HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Beach Village Backpackers

Hostel | 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai, Koh Phangan, Surat Thani Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

71.3% Overall Rating

36 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

Gonzalo Montecinos thinks…

"Good for the price, the place and rooms were nice and party was good. The pool and the club were amazing for a hostel."

Read all The Beach Village Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Guesthouse Red Cat
9.39 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
18.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hacienda Backpackers
6.26 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Power Beach Resort
7.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hacienda Resort & Beach Club
7.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lime n Soda Beachfront Resort
6.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.9% 27 reviews
Phangan Beach Resort
26.60 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 78.7% 189 reviews
Mangrove Villa
18.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.3%

Overall Rating

36 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Beach Village Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
65.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gonzalo Montecinos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 April 2014 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Good for the price, the place and rooms were nice and party was good. The pool and the club were amazing for a hostel.

Disliked: The staff wasnt very friendly or helpful. The bathrooms were pretty bad. The thing I dislike is that they charge very high prices at the bar and then they claim that they have the cheapest prices around and that you cant bring food insidr because of that, whiñe they charge two times more than the supermarket across the street for a bottle of water. The same happened with drinks, boat tickets, etc.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the fact that there was a pool and beach on our doorstep. The club was also a bonus :)

Disliked: We had trouble as soon as we arrived... they did not have any record of our booking and because of this tried to blame it on hostlebookers! The woman on reception was the rudest person i have ever come into contact with. We booked a poolview bungalow... we couldnt get it! So they put us in a dirty, smelly bungalow to which the windows and doors didnt even lock! To apologise all we received was a free beer! Not happy at all.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Fountain

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities and location was fantastic! Also very fun and social. Great backpacker resort!

Disliked: Only the local bar tender at the pool bar who had a poor attitude and very slow.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Stayed in a so called private deluxe bungalow, if that was the deluxe room I would hate to see the standard. 3 mattresses on the floor, no other furniture, padlock to lock door so unable to lock room when sleeping, bathroom disgusting, no hot water, room not cleaned or bin emptied in 5 days. Restaurant/bar over priced and so slow, 40mins wait just to get a coffee.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alpha poon

Alone

City break

02 March 2014 alpha would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and close to shallow sand beach

Disliked: I book pool view and pay already and after arrival they just say pool view is full and if I don't want can give me back money. Finally I stay their road side bungalow. It is sad. Yes room charge is low but it show not state pool view room when I book the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and tiki bar are just perfect, I also liked how the show films in the restaurant at night.

Disliked: Toilets we're a bit grubby (but that's travelling) an the showers were cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sian De Lara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The bar/restaurant were fantastic and made it easy to meet new people and socialise! Having a pool and bar right next to the beach with a nightclub right next to it as well was amazing! Made it very easy to stumble back to the dorm at night! Really loved the atmosphere of this place, all the people who worked there were really friendly and I would definetly come back!

Disliked: The cold showers were the only downside of the whole stay, although this was mentioned in the description of the hostel when we looked online so we knew what was coming. The only other thing was that on your bed you just get a sheet, no blanket to cover you, so if you're trying to keep costs down you end up having to cocoon yourself in a sheet at night!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Johanna Eberhardt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Its right on the beach, the staff is helpful and very friendly

Disliked: The bungalow we stayed in looked like it had seen better days, it was right on the beach and looked very cute but the inside was not amazing, umcomfortable bed Food in the restaurant - not great

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, beach and food.

Disliked: The bungalow had holes in it and was very very very grotty. There was no one there when we stayed over Christmas, left early because of it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Becky McCabe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Becky would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other backpackers and great staff! It has its own little restaurant, own pool and beach, complete with pool table and pool bar. The rhythm and sands party they host a day before the full moon is a great time too, they also organise tuk tusk/taxis to take you down to Haad Rinn for the FMP - no hassle! Also walking distance to the Half Moon Party :) I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to backpackers, stay in the dorm rooms as you meet so many great people that way!

Disliked: The only thing I wasn't happy with was security of valuables, when staying in the dorm rooms there isn't anywhere you can secure your backpack. They do have lockers for small valuables which is great though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zoe Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for the full moon week if you don't want to be swallowed into Haad Rin... The staff are absolutely brilliant, Hal and Don made our trip! The dorms are pretty decent and the beach is right there so forget the swimming pool!

