HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sam's House

Guesthouse | 14/2 Mooh 1, T. Thamakarm, A. Muang Kanchanaburi, Thailand 71000

73.3% Overall Rating

79 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

"This is a nice enough little place, relatively good value for money and a fairly central location. Staff were helpful and you can rent bikes or scooters just outside it. Bathroom a little tired, but functional."

Read all Sam's House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kanchanaburi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kanchanaburi

Royal Riverkwai Resort & Spa
24.26 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Ban Sabai Sabai Guest House
4.69 USD

Guesthouse 96.1% 8 reviews
Little Heaven (Thailand) Homestay
18.78 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
Sam's Jungle Resort Guest House
6.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Oh Dee Hostel
18.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Cedarberg Three Pagodas Pass
9.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

79 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sam's House'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
57.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 77 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jamie Soong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. If you just need a place to sleep in Kanchanaburi, this is it.

Disliked: My only gripe about it is that there are too many mosquitoes in the area. Can't be helped though, we were surrounded by loads of greenery.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice enough little place, relatively good value for money and a fairly central location. Staff were helpful and you can rent bikes or scooters just outside it. Bathroom a little tired, but functional.

Disliked: Dogs barking outside in middle of the night, but not the end of the world really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not sure why the bad comments.. We paid for the Jusmin hut..huge room..huge bed,balcony, bath. Mosquitos and ants but its on the river what do you expect? Friendly staff (Debbie and another Thai lady both very helpful and gave lots of advice) and there were staff on reception 24/7. Quiet but perhaps because of low season. Nice breakfast, not slow! Stay here if you are open minded and want a new experience! You get what you pay for so if you pay the lower price then it's going to differ to the more expensive.

Disliked: No house cleaning during our stay (stayed for3 nights) so our rubbish bins got full and ran out of toilet paper

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

George Orton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Sams house. It is positioned perfectly to see all the highlights of Kanchanaburi and Sam and his staff go out of their way to help you and have us some great advice on how to travel like a local on the cheap. The rooms are perfectly comfortable, we stayed in Sky and everything wa great. If I was to be picky I would ask for a clothes rail as we were there for 4 nights so would have been nice to settle a bit more. The feel is homely with pets and children common visitors on the grounds. I would highly recommend SAMs house.

Disliked: Nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 July 2013

Liked: the location- thats it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica Frazier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Whatever difficulties the property might have, it must said be said that the view of these little bungalows on stilts, lined up in rows with wild river grasses - and the largest pink lotus I've ever seen - growing lushly between them, is very pretty. This is a good rough-n-rustic riverside choice. And the rooms are reasonably comfortable.

Disliked: The hotel needs to put some money into fixing up the property a bit: rooms smell pretty mildewy, bathrooms are generally clean but fairly moldy. Staff are slightly grumpy in the way of many tourist towns. They'd lost my booking and made no apologies for the fact that I lost my booking fee as a result. This isn't a long stay comfy place, but it is picturesque enough for a riverside night or two for budget travellers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute little bungalow. Great place for the price. Really helpful with booking tours and buses, but no one really spoke English so was slightly difficult.

Disliked: The entire area was heavy with mosquitoes but especially the lobby. Would have been really helpful if they spoke better English.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Miranda Nicholes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012

Liked: the bed was massive. we got a room for 3 people but we all ended up sleeping quite comfortably in the double bed. the toilet, shower etc was fine.

Disliked: the rooms weren't very secure but we left our stuff and it was fine. i wouldnt choose to go back there again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yana Yout

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2012 Yana would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms

Disliked: Serving of the breakfast is very slow

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Grant Foot

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 August 2012

Liked: We had stayed at Sam's other property a year ago and it was a true riverfront property if you think this is true riverfront you will be disappointed as all you will see is river vegetation and hear the passing of boats. Staff from everywhere else we stayed in Asia 6 locations were far more friendly

Disliked: Said riverfront not river tributory.Looking at a marsh. Staff not that friendly all Thai resorts every staff member says hello not at Sam's too busy minding their kids. No fridge, asked for a double with two singles pushed together and when we asked could we have a real double they were confused, uneven beds not much fun

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Bermingham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a wooden hut which was a good size, clean and the hot water and airconditioner worked so we were happy. It is quite basic overall but it was comfortable. The location is excellent in relation to restaurants, bars and the supermarkets.

