HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of House No.11

Hostel | 11/2 Soi Moon Muang 6, Moon Muang Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

76.1% Overall Rating

37 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2014)

"The staff was so kind and eager to help me when I stayed here and was sick. I didn't even tell them I wasn't feeling well and they checked on me because no one had seen me."

Read all House No.11 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.19

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Compass Backpacker
5.63 USD

Hostel 84.6% 18 reviews
MD House
10.95 USD

Guesthouse 74.5% 183 reviews
Mojito House
3.75 USD

Guesthouse 73.8% 13 reviews
Lita Guesthouse
3.75 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 18 reviews
Jaidii House
3.13 USD

Guesthouse 80.3% 111 reviews
Cozy Home Chiang Mai
6.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Living House
4.69 USD

Hostel 91.1% 10 reviews
The Living Place 1
3.13 USD

Hostel 85.1% 118 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

37 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'House No.11'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
68.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: No mountain view as described. No toilet paper. No safe. No bed covers. Frosted glass for bathroom door. Owner/manager/man behind counter not talkative and ripped off money with an excursion. Do it yourself as it's cheaper!! Construction going on from 8am so no chance of sleep. Because of this, smoke from builders filled room and hallway one morning! Owner claimed smoke was for mosquito repellant for guests!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so kind and eager to help me when I stayed here and was sick. I didn't even tell them I wasn't feeling well and they checked on me because no one had seen me.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was no toilet paper. I understand though the problems it causes, but still something I enjoy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlotte Conroy-Legge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff friendly and helpful. Room reasonably clean.

Disliked: No sheets to cover blanket on bed amd blanket felt unclean. Construction going on next door so dont expect a lie in!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Boyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, easy to organise excursions.

Disliked: N/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nat Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Nat would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a nice and spacious private room with so-called mountain view (rather view of the neighbourhood). There are many restaurants and a market next door which was convenient.

Disliked: There's not really a lounge space to meet others. The lobby has a seating area, but no one hangs out there for too long.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014

Liked: Clean and well located.

Disliked: Far less extras than anywhere else in SE Asia in the same price range. No free breakfast, no free drinking water, no toilet paper, internet is patchy at best, and the bathroom - oddly - has a frosted door. It might not be so bad for a couple sharing a double room (though it's still not awesome), but for two friends it was a bit awkward. You had an open view of the toilet from pretty much everywhere in the room....

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Elliott

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014

Liked: The location of this property is great! Close to a local market, many restaurants and shops.

Disliked: No toilet paper provided. No lift. No help from staff. No sheet, except for the fitted one over the mattress and a small throw rug for the bed. We stayed here one night and then found another close by that was cheaper and a little older but the same, if not slightly better facilities.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

aditya sinha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013

Liked: Rooms were modern, location ok

Disliked: The owner or manager seemed set on ripping you off at every turn. Thus hotel is already expensive compared to others in the area. Charging people to store bags is ridiculous and he was adding his cut on to everything else on offer. There are much nicer places to stay, we moved after 2 nights.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Viviana Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013

Liked: It was very clean, safe and comfortable. The building is new and the beds are very comfortable

Disliked: The vibe of the workers, the price compared to the other hostels that are on the same street. You can get a much cheaper (but not as new) private room in the same location.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, easy to walk to sights and night markets. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms were on the smaller side and we had a room with a clear door for the bathroom so it was awkward that you could see into the bathroom especially when someone was using it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and v good facilities

Disliked: Have to pay 40bath for towel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

