HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ling Sabai Bungalows

Guesthouse | Moo, 8, Haad Yao, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 56/1

91.0% Overall Rating

29 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2014)

Ben Pettitt thinks…

"We travelled in South East Asia for 5 months and this was definitely one of our favoourite places! Beautiful clean bungalow with stunning views, helpful staff, good food at the restaurant, peaceful…"

Read all Ling Sabai Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Haad Yao Bay View Resort & Spa
12.55 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Long Bay Resort
21.96 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Mickey Hostel
22.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
J.B Hut
6.27 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.0% 118 reviews
Rin Bay View
27.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lucky Resort
12.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smile Beach Resort
5.33 USD

Hostel 69.5% 127 reviews
Haad Lad Prestige Resort & Spa
20.39 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 79.4% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

29 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ling Sabai Bungalows'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing relaxing atmosphere and super friendly people.

Disliked: Mirrors and bathrooms could do with an upgrade. But for the price you pay for a private bungalow overlooking paradise. .. It can be forgiven

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Young

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: We travelled in South East Asia for 5 months and this was definitely one of our favoourite places! Beautiful clean bungalow with stunning views, helpful staff, good food at the restaurant, peaceful location, but still only a few seconds walk away from the beach. Brilliant value, can't fault it.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caz Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

16 April 2014 Caz would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Joe is fantastic. He makes you feel at home and helps you as much As he can. His bungalows are built up high on a hill so every morning you wake to a stunning view if the ocean and I. The evening you watch the sunset. Also the food here is amazing!! Yum yum! Its situated on a lovely non touresty beach so your away from all the rat race.

Disliked: What's not to like!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Sanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about Ling Sabai! We stayed in many different places across Thailand and this was by far our favourite, all due to Joe's hospitality, his lovely family, and the stunning views of Haad Yao beach. Much quieter than area than Haad Rin but close enough if you want to go for a party.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and views, great food in restaurant. Helpful staff and good price

Disliked: Facilities are basic but sufficient

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Lena Kamitz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 February 2014 Anna Lena would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to relax and feel at home!! Definitely stay here! Joe the owner and his staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It's not a luxury hotel, the rooms are simple, but it is worth your money and you will feel very welcome here.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a deluxe bungalow and it was magnificent. Ocean sunset view, nice bit bed and own bathroom. the hammock was just great! very nice comfy restaurant with excellent Thai food. perfect location close to haad Yao beach. value/money was very very good and the staff nice and helpful.

Disliked: the whole property looks a bit unfinished. the foodpaths aren't really done, once in a while there is trash lying around. matrasses were a little uncomfortable. wifi wasn't properly working from time to time. warm water didn't work in our shower. I think if your expectations aren't too high, you can have the best time here! travellers looking for luxury should stay somewhere else.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was fantastic. The common room was a great place to meet other travlers, the food was delcious, and the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Five days wasn't enough, I wish I could have stayed for much longer!

Disliked: A bungalow by the beach in a tropical paradise -- what could I possibly have disliked?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caroline Schulz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: bungalows are really nice, perfect view, near a beach, joe is really helpfull.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

07 December 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the deluxe bungalows, which was one of the best value places we have been during our entire year of travel. It has a porch that opens up over the sea complete with a hammock. It was truly paradise.

Disliked: We started in a basic accommodation, which was a bit more basic than we expected: there was neither hot water nor a flushing toilet. We switched to the deluxe bungalow and everything was perfect (though it could use a sweep and a dusting). Also, there was construction going on and the basic bungalow was a bit too close to the noise for us. Again, no problem with the deluxe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nick Karasek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Joe was a fantastic host and gave us loads of advice on what to do around the area and the best places to visit. He even took us for pizza one night in one of the villages in the north of the island. They picked us up from the ferry and dropped us off again free of charge. The bungalows are located just a short walk to the beach (although the steps are little steep and uneven). Rooms are basic but all you really need. Relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff makes it an ideal place if you just want to chill out.

Disliked: Rooms were very warm even with the fan on (ac rooms might be worth the extra money). Found a couple of holes in the mosquito net.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality Bungalows on a lovely quiet beach. Fantastic views. The staff is excellent. The staff is friendly, helpful and kind. The food is some of the very best on the island. Friendly place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GUILLERMO BLANCO TABARES

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

02 October 2013 GUILLERMO would recommend this property

Liked: Es un lugar especial para parejas que disfrutan del silencio y la naturaleza. Preciosa ubicación puedes estar como quieras en tu Bungalow ya que nadie va a pasar por delante estas en el tope de un peñasco , bajas escaleras y tienes una hermosa playa. Donde podrás hacer snorkling viendo cosas maravillosas. También tienes supermercados y restaurantes cerca. Nosotros pasamos 7 días inolvidables. Joe el dueño es una persona servicial que te hace las cosas más fáciles en la estadía .

