HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Sam's House Guesthouse

14/1 Maenamkwae Rd, Tumbon Thamakam, Amphur-Muang, Kanchanaburi, Thailand

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 75%

Location 89%

Safety 84%

Staff 66%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kanchanaburi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 75%

Location 89%

Safety 84%

Staff 66%

Value 80%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very rustic travelling experience, the Huts above the water look beautiful at night.

Disliked: AC was a bit temperamental, was either freezing cold or didn't really work and there was only a silk bedsheet. Could do with some blankets tucked away somewhere in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to the main Street. Cute, clean little bungalows. Good, free wifi. Taxi services, motorbike rental, mini busses to Bangkok, organised tours.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff. Dodgy powerpoints couldn't keep out phones charged. Power plugs just fall out as soon as we plug something in. Had to take our phones to a bar to charge.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The huts that we stayed in on the River Kwai were full of character, unique and quirky. There's a great family atmosphere and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend it in an instant.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice place. Clean rooms, decent bathroom and good location, on the main tourist street but far away enough from the load music bars.

Disliked: No dorms and the social area wasn't used much whilst we were staying which was a shame. However after we left for another place we met a load of people in bars who had moved into Sam's house, typical!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location convenient for train station and local buses.

Disliked: Very quiet and no atmosphere. Room was dirty and filled with mosquitoes.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a nice enough little place, relatively good value for money and a fairly central location. Staff were helpful and you can rent bikes or scooters just outside it. Bathroom a little tired, but functional.

Disliked: Dogs barking outside in middle of the night, but not the end of the world really.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Value for money. If you just need a place to sleep in Kanchanaburi, this is it.

Disliked: My only gripe about it is that there are too many mosquitoes in the area. Can't be helped though, we were surrounded by loads of greenery.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not sure why the bad comments.. We paid for the Jusmin hut..huge room..huge bed,balcony, bath. Mosquitos and ants but its on the river what do you expect? Friendly staff (Debbie and another Thai lady both very helpful and gave lots of advice) and there were staff on reception 24/7. Quiet but perhaps because of low season. Nice breakfast, not slow! Stay here if you are open minded and want a new experience! You get what you pay for so if you pay the lower price then it's going to differ to the more expensive.

Disliked: No house cleaning during our stay (stayed for3 nights) so our rubbish bins got full and ran out of toilet paper

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the location- thats it!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Sams house. It is positioned perfectly to see all the highlights of Kanchanaburi and Sam and his staff go out of their way to help you and have us some great advice on how to travel like a local on the cheap. The rooms are perfectly comfortable, we stayed in Sky and everything wa great. If I was to be picky I would ask for a clothes rail as we were there for 4 nights so would have been nice to settle a bit more. The feel is homely with pets and children common visitors on the grounds. I would highly recommend SAMs house.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability