We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lanta Thip House

Guesthouse | 361 moo 2, klongkhong Beach, Saladan Koh LANTA Koh Lanta, Thailand 81150

89.7% Overall Rating

26 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/01/2014)

Kieron Snow thinks…

"The staff were excellent and very helpful, the location is a little way out from the main shopping and restaurant drags but vehicle rental is available at a decent price. Nearest beach is only a 5…"

Read all Lanta Thip House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Lanta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Lanta

Amantra Resort & Spa
76.27 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Peaceful House
35.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
I-Yarade Suite Residence
86.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Pilanta Spa Resort
61.63 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alif Apartment
15.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
THE METALLIC
10.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Let it Bee Econo Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Non La Mer Hostel
14.79 USD

Hostel 91.3% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

26 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lanta Thip House'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 26 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mrs Thip was a lovely character, so sweet, and in general was really nice stay

Disliked: We have issues with the rental motorbike tires, so pls check prior taking as we had to pay for somthing that was not our fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the wonderful staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debbie Loader

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and welcoming! Made to feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kieron Snow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014 Kieron would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and very helpful, the location is a little way out from the main shopping and restaurant drags but vehicle rental is available at a decent price. Nearest beach is only a 5 minute walk, you could find you are the only ones there although with a couple of rustic beach bars. The room was spacious and all fixtures and fittings were of a high standard. Would stay here again and fully recommend.

Disliked: The distance to the main tourist streets were the only downside for me but there are plenty of taxis and the motos on offer were in excellent condition.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Rowlands

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Was such a releif to stay here after phi phi . It was clean, quiet and cool. Owner is extremely helpful lady who arranges everything from transport,scooter/motorbike hire and excursions. Scooters can be rented from 200-300 baht so don't let location worry u, plenty of brilliant beaches and restraunts within minutes on scooter.. Really nice place.

Disliked: Eh not much, only negative is its not near beach, but hiring scooters is an essential to get anywhere on the island so u need one anyway.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and well-kept and the owner is super nice and helpful. There is also a small restaurant in the guesthouse with great shakes and breakfast. The owner can also help to arrange motorbike rentals (strongly advised) and other tours.

Disliked: The location is not bad if you have a motorbike and want to see the island but if you mainly want to go to the beach and preferably to the same it is not that great since its a bit of a walk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and safe and the food was lovely. The lady who runs this guest house is so friendly and helpful and goes out of her way to offer assistance and help to everyone.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe. Hostess is absolutely amazing, best in Thailand. Beach is 5 min walk. We thought to stay 5 nights but took 3 more. I recommend.

Disliked: Can not think any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adeline gimenez

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2012 adeline would recommend this property

Liked: La propriétaire et ses employés sont très gentils et acçueillant. Elle s'est proposée de soqp de notre transfert pour krabi et avec un prix très intéressant! Et les petits dej sont super bon!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julie Lespourcy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice. Really clean environment. 5 min from the beach by scooter which is nice cause it makes you go out more and explore. We stayed one week more. Koh Lanta is really great for a quiet escapade.

Disliked: No pool but that's okay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent guest house. Very friendly staff who are able to organise motorbike hire, cooking courses and travel/tour packages at good prices. Very clean (change of towels etc everyday) and safe and secure (includes room safe in each room). Located 5 min walk to Klongh Kongh beach, but motorbike hire (250 baht/day) is a must on Koh Lanta in order to get around to other beaches and restaurants. Would definately stay here again.

Disliked: We didn't have a problem as we hired a motorbike to get around, but if your not comfortable with this then getting around via tuk tuk will be difficult and more expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great fresh Juice!

Disliked: It is far from restaurants and shops.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Camilla Støylen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Camilla would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Camilla left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Sleight

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

10 December 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing!!!!! Love this place, we are staying 2 extra nights. The staff are great so nice and helpful, they offered honest (and accurate) advice on trips etc. Beautiful clean room with huge bed good size bathroom and balcony. Maid service daily, what a luxury for backpackers!!

Disliked: Its a little far out but not a problem as we hired scooters, i havent got anything bad to say!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is exactly as others have said; the place is modern, clean and tidy. The staff are very polite and helpful. They also rent out a decent scooter, a great way to see the island. The breakfast offering was also great.

Disliked: The location is not great. Its 5 minutes walk to the nearest stone beach, and 10 to a sandy one but thats very rocky and has no facilities. We ended up walking about 20 - 25mins to Klong nin beach which is amazing and totally chilled. None the less we'd stay there again for sure, just rent a bike or ask them to arrange a taxi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Fox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: nothing,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aaron weedon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 aaron would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hotel that is easy to find and close to everything but far ennough away from it for peace and quiet too. It is on a mian road but is suprisingly quiet. the rooms are a good size and are very comfortable. With a motor bike you can get around the island easily. The hotel is on the west of the island and about halfway down.

Disliked: no pool

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Dowie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Was only a 5 minute walk from the beach and was so much cheaper and better quality than the places actualy on the beach. Also the owner is so nice, very helpful even though she was on her own as her staff had just left

Disliked: is just outside of the nearest village so unlss a bike is hired hae to walk 10 mins for food etc, also walking home in the dark is annoying due to local driving customs!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly nice and helpful staff, clean and cozy rooms and the lounge café. Staff ordered a taxi for us whenever we needed. It's also possible to rent a motorbike from the hostel.

Disliked: Location wasn't the best, it was little walk (5 minutes to a rocky one, few minutes more to a sandy one) to the nearest beach and all services had to be reached by taxi or motorbike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, lovely showers. room cleaned every day and fresh towels and water

Disliked: location,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful, familiar, delicious food best coffee

Disliked: everything fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the guesthouse is like a hotel. indeed a value for money! very clean and the veranda view was spectacular! plus, thip was such a nice lady, very accommodating and offered us personalized service.

Disliked: the location is quite far from the beach and the dining places. but, what's good is that the guesthouse is located in a very cozy and peaceful area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina fabiani

24 April 2010 christina would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing place, super clean and very modern, brand new building so eveything is in great condition. They offer discounted moped rental for guests and an amazing breakfast at low price. The owner Thip is incredibly sweet and will help you with everything. We had only booked for one night but ended staying four because this is a top notch hotel at hostel prices on the best Thai island. Would definately recommend this place to everyone on every budget, it is worth every penny.

Disliked: christina left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

08 February 2010

Liked: It's clean, that's it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Gallagher

26 January 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nicest I have ever met! The room that we stayed in was clean, modern, with a/c and tastefully done.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.