HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Tanita House 98%

1. Tanita House

Hostel
152 Charoenrat Road, T. Wat Kate, A. Muang

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 96%

Location 95%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

37 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tanita House

22 Jun 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It's quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Staff were very helpful offering us rides around town and they thankful had a ready supply of electrolytes and charcoal tablets after a dodgy meal out. Would definitely stay again! Also the bread at breakky was super tasty.

would recommend this property

04 Apr 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Events / festivals Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

Authentic teak guesthouse which had peace and quiet away from the hustle bustle of the street

would recommend this property

Read all Tanita House reviews
Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai 96%

2. Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

Hostel
10 Kotchasarn Rd 5, Changklan, Chiang Mai

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 95%

Location 91%

Safety 96%

Staff 100%

Value 96%

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai

24 Nov 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Eine runde Sache.

would recommend this property

04 Apr 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Clean, nice rooms, would definitely stay here again.

would recommend this property

Read all Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai reviews
Non@Chiang Mai 93%

3. Non@Chiang Mai

Hostel
154/15 Rachamanka Road, Phra Singh

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 87%

Location 93%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Non@Chiang Mai

07 Jul 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

cozy and clean, breakfast included, perfect located

would recommend this property

17 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

Nice hostel, clen, good location

would recommend this property

Read all Non@Chiang Mai reviews
Diva Guesthouse 90%

4. Diva Guesthouse

Hostel
84/13 Rajpakinai, Tambol Phra Singh, Ampoe Muang

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

37 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Diva Guesthouse

20 Dec 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

We stayed here for four nights and loved Diva, mainly for its ambience and such helpful staff. Our room was quite basic and a little tired but was clean, comfortable and all we needed for our stay in Chiang Mai. What makes Diva quite special is the ambience of the place. The communal area is a proper backpacker establishment with comfy sofas, little restaurant and an in-house travel agency. This, together with the immense helpfulness of all the staff made it a great stay.

would recommend this property

27 Jan 2014 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Real character! Lovely staff that couldn't make your stay easier! Loved it!

would recommend this property

Read all Diva Guesthouse reviews
Parami Guesthouse 90%

5. Parami Guesthouse

Hostel
210 - 212 Charoenrat Rd.

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 91%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

36 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Parami Guesthouse

16 Jan 2017 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break
Age Range: 31-40

Fully self-contained everything. But when you want to explore: Once you know how Chiangmai mai taxis work, it is trivial and fast to get to the old city or night markets

would recommend this property

17 Dec 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Charming

would recommend this property

Read all Parami Guesthouse reviews
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel 89%

6. Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

Hostel
127/1 Moon Muang road, Soi 5, Muang

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 74%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 94%

7 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

29 Dec 2016 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 25-30

Big double bed and room, cheap price, central location, fridge in room

would recommend this property

26 Jul 2013 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture

Beautifully clean rooms, complimentary water, friendly and helpful owners. I have stayed here previously and, even though it is a bit above my price range, I will return for another stay to give myself a treat. The location is excellent and I would recommend to anyone who wants to explore Chiang Mai city and the surrounding area.

would recommend this property

Read all Baan Klang Vieng Hostel reviews
Changpuak Hotel 90%

7. Changpuak Hotel

Hotel
133 Changpuak Road, Tambon Sripum, Amphur Maung

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 81%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 92%

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Changpuak Hotel

06 Apr 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture

Schöne Lage, zentral doch ruhig, schöner kleiner Garten mit Pool. Sehr empfehlenswerte für die heiße Mittagszeit!Freundliches, hilfsbereites Personal, Zimmer mit Aircon, Ventilator und kleinem Kühlschrank.

would recommend this property

30 Jan 2015 80%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Hotel was very clean. Swimming pool was great although some older guests put towels on the sun loungers early in the morning to reserve them for the whole day even when they weren't there meaning that there was often nowhere to sit. Hotel is close to the old city and there are lots of street carts every night at the end of the street selling great food.

Read all Changpuak Hotel reviews
Bon Ca Va 89%

8. Bon Ca Va

Hotel
252/13-14 Prapokklao Rd., Sripoom, Muang

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 89%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

11 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bon Ca Va

06 Aug 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 25-30

We stayed in a private room with an ensuite bathroom and it was lovely, quiet and clean. We also enjoyed breakfast at the hostel most mornings, and the patio and service was really nice for reading, writing, chatting, or people-watching. The banana smoothie was fantastic. The hostel is right by the North Gate of the old city, which makes for easy walking to the Doi Sutthep pickup spot and the night markets. It was a great launch point for our stay in Chiang Mai, and they provided everything we needed.

would recommend this property

06 Jul 2013 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Friendly staff that went out of their way to help anyway they could. It was raining and one of the staff who we befriended took me to the shop on his motorbike rather than let me go alone in the night. They booked tours and called taxis with a smile. Thanks "birds" for a great stay

would recommend this property

Read all Bon Ca Va reviews
The Living Place 3 90%

9. The Living Place 3

Hostel
186 Chang Moi Rd

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 85%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

20 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Living Place 3

13 Jan 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

The owners of the hostel were wonderful! They made us feel right at home and gave the place such a good atmosphere. And they had 3 lil puppies that they brought over every now and then! They had board games and beer available for purchase in the common area. Rooms were very clean too. A really nice place to stay!

would recommend this property

30 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The guy who runs it vii (not sure how to spell) is really helpful and friendly. He has loads of his pieces of art and it's amazing. A really good place to meet people and check out all the local spots in a good location

would recommend this property

Read all The Living Place 3 reviews
Spicythai Backpackers 89%

10. Spicythai Backpackers

Hostel
14 Hassadisewi Rd. T., Sriphum A. Muang

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 93%

Location 77%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

96 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spicythai Backpackers

27 Nov 2015 69%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Had AC, nice staff, bathrooms were big and private.

24 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Shopping Sightseeing & culture

The hostel is located just outside the old city, in a quiet neighborhood. The hostel itself is large, with great wifi, comfortable rooms and a large dining area, lounge and garden. The owner, Noom is very engaging and likes to talk with the travelers. We went during the Yi Peng festival, and so he brought us to his village to participate in almsgiving to monks and witness the locals in prayer. We also went to his house and made fireworks and had beer! It was a great cultural experience. We really enjoyed our stay!

would recommend this property

Read all Spicythai Backpackers reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Our top-rated Chiang Mai hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Chiang Mai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Chiang Mai

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Chiang Mai. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!