We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Beach Village Backpackers

Hostel | 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai, Koh Phangan, Surat Thani Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

79.0% Overall Rating

53 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2015)

"I stayed in air con dorm and it was good. There are lockers, WCs are ok, you can rent mopeds and tripes etc. Its a bit of a walk into Ban Tai or Thong Sala but not too bad. C-mart and some restaurants are close. Some…"

Read all The Beach Village Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
12.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hacienda Backpackers
5.56 USD

Hostel 86.7% 3 reviews
Beach Resort Hacienda
8.34 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Lime n Soda Beachfront Resort
6.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 28 reviews
Mangrove Villa
16.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Copacabana Bungalows
8.34 USD

Apartment 72.7% 7 reviews
Palida Resort
4.17 USD

Hotel 5 star 68.6% 3 reviews
Srithongkul Village
7.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

53 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Beach Village Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 62 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in air con dorm and it was good. There are lockers, WCs are ok, you can rent mopeds and tripes etc. Its a bit of a walk into Ban Tai or Thong Sala but not too bad. C-mart and some restaurants are close. Some friends were staying in the bunglaows which were also quite nice but only had a fan. The food was reasonably priced compared to town and was quite good. The social area with bean bags was a good place to meet and move. The bar and pool area was again good, although somewhat seperate from the main area it. It was quite quiet when went but this place looks fun in the high season!

Disliked: Showers - lights were not fully working and there were leaves on the floor. Needs some work.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastion Gomez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 May 2015 Sebastion would recommend this property

Liked: I can't fault this place a bit. The owners and workers of this resort, you can clearly see have put their heart and soul into this place and it really shows. They work into making your stay here the best it could be. The resort is full of life and people and has a great atmosphere. I would come again for sure.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly King

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 May 2015 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: This place has everything you need and looks exactly like the photos. It was a great experience staying here and I wouldn't hesitate to come again. It's safe, clean, great value for money, delicious food and a wicked nightlife!

Disliked: A few mossies lingering around but I suppose that not the hostel fault!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daysie Whitmore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 May 2015 Daysie would recommend this property

Liked: The propert held a balance between chilled and partying. This place has everything you want.

Disliked: I noticed my room wasn't being cleaned which annoyed me, but I didn't realise there was a sign in the rooms saying that they wold clean them if you tell them in the office, so it was partially my fault!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lilly Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 May 2015 lilly would recommend this property

Liked: Great nightlife, perfect place for backpackers! The place was clean, friendly and well priced. I really enjoyed my time here and would recommend to all. As a female traveler I felt really safe when staying here :)

Disliked: The tiki bar should be promoted more for its pre drinks before clubs! I had such a good time drinking there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Walt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

09 May 2015 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: What an experience. I loved the whole place. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food they served was delicious every time, the place has a great pool and pool side bar which has a great atmosphere and people there, day or night. The place is great value for money, I had a wonderful time here.

Disliked: I have very few negatives about this place, If i had to give any negatives I would say that the rooms next to the on beach night club can get quit loud till early in the morning, just as a heads up :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Tare

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

09 May 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is absolute perfection. It honestly has everything you need and it gives you more. The staff are wonderful, the hostel and my room was spotless, the place had a great energy 24/7.

Disliked: I can't think of anything I disliked about this place.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Christopher Benedict

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 March 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, good bar, good food, strong drinks, good vibe for young backpackers, staff extremely honest and helpful with returning lost items

Disliked: It's smells like garbage and is next to a swamp, ants and Mosquitos in bungalow, no a/c makes sleeping difficult, the beach was rocky and always at low tide

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! The pool was definitely an added bonus! The staff were very friendly and made the stay very enjoyable!

Disliked: Lots of bugs in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015

Liked: Party atmosphere, good for koh phangan. They offer taxi service to the full moon party's and a return service with a tag to wear around your neck so the taxi driver can spot you and you are safety taken home. They also have a nightclub on site which is really good for when there's not much else going on on the island. Good food at the restaurant. Feel safe when on the resort.

Disliked: The room was not as expected, photos are very decieving, no aircon as described only fan. Bathroom and room super basic with holes in walls and floor. If you want to sleep do not stay here but perfect for people that want to party.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good and clean ac dorms + pool and even own nightclub!

