We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fubar Hostel

Hostel | 123/13 Soi Tonson, Moo. 6, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

81.3% Overall Rating

27 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

"Stayed in a 4 bed private room, it was very nice for such a cheap price on the main beach in Haad Rin"

Read all Fubar Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Moon Paradise Bungalows
9.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 6 reviews
Gallery
10.79 USD

Hostel 73.3% 20 reviews
Suncliff Resort
26.19 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Venus Resort
7.24 USD

Hostel 85.7% 4 reviews
Neptune's Villa
23.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Thai Dee Garden Resort
4.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 18 reviews
Thaniza Beachfront Resort
13.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lighthouse Resort
7.70 USD

Hotel 4 star 79.1% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

27 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fubar Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a 4 bed private room, it was very nice for such a cheap price on the main beach in Haad Rin

Disliked: The hostel is described as 30m away from the beach but the reception is closer but our rooms are a little further away, maybe 100m but still a good hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Staff is amazing. Everyone is like a big family. One of a kind!! Best location on Ko Phangan

Disliked: Nothing. It's fantastic.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tilman Resch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Tilman would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. If the dorm is crowded it's a great place to meet people

Disliked: Beds in dorm are quiet uncomfortable. The price is actually to high for what one gets (in case of dorm). The double room in comparison was pretty good!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had an awesome time here. Staff were very helpful and love showing travellers a good time. Richie, the kiwi owner is an absolute lad. It's really noisy and really loud, but an awesome atmosphere for young people to get amongst, best music on the island!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Parris Joyce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Parris would recommend this property

Liked: Fubar's location was ideal as it was right next the beach where the full moon party is held. The friendliness and how helpful the staff were, to offer advice on places to go and visit, made it all the more enjoyable. Also, the experience of staying in a dorm allowed you to meet some lovely people that you'll never forget! Last but not least the cooking was awesome! Best food I have had since coming to the islands of Thailand. It was all freshly prepared and was brilliant quality for the money you were paying (which wasn't a lot).

Disliked: Parris left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the full moon party. Staff in the main building is great. The staff in the back office was not very attentive or responsive.

Disliked: No real blankets. They were large towels. Also, when i moved in they said they don't clean your room unless asked. I asked three times and my room was never cleaned once.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, 30 seconds and your on the beach.

Disliked: 1 toilet per dorm and it wasnt cleaned the whole time we were there. Smell was really bad and ended up hosing down the toilet with a shower to freshen it up. Beds were very very hard and uncomfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

13 July 2013

Liked: Good location for Full Moon

Disliked: Gross bathrooms, really overpriced as most are around full moon - staff not very helpful or friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zoe Gray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Fubar is in the perfect location for the full moon. We stayed in a private room just a minute away from the actual hostel and it was perfect. You can all pre drink outside the private rooms and have a street party then go down to fubar before the beach. Everything felt safe in the room and rooms were clean. Ken's pizzas in the fubar bar are amazing def recommend trying them. Guy and Ritchie who run it are cool and very chilled out. I really enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: Zoe left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ollie Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Ollie would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved my stay here, really is a great location for the full moon. Place was clean, staff were helpful, atmosphere within the hostel was relaxing and a really good place for meeting new people. At night they pay some great music which I much preferred to the chart music played everywhere else. Thanks guys

Disliked: Nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was so close to the beach...amazing!

Disliked: toilet/shower a bit small but still ok actually :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Amer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 June 2013 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: From my first day! Both Guy & Ken were really welcoming & hospital. I like Fubar! The place is right near to the sunrise beach & cozy to gangout by day or night. I was glad to stay there more than 3 weeks. Also Guy is an awesome house music Dj & plays some of what became my favourite eargasmic tracks. If you are a party person! This is the place to be. On full moon stick around as much as you can, feel the aweaomeness of the pre-party and afterparty. Sneak to the beach in between but don't fall head first to the sand till 5 pm the next day ;) The hostel was always clean! I know so myself. Don't use & throw paper rolls to the bathroom cause it gets stuck & someone needs to clear it out yuck no one wants to be doing it. Anyway! Big love to the Fubar family. I'll be back. Egyptian NWO

Disliked: Nothing! Spead the love Fubar :)

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

30 May 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: Their website/ description is absolutely misleading. Private rooms are nowhere near main area. Filthy and sandy. Overpriced drinks. Staff is not friendly, the old Thai man they have working for them became angry with many of the guests for no reason. Nobody is actually in charge of anything. Just a big mess. Room was extremely hot (fan didn't work) and mosquitos were everywhere. The absolute worst!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 April 2013

Liked: Free wifi. Good location right next to Haad Rin beach.

