We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cliff Cottage Bungalows

Campsite | 108 Moo1, Ko Chang Island, Trat Province Koh Chang, Thailand 23170

82.5% Overall Rating

96 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/12/2013)

"Accommodation as described, very very basic, but can't complain for the price. Great views, quiet location and good chilled restaurant area."

Read all Cliff Cottage Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Chang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Chang

Sofia Garden Resort
7.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.9% 10 reviews
Pajamas Koh Chang Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Noren Resort
18.49 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Panviman Resort Koh Chang
141.75 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Paradise Cottage
6.16 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 5 reviews
Exotic Bungalows
10.02 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Lonely Beach Resort
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 71.9% 6 reviews
Asia BackPackers Koh Chang
3.08 USD

Hostel 86.6% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

96 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cliff Cottage Bungalows'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 99 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodation as described, very very basic, but can't complain for the price. Great views, quiet location and good chilled restaurant area.

Disliked: If you don't get a taxi to the hotel make sure you literally keep the water to your left when arriving. The shortcut 7mins, following the road 30mins in the heat with a backpack! The money you save on accommodation goes on the expensive hotel restaurant. There are cheaper places on the pier or if you travel to another beach area by motorbike or cheap taxi ride. The toilets are not close to the basic bungalows (and mostly unclean).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Abdollahi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: a/c, peace, beautiful location

Disliked: Far to walk, wifi only in reception-restaurant

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Bren

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 April 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing amazing amazing beautiful place, amazing staff especially Nim and Shaun the owner is so great and helpful, quiet, almost untouched paradise with great food, snorkeling, diving or just great 4 relaxing.5 star place 4 fraction of the cost would stay 4ever if we could

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dean woodham

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 March 2013 dean would recommend this property

Liked: Best kept secret in Thailand and a place I have stayed with on many occasions and always felt like home away from home ! Pst,, Don't tell anybody as I don't want it to change !!!!!! However if your looking for a Loud Party or a lively place don't come here ! This is for people looking for a relaxing and peaceful time with fellow travellers who enjoy and respect that !!

Disliked: Nothing ,,,,,,,,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a beautiful location. I loved that the deluxe bungalows had amazing air con!! So beautiful!

Disliked: Nothing. It was honest about what it was.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location on Koh Chang, beautiful view to the sea with sunrise and sunset, very quiet place for chilling out and meeting nice people from all over the world, very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: The food is ok but too "expensive" (instead of the restaurants in Bang Bao), the sanitary area needs a restoration

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

garth tiley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 garth would recommend this property

Liked: stunning ocean views of sunrise and sunset. a sweet bar with hammocks and sofas and cute animals running around. really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: cold showers but it is asia

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Mack Ressler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012

Liked: Pretty sunset, not too far from fishing village, free pool next door.

Disliked: Steep concrete stairs to get to bungalows, ants crawled on you in bed, food was bland and overpriced (apart from baguettes) staff gave the feeling they just couldn't be bothered or you were inconveniencing them. The cove was rocky and I cut myself twice in 2 days on the sharp rocks, the taxi was expensive for a 10 minute walk you could do it free! We had a gecko in our room which pooped all over our mosquito net and worried us for getting sick. The shower was broken and the old empty bottles weren't cleaned out of them. We had to provide our own lock for the door or pay more money for one, we had to make a hole in the mosquito net to put the wire of the fan through or we couldn't feel the fan at all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012

Liked: it was quite relaxing, nice view over the sea, near to a little village

Disliked: the cottage was full of animal poop

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rob Frankenberger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012

Liked: Good views from cottages on cliff. Nice owner and staff. Good food, although a bit pricey.

Disliked: Clifftop bungalows were very basic old shacks and mosquito nets were covered in bird (or other small animal) feces so the room smelled bad. Snorkeling in the rocky bay is a bit dangerous and not very scenic. Bathrooms are at the bottom of the hill next to the kitchen and while clean they smelled badly of sewer odor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: The huts are overpriced at 400 bath

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Håkan Hägglund

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2012 Håkan would recommend this property

Liked: Cliff Cottage is all about value for money. It's insanely cheap and the fan bungalows are really simple huts. The location is great close to the bang bao fishing village and they got pretty good snorkeling just outside the bungalows. Great staff that's polite and forthcoming in helping. Cliff Cottage can also book about everything you want to do on the island and arrange transportation to it.

