We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Chiang Mai, Thailand

97.4%
48 reviews Book Now 
1

Tanita House

Hostel
Charoenrat Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand ....

48 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tanita House

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Robert Domingo
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
94.3%
Robert would recommend this property 05 February 2015

I stayed in a private room at Tanita House. Loved my gorgeous teak cottage with queen size bed and air conditioning! Aoi (the owner, pronounced "awe") is friendly and knowledgable. Loved how she provides bottled water in a fridge for guests. Tanita House is best for couples, but I was fine as a solo traveler. She's created something special, I would return the next time I'm in Chiang Mai.

Louise Thiele
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Louise would recommend this property 04 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanita House. The tranquil garden setting, squirrels "flying" from tree to tree, beautiful traditional bungalows with wonderfully comfortable beds, lovely breakfast, great coffee, tea and water available all day, lovely cafe on the premises, Aor, the delightful and helpful owner, walking distance to restaurants and town as well as the night market - all helped make our stay in Chiang Mai perfect and so very memorable. We highly recommend Tanita House and will most definitely stay here again if/when we next visit Chiang Mai.

97.1%
178 reviews Book Now 
2

Finlays Cottage

Guesthouse
4/1Soi 4/A, Tha Phae Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

175 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Finlays Cottage

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 97% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 99%
ilona stezowska
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
ilona would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Hot showers, spacious clean room, good breakfast (you'll get a wake up call for it too). Very close to old town and to night life.

Iwan Haechler
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Iwan would recommend this property 05 February 2015

As we were a bit noisy (some music) in the evening / night they we were asked to be a bit more silent in a very polite way. We really recommend this guesthouse, the location is great, the breakfast is really fresh and the place is extremely safe. Go there and convince yourself!

95.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
3

Thailandwow

Guesthouse
21/1 Samlan Road Lane 7, Prasing, Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Thailandwow

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Dana Moore-O'Brien
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Dana would recommend this property 12 January 2014

Thanks so much for having us Khai & the girls!! We had a great stay and are so stoked that we extended it aswell. Cheers for all your hospitality and kindness. See you again soon xx

LIHUA YE
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
LIHUA would recommend this property 27 December 2012

highly recommended place convinient location great trekking tours good hostel owner and an extremely lazy Cat!

93.9%
7 reviews Book Now 
4

Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Guesthouse
10 Khotchasarn Rd. 5, Chang Klan, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 85% Safety - 94%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 94%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 September 2014

Location was excellent 2 mins from night bazaar and the room was very big own fridge air con and very Clean.

Charlotte Evison
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Charlotte would recommend this property 30 August 2014

3 of us shared the triple room. It's spacious, clean and has a terrace if you need to dry any clothes. Nice also to have a lot of natural light. It's easy walking distance to the night market and other restaurants and bars. The temples also are really close by.

91.4%
4 reviews Book Now 
5

The Living Place 2

Hostel
248/52-53 Sahasriphumplace, Maninopparat Road, T.Sriphum, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Living Place 2

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 January 2015

Friendly owner and for those that like a bit more quiet, about a 10 minute walk outside the North gate. Can organize any trip you'd like. There are several hostels on the same street as well in case this one is booked. No need to walk far at all.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 October 2014

