We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Chiang Mai, Thailand

97.6%
50 reviews Book Now 
1

Tanita House

Hostel
Charoenrat Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand ....

50 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tanita House

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Stephen Samson
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Stephen would recommend this property 07 April 2015

Authentic teak guesthouse which had peace and quiet away from the hustle bustle of the street

Robert Domingo
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
94.3%
Robert would recommend this property 05 February 2015

I stayed in a private room at Tanita House. Loved my gorgeous teak cottage with queen size bed and air conditioning! Aoi (the owner, pronounced "awe") is friendly and knowledgable. Loved how she provides bottled water in a fridge for guests. Tanita House is best for couples, but I was fine as a solo traveler. She's created something special, I would return the next time I'm in Chiang Mai.

96.5%
184 reviews Book Now 
2

Finlays Cottage

Guesthouse
4/1Soi 4/A, Tha Phae Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

180 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Finlays Cottage

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 99%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 97%
Natasha Taylor
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Natasha would recommend this property 16 April 2015

Hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Amazing location, so close to everything in central Chiang Mai. The owners are super friendly and so helpful, will gladly help you with tips and recommendations and with booking activities. Rooms and shared bathroom area are spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped. Highly recommended! Don't stay anywhere else!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2015

Wonderful hosts, helped us answer all questions and book everything we wanted, even went above and beyond when we asked. Location is really nice, walking distance from many things. Stayed during Songkran and it was an excellent place to be, both in the heart of all the action but quiet enough that you can escape the madness!

94.0%
9 reviews Book Now 
3

Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Guesthouse
10 Khotchasarn Rd. 5, Chang Klan, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 21 May 2015

Perfect if you're looking for a quiet location that's still in arms reach of everything, and don't mind the walks. The staff is helpful in reserving taxis, however I can't guarantee we were getting the best prices. Clean rooms with TV, water daily and overall comfortable stay.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 September 2014

Location was excellent 2 mins from night bazaar and the room was very big own fridge air con and very Clean.

93.6%
4 reviews Book Now 
4

Thailandwow

Guesthouse
21/1 Samlan Road Lane 7, Prasing, Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Thailandwow

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 95%
Dana Moore-O'Brien
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Dana would recommend this property 12 January 2014

Thanks so much for having us Khai & the girls!! We had a great stay and are so stoked that we extended it aswell. Cheers for all your hospitality and kindness. See you again soon xx

LIHUA YE
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
LIHUA would recommend this property 27 December 2012

highly recommended place convinient location great trekking tours good hostel owner and an extremely lazy Cat!

89.9%
36 reviews Book Now 
5

Diva Guesthouse

Guesthouse
84/13 Ratpakinai, Tambol Phra Singh, Ampoe Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Diva Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 87%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Polly Smeaton
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Polly would recommend this property 01 March 2014

The staff are fantastic, very welcoming and friendly. In the heart of the tourist precinct in Chiang Mai this is a great place to stay.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Staff were really friendly. The owner was very helpful when trying to book further trips.

89.7%
22 reviews Book Now 
6

Chang Puak Hotel

Hostel
133 Chang Puak Road, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chang Puak Hotel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 89% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 April 2015

Schöne Lage, zentral doch ruhig, schöner kleiner Garten mit Pool. Sehr empfehlenswerte für die heiße Mittagszeit! Freundliches, hilfsbereites Personal, Zimmer mit Aircon, Ventilator und kleinem Kühlschrank.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
01 February 2015

Hotel was very clean. Swimming pool was great although some older guests put towels on the sun loungers early in the morning to reserve them for the whole day even when they weren't there meaning that there was often nowhere to sit. Hotel is close to the old city and there are lots of street carts every night at the end of the street selling great food.

89.5%
392 reviews Book Now 
7

Spicythai Backpackers

Hostel
14 Hassdisevi Rd, T. Sriphum, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

381 out of 392 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spicythai Backpackers

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 96% Facilities - 90% Safety - 90%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 92%
John Tran
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
John would recommend this property 17 March 2015

Excellent social atmosphere and super helpful staff, activities that are organised are great for seeing lots of Chiang Mai as well as meeting other friendly travellers! Also the hostel is a short walk from the old town and mall which is pretty convenient for shopping or going for a swim at the rooftop pool

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 04 March 2015

Really friendly staff, each day some kind of event, for example bowling with karaoke afterwards or hangover chill out at a lake.

89.4%
108 reviews Book Now 
8

Parami Guesthouse

Guesthouse
210?212 Charoenrat Rd., Chiang Mai, Thailand .

103 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Parami Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Giovanna Arduini
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
28 March 2014

Nice place and big rooms. They have some kind of error on our booking and relocated us to a better one.

Terry Renaud
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Terry would recommend this property 24 February 2014

The staff working there were excellent!! So nice and very helpful. It was a cute place to stay. Some great character, clean, safe and fun. We were a couple travelling, and it suited our needs. Short walk to a few locals bars at night, and not too far to the main areas

89.1%
693 reviews Book Now 
9

Green Tulip House

Hostel
85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

662 out of 693 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tulip House

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 92%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Peter Roellig
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 13 April 2015

Very nice guesthouse with helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are very clean, simple but still comfortable. Very good value for money. I can only recommend this place.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 08 April 2015

The staff are extemely welcoming and friendly, rooms are spacious and clean and the airconiditioning in our private room was brilliant! No complaints here :)

89.1%
36 reviews Book Now 
10

Baan Arlhan

Hostel
18 Samlan Road Lane, 7 A T.Prasing, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

33 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baan Arlhan

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 99% Facilities - 82% Safety - 84%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 90%
finn boonman
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
finn would recommend this property 20 May 2015

Nice hostel in local style, we enjoyed the evening drinks with the other guests of the hostel!

Janette Kwan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
91.4%
Janette would recommend this property 23 April 2015

One of my favourite hostels I've stayed at. Super charming little house, very relaxed feel, nice common area to hang out with other travellers, clean mattress setup on the floor with mosquito nets when sleeping, Arlhan cooked a full proper Thai meal for us, gave tips and instructions on how to get around and what to do, neighbours would regularly visit to hang out at the house, great experience overall. You sleep on a small mattress on the floor, and there are a handful of mattresses in the house/wooden hut (shared spaces).

Chiang Mai

67 Hostels from 2.95 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Chiang Mai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Chiang Mai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.