We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lanta House

Guesthouse | 197/7 M1 Saladan, Koh Lanta, Koh Lanta, Thailand 81150

88.7% Overall Rating

63 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/04/2015)

"This place is great value for money. The private single was big and comfortable with a fan and a clean floor. The staff are really nice family. This was close to restaurants and travel agents as well as the dive shops…"

Read all Lanta House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy: - must be notified to the Lanta House by writing in advance 48 hrs before original arrival date, otherwise the cost of cancellation at 1 night will be charged and cannot be refund or waived. - Guest must settle the full payment covered the period of staying before check-in. - Early Check-out will be charged full period of your stay - No Show will be charged 1 night of your staying

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Lanta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Lanta

Lanta Riviera Resort
7.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 6 reviews
Sincere Guest House & Restaurant
13.41 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 29 reviews
Lanta Garden Home
10.43 USD

Hostel 76.3% 112 reviews
Chaw-Ka-Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
27.57 USD

Hotel 93.2% 8 reviews
Ocean View Resort
22.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Non La Mer Hostel
8.34 USD

Hostel 88.7% 21 reviews
Let it Bee Econo Hostel
4.47 USD

Hostel 90.0% 8 reviews
THE METALLIC
8.34 USD

Hostel 95.0% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

63 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lanta House'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great value for money. The private single was big and comfortable with a fan and a clean floor. The staff are really nice family. This was close to restaurants and travel agents as well as the dive shops which is the reason I went to Lanta.

Disliked: Good value, would definitely stay again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew oldham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and close location to port. Amazingly friendly owners could not help enough.

Disliked: Quite thin walls meant it could be noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chiara martin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 February 2015 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse Is very clean And cheap owners are so nice and help fil

Disliked: Chiara left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming family at front desk, and free tea/coffee in the morning, plus nice extras like towels, shampoo, book swap and use of fridge/kettle toaster. Nice style in rooms and furniture to store your bits and pieces. Classy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mai dinh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 mai would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, neat

Disliked: Thin walls

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest place for a room on the island. Amazingly friendly owner couple. 30 seconds walk to the food stands in Saladan.

Disliked: A bit far from the beach (walkable, but still a 15-min walk)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Leventon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners (no staff they run it themselves and live on the ground floor). Very good value for money, free water is a bonus (along with free toothpaste/shampoo/conditioner/wash gel). The location is really easy from the ferry landing point, great after a long journey here. Free bike hire! I'd say perfect for a first day or 2 on Koh Lanta!

Disliked: As said it's potentially noisy in the rooms, though that's lot luck on other guests behaviour (bring ear plugs). Location is away from the main area of Long beach but in season should be lively, if a little pricey for the immediate bars/restaurants. No security boxes or safe in room, or downstairs not ideal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value. We booked the AC room and it wad super clean and comfy. Owners are very nice and helpfull. They live in yer hostel. Included free coffee and test and drinking water plus s shared fridge and cutlery, which is not something you often see.

Disliked: Walls are paper thin. But there are signs telling you to be quiet after 10 so if everyone obeys its OK. Don't yay to sleep before then.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jamie Ross

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly, good location to ferry, clean.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lanta house is the best adress to discover Koh Lanta! The team is very friendly and helpful. Very attentious! The rooms and bathroom are always clean. They have motorbikes to rent and also bicicles to lend. This guesthouse is highly recommended...”

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the colour of the building!

Disliked: we extended our stay before we arrived after reading good reviews so we stayed here 12 nights,had to pay up front so couldnt leave,silly mistake! , hostel is very noisy, walls are very very thin, don't hire their mopeds, we hired one for the day, got ten minutes down the road and the tyre blew out,had to pay for a new tyre as didn't want to push back, you can get surprisingly far in ten minutes!would not refund us, said the tyre was new, the garage that changed it said it was that old it prob had never been changed as it was so difficult to get off, brakes also didn't work but never mentioned that as he would have probably charged us for that too!!also were told to confirm our booking which we did, twice, the day before we arrived we were on a 15 hr train from bangkok to trang, when the owner of the hostel sent us an email saying to once again to confirm for a third time our booking or he would give it away due to busy period!why may i ask when i have already done this twice, and paid a deposit, and how when im on my way there by train with no internet!honestly, spend a pound more and look elsewhere closer to the beach , less noisy with safer bikes!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff at reception with good English. The place is very clean and even smells nice. A lot of signs and rules displayed around the place must work as people are very quiet. Bathroom cleaned regularly. Free bicycles provided on first come first served basis. Free tea and coffee. Very close go the port and any restaurants.

Disliked: No window in my room, so no fresh air. Although they claim to provide basic toiletries in dispensers - shampoo and soap were watered down and there was no toothpaste. Don't advertise if it's not there, even if it's free!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Turro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are really nice persons. The place is really nice for the price you pay and in the middle of a nice town. I would recommend it for sure

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Olesinska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities; the bathroom has soap, shampoo, conditioner and toothpaste dispensers. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean. Great value for money. It's also right beside the pier so you don't need to carry your bag far if you're coming from the ferry!

Disliked: We were some of the only guests, so it was nice and quiet, but if it was filled with more inconsiderate people, it might've been hard to sleep and waiting for the bathroom would've been annoying. You can literally hear someone cough in the next room. The location isn't great for going out, but Lanta is small enough that if you rent a motorbike you can see everything you want. They have motorbikes but they are VERY stiff and old, so I don't recommend renting from them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goog location for diving and food, nice rooms, good aircon

Disliked: only one toilet per floor, walls are really thin!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap for having your own room, free coffee and water

Disliked: Shared bathrooms weren´t good. There are only three and the one on fourth floor hardly had any water pressure. The Beach was too far away

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and clean, what else matters? Okay, the staff was a bit too quiet, it was hard to get much information out of them - but I would recommend it to everybody.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karla Bailey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice communal area to relax in. Wifi available. Free coffee/tea in for breakfast. Mossie net.

Disliked: Bit expensive for what it was. No option to book a single room so ended up paying for 2 people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, cleanliness, responsiveness of the staff.

Disliked: Some of the guests do not observe the request to gently close doors and speak quietly (because the walls connecting the rooms are not soundproof).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near seafood, clean, affordable, friendly staff

Disliked: Steep stairs so not conducive with luggage

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Leon Pelling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms had a nice feel to it. WiFi in rooms. Close to shops and restaurants

Disliked: Not very clean, no laundry service. Went to drink from their glasses and had ants crawling around.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Beirne

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

06 December 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not enough natural light in rooms. Rooms not cleaned frequently enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Zhernosenko

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

30 November 2012 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good location. Free tea and coffee.

Disliked: Olga left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very comfortable stay, room was basic but good value for rmoney. Located next to the pier,and lots of restaurants. Free internet use on their computer too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clayton Weir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are amazing & so helpful. Close to anything you need & the ferry. Cheap scooter rental from hostel. Good WiFi. Free water, tea & coffee all day. Free toiletries for your stay. EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY!

Disliked: Fan room is hot & bathroom smells a bit. A little far from the good beaches.