The BEST place!!! This place is just wonderful. Everything was great! I stayed much longer than I planned, because I had such an amazing time there. I arrived alone, but quickly I met many nice people and the place felt like home. Really I never found a comparable place during all of my many months of travelling in Southeast Asia! The rooms are nice and large, everything is clean. Everywhere in the guesthouse there are beautiful paintings. They are all painted by the owners Vi and Aree. I was lucky to stay there at the time when Vi was doing an exhibition and so I got introduced in the art community in Chiang Mai! They even sell many of the painting in the guesthouse. I got one and now being back home, it always reminds me on the special time here. The location of the place is great to get everywhere quickly. It has all the small things that make it comfortable to stay in a hostel are there: strong WIFI internet, a cozy and big room downstairs to hang out and chat with other guests, and even DRUMS and other INSTRUMENTS are there to play. Some evenings we even made jam sessions all together! It was a lot of fun! The owners Vi and Aree are some of the most wonderful people I’ve ever met. They were always there for everyone to give assistance in whatever people needed. They recommended me the best places and activities in Chiang Mai, restaurants, art places and even gave assistance in renting a motorbike, and all this for no extra charge. One of the highlights was definitely the CABARETT show where Ladyboys are performing on stage and having so much fun!! We went there as a big group all coming together from the guesthouse and everyone enjoyed the show. Don’t miss it! The place just offers everything, you can also BOOK all kinds of TRIPS here: jungle trekking and adventure trips, elephant trips, cooking courses, … I recommend to book the trips directly at the guesthouse, the prices are the same or cheaper than in agencies, and the owners know about the best trips to do and will recommend what you are looking for. (For instance, it’s difficult to find elephant camps where the animals are REALLY treated well and not tortured, but the owners know about that and will recommend you the good ones.) Ahh… did I mention: FREE COFFEE and tea, self-service! During my stay here I felt like I got so much, all the assistance and recommendations, telling me about and bringing me to great places I would have never found on my own, doing jam sessions in the evenings, … All this is priceless! The owners gave us so much even though the prices for the rooms are very low. This made me feel I want to give back something to them, so I made them a little present when saying goodbye. I can’t wait to come back next time! SPECIAL EXTRA: Vi offers courses in Painting and drawing and in playing drums! Just ask him about it, he is genious in both and his teaching is very nice, he makes good prices as well. You will love it. Dont forget to ask Vi to do a portrait of you before you leave, if you ever want to get a portrait, ask Vi to do it!!

89.9%
36 reviews Book Now 
6

Diva Guesthouse

Guesthouse
84/13 Ratpakinai, Tambol Phra Singh, Ampoe Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Diva Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 87%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Polly Smeaton
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Polly would recommend this property 01 March 2014

The staff are fantastic, very welcoming and friendly. In the heart of the tourist precinct in Chiang Mai this is a great place to stay.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Staff were really friendly. The owner was very helpful when trying to book further trips.

89.7%
31 reviews Book Now 
7

Baan Arlhan

Hostel
18 Samlan Road Lane, 7 A T.Prasing, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

29 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baan Arlhan

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 98% Facilities - 81% Safety - 85%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 01 February 2015

Arlahn was very nice and was always happy to help. It had lovely chilled vibe to meet people :-)

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2015

The owner was really helpful and polite. The place has a really relaxed hippy vibe. It's a very basic hostel, the toilets are in cubicles In the garden and the beds are thin mattresses on the floor, but for the price it's a good hostel. Mosquito nets are provided and there is a kitchen you can use and free tea and coffee.

89.4%
108 reviews Book Now 
8

Parami Guesthouse

Guesthouse
210?212 Charoenrat Rd., Chiang Mai, Thailand .

103 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Parami Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Giovanna Arduini
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
28 March 2014

Nice place and big rooms. They have some kind of error on our booking and relocated us to a better one.

Terry Renaud
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Terry would recommend this property 24 February 2014

The staff working there were excellent!! So nice and very helpful. It was a cute place to stay. Some great character, clean, safe and fun. We were a couple travelling, and it suited our needs. Short walk to a few locals bars at night, and not too far to the main areas

89.4%
21 reviews Book Now 
9

Chang Puak Hotel

Hostel
133 Chang Puak Road, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chang Puak Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
01 February 2015

Hotel was very clean. Swimming pool was great although some older guests put towels on the sun loungers early in the morning to reserve them for the whole day even when they weren't there meaning that there was often nowhere to sit. Hotel is close to the old city and there are lots of street carts every night at the end of the street selling great food.

cemlyn roberts
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
cemlyn would recommend this property 05 February 2014

A charming old hotel,an oasis down a leafy lane.The pool and eating area felt like you were in a garden.We really liked everything.

88.7%
387 reviews Book Now 
10

Spicythai Backpackers

Hostel
14 Hassdisevi Rd, T. Sriphum, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

376 out of 387 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spicythai Backpackers

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 92%
Emily McManus
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Emily would recommend this property 12 January 2015

The staff are the best people in the world, the atmosphere is amazing for a solo traveler looking to relax or a group of backpackers looking to meet others and party (or any combination of those!), the location is great and close to the city center, the hostel is clean and safe and has the best collection of dvd's to chill out and watch if you're tired. Everything is amazing here, but the best part is the character of the people!

hagen herb
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
hagen would recommend this property 07 January 2015

Incredibly friendly staff and a great atmosphere made for a great stay. This hostel truly felt like a home away from home.

Chiang Mai

68 Hostels from 3.09 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Chiang Mai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Chiang Mai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.