24 November 2013

Liked: Guesthouse: House No. 11 in Chiangmai, Thailand Staying period: 16-17 Nov 2013 Five of us booked 1 x double room and 1 x triple on 16-17 Nov in House No. 11 via hostel.com. However we were told that the double room had some "unfixable" electricity problem ONLY on our arrival day, 16 Nov. Yes the owner did offer full refund on the double room, but we did not take it as 16-18 Nov was Loi Khratong festival in Thialand and EVERYWHERE was fully booked!!! And it is very irresponsible for the guesthouse to kick us out just like that! End up five of us have to squeeze in a tiny triple room on 16 Nov. One of the guy who claimed that he is the guesthouse owner did promised he will try to fix the double room or at least find us another hotel / guesthouse in CM for the next day (17 Nov). We never hear anything from him or anyone any arrangements from the guesthouse since then. Another friend of us from Singapore joined five of us on 17 Nov and she was treated rude by the so called "owner" when she was trying to inquire something with the reception. "Hey hey hey!!! You should only talk to me!!! I'm the owner!" How on earth suppose she could tell which one is the owner and in any circumstances you should not raise your voice to your guest like that. We checked out on 18 Nov morning. On 19 Nov morning my friend LL went back house no. 11 to obtain the receipt for the hotel stay and she found out they charged us FULL AMOUNT for the double and tripple for two nights! I admit that there was certainly some miscommunication when she paid on 16 Nov (as she never requested for the receipt on the spot) so I return with her for the second time to confront with the owner. Here comes to the fun part. Owner: Oh great! Second time! Not again! I do not want to repeat! Please ask your friend to explain to you. Me: I want to know why you charge us FULL amount for the double room whereas we never get to use it? Owner (emotionally): I did offer full refund, FULL REFUND BUT LL REFUSED AND AGREED TO SQUEEZE ALL IN ONE SAME ROOM! Me: It is because you could not arrange another room or fix the room on time? In a very general sense, you should not charge in full amount! Owner (knowing his fault but still raising his voice ridiculously): Now who is talking huh? You or she (LL)? I DO NOT WANT TO TALK TO YOU YOU THIS ASIAN!!!!!! Even you have lawyer with you now I'll also say the same you these ASIAN PEOPLE! (We were like Wtf????) Me (triggered my fire): For god's sake, I am your guest too. I stayed and I paid. And I just want to get the problem settled, DO NOT FINGER POINT ME! Owner (looks like he want to beat me up and went completely out of control): I want point anyway you this lady watch your manner! You should not talk to a gentleman like that! When I talk to a lady I will be polite! Me:.......(you sure bout that?????F u) Harlo whatever I just want to get the problem settled. Clearly there was miscommunication incurred, we accept half refund. Owner (unbelievably in his own madness): NO YOU ARE NOT GETTING ANYTHING! And another guy stepped in and asked what happened. He stopped his emotionally partner and offered us FULL refund. We walked out happily with our money. Emotional owner: I NEVER WANT TO SEE YOU AGAIN!!! Me: See you in Tripadvisor! Mad man: GO AHEAD! Me: Thank you and have a nice day!!! And we laugh. I wish that you have good business ahead

Disliked: a very-very -very-rude owner, and discrimination ASIAN!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No toiletpaper?!! and no hairdryer provided. Some friends, who had been guests in house No.11 themselves, stored a bag in our room and had to get it in the morning. So apparently someone from the staff saw this and told the owner via walkie talkie. We where then asked how many people stayed at our room last night which is ridicoulos since he already knew about the stored bag and our room was veru small. Did not create a good atmosphere. Owners dont make such a nice impression.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chong Mong Yan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Chong would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Didn't provide toilet paper

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel feel there is a small common room to meet people. Beds were really comfy we even had a balcony in the double room. Close to small market every day & the best smoothy shop 100 metres down the road. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had air con, a balcony, unlimited hot water, free coffee, fresh sheets & fresh towels daily.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. I enjoyed my 5 nights here a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Litwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: My stay House No. 11 was one of my best hostel experiences ever. The owners and the staff could not have been better in any way. They cleaned our rooms each day and the rooms were great and still very cheap. We loved house No. 11 so much and I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Chang Mai.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay, modern large room. Owner friendly and very helpful. Organised all our trips and transfers. Close to all night markets.

Disliked: Slow Internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the reception guys are really nice and helpful, really good English. Secuirty guard at night and cameras so very safe. loads of trips to offer. 2 min walk to Sunday market, 20 min walk to night bizarre. very clean, cleaner empties your bin and gives u fresh towels every day. highly recommend.

Disliked: wifi from our room wasn't great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tama Jarman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: Helpfull Staff and location

Disliked: Atmosphere

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013

Liked: It was very clean and in a central location

Disliked: The manager. It felt like he wanted to make extra money from me at all times. I was asked if I wanted to do a trip with the hostel. That was ok. Then when I went away for one night I was charged 70 baht to store my bag for one night even though I was returning to the hostel to stay again. Then when I locked myself out of my room he said that he would open it for free but next time it would be 100baht. If he hadn't been so money grabbing previously I would have thought it was a joke. This could be a great hostel but the unfriendliness ruined it for me. Also it was full of gap year travellers who came in drunk each night and shouted and banged on other people's doors. This happened each night so I would also not recommend for a quiet nights sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent for getting around Chiang Mai and doing sightseeing. There's plenty of dining options, markets and attractions closeby. The owners are really helpful and can assist you with any issues you may have.

Disliked: It's not a 'social' hostel. Everyone seems to stick to themselves and it'd be great if the owners organised some communal nights. Also the owners can be a bit pushy with getting you to book tours through them every time they speak to you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, cheap and friendly staff. Would recommend trying house no. 11!

Disliked: Owner can be a little bit of a jobs worth, but he warms to you I guess. You have to provide your own padlock for the lockers too... Apart from that, a good hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maude Jolicoeur

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Maude would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, friendly and helpful staff. The hostel us next to a lovely bakery and a market. Hot showers, TV, air con, comfortable bed, balcony. I totally recommand it!

Disliked: No toilet paper included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Rowe

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second stay at House No 11 and I will only ever stay here when traveling to Chiang Mai. The staff are really friendly, the place is run very efficiently, everything is super clean, showers are hot, tv has loads of English channels as well. Its a perfect location close to food stalls and a market downstairs and Monty and Tony are able to organise any tours or tickets you might want. Best place we have stayed at during our 3 months in Asia.

Disliked: As with all Asian accommodation, walls are made from concrete so sound echoes through the building a bit. Get some earplugs, it will be fine.