Disliked: Far away from the full moon area.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2014

Liked: The pool is great

Disliked: No real party atmosphere - the other travellers I met here made our stay enjoyable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to the beach and had easy access to the main areas of the Island. We were there for the full moon party and there was many young backpackers all ready to party. Its easy to meet people and the hostel organizes transportation to the full moon party. They also organzied a trip to a look out to see the sunset. They have a restaurant and bar, which is nice.

Disliked: We had a private pool room which we though would be great, not so much. The room was not clean when we checked in- they were scrambling to get someone to clean it. Since you are so close to the pool, the music is blasted 24/7. If you are there to party, this shouldnt be a problem. But the day after the full moon party when all you want to do is sleep, its the worst!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gonzalo Montecinos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 April 2014 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Good for the price, the place and rooms were nice and party was good. The pool and the club were amazing for a hostel.

Disliked: The staff wasnt very friendly or helpful. The bathrooms were pretty bad. The thing I dislike is that they charge very high prices at the bar and then they claim that they have the cheapest prices around and that you cant bring food insidr because of that, whiñe they charge two times more than the supermarket across the street for a bottle of water. The same happened with drinks, boat tickets, etc.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the fact that there was a pool and beach on our doorstep. The club was also a bonus :)

Disliked: We had trouble as soon as we arrived... they did not have any record of our booking and because of this tried to blame it on hostlebookers! The woman on reception was the rudest person i have ever come into contact with. We booked a poolview bungalow... we couldnt get it! So they put us in a dirty, smelly bungalow to which the windows and doors didnt even lock! To apologise all we received was a free beer! Not happy at all.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Fountain

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities and location was fantastic! Also very fun and social. Great backpacker resort!

Disliked: Only the local bar tender at the pool bar who had a poor attitude and very slow.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Stayed in a so called private deluxe bungalow, if that was the deluxe room I would hate to see the standard. 3 mattresses on the floor, no other furniture, padlock to lock door so unable to lock room when sleeping, bathroom disgusting, no hot water, room not cleaned or bin emptied in 5 days. Restaurant/bar over priced and so slow, 40mins wait just to get a coffee.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alpha poon

Alone

City break

02 March 2014 alpha would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and close to shallow sand beach

Disliked: I book pool view and pay already and after arrival they just say pool view is full and if I don't want can give me back money. Finally I stay their road side bungalow. It is sad. Yes room charge is low but it show not state pool view room when I book the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and tiki bar are just perfect, I also liked how the show films in the restaurant at night.

Disliked: Toilets we're a bit grubby (but that's travelling) an the showers were cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sian De Lara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The bar/restaurant were fantastic and made it easy to meet new people and socialise! Having a pool and bar right next to the beach with a nightclub right next to it as well was amazing! Made it very easy to stumble back to the dorm at night! Really loved the atmosphere of this place, all the people who worked there were really friendly and I would definetly come back!

Disliked: The cold showers were the only downside of the whole stay, although this was mentioned in the description of the hostel when we looked online so we knew what was coming. The only other thing was that on your bed you just get a sheet, no blanket to cover you, so if you're trying to keep costs down you end up having to cocoon yourself in a sheet at night!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Johanna Eberhardt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Its right on the beach, the staff is helpful and very friendly

Disliked: The bungalow we stayed in looked like it had seen better days, it was right on the beach and looked very cute but the inside was not amazing, umcomfortable bed Food in the restaurant - not great

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, beach and food.

Disliked: The bungalow had holes in it and was very very very grotty. There was no one there when we stayed over Christmas, left early because of it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Becky McCabe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Becky would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other backpackers and great staff! It has its own little restaurant, own pool and beach, complete with pool table and pool bar. The rhythm and sands party they host a day before the full moon is a great time too, they also organise tuk tusk/taxis to take you down to Haad Rinn for the FMP - no hassle! Also walking distance to the Half Moon Party :) I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to backpackers, stay in the dorm rooms as you meet so many great people that way!

Disliked: The only thing I wasn't happy with was security of valuables, when staying in the dorm rooms there isn't anywhere you can secure your backpack. They do have lockers for small valuables which is great though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zoe Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for the full moon week if you don't want to be swallowed into Haad Rin... The staff are absolutely brilliant, Hal and Don made our trip! The dorms are pretty decent and the beach is right there so forget the swimming pool!

Disliked: A lot of the backpackers were british tourists, so if you're looking to escape that sort of thing head up the coast to the bungalows etc.