Disliked: Nothing really. Really good value for it's price. People who want really good comfort should look elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philipp schleicher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 philipp would recommend this property

Liked: This must have been the best accommodation I have ever been to. I stayed in a bunglow on the top of the cliff. I actually didnt realize at the evening I arrived but when I woke up the next morning I opened the door of my bungalow and saw the ocean in front of me. This place is far away from all the resorts in the north of the island. This place is the real thing. Do not waste your time in resorts. Sean the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Whenever he has time he drops you to the nearest beach, but you can also walk there easily.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paloma Montes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Placed in a beautiful bay, quiet and peaceful. We stayed in a bungalow in front of the sea, where we could see the sunset every evening, awesome. The common area is in front of the bay and has hammocks and coushins, with free wifi. The place is very clean. Just perfect. Less than 10min walking to Bang Bao Village, where you can find cheap motorbikes for rent (150 THB) and cheap local restaurants with really good food.

Disliked: The bar/restaurant is a little bit overpriced if you have a reduced budget as us, but taking breakfast there with the nice views is worth it. You can go to the village to have dinner at very good prices.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting built into the cliff, friendly and helpful new owners (good luck, Shuan and Nam!), friendly dogs, feels truly remote and relaxing. The lounge/restaurant is really a wonderful place to hang out, have a beer, and talk to others. You'll end up wanting to stay longer and not even realize a day of doing nothing could go by so fast.

Disliked: The huts are indeed very rustic, Shuan said new mattresses were being delivered the day we checked out but the mosquito nets have a bunch of holes in them and there was a problem, you can ask the staff to spray around the hut with insect repellent (we had a problem with fire ants one night). Don't do your laundry here. At 50 baht/kg it was the most expensive we'd seen in Thailand, they just sent it down the road to a house that advertised laundry at 30 baht/kg (we saw our clothes hanging outside), and the clothes came back smelly and not any cleaner than beforehand. Over a week later and our bags still stink!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

roderick baser

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 roderick would recommend this property

Liked: The great location with an emphasis on tranquility and calm. The staff were very friendly and helpful plus the new management ( present owners took over 1st. march ) have replaced all the old matresses and mosquito nets.

Disliked: Some people thought the menu a little expensive but we found it comparable to any restaurant with similar comfort levels and view. You could eat cheaper at roadside cafes ( of course )

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mathias Paul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a very nice common area to chill out and meet other travellers.

Disliked: nothing in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luciana de Oliveira Fayet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing! The bungalows are in front of the sea, the view is awesome and the restaurant atmosphera is really nice. The staff is kindly, the owner is always around to help, free wifi... the bungalows are basic and the bathroons are really clean and new. they rent motorbike and the owner give good advices. I REALLY recomend this place. There is little things I didnt like it but wasnt a problem.

Disliked: The food is expensive, but the village is 5 minutes walking, and my bungalow wasnt very clean. I found a plastic bag and a empty bottle under the bed. Its far from the beach, 25 min walking, but if you plan hire a motorbike its not a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As promised, calm and quiet place with no people partying etc. Which was the kind of place we were looking for.

Disliked: There was only one eletricity soccet in bungalow, so we had to buy a joint box with local socket type. Without it would have been difficult to move fan to better place to make it blow more efficiently.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was out of the madness and situated in a beautiful bay which had lovely snorkeling and a great atmosphere. You just wanted to lay in a hammock all day watching the sea and sky.

Disliked: I disliked nothing. The bungalows are basic and this is described well by the owner so do yourself and the place a favor and read the discription and see if this is the kind of place that fits you. I loved it!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was beautiful and quiet very different from the rest of the Island. The sunsets each night were amazing!

Disliked: The toilets are down many stairs which gets a bit tedious and the menu does not have many vegetarian options.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the views are amazing from the huts. it's a very calm and peaceful place to stay. the staff and owner especially are very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: the food is not great for how much it costs, you're better going elsewhere to eat...it will be cheaper and tastier

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful views, location & quiet

Disliked: Not a lot

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place with beautiful view (sunset as well as sunrise)! The huts and the facilities are very basic and it feels indeed a bit more like camping than a resort bungalow but for people who do not have a problem with that it is a wonderful place! The bay and ocean were nice. Since only guests of this property are using the bay, it is very quiet and calm there - perfect spot to spend some relaxing days (party-seekers should consider another place). The small village and the jetty are only a small walk away (max. 10 min), however during the night it is quite dark so bring a flashlight.

Disliked: Restaurant is heavily overpriced (more than double of what you have to pay in town).