HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Salsa Hostel

Hostel | 25/55-56 Krommaluang Road, Tatapao, Muang District, Chumphon, Thailand 860000

93.7% Overall Rating

20 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Breakfast was great. Rooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly. Liked the modern style of the hostel. Strong recommendation."

Read all Salsa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.71
  • Breakfast USD 2.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chumphon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chumphon

Yong Dee Apartment
7.84 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sook San Guesthouse
7.84 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Paradorn Inn
9.10 USD

Hotel 78.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Salsa Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.0%
Cleanliness
94.0%
Staff
98.0%
Value
95.0%
Safety
95.0%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: on the way from station to port

Disliked: breakfast not included

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great. Rooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly. Liked the modern style of the hostel. Strong recommendation.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrey Koloskov

Alone

Shopping

23 March 2014 Andrey would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in private room with private bathroom. Nice big bright room, very comfortable bed, nice corner settee ,kettle and packed tea, coffee and sugar ( free ). There were shampoo and bar soap in bathroom. Small balcony overlooking to one of main streets. The owner was extremely hospitable, friendly and try to execute everything the guests needs.

Disliked: A little bit noisy from one of main street in Chumphon

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LI YAN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 LI would recommend this property

Liked: Really very good place,almost the best one i have met around in Thailand. i must go back there next time come back to Thailand.

Disliked: LI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was just staying there one night to catch a ferry early in the morning so didn't spend much time in the hostel. They sell boat tickets which is handy.

Disliked: Bunk beds are wobbly so when one person moves it wakes the other up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raffael Schulz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

05 December 2013 Raffael would recommend this property

Liked: Best english speaking staff I have encountered in Thailand! The owner is very nice, very helpful. We had the private room, which is really nicely decorated. Tried 3 different hostels/hotels in Chumphon and this one is by far the best!

Disliked: The street is a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is amazingly helpful. He speaks English and helped me at Western Union and the Police Station. He went out of his way to make sure that I was ok, after being robbed on the way from Bangkok. I also arrived at 4AM and the staff was quick, had a room for me, and was very kind.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about my stay here. The private twin room is like a 4 star hotel room. Very clean, spacious, great airconditioning. It's very close to the train station and on a main street wit shops. it was no problem that we checked in during the night (walking there felt very safe) and he was very helpful in booking ferry tickets to koh tao and transfers to and from pier. To top it off a nice breakfast was included too! We even stayed and extra night as it was so nice and relaxing.

Disliked: Nothing, it is perfect!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christiane Hambloch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and mini bus station (across the street around the corner), staff was very nice and helpfull

Disliked: breakfast was not fresh, airconditioner did not work properly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- close walking distance from the train station, very friendly owner and receptionist, the room was well worth the money- clean & spacious, defiantly the nicest hotel/ hostel we have stayed in so far!! I would highly recommend staying here on the route to the Islands!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eanna Mac Donnchadha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Eanna would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for a short stay to break up the journey to the islands. Nice staff, clean and reasonably priced. Word of warning: the locals in Chumphon do not speak a lot of English and taxis can be tough to get so make sure you know where you're going before you get there.

Disliked: Those stairs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Schweingruber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for one night, really friendly staff and clean showers,toilett and dorm room. I'd book it again!!

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lonny Achterberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Lonny would recommend this property

Liked: Wir fühlten uns sehr wohl.

Disliked: Lonny left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicklas Schlenker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Nicklas would recommend this property

Liked: Here comes a review right out of one of Salsa Hostels beds in the morning! We arrived yesterday evening way to late, without any problems! The Salsa Hostel is an absolutely new buildl, very clean building. The staff is super friendly, speaks perfect english and helps with the journey to one of the islands: Thank you! :) When we finally manage to get out of our large beds, we'll ask immediately for another night! Recommendation! :)

Disliked: Nicklas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bekryul shin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 bekryul would recommend this property

Liked: Salsa hostel is very awesome. hostel is super clean. Every floors are sparkling. I was supposed to take train to go malesia. but I stayed several days to enjoy comfortable relaxation. near hostel there are many food stalls. cheap and delicious. owner brought me to real shooting excercise places, fishing villages, river, lake, water reservior. and sea turtle protection center, 3 kind of different sea turtles, and baby sea turtle. it was amazing. I will come here again.

Disliked: Bekryul have no negative coments.