Disliked: Not the cleanest of places. Quite often toilet paper wasn't replaced. DJ playing downstairs until 5am one night, dorm directly above it, so not good if you want to sleep. Small locker. Was only there during Half Moon so maybe didn't see it at its best but would recommend finding a hostel when you get there, as there are many more and better ones than you find online.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Moran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2013

Liked: This is the place to be if you are on the island for the full moon party, it is right next to haad rin beach which makes it ideal an ideal location for the party, the owners are not only some of the best djs on the island and will be playing most evenings to whatever the mood is but they are also more than heppy to do what they can to make sure you have a sick time whilst you stay with them.

Disliked: It can be loud on some of the busier nights if you don't want to go out but haad rin really isn't the place to go to just chill out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Andrew Meyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great people! Good for solo traveler. You will definitely meet people during the full moon party. It's a small hostel so everyone hangs out together from the hostel.

Disliked: Bathrooms left a lot to be desired, but you never really take off your swimsuit while on the island.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, Fubar has a prime location next to the beach and the parties, which makes it a perfect spot for travelers looking to party or to meet people. Secondly, both the owners and the staff at Fubar will treat you immediately as family. Both the owners and the staff are always eager to help you make the most of your trip. Joe and Guy are excellent DJs and their Monday sessions are quite popular with people loking for a change of pace from the top 40 blaring elsewhere. The restaurant at Fubar also serves excellent authentic Thai cooking (The local shop owners come here to eat!) as well as great western food (Ask Ken about the pizza, seriously). Thirdly, the accommodation is excellent for the price as well as offering extra luxury. The dormitory provide ample space as well as aircon running 24/7. Other options include a room with private bathroom. All showers have warm water. I found the bedding in my dorm to be more comfortable than a few other resorts and hostels in Haad Rin.

Disliked: Because of the great atmosphere in the lounge and it's location next to the beach and the action, it can become a bit noisy at night. Not ideal for the travelers who likes to go to bed early but perfect for those looking to experience the Ko Phan Ngan parties. Bring earplugs and you are fine, otherwise prepare to party at night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time here, really nice people were staying in the hostel. Guy and Joe are great DJs and play awesome tunes. They also know exactly where to send you for the best parties and sights. Will definitely come back guys!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, fun atmosphere

Disliked: Needs more bathrooms, staff often unavailable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its an awesome place to party and chill... great lounge!!! Joe, guy, mark and pit were very friendly and motivated! nice to met you guys!

Disliked: bathrooms could be more clean!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was very sociable and the staff were AMAZING. It was a fun place to party and chill. There's a tv with DVDs to choose from. For full moon location is great because it's so so near the beach (2 minutes) but not on the beach so the crowds arent too in your face. They do good cheap food and there is a laundry service. Beds aren't brilliant but good for the price which is relatively low compared to other hostels around full moon. They do a big party night on Monday which is fun.

Disliked: The showers weren't amazing but you can't really expect luxury from any cheap hostel in Thailand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Loved fubar. Didnt want to leave this place, the staff was absolutely amazing. They would do anything to ensure your happy. Location couldn't be any better, within crawling distance from sunrise beach. Definitely recommend fubar especially for full moon parties. Will be back for sure!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best place that I stayed in when travelling Thailand! When travelling solo it can be daunting rocking up to a new place and being alone and not knowing anyone. When I arrived at Fubar i literally had the best welcome I could have imagined. The staff are simply amazing, they make you feel so at home. Alice spent atleast 30 mins with me introducing me to everything and telling me about all the stuff that I could get up to, showing me wheres good to eat and pointing me in the right direction for epic sunsets! The hostel is basically sat on the beach, you can chill in their big hostel lounge and watch the waves come in. What more do you want? Chilling with a beer, watching the sea? This was a great place to meet people and was very easy to do so, everyone got on and had an amazing time. This made my experience at staying at Fubar (the place to be!) just perfect and I loved Koh Phangan when I was there, to the extent where I didn't want to leave to my next destination and just decided to stay another night - why not?! So yeah, get to Fubar! I would stay there again without a second thought. Wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere. If you are up for the party, chillaxing and meeting awesome people from all over the world, fubar is the best location. All i can say is enjoy! and i wish i was there again oh and get booking now before the rooms sell out!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 February 2012

Liked: Good location by the bach for the full moon party. Helful staff. Great buffet on FMP night

Disliked: A bit run down. Only 1 toilet for 16 bed dorm. DJ played ridiculously loud music til 5am every day - ok on FMP night but impossible to sleep any other time. Min 5 night booking and prices were far too high for the quality of the place

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ezra Hart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012

Liked: Near the beach so great for partners, meet a lot of fun people, just don't expect to ever sleep.

Disliked: pounding music at all hours of the night, overpriced, filthy showers, cockcroaches.