We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mai Pen Rai Bungalows

Guesthouse | Than Sadet Beach, Koh Pha Ngan, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

84.0% Overall Rating

47 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/01/2012)

"The view from the beach is absolutely stunning, I can only use perfection to describe such a place."

Read all Mai Pen Rai Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In Peak season from 20th December until 10th January, we require the remainder of the bill to be paid up front to secure the accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Utopia Resort Koh Phangan
6.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.0% 99 reviews
Pinks Bungalows
5.89 USD

Guesthouse 55.0% 16 reviews
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
9.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Malibu Beach Bungalows
28.95 USD

Hostel 82.1% 4 reviews
Haad Lad Prestige Resort & Spa
20.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 79.4% 40 reviews
Smile Beach Resort
5.27 USD

Hostel 69.5% 127 reviews
Lucky Resort
9.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mickey Hostel
22.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

47 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mai Pen Rai Bungalows'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful and the beach was wonderful

Disliked: It is cheap for a bungalow but keep in mind u have to pay AT LEAST 200 baht one way to get anywhere. So far and so far out of the way ... For the money u save staying there it isn't worth it because ts so far and expensive to get anywhere. Also the drinks and food are expensive at Mai pen Rai but u have no choice because there isn't anything else close at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty view!!!

Disliked: Our toilet didn't work the entire two nights we were there ...so we had to use the toilet next to the front desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the beach is absolutely stunning, I can only use perfection to describe such a place.

Disliked: It is a little secluded, but the trade off was well worth it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: on a beautiful beach, removed from hustle and bustle of the towns, excellent restaurant, really helpful staff, good atmosphere!

Disliked: only problem was they said the showers were warm but they were always cold, other than that nothing else negative!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jessica Frazier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is the beautiful fantasy beach it claims to be, you couldn't get more character than this, in magical little beach huts. But...

Disliked: People need to be aware that this is very isolated - there is no shop, no regular transport, patchy internet. If you wanted to see the island, you won;t be doing it easily from here. Gazing at the sea is the order of the day...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikki Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 June 2011 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful bungalows built on the side of a mountain in a quiet area away from all the crazy busy party areas, although they do offer both car and boat taxis to and from most parts of the island. The staff were lovely and always friendly, the food is tasty and cheap and it was such a relaxing place we stayed an extra 3 nights.

Disliked: Make sure you pack insect repellent, although they provide nets for the beds if you attract mosquitoes half as much as me it's a good investment.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cayl Garrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 June 2011 Cayl would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place. We stayed here for the full moon party. They have a private boat that goes at 730 and 1030 to the party and return around 230 and 830am. I have stayed at over 100 hostels and this one had the best character and vibe by far. Cool chill place right on the beach. It is in the middle of now where but after and before the full moon you will need some R&R. I would say again. The rooms on the rocks are by far the best. Awesome!

Disliked: Its very remote but one you get there is awesome!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's like paradise

Disliked: location is far away of anything, but that's the good point too, you can be alone and feel so free

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Off the beaten path and remote.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic variety of accommodation options, my personal favourite being "on the rocks". Waking up to a panoramic vista of the sea and the sound of waves crashing on the big round boulders below was simply stunning. Tjhe beach was fantastic and the main restaurant area just superb. Not for party animals, but definitely for those who want to get away from it all.

Disliked: Very little. The bathrooms were great with flushing toilets and good pressure shower, the bed was perhaps a bit hard but otherwise great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ideally situated and the staff are all incredibly and genuinely friendly.

Disliked: It's a bit of an unsafe walk up to the bungalows on the rocks but it makes for a good conversation starter and an interesting start to the day when getting to the restaurant/cafe in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

noa tsaushu

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

27 December 2010 noa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. You couldn't ask for a more perfect beach.

Disliked: The bungalows were too minimal for me- the mattress was rough and no hot water. Also, it is not completely sealed so there are local lizards (Gecko) visiting constantly. For me that was a big minus because I'm afraid of reptiles and insects.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the beach is reachable by their cheap taxi service but the road there is very bumpy. the beach is very secluded. a very romantic place to stay. the power gets turned off after midnight and depending on where your room is this can be a problem as your fan wont work and you might not have adequate ocean breeze coming in. overall i'd highly recommend it though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Wibbels

08 December 2009 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were so helpful and friendly.like a home away from home. the food was amazing, fresh coconuts from the tree outside your door! the views were spectacular. i had a bungalow on the beach, but the view from hillside bungalows was amazing as well. it's a little bit warm at night because the generator shuts off at eleven, but you can open your windows to let in the ocean breeze because they provide full mosquito netting enclosures. i'm definitely going to recommend this resort to others, mostly because of the atmosphere. kate and steven were especially wonderful.

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay so long as your aware it's very secluded and involves some offroad driving to get there... but if you want to get away from it all it's perfect. Chill out pre/post full moon party, and staff were excellent and very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendal Rolley

07 October 2009 Kendal would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hidden gem. Everything about it is fantastic in every single way. If you're looking for a luxury resort, this is not for you. If you are looking for a great place to stay and relax and maybe do a few activities, this is perfect. Lovely beach, great staff, cheaps as chips.

Disliked: Kendal left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andre Maciejewski

10 September 2009 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome, unfortunately the employees are a little bit unfriendly

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to relax with excellent bungalows and beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic beach! Best on Koh Phangan. We stayed in bungalows on the rocks, the sea lapping right underneath our room. Beautiful, stunning, couldn't recommend it more. If you want partys however go elsewhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place tho very quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was far from anything, which is why we chose it and the scenery was beautiful. There were a few restaurants and two bars, all serving great food and fantastic chilled out music. A really relaxing resort.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 February 2009

Liked: i did like the beach and how it was untouched. the beach huts where nice but smelly??????

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elecia Douglas

19 January 2009 Elecia would recommend this property

Liked: the location - beautiful bungalows, right next to the sea. for a traveller seeking peace and quiet and a break from the mayhem down the south of the island, this place is perfect.if you're looking to go to full moon party though - its agggeees away. but they provide a taxi service for you. the staff too were lovely!

Disliked: Elecia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antony Bradshaw

18 December 2008 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location away from the main strip but perfect beach and views from the bungalow

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHRISTOPHER MUIR

16 October 2008 CHRISTOPHER would recommend this property

Liked: The most beautiful place i found in Thailand, so far removed from the hustle and bustle off all the touristy areas which tarnish Thailand so badly. Absolutely loved it

Disliked: CHRISTOPHER left no negative feedback.