We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dancing Elephant

Hostel | 93/16 MOO 6 Baantai, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

91.1% Overall Rating

88 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"Great people staff and atmosphere, full moon was the best because of dancing elephant! Cant wait to return for the 3rd time"

Read all Dancing Elephant reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Minimum stay: 5 nights for full moon week Payments terms: 50% pre –payment for full moon week and the balance due on arrival * On receiving your booking we will send you an e mail requesting you to pre-pay 50% of the total booking amount. You can pay this amount using any credit card. No pre payment = no confirmed booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

HQ Hostel
1.09 USD

Hostel 93.1% 5 reviews
Tao of Love Hostel
4.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Moon Paradise Bungalows
12.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 6 reviews
Fubar Hostel
5.56 USD

Hostel 81.3% 36 reviews
Neptune's Villa
20.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Suncliff Resort
15.30 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Thai Dee Garden Resort
4.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 19 reviews
Gallery Dormitory
9.74 USD

Hostel 71.6% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

88 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dancing Elephant'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people staff and atmosphere, full moon was the best because of dancing elephant! Cant wait to return for the 3rd time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alysha Potter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2015 Alysha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the hostel procvides the best pre party. Free buckets were offered because we were in private rooms. Managers were always on hand to help with anything. Good social area to chill and lounge during the day.

Disliked: Was expensive for what it is however if you are here to party, then that's all that matters!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joe yates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2015 joe would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly the staff where amazing been living and working in hostels for the last 16 months all over Asia and Austrialia, and only a few can compete with the friendliest of the staff (unless it's the hostel I was working at). The atmosphere around this hostel was without doubt the best I have had on my travels, the people who stayed here probably made that but I am sure whenever you get there thecrowd will be good because everyone is there for a party at the end of the day. Say that the night life and pre parties at this hostel where unreal, in fact I would say they were better than the party's themselves. I will definitel be coming back to this hostel in the future

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best place ive stayed. Before or during full moon, such a fun atmosphere. Staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good time, and are extremely knowledgeable. They also genuinely care about their guests and will sort out anything and everything for you. Would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten McCulloch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel so far that I've stayed in! So social that it's impossible not to make friends. Eddie went out of his way to make sure my stay was so enjoyable and helped me out when I injured myself and made me feel at home. I highly recommend this hostel if you enjoy to party and meet new people.

Disliked: Kirsten left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Altug Simsek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

08 May 2015 Altug would recommend this property

Liked: I'm traveling alone for a long time, and in terms of the character, this hostel is definitely the best one I've ever stayed! I had so much fun for 5 days around full moon party, and met with so many crazy people. Everyday we did preparty together (very hard ones and famous on the island) and went to the beach. All of the managers are partying with you and forcing you to meet with people. Eddie, Johanna and Liam, I will miss you guys! I'll try my best to come next full moon again!

Disliked: Sometimes there are problems with internet, but all of the places near hostel have internet so you can easily connect from them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mia Kuleshov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2015 Mia would recommend this property

Liked: I can't say enough good things about the Dancing Elephant! If you want to party and have a great time on the island this is THE place to be, people staying at other hostels even wind up hanging out at the Dancing Elephant's bar and play drinking games.

Disliked: Mia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Brander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Third time I stay here! Most Amazing hostel in the World that Always has the best mix of people, male and female from all over the World. Staff is Amazing and makes you Always feel welcome. Best free parties Before the beach or other parties on the Island Always starts here in their private new bar. Very safe Place with lockers, guard at night and so many friendly people!

Disliked: Nothing, Can't wait to come back soon!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the most fun hostel i have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great social side, staff were all very helpful and friendly, good location.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

umair khan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 January 2015 umair would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere is great, and the owners are very friendly

Disliked: cost was a bit pricey for what was offered

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere. there is a bar next door where everybody gets together ( starting drinking/ drinking games before going out). can get loud, but hey its a party hostel and thats why you come:) the owners are nice and helpful and the rooms/ toilets/ showers clean. the 19 bed dorms design is a bit weird but ok. in the larger room you get more privacy:) GREAT STAY FOR FULL MOON PARTY!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, David, is really helpfull and a genuine nice guy! Gives you all the right advices to have a safe but also crazy party time.

