating: we had one free meal, they are very friendly and the bike rental was good. Only 100B for a full day for good bikes (15,000-20,000 km driven, 125CC bikes). They do charge you for any damage, but as long as you drive a bit careful you should be fine.

Disliked: I ordered a bus and boat ticket here for about 1100 Bath, after checking prices at other tourist offices which were the same. Later I found out that the actual price at the pier (5 mins walk) was about 700 Bath. So always get your tickets at official selling points. It's really a shame that the people running the place always smile and act nice, but when it comes down to earning money they overcharge you badly without a single remorse.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jorge Velasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2015 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The staff is super friendly and the dorm are comfy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Om the hostel owner was so helpful, friendly and funny. Speaks really good English. We had a free transfer from the port, free BBQ, transfer and face paint for the full moon party. It has a fridge, secure lockers, good aircon. The had bikes to rent for cheaper than most the island, and if u stay here u get a further discount. I was heading to Bangkok next, and the trip was explained thoroughly, all booked for me and have been offered a free transfer back to the port.

Disliked: Bins in the toilets could have been changed a bit more frequently.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi and seven eleven only over the road, a short walk from a great food market.

Disliked: Ants all over the shower room and bathroom. Floors in dorm and shower room needed to be better cleaned. Sheets on bed didn't seem clean and were damp.a shame this let it down.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ben Duff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, air con and a hot shower, pretty luxury for me!

Disliked: No bar, and with only 14 beds it had very little social aspect. There is a common area with a sofa and tv which is nice enough, but there's just not enough people to make it much of a party hostel. I found I had to find other places to pre drink before the big parties.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Enrico Krause

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2013 Enrico would recommend this property

Liked: Very very friendly staff, they help u with everything, u feel from the first day like a good friend not like a guest! The hostel is clean and has a good aircondition. The beds are a little bit hard but still very good to sleep! I planned to stay there for 3 days and ended up with over two weeks. For this money the best place where u can stay!!! They even rent motorbikes for only 100baht a day. Go there and you will love it.

Disliked: Cant come back to sandee early enough :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Brooks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. The team do a fantastic job of looking after everybody nothing was too much trouble even when stupid backpackers - me - lose locker keys. It feels like your part of the family here. Very reliable and honest bike service, very clean, good for meeting other travellers and easy to get in for the parties but far away to recupperate during the day. 11 out of 10. Thanks again guts. Danny

Disliked: Leaving :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Akbar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 September 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and very effective A/C

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrieke Schulz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Henrieke would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at sandee with some friends during the full moon party time. We had an amazing time there - the staff is gorgeous and very helpfull (they even cooked us a BBQ!) Also you can rent a scooter for only 100 baht :) Its a very clean place in a nice location and it has the best Aircon I have seen in Thailand!

Disliked: Henrieke left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Millar

Alone

Events / festivals

27 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! Thank you so much!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yolanta Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Yolanta would recommend this property

Liked: Received a really warm welcome as soon as I arrived, the staff cannot do enough just really lovely people. the air con is amazing and the bathroom is really clean which is always important!

Disliked: The beds were hard but I really didn't have a problem sleeping, its very peaceful in the rooms and again the air con is top notch for Thailand !

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alastair Hewet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Alastair would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpfull at all times and incredibly friendly. The hostel was always clean and its easy to get a taxi to Haad-Rin for the full moon party or to anywhere else on the island. Would recommend staying here if you want away from the backpacker madness of Haad-Rin

Disliked: Alastair left no negative feedback.