HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Joon Bungalows

Guesthouse | 147 Moo 1, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

80.3% Overall Rating

16 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2012)

"Joon Bungalows is situated right on the beach, the complex is small, friendly and very inviting."

Read all Joon Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Hard Road Cafe
5.65 USD

Hostel 87.7% 28 reviews
The Party Hostel
23.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Black and White Guesthouse
37.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Phangan Island View Hotel
42.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charung Bungalows
19.14 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Havana Beach Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Easy Life
9.10 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 66.4% 4 reviews
Jinda Bay Resort
12.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Joon Bungalows'

Atmosphere
87.4%
Location
81.1%
Facilities
77.9%
Cleanliness
70.5%
Staff
84.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
77.9%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Joon Bungalows is situated right on the beach, the complex is small, friendly and very inviting.

Disliked: My only dislike would be the cleanliness of the bathroom, it looked like it could do with a very good scrub!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is nice. A cool place with a nice bar if you want to play Crusoe. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: No sink in the bathroom that are not really clean. The bungalows are not well-kept and unfortunatelly, the beach in front of the resort is very swallow during the whole day. We had a beautiful room in a 4 stars resort just next to here for only 200 Bahts more.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Norman OUGIER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2012 Norman would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is wonderful and makes you feel at home! I was supposed to spend 4 or 5 days in KP at Joon Bungalow, I've finally stayed there during 20 days! I look forward coming back!

Disliked: Nothing!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so beautiful! Each bungalow had an own hammock , and the restaurant was really cool with tables so you cold sit on the floor, and hammocks everywhere. It was right on the beach with view over the sea. The staff were really nice and cute but not so good at english though.

Disliked: No sink in the bathroom and the food at the restaurant cost twice as much as the food in the city. And we had very much ants in our bathroom and a few lizzards. But what can you expect since it is a bungalow? Overall its really nice!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Le Limantour Benjamin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Le Limantour would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar, cool bungalows and the beach is just next to them. Easy access from the pier, 5 min with a taxi.

Disliked: Music a bit too loud during the night after 14 hours of plane, but it's koh phangan... "Hey, what did you expect!?" basic Toilets & showers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Fueting friederike

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 Fueting would recommend this property

Liked: perfect and breathtaking location, directly on the beach.

Disliked: the bathroom: no sink and dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... the staff are brilliant and so helpful. Such a relaxed atmosphere about the place and right on the beach.... Probably the best time we have spent in a hostel.. top class.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 September 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great. It's perfect for getting away from the hustle and bustle of Haad Rin yet it's only a short scooter ride anywhere. The deck over looking the beach is the most tranquil place to chill. You find yourself just drifting off into the view over the ocean. The staff are top notch. They go out of their way to please you and and to make your stay a memorable experience. Do yourself a favour - book a night and I bet you'll end up staying a week!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 August 2011

Liked: We liked the location. It was near a nice, very quiet , relatively clean beach. But, although it was good having this beach on the doorstep of where we were staying, the location in terms of the nearest town was not quite so good. The nearest town was about a 15/20 mins walk away... and had nothing decent in it. It was really quiet and just really didn't have anything of any interest there. And..er.. it was cheap.

Disliked: Well, the properties are hut like and they were not clean in the slightest. We knew we were staying in a very cheap accomodation, but I a least expected them to be clean. We actually ended up staying in two huts in the end, neither of which looked like they had had a good clean in a while. We found a squashed dead frog in one, and the property in general and bedclothes just did not seem clean. We stayed there three nights, had to ask for more toilet roll and no one really came to clean out bins etc.. until we had a problem. The problem we had in the first hut was that there seemed to have been a large rodent visitor that had been through our bins, eate some food and left droppings. My friend also saw something run across the hut floor the night before this happened. It wouldn't have been a problem, as we totally understood that we were living in hut, wih holes in it and not paying much for it. But... when we asked for help and reported what we saw, it wasn't really taken seriously and the lady who owned th place got quite angry at the situation. She was in complete denial and tried telling us it was either the cat (which cannot get through holes in the floor) or a gecko. Luckily however, a different lady who I think worked for her was very nice and went through the hut with us, listened to us, and then moved us to a different hut which we appreciated.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Camille Rayes

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011

Liked: Loved the view and the restaurant

Disliked: There was no sink in the room and there were holes under the doors so lots of cockroaches in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Remote and relaxing location. Bar and restaurant serving all day. Cool atmosphere. Not far from town.

Disliked: Nothing, everything great

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the most relaxing places we've been to on earth! The staff is so laid-back and helpful at the same time, and they play awesome music (psychedelic trance, jazz, everything ;)). The atmosphere is great, with all the banners and hammocks and pillows and lights... It's directly at a beautiful quiet beach, perfect to prepare for and relax after Fullmoon Party. Don't miss to swim to the left island you can see from the beach, it's beautiful. And check out the best fried rice in Asia ;)

Disliked: The beach is quite shallow. The city is a bit far, like 15 minutes to walk, but you have a little shop about 5 minutes nearby.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bryanna Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Bryanna would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice restaurant area with tons of hammocks, 10 minute walk from main street in thong sala, right on the beach so nice breeze and could hear the water at night, nice big private hut

Disliked: Beach is low tide most of the day so no swimming

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NICE BUNGALOWS NEAR THE SEA AND GOOD RESTAURANT/BAR TO CHILL OUT. STAFF IS NICE BUT WAKES UP AT 2 PM SO WHEN YOU CHECK OUT EARLY YOU CAN'T HAVE BREAKFAST OR ANYTHING. HAPPENED TO US. FOOD IS GREAT THOUGH.

Disliked: BEACH IS QUITE SHALLOW BUT GOOD TO CHILL OUT AND YOU CAN EASILY RUN A MOTORBIKE TO DRIVE TO OTHER BEACHES. THEY CHARGE YOU MORE WHEN YOU BOOK VIA HOSTELBOOKERS, IT IS BETTER JUST TO SHOW UP THERE. WE PAID 560 BAHT FOR THE SMALLEST BUNGALOW AND GUYS THAT JUST SHOWED UP HAD A BIG LUXURY ONE FOR 450. WEIRD THOUGH!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location right on the beach and only a short walk into town if you wanted anything. The beach was nice and the Staff were friendly. Nice place to stay and meet people and relax especially in the bar/common area

Disliked: nothing I would stay here again if I ever came back

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the ambiance, the chilly atmosphere and the nice people we met there

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David van Staalduinen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

28 September 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay here for the Full Moon Party, September 2010. Ann (owner) is a blast and won't ever try to rip you off. If you need anything, the staff are always ready to help out. The bungalows and restaurant/bar all face the sunset making for some unreal views! Located just minutes from the town of Thong Sala (which has everything you need), Joon bungalows is safely situated away from the craziness of Haad Rin. Expect some peace and tranquility, and if you want to party... haad rin is just 100 baht taxi ride away. The view from the bar is excellent!I'll stay here again.

Disliked: The only downside was that the ocean in front of the bungalows is quite shallow for a great distance. This didn't bother me much as there are other places to go on the Island if desired, but don't expect to take a dip in the ocean during low tide.