Disliked: A lot of the backpackers were british tourists, so if you're looking to escape that sort of thing head up the coast to the bungalows etc.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

colin ALLISON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 colin would recommend this property

Liked: The pool; bar, and garden are the perfect place to meet people when travelling alone. kinda good location with the kiteschool nearby, half way between haad rin and the diving spots in the north plus a few partys near by the spot.

Disliked: Awesome place but with a cheap dorm (reminds me the military's dorms).. The restaurant ain't a good value and the staf aren't the friendliest.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Pool was unclean and only 3 sun loungers. Very loud music played until 5am rooms smell funny and can barely move around in them. Shower was a cold dribble. I booked this place due to good reviews to find that there was a sign on all the tables in the eating area saying" if you leave a good review you get a free drink" which explained a lot. Bribery to get custom!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Erin Hackett

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: The beach is rocky and unswimmable so the pool was useful

Disliked: Price, the place is overpriced, poor shower pressure, to the extent that you would be quicker trying to wash in the sink, can't swim on beach

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic pool parties (always decent house music), friendly staff and always something going on.

Disliked: Rooms were slightly cramped and bark from the ground outside the dorms always was getting trodden in.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really social. We visited over full moon and it had a big social area with cushions and the 26 and 20 bed dorms meant we got to meet to loads of other travellers. It also had a really cool pool and the beach was quite nice but you couldn't really swim in the sea.

Disliked: This hostel doesn't quite live up to its expectation. It is way oversold. In the 26 bed dorm the air conditioning broke and blew out hot air so it was even hotter than outside! We asked them to fix it but they always shrugged and said we have to put up with it! It is also a really long way from the town haad rin which is where full moon is and the taxi system is just designed by locals to rip u off. We actually felt most of the island was trying to rip you off. It was 15 walk to 7/11 and 5 mins to any cafe and the food at the hostel was so expensive. Double what we paid in town. Drinks were the same and u couldn't bring food or drink to the main area from outside which was annoying.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good set up with the pool table and big screen tv at the night time.

Disliked: There wasn't many people there when we arrived as it was low season.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jamie houlton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

14 May 2013 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place to stay, right on the beach and with a gorgeous swimming pool. Pool bar aswell as main bar with restaurant. Good pre party before the half moon party and with free bodypaint! Try the orio milkshakes they're delicious! A short walk away from 7 eleven.

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere untill the day of half moon party, we are a couple so wasn't that bothered but may be an issue if by your self. Room was boiling with just a fan, very stuffy, probably best paying that bit extra for aircon!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Diane Charlton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Chill out area under fans.

Disliked: Promised free pickup from boat but did not provide even though I had tried to arrange it, Showers and toilets weren't cleaned for days. Techno music pumping from 11am to 5am most days.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: The other travellers and the pool on the property

Disliked: The staff there had to be the rudest people I have ever met. The local staff is amazing but the other staff who run the place were rude and best thing not to leave your stuff in the locker area. Had an emergency where I needed something from the room and they wouldn't let you in even though they are in there. Attempted many times to get something but they always said no.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stefanie knorr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 March 2013 stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool and bar! Excellent restaurant and service. Beds were new so that was great. Right on the beach which was fantastic! Close walk to Thongsala and an easy taxi ride to Haad Rin. Hostel also offers taxi service.

Disliked: Stayed in a 20 bed dorm with one air conditioner that was on the side of room and aimed directly at the door. Ours bed were on other side of room and we could never sleep much because the rooms were smoking hot!! Could use some curtains to block sun and maybe another air conditioner or fans! Room was a little tight with 20 beds, take one bunk out and it could be organized a little bit better. Area by hostel beds could be developed into a better common area with some tables and chairs.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robbie Brereton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 March 2013 Robbie would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and bar area were absolutely brilliant, massive pool that was literally 5 metres away from the beach which was incredible. The chill out restaraunt area was nice and the food was very good, the taxi service we used for the full moon party was also excellent as it was cheaper than the other aces and easy to use with hourly pick ups all through the night, we also booked our onward travel through the hostel which was easy and good value for money. All in all it was very good! I would highly recommend.

Disliked: The only criticism I would have was the fan rooms were unbearably hot, however after we switched to an aircon room it was fine.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

esther hadman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 esther would recommend this property

Liked: The owner will give you free beer if you bye him a 7 eleven toasty, he's an odd one! He may also let you scrounge his mashed potato... but thats only if your realllyyy lucky and he hasnt given it to Dan dan already!

Disliked: the room was small, the owner didnt even know it existed... tut

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big pool, good quality food

Disliked: Drinks and food are very expensive, staff often reluctant to help out

The property's response is...