Disliked: GUILLERMO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Vanderloos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The view is spectacular ,the guesthouse are unique and spacious,and clean,you could not ask for a better host Joe for friendliness and knowledge! pam is really good with the food and the price is right.the dining room is a very welcome and comfortable centre with the company of Joe and the sound of crashing waves in the background you could not ask for a better view of a sunset!,,,we extended our stay a couple of times,we will be very sad to leave and will miss Joe. cat and Rick

Disliked: Not a thing is was a fantastic stay so we stayed longer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karl Vidar Gretarsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Karl Vidar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very NICE and helpful. The vibe was good and the food also. located on a really beautiful beach. Excellent for solo travellers! Definitely recommend to stay at the happy monkey (ling sabai) :)

Disliked: Nothing.....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lara Schindler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

20 July 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, only a few stairs down to the beautiful beach, restaurants, shops and bars. The staff was very nice and friendly! We had an amazing view and the hammock was very comfy!

Disliked: The bathroom was not very clean.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully, spacious and clean cabins set up on the cliffs overlooking the sea. Ideal location for travellers like us who were looking for beautiful beaches on our doorstep, cafes, restaurants and bars within walking distance, and away from the most touristy areas. The guesthouse staff were wonderfully welcoming, helpful and charming.

Disliked: The rooms are fan only, with no option for A/C. Some nights could be a little warm, although with the sea breeze blowing into the room it didnt cause too great a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tova Eriksson Asp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Tova would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great and the place is stunning with beautiful view over the ocean. Food is yummy and Joe is the best!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my boyfriend stayed at Ling Sabai for about 10 days. After traveling through SE Asia for 2 months we came to Kho Phangan to relax and party for a little bit. Ling Sabai, to me, was the best place we could have ended up. We pre booked our stay because of a full moon party and after our booking our travel plans changed, and we emailed the owner if we could change our arrival and check out date and that was no problem at all. After a long drive from the harbor and a bumpy steep dirt road we were a bit worried where we would end up, but the place was above all our expectations. The bungalows are at the quiet en most beautiful side of the island. We had one of the more simple bungalows but that was perfectly fine for us. It wasn't really luxurious but it was quite cheap considering we stayed during the busy full moon period. And to us the relaxed vibe and the always as kind and helpful, chilled out owner Joe and his staff did so much more to our stay than a room could possibly do. If you want more luxury you can get the more expensive bungalows, they are really nice! I think it's worth the money. Joe was always willing to provide the best information and help. You can tell that he just wants everyone to have a relaxed stay and doesn't try to make big money out of you, like in other hotels and guest houses we stayed was always the case. Joe wants to keep rules as limited as possible and the place quickly started to feel just like home. The bungalows are right at the sea and there are snorkels and flippers to use for free, what is one of the many services Ling Sabai offers. If you pre book your bungalow you can get a free pickup what saves you 150 baht per person. We liked Kho Phangan and Ling Sabai so much we doubled the time of our stay and skipped Koh Tao. We really liked our stay at Ling Sabai and would definitely go back. If you're in for a relaxed stay in Koh Phangan and enjoy the island at his best, please stay here!

Disliked: Far from the main city and main parties. No aircon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is such a great place to stay...Joe, Pam and Bon looked after us so well and we had a lovely time. We stayed in a basic bungalow, and it had a nice comfy bed, big bathroom, mosquito net, fan and really big balcony - everything we needed, and was very clean. The lounge/bar area is a great place to relax, have some beers and meet the other guests. The food here is very good value, and high quality. Haad Yao beach is relaxed, beautiful and really peaceful. We will be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The superior bungalows have the most amazing sea view you will ever come across. Wake up in the morning listening to the waves lapping beneath the window and have a beer on the balcony to watch the sun set over the ocean. Good sized room, friendly staff and cozy atmosphere. Prices were fair for food and service was good.

Disliked: It would have been good to have the room cleaned half way through our week and toilet bin changed etc. bed linen could have been a bit better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paula canga

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 paula would recommend this property

Liked: its the livingroom you always want to find in a trip! joe makes you feel at home and relax. the best view ande the best food. simply wonderful! buenos dias joe! nos vemos

Disliked: paula left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's nice and quiet, away from all the tourists on the beach but close enough to still have easy access to everything. Jo is great and will organise pretty much anything you want and makes sure you have everything you need. Very warm and welcoming place. If you like big sterile resorts, don't come here. If you like something a little more relaxed, I couldn't recommend it enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.