We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of OM Ganesh Hostel & Restaurant

Hostel | 131/6 Haadrin Sunset Side, Ban Tai, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

68.6% Overall Rating

2 out of 5 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

Jovan Vasiljevic thinks…

"The hostel is really close to the beach (location of the Full Moon Party) and the free bucket is a nice addition."

Read all OM Ganesh Hostel & Restaurant reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

J Seaview Resort
9.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Dewshore Resort
15.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Echo Beach Backpackers
4.62 USD

Hostel 86.3% 19 reviews
Le Divine Comedie
40.06 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Charm Beach
9.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.1% 15 reviews
Coach Bungalow
8.94 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 22 reviews
Bantai Resort
10.79 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
My Phangan Resort
6.93 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 89.3% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

2 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'OM Ganesh Hostel & Restaurant'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
56.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 5 of 5 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jovan Vasiljevic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 March 2014

Liked: The hostel is really close to the beach (location of the Full Moon Party) and the free bucket is a nice addition.

Disliked: Beds are almost rock-solid. It's as comfortable as sleeping on the floor. The bathroom smells bad and showers have low pressure. The staff barely speaks English (aside from naming prices, of course), but they weren't unpleasant. Since it's an Indian hostel, they play Indian folk music throughout the day, which I found really annoying when I just wanted to relax in front of the hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013

Liked: the free dinner and bucket were nice extras with our reservation. The place is in a walking distance of the full moon party, but you still can sleep quietly if you like

Disliked: The beds were a bit hard and we have to remove a few cockroaches from the shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location is great and its great for meeting other people. They organised a pre-moon party for body paints and discounted 1st drinks which was great :D We dad a bit of an issue when we 1st arrived at the hostel as we arrived latern than planned that night due to the ferry being delayed and they tried to tell us that the booking had been cancelled due to our late arrival cause we hadn't contacted them, but i was fortunate to have emailed them the day before advising that we would be arriving by ferry and therefore not sure of the time but that we would definitly be there so to keep our booking - i had to show this email as proof before they eventually and reluctantly gave us 4 beds.

Disliked: Only secure lockers are in the reception for money passports etc and the toilets can get very very messy after a night/morning out :) but all in all i would still go back to it because its locaiton is great, and the staff cleanliness isn't enough to put me off. Had a great time there

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Nicole Billitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013

Liked: It has a great location, and the free Indian buffet is delicious! You get a discounted motor bike, which is convenient.

Disliked: No common room, so you can't meet people (which is why we booked a hostel!). I'm really not so picky, but these beds were horrible, it was straight wood. Says 5 night minimum for full moon but it's actually 3 if you book closer to full moon. It started off clean, but the night before full moon until the day after they didn't clean the bathrooms! The tea and coffee is only available at certain times, as well as the roof terrace and the computers. They tried to switch my room so my boyfriend and I wouldn't be alone in the dorm... They'd peek in at all hours of the night to make sure we weren't having sex (3am, 7am, 11am - turning on the lights each time!). They also said they'd change the sheets daily, and they didn't. it was really quite expensive, 16euro for 5 nights... I'd recommend people book a bungalow because its cheaper - you'll meet people at the bars anyways, and because there is no common room (they even take away the chairs at night, so you can't even sit anywhere to Skype - I had to outside) it's not worth the extra 6euro (bungalows cost about 10). You do get a free bucket, but it's not nearly as alcoholic as the ones you buy. It wasn't bad, by any means, but for the price in Thailand, I just wouldn't recommend it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Family feel to the place, which adds a personal experience to the stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.