Disliked: The entrance to the facility is quite off-putting. There is a lot of concrete and gives off a strange atmosphere but once you get past the stairs it is quite serene and nice. If you were not an independent traveller looking to meet people this would have no impact on your stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012

Liked: It's lokatied in the main turist area, restaurants and other stuff just next door

Disliked: the atmosphear is rather cold, there's not much of a communication between guests

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, quiet and off the street. Staff is helpful for activities todo.

Disliked: Friendly dog ... the only friendly reception you will get from this hostel. Even if the staff is helpful the service is cold and no smile. We had a glimpse of a smile a few time.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable location between bridge, tran station and other sites.

Disliked: the property needs a makeover

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean room, shower was nice and hot. In the backpacking area of Kanchanaburi with good access to lots of places to eat and drink.

Disliked: Although its not the staffs fault other residents were very noisy and could be heard from inside the room. Id agree with other comments on here about staff being hard to find most of the time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Good clean rooms. Nice setting.

Disliked: The staff were reluctant to serve customers and at the moment I arrived "Sam" was midway through a fight with another customer that looked like it was about to turn physical...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ALI MERT IPEK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 ALI MERT would recommend this property

Liked: it was good place to stay of you want to visit tiger temple and erawan national park

Disliked: ALI MERT left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Dobby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The bungalow itself was right on the river yet it was just a 100 yard walk to the main street. It had a porch to chill out on and admire the view and it's timber construction made it nice to look at (along with the others). The staff were very friendly and helpful both with the room and for information about tours/taxis.

Disliked: There was no safe in the room. Insect repellent is a must.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The setting was lovely with the huts set in a tropical garden with a stream at the bottom of the property. Each hut has its own decking with seats and its relaxing to sit out here and listen to the wildlife of an evening. The hut was clean and spacious. Location is great. It's on the main tourist strip so plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. It's only a ten minute walk to kanchanaburi railway station, cemetery and Thailand-Burma railway museum and only twenty minutes walk to the jeath museum and river kwai bridge.

Disliked: The staff were a bit grumpy although one did manage to squeeze out a smile, it nearly killed them though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ian Prince

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: We've been travelling in S.E. Asia for 8 weeks and this has to be the worst hostel we have stayed in. At check-in no record of our booking, however later in the day it was lying on the reception desk. Staff seemed really miserable and uninterested in running a hostel. We were shown to our room but that was it. Nobody was ever available at reception. Room OK but bathroom could do with updating. How this hostel has got such good reviews I don't know.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to bars and restaurants and the bridge.

Disliked: construction activities during my stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

suzanne jordan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Jasmine bungalow, which had so much character, overlooking the river. Really good location, very close to main area for bars etc... Could find cheaper but we were happy to pay abit more ... it is worth it!!

Disliked: nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Camille Rayes

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi. Good services such as laundry and restaurant. Nice place and environment

Disliked: bathrooms could be cleaner and when you use shower it wets te whole toilet including toilet seat

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Adorable little bungalows, even fan rooms were spacious and clean. Conveniently located on the main tourist drag and within walking distance of most major sights.

Disliked: Nothing really.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gemma Barks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff and good to book trips & travel with them! Value for money is pretty good, I imagine you can stay in nicer places around though.

Disliked: Not the cleanest... there for 3 days and they didn't give us new towels or toilet roll, so we had to keep going out to ask for more! No computers available, so only good if you can connect to wifi somehow!