HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smile Beach Resort

Hostel | 64/31 Haad Salad, Koh Phangan, Suratthani Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

69.5% Overall Rating

107 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

Rebecca Semus thinks…

"Was right on the beach nice and quite. Is out of the way but that's what we wanted before the full moon"

Read all Smile Beach Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet café

Important Information

Cancellation Policy : You may cancel or amend your booking up to 72 hours before arrival, without cancellation charges. After this time Cancellation or no-show will be charged for total amount of booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Haad Lad Prestige Resort & Spa
20.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 79.4% 40 reviews
Lucky Resort
9.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mickey Hostel
22.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ling Sabai Bungalows
6.25 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 33 reviews
Haad Yao Bay View Resort & Spa
14.06 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Pinks Bungalows
5.93 USD

Guesthouse 55.0% 16 reviews
Long Bay Resort
21.86 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
J.B Hut
6.25 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.0% 120 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

107 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smile Beach Resort'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
68.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Boyd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Really quiet, relaxing bungalows. Just 2 minutes walk to the beach

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Semus

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Was right on the beach nice and quite. Is out of the way but that's what we wanted before the full moon

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 January 2014

Liked: Rooms are nice

Disliked: Staff and manager is rud and un helpfull. Power failures...

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for about a week. Rooms were basic but nice and clean, with hammock on a little porch. It's very relaxing. You shoud definetely try the restaurant, they cook very good - it was our favourite place to eat. Beach was only 2 minutes to walk.

Disliked: Tuncay left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Larry Kraus

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

25 November 2013

Liked: Nice quite bungalows at the northwest part of the island. On this side of the island you can find nice beaches. But if you want to party, besides full moon party, don't stay on this side of the island. Cause the party's are on the south part of the island.

Disliked: During our stay there was a couple days of heavy rain. In front of our bungalows was overflowed. Our neighbors parked there scooters in front of their bungalow and the water went al up till half of the scooter.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mark Hubee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013

Liked: proximity to the beach.

Disliked: extremely unhelpful and unfriendly staff, unable to carry out even the simplest request like asking for a new toilet roll without grunts and sighs and unhappy comments to their colleagues. don't expect any smiles at 'smile beach resort', expect to be treated like a nuisance instead. the rooms are rife with cockroaches, and the wifi is a complete rip off where a 40 baht card gets sold for 200 baht at the hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Major

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized privated bungalows were great. Had a fan which was fine for us and everything was pretty clean. Hammock on porch was lovely. Restaurant served good food. Easy access to computers and internet, though not particularly cheap.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Simon McGarry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the location is good if you want to get away from the party atmosphere.

Disliked: It was expensive (given it was high season) but I felt the Internet and international calls were very overpriced compared to other places. The Internet was 2 BAHT per minute and to phone the UK it was 30 BAHT per minute (it's a lot less using pay phones but there's none around). The road to the resort was also very muddy and there are no lights after hours to help you avoid sinking into the mud. If you purchase wifi (which was 250 BAHT for 600 minutes - even though the card said 40 BAHT - you can only use it in reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsie Macleod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Chelsie would recommend this property

Liked: We loved where Smile Beach resort was located... It was far enough away from Han Rin where all the craziness of the full moon party is so we were able to relax when we wanted! The resort is located very close to the beach and the beach that we stayed on was amazing, there were actually people coming to our beach from more expensive resorts because their beaches were terrible! The staff was very friendly and accommodating- we would leave our key at the front and our rooms would be spotless when we got back from the beach. There was a safe in the room that you can set the password yourself so it is very safe... If you stay at Smile beach resort I recommend diving with France Plonge, they are amazing, and also eating at the Had Salaad Villa restaurant.. the staff there is friendly as well :)

Disliked: Chelsie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked where we stayed in Haad Salad. The beach was just a 2 minute walk away and it was nice and quiet if you like that sort of thing. We ate at the Smile restaurant literally everyday and enjoyed it so much!! We went to other places but it wasn't as good as what they had at Smile. It is 200THB per person each way to go to the Full Moon Party but that's nothing for just one night out. If you like Haad Rin you could always get a moped and drive around the island to explore. A word of warning I do not recommend going to the bike shop directly in front of the Smile Resort. I hired a moped for 24hrs which was 200THB but they stung us with 11,000THB in damages to the moped. For the tiniest of scratches they will charge 400-600+THB for each tiny scratch they 'may' see. Just be careful, read the charges for any damages because once you have signed it, that's your contract. They will only take passports as deposits!! They should not be doing that. Bikes are cheap to buy but they are on an island.......That was the worst thing about our trip (not a complaint about the actual resort) Smile was pretty good!!! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near to the sea and the bungalows are nice.

Disliked: The room service is only every third day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marianne Alvarez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2012 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: The bungalows are nice and they offer a good variety of different types to choose from- A/C, fan, two people, large group. Definitely eat at the restaurant!! Blown away, actually, by the food! Sandwiches are to die for!!! Even our two dudes loved the tofu burger! And they don't usually "do" tofu. The beach here was absolutely beautiful!

Disliked: We were, like most people, on Phangan for the Full Moon party. The amount you pay for transportation to and from the ferry and then to and from the party surpass the amount you would pay to stay right on the beach in Haad Rin. Definitely stay here for a good time and a relaxing time with friends or family... or a romantic quite time. Not a good location for partying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elaine Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was located close to haad salad beach on the "quieter" part of the island and has quaint little bungalows that are just what is needed, they were reasonably priced and the staff were helpful and even found my phone which I didn't know I'd lost

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 October 2011

Liked: quiet and peaceful place

Disliked: room was not cleaned up once

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was only 3 mins from the beach.

Disliked: The air con and safe didn't work, and there was an ant infestation! That said, all were sorted quickly!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone had there own cabins

Disliked: Had to pay for the wifi internet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing price for a great room only a minute from a beautiful beach. And it was still a good location for the full moon party. It took 40 mins in a taxi but that was really fun as everyone was drinking and chatting on the way.

Disliked: The staff could have been better with booking taxis. You would think you were booked in there taxi and then they would say it was full and you didn't book. I wasn't a big problem as loads of taxis drove past on the road but it was just annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My entire stay was excellent.

Disliked: i could not see the beach from my banglow.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beach 2minute walk away. Helpful staff. Great place if u prefer a more relaxed chilled out stay.

Disliked: kept getting cockroaches in the room. Not much around the resort and a long way from had rin

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011

Liked: The salad beach is beautiful

Disliked: The location was alright.... the resort its self is not right on the beech and if your more intersted in partying than you will be dissapointed

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011

Liked: Haad Salad itself is nice and the beach is the best we've been to in Thailand. Restaurant serves nice food.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work but the staff are happy to sell you a 600baht card to use. In general staff were unhelpful and really didn't know what was going on, poor communication and management. The manager doesn't speak English but is the only person on reception most of the time so she has to go and get someone else everytime you speak to her. They messed up our room and we ended up changing 3 times. Most of them don't know how their own reservations systems works or how to use the wifi. There is one skinny guy who was good and had good English but he wasn't around much.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nigel O' Mahony

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Pick up and drop off service was very useful (allthough it was 150baht each way to the ferry point), aswell as tour desk for booking transport. Food was great, quick and generous. Beach was nice and quiet. Rooms were good for the price.

Disliked: A bit far away from the action (thats why we picked here though, so we could sleep after partying), but definitely not close enough for everyones liking.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Pelentrides

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norman Reisser

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2011 Norman would recommend this property

Liked: quit and really nice personal !

Disliked: nothing everything perfect !

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jemma cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011

Liked: Near the beach, quite spacious rooms

Disliked: Staff rude and unfriendly unless your purchasing food in their resturant or paying for internet. Guests arent allowed to watch tv half the time as managment are watching it. Talk about you in Thai to each other in front of you, couldnt feel more uncomfortable, so much for 'smiles'. Also overpriced due to xmas.