HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Chiang Mai, Thailand

96.8%
45 reviews Book Now 
1

Tanita House

Hostel
Charoenrat Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand ....

45 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tanita House

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
Andrew Russell
With my spouse / partner
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Andrew would recommend this property 13 July 2014

Ahn, the proprietor, could not have been sweeter or more helpful. The property itself is a green, private gem surrounded by city and industry. It was wonderful to wake up in this environment, breakfast was an excellent blend of bacon and eggs and wonderfully fresh fruit.

Simon Guilfoyle
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Simon would recommend this property 27 April 2014

Location - a green space in a busy city. Ambience and architecture - traditional wooden buildings of generous proportions. Friendliness of staff. Aor, the owner, speaks good English and is very helpful. Tea/coffee and cool water available throughout the day

94.6%
160 reviews Book Now 
2

Finlays Cottage

Guesthouse
4/1Soi 4/A, Tha Phae Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

157 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Finlays Cottage

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Great, chilled out atmosphere. Super friendly and helpful staff. Outstanding breakfasts included. Great location -- walking distance to the old town and night bazar and so on (and theninevitsble 7-11 just round the corner), but on a very quiet side street. No fussiness, and no attempts to sell you stuff, just to help you book what you want. Rooms a good balance between functional and fancy, and they're immaculately kept.

Dorothee Rieder
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Dorothee would recommend this property 26 June 2014

Süßes Cottage in der Nähe des Stadtkerns. Man kommt zu Fuß überall hin und das Cottage liegt wunderbar ruhig in einer hinteren Seitenstraße. Die Inhaber sind sooo freundlich, helfen sehr gerne weiter und sind immer für ein kleines Pläuschchen zu haben :) Die Zimmer sind sehr sauber mit (ruhiger) Klimaanlage und obwohl nicht jedes Zimmer sein igenes Bad hat, sind die Gemeinschaftsduschen (3 abgetrennte Räume) und die Toiletten dank täglicher Reinigung immer schön sauber. Wir haben unseren Aufenthalt nochmal um 2 Tage verlängert, weil wir uns dort wirklich wohlgefühlt haben. Finlays Cottage ist somit für eine Reise nach Chiang Mai absolut empfehlenswert!! :)

91.9%
20 reviews Book Now 
3

Baan Arlhan

Hostel
18 Samlan Road Lane, 7 A T.Prasing, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baan Arlhan

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 98%
Nick Hughes
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Nick would recommend this property 17 July 2014

Arlhan, the owner and host is very helpful and friendly, we were made to feel really welcome by her and her young family throughout our stay. Very relaxing and laid back.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 14 July 2014

Completely unexpected and friendly... simple and special, like the sign on the gate says. Very basic, but a warm and social feeling

91.1%
17 reviews Book Now 
4

Chang Puak Hotel

Hostel
133 Chang Puak Road, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chang Puak Hotel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 91% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 94%
cemlyn roberts
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
cemlyn would recommend this property 05 February 2014

A charming old hotel,an oasis down a leafy lane.The pool and eating area felt like you were in a garden.We really liked everything.

Jennifer Lyons
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Jennifer would recommend this property 17 April 2013

This hotel was beautiful! The rooms were great . Very clean and the ac was amazing. The rooms have t.v s with lots of english channels. The pool was great . Breakfast was amazing. The staff were very friendly and let us check in early. Over all this was a great hotel and I would come stay here again.

90.4%
8 reviews Book Now 
5

Living House

Hostel
186 Chang Moi Rd, Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Living House

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 82% Safety - 92%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
16 June 2014

I stayed in the 8 person shared room and it was unrecognizable compared to the glowing reviews I had read on this site - the ladies in the front definitely try their best to be helpful, some cool things walking distance away - overall okay visit but have to imagine there are better places to stay. Pretty good AC

Reece Parkinson
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Reece would recommend this property 01 June 2014

The 2 ladies who work here are so nice and helpful. They looked after our bags when we left Chang Mai for a couple of days and booked everything for us - including onward travel and very cheap tuk tuk to Tiger Kingdom. Atmosphere is very welcoming, and one night they even sat us down in the communal area and shared their dinner with us! Would 100% stay again.

89.9%
36 reviews Book Now 
6

Diva Guesthouse

Guesthouse
84/13 Ratpakinai, Tambol Phra Singh, Ampoe Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Diva Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 87%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Polly Smeaton
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Polly would recommend this property 01 March 2014

The staff are fantastic, very welcoming and friendly. In the heart of the tourist precinct in Chiang Mai this is a great place to stay.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Staff were really friendly. The owner was very helpful when trying to book further trips.

89.5%
28 reviews Book Now 
7

Bunchun

Guesthouse
92/10 Sridonchai road, T. Changklan, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

25 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bunchun

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 94% Facilities - 82% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 96%
JOOKYOUNG LEE
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa
97.1%
JOOKYOUNG would recommend this property 06 July 2014

I liked it's convenient location, 5 mins walk from the old city, close to night market, laundry shop and 7 eleven nearby. The price was also good and staffs were very friendly. One of staffs called Man was a cool guy and he took everybody out and introduced local area. The house keeper was a hard working kind lady and cleaned the hostel every morning and whenever I asked her for a new bed sheet, she changed it gladly. The internet was fast enough and I could get wifi signal even in my bed.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable, the place has a really good vibe and I loved the animals the hostel had, it made it feel homey.

89.4%
108 reviews Book Now 
8

Parami Guesthouse

Guesthouse
210?212 Charoenrat Rd., Chiang Mai, Thailand .

103 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Parami Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Giovanna Arduini
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
28 March 2014

Nice place and big rooms. They have some kind of error on our booking and relocated us to a better one.

Terry Renaud
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Terry would recommend this property 24 February 2014

The staff working there were excellent!! So nice and very helpful. It was a cute place to stay. Some great character, clean, safe and fun. We were a couple travelling, and it suited our needs. Short walk to a few locals bars at night, and not too far to the main areas

89.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
9

Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Guesthouse
10 Khotchasarn Rd. 5, Chang Klan, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 100% Facilities - 75% Safety - 90%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2010

This place was in a great location on a quite street but just a short walk from shops, restaurants and bars. Staff were great really friendly fave us pointers on where to visit and weren't pushy with booking tours. Free wifi was great and nice coffee and banana's for breakfast. Great value for money

william jones
100.0%
william would recommend this property 12 January 2010

The staff were awsome and spoke very good english. It was a very family enviroment and we enjoyed our stay. close walking distance to all of the markets

88.3%
28 reviews Book Now 
10

Rainforest Boutique Hotel

3 star Hotel
23/1 Charoen Muang Road,, Soi 5, Tasala, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50000

28 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rainforest Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 93% Facilities - 93% Safety - 92%
Location - 63% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 93%
Nancy Tomberlin
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nancy would recommend this property 24 February 2014

Priced very reasonable, great buffet breakfast, free shuttles, excellent staff, and when my mother asked for a soft bed they got us both soft beds. I have nothing negative to say for the price we paid there is no place that could compare. I would say they are 3 star hotel with lots of extra amenities.

Amitava Deshmukh
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Amitava would recommend this property 05 February 2014

The restaurant i, specially the breakfast, is the piece de resistance of the hotel. WiFi is good and works in the room. The Restaurant staff are very friendly and go the extra distance to please.

Chiang Mai

74 Hostels from 2.51 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Chiang Mai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Chiang Mai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.