Disliked: It's always loud from start of the evening. It has it's own bar and a lot of loud music always (almost no getting away from it). And believe me, after some 9am mornings it's nice to have a place which is quiet before starting the party again. Also it's fairly expensive, but so are all places near this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay! Stay in the 40 bed dorm, it's so much fun!! David and Andrew are lovely and very helpful, met some amazing friends here and would recommend to everyone!!

Disliked: Nothing but a variety if DJs would be nice, as they seem to love house/techno music.. But apart from that, loved everything about the hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay at this hostel. Good place to meet lots of people from other countries. Also, this hostel has crazy pre-parties before heading to one. Would totally recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the perfect hostel for the full moon party.

Disliked: Can be very empty when there is no big party coming up in the following days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Pennycook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 March 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: booking up for a 20 person dorm, I was not sure what to expect before arriving at Dancing Elephant, but as soon as my 2 friends and i got there a smile was put on our faces. The staff were great from the word go. The location is perfect with a party atmosphere on the street. The property is safe and secure for all your valuables and basically when you turn up here leave your worries at the door and prepare to have an awesome time!!

Disliked: There is nothing that I disliked about dancing elephant. As long as you don't turn up for the full moon party and think you're going to be able to get a quiet nights uninterrupted sleep you will have a great time. The place is always being cleaned and tidied by the staff and I genuinely couldn't ask for any better...cant wait to book my next stay!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close enough to haad rin beach for easy access but far away enough that you cannot hear the noise from the beach night. The staff pull out all the stops for full moon and the nights leading up to it. Great party atmosphere and very easy to meet people.

Disliked: Price was expensive for the full moon five days but I guess that would be the same for all the bigger hostels. My only real complaint is the amount of bathrooms, 4 toilets is not enough for 70 plus people, especially when one is broken.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I was sceptical before arrival about the big sized dorms, due to the layout it didnt bother. Lockers available, great huge tv's in 2 different rooms with large choice of (recent) movies ideal for recovering from the partys and friendly staf. Ask for a clean towel if you want one. The atmosphere in the run up to and during the full moon is great and the reason for me to recommend it. The place to meet people and make friends to experience the full moon with. Arrive 3 nights before the full moon (and pre partys such as pool party @ coral bungalows, jungle party, dont go to waterfall party). They also organize trips, such as boat trip and wipeout.

Disliked: A couple of really rude and unmannered people from England who were loud and noisy at times when people are sleeping, no dorm manners. Apart from that, didn't miss or dislike anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Becker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Raff is an amazing manger.

Disliked: The creepy gecko that watches you shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was kinda dreading the 40 bed dorm but it was actually pretty fun - everyone was really chilled inside and there was loads of space to party outside. Great staff and cheap buckets and they played triple j's hottest 100 for us on australia day.

Disliked: THe owener is pretty uptight, he'll literally pull your shoes off you if youre sitting on your bed with them, and you get locked out of your dorm room from 9pm till about 1am on some nights without any warning - cant even get in for water or to put stuff away.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly Stovold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Dancing Elephant is not only brilliantly located but also has great and very help-full staff who really care about their guests well being. Its a safe, fun place to stay and I highly recommend it!

Disliked: Molly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Hurrell-day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all amazing! David the owner was so friendly and he and his staff were always happy to help. Eddie and raff were great- 2 English staff who were always happy and helpful

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013

Liked: There's always a party going on and you can meet a lot of people.

Disliked: This is wayyyy to expensive for what it is. A bungalow on the beach will cost you about half of what they charged me here, and they don't have the ridiculous 7 night minimum. The dorms are either 19 or 40 beds so there's always some rude people in the room that are always disrespectful and loud, coming back drunk at 5am and waking everyone up. Also, you can't bring anyone back after partying which sucks. Some people were also getting their stuff stolen. Lastly, on half the days our bathroom had no water!!! Stay at a bungalow!!!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in the middle of the full moon party

Disliked: Secure lockers garded 24h but the dorm was open on the street with surveillance One of the guests in my dorm brought a prostitute to the dorm was seen by otjer guests but not asked to check out